Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com Ė Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more ! Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2010 Visitor Reviews of
Psychosis Haunted House (Elgin, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
22 out of 31 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Triogroupie3   (Event Visited: 10/07/10 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/08/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Pretty good it's on a side street but they have signs.

Wait Entertainment: None

Length of Event: 15

Actor Performance: Poor. Most of the actors didn't have an true character. Mostly they just pounded on the walls

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Since we went on a Thursday there wasn't many or any people there. So we didn't run into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: Yes

Props / Special FX: There wasn't very many props. Mainly it was mazes....maze after maze after dark maze.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were very generic. No gore blood or anything special

Summary: I was not impressed at all. The majority of the haunt was walking threw dark halls. There was supposed to be a "maze master" that we were supposed to be looking for but he wasn't in the haunt at all when we left he was standing outside smoking a cigarette. The actors touched people in my group of 5 more than once. Overall I left very upset that I didn't even jump once.

23 out of 35 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ilikehaunts   (Event Visited: 10/07/10 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Psychosis is located in a somewhat confusing area, the building they are in is big and relatively easy to find. They have a large banner above the building that says "Psychosis Haunted House" and a decently sized parking lot. Unfortunately it is on the opposite side of the building, but overall it is pretty easy to find and see.

Wait Entertainment: On the night we attended there was no wait entertainment. Our group waiting in a city type scene for a decent amount of time. It was basically a large open area with little store fronts. None of them seemed run down or distressed, it seemed very out of character.

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors in almost all rooms either did nothing and stared at you from a corner of a room, or spoke rehearsed lines, but unfortunately almost all of them seemed to have forgotten their lines.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The night we attended it was very slow, so I can't comment on how effectively they would handle large crowds.

Appropriate Ages: All. Anyone could make it through this haunted house.

Props / Special FX: This Haunted house had very little in the way of props. In some rooms there was random items scattered about the floor, and many other rooms seemed either unfinished or just didnt have much going on. The lazer maze at the end was cool, but was very easy to navigate.

Costumes / Make-up: Almost none of the actors had any makeup on.

Summary: Psychosis haunted house advertises itself as the states most interactive haunted house. Personally I do not see that. This haunted house just moved into a new location, and I expected it to expand and become even better this year, but unfortunately this has been one of their most ineffective years.  
 
Psychosis follows a theme that you are supposed to find a mad serial killer called the maze master, who is hiding somewhere in the haunted house. This is however, hard to understand as the person at the front kept messing up their lines. As to traverse the haunted house "searching" you encounter several rooms that seem to make no sense in context with the theme. As you move though there are rooms like a Dracula room, mummy room, bum room, furnace room, and many others. Dividing these areas were many "black halls" these weren't exactly hard to get through as light poured in from above as none of the scenes were covered.  
 
Actor performances weren't very scary. In fact the best actor in the haunt was approximately 8 years old and was hitting a piece of wood on the wall. The rest of the attacks involved them having you stop in a room, asking you in a normal voice to read a sign, and then allowing you to keep moving.  
 
Overall, this haunted house just did not deliver. And at $15.00 per person I would not recommended it to anyone looking for a real scary haunted house. 
 
This show would be a good started haunted house for parents looking to expose their kids to haunted houses and not having to worry about it being too over the top.

15 out of 28 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: nikaplniu   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/04/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If you're unfamiliar with Elgn, it can be hard to fine. We drove by it about 10 times before finding it. It's right next to the police station - I think this could be solved by having a few more in costume people roaming the street.

Wait Entertainment: There was no wait - we sat and talked to the owners for a bit before entering and the police pulled up asking what was going on. And they showed us where the line will be when they actually 'open'.

Length of Event: About 25 minutes - and some rooms were unfinished.

Actor Performance: All the actors stayed in character and were entertaining. The walls were thin, and I made a comment to my friend and called her by name and throughout the rest of the haunt they kept on asking which one of us was the name.  
 
They were all good and never broke character. I only saw the pregnant lady break character once when I peeked through a small crack after we had already left the room.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The group behind us kept catching up to us, but we would stay in the scenes and interact with the actors since it was only us and the group behind us in the haunt.

Appropriate Ages: There are some scenes that may be inappropriate for children under 14.

Props / Special FX: Some props were amazing and others were a bit childish.  
 
The girl walking with the plastic night in her hand asking if we'd seen him, the plastic night was a bit of a buzzkill when compared to the awesome props in the bum room or even the fear we experiences in the coffin room.  
 

Costumes / Make-up: Very good. Once again, not a lot of over-the-top costumes. There was a room with a pregnant woman in a regular nighty and a really creepy child in overalls, a bum dressed like a bum - nothing over the top but still able to make it work.

Summary: We got there the opening night and the only people that had been through before us were family and friends of the actors. This is a new location for them so I was a bit lenient in being judgmental throughout the proccess of the haunt. Plus the last room was not done. They let us in for free, which I am happy that they did because I would have been upset about that last room otherwise.  
 
You start off in a room with a bum telling you to beware and proceed into the following rooms. There were several rooms that were a little over-the-top like the vampire that was getting in our faces, but a couple of rooms that I really enjoyed such as the kitchen scene. As far as an 'interactive' haunted house - i've been to haunted houses that were more interactive. But for a haunted house that's in a new place this year, I was happy.  
 
Small prop changes could make a world of difference at this haunt and bring it from a medium to a high easily.

11 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: hauntfan1   (Event Visited: 10/03/10 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/07/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's not hard to find right next to the Police Station, they have a sign above the entrance towards the roof and in the back at the parking lot.

Wait Entertainment: Realistic looking town square they just need a fountain in the middle or something and there set. line entertainment is pretty good

Length of Event: 30-35 minutes

Actor Performance: Awesome, no Boo!s were said that's a plus and they never leave character, someone in the group with me tryed to break there character and they wouldn't budge which is another plus

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: they spread us out pretty good, one time we caught up to the group in front of us at the end but that's because the maze can be very confuzing.

Appropriate Ages: all ages, as long as you can handle a very good scare. there's no profanity, they also have some old school monsters/horror icons.

Props / Special FX: the maze at the end had a combo of fog and lasers that made the room really trippy. no animatronics but the actors make up for it, Franks room had many body parts and walking into the coffin was cool.

Costumes / Make-up: make-up was much improved from last year, the cellmate had a scar that looked like was indented in his forehead, it looked really cool.

Summary: Overall I give this house a 9/10 for the improvement of last year. I loved the whole thing, but some more detail on a few things wouldn't hurt. I liem the brides room mostly and the end maze was cool, I'm not sure how many people there were in the maze though more than 3 though. the bride got me good and im sure she'll get many others. Once again 9/10... go check it out.

10 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/24/10 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There was one little sign out on the street letting us know where the house was.

Wait Entertainment: There was one janitorial guy that was a little creepy, but not scary.

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: It was ok, not that scary. Sadly, one of the guys kept getting in your face and kept spitting on one of the people in my group which went a little too far.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We caught up to the group in front of us very quickly, we had to keep walking slow so we wouldn't keep running in to them.

Summary: I thought the house was better than it was last year, but it still was not great. The premise is that you are searching for someone in the house called the Maze Master, but we never saw this person in the house. It seemed that the only reason for this is because actors throughout the house kept using that info as a password to get to other rooms in the house. The dark mazes were well done, and a little confusing, which I enjoyed. I also enjoyed the laser maze room where they had half walls and the lasers tried to confuse you, but I didn't find this house that scary at all.

12 out of 26 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: merrill   (Event Visited: 10/01/10 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: there was a sign at the corner of the nearest intersection and you could spot some characters outside on their break, i guess.

Wait Entertainment: there was no wait. a character was slamming the walls and screaming..i guess one could call that the entertainment.

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: there weren't too many actors. the average performance was mediocre with the exception of one or two that expressed a little more/less enthusiasm

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: there was no wait, no line, so thank goodness we had the place to ourselves.

Summary: psychosis always tries to make things interesting with a storyline. this year, they even had an intro, where a police sergeant turns us into deputies and tells us that no officers survived inside. there were many things that brought the rating down for me. to start, many things seemed unfinished. I found myself in a storage type room and once and was even guided back by a character towards the right direction. I love when a haunted house gives you the feeling of disorientation, but this one flat out confused me in spots. Some of the props were cool, but it felt like there was no follow-through, like when we entered the pyramid-type room and had no clue where to go. this was one of the few areas where it was pitch dark, otherwise, we could usually see someone before they scared us. I liked the maze room with the lasers, we were laughing at the music. We werenít sure if their dance music cd was skipping because it was scratched or because it was supposed to add confusion. The ending, by far, was the most disappointing. It was basically the unfinished part of the haunted house where one could easily go the wrong way. If you walk straight, you come to three doors, one is full of junk, the other was locked, and the third faces a short staircase at the back of the building. I know that they specialize in mazes, but Iíve still seen better, even in local Jaycees haunted houses. We went to psychosis last year and were hoping that feedback would have helped them improve.

10 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: homicide   (Event Visited: 10/08/10 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: They had a sign outside which helps, but I was confused about the parking. The ticket girl told me this, hope it helps. Their psychical address is on Spring St, their entrance is on Symphony (across from the police station), and parking is on Kimball, but that's where you exit from so that was good.

Wait Entertainment: There was a guy dressed as a bum looking for a girl named "Susie".

Length of Event: 25-30 mins

Actor Performance: Everyone stayed in character. Some kid in the kids room was yelling "You're all gonna die!" which was kinda creepy.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was great. We caught up to the group ahead of us in the last room, but that maze was crazy and it was hard to figure out. We were always about a room behind which was kinda cool because you could hear the group in front of us screaming.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Prop were cool!

Costumes / Make-up: Great job here as well. The Bride looked like a porcelain doll.

Summary: Psychosis was so cool this year. Better detail, great actors, and longer than it has ever been! I read everyone review to see if the had the same experience that I did. One reviewer said that the ending was a long empty hallway, it's not the maze with the lasers is. The empty hallway is how you leave the building. 
I thought they were a little understaffed. I said something to someone and they said that all of the actors are volunteers so sometimes they don't have a full crew.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Only Exclusive Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright © 1999-2014 HauntedIllinois.com
Questions/Comments? Contact the Webmaster
Media / Promotion Inquiries please click here

Like this site? Tell A Friend and Join Our Mailing List.