Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2010 Visitor Reviews of
Terror on the Square (Petersburg, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
14 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: darklaff31   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not hard to find. On the square in downtown Petersburg. You can either park there on the square or at a nearby establishment.

Wait Entertainment: None to speak of. We waited appx. 2 hrs. as the line was wrapped around the block; but nobody was complaining as it was a perfect evening for the wait. There are passes you can buy that take you to the front of the line. There was also a "coffin ride" you can go on but not recommended for the claustrophobic.

Length of Event: About 15 min. not counting the wait at the register desk.

Actor Performance: Most impressive, especially how the actors were able to start with a guided tour and let it dissolve into a "you're on your own" situation. There are many set pieces that require seamless interaction between the actors & props/fx. There was a smooth, unbroken flow that the actors carried from room to room. This created an eerie momentum that intensified during the tour's progression. The graveyard actors were exceptionally intimidating.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never ran into other groups. Occasionally heard a bang or scream, but never saw other patrons. There was no "safe spot" in the line as the actors kept everybody swirling. You may enter a room in the middle of the group, but you may find yourself last in line, alone with the ghouls.

Appropriate Ages: Could be too intense for the 10 and under set, depending on their constitution. The group I was in had a 10 yr. old who never went in and a 12 yr old sister who barely made it through.

Props / Special FX: Stunning! This is what makes me come back. Every square inch of each room is filled with such detail. Layers of skeletons in the walls, props & equipment from real funeral homes, even effective use of sound make this (can I say?) a beautiful haunt to look at. That's leaving out the illusions, which are, by far, the coolest I've ever seen. Faces appear from nowhere, ghosts dance in & out of mirrors and the crematorium is a masterpiece. I never saw any seams, wires or projection lamps. A lot of thought went into presenting these illusions in a professional light. Those involved should be proud of themselves.

Costumes / Make-up: A consistent tattered ghoul theme, with period dress to accomadate the old funeral home setting. Subtle and effective.

Summary: I am a repeat visitor. Every time I come here, I raise the bar of my expectations: we're given a professional-quality production and the cast & crew keep topping themselves. I envy those who are going through for the first time. My group found ourselves hanging back in the store, talking with other patrons about what we experienced. It's fun to be scared. If you like intense scares with a minimum of blood/gore and an eye for some incredible art direction, you shouldn't leave disappointed. My group wasn't: we're talking about going back again.

12 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: senae   (Event Visited: 10/24/10 @ 6:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location was very easy to find. The directions were accurate. Parking was not a challenge and was close to the attraction.

Wait Entertainment: The outside entertainment was minimal yet enjoyable. If you were to get there when the event first opens, they provide a small parade of hearses and spooky characters.

Length of Event: The event lasted about 15-20 minutes.

Actor Performance: They stayed in character very well. The mix of history of the haunted house and character role was great. It kept me guessing, and was executed quite professionally.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow of the attraction worked well. We didn't run into anyone in front or behind us at all.

Appropriate Ages: 8 years and up

Props / Special FX: Props were neat. The holographic images were lifelike and costumes were talentedly put together.

Summary: I would definitely recommend viewing this haunted house. I had a great time. It is easier to get into the experience since there is history behind the building which, in itself, creates a "haunting" ambience. There are a lot of vintage and nostalgic props which help support the theme. You can tell the staff took their time with the details with everything from the storyline, script, and acting. And, of course, with almost any haunted attraction, it is always best to arrive early. "Terror on the Square" only sells 50 speed passes each night and they sell out quickly.

12 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: scaredykat   (Event Visited: 10/22/10 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The locations is good. It is located right in the center of town on the town square. I have visited before, but would not have trouble finding it if I was a first time visitor.

Wait Entertainment: At the beginning there was a hearse that pulled up and some "pall bearers" brought out a coffin. There was also a zombie walking around in the line. There is also a ride in a coffin where you are closed in a coffin and go for your "last ride".

Length of Event: 15 minutes. If you don't count the wait in line. You can purchase tickets to go the front of the line, but if you get there early enough, you do not have to wait too long.

Actor Performance: Excellent. Your guide acts as a real tour guide for an old funeral home. The actors did a great job of keeping the story line flowing and intense.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good. We never saw another group and our flow from room to room was exciting and smooth.

Appropriate Ages: It might not be good for young children. Although I did see adults getting more than young children. Depending on the scare tolerance, maybe ages 10 and above.

Props / Special FX: Outstanding! Everywhere you turn, every detail is covered. The special effects were very real and unique.

Costumes / Make-up: Very professional.

Summary: I am a repeat visitor. I have not been to Terror on the Square for a couple of years, and was not disappointed. The changes that were made had me in suspense. I thought I knew what I was going into, having been there before, but I was pleasantly surprised that I was wrong. Our group was a group of five and every one of us left knowing we will go back next year. The entire experience, down to the gift shop, was exciting. The special effects do not leave you disappointed and neither do the actors. From the first room to the last doom I was jumping, screaming, and smiling with fear. The story that goes along with your "tour" just makes the experience more exciting and interesting.

9 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/23/10 @ After Midnight)
Review Posted: 10/24/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This old funeral home has been used for years and continues to do a good job at setting the mood. Easy to find i'n downtown Petersburg, you can see the line of people from the road.

Wait Entertainment: No real line entertainment here, the coffin simulator (cash box) is here and gets a lot of hits keeping the customers happy. A few Monsters looking out the windows upstairs above your head.

Length of Event: The attraction takes maybe 15 minutes to complete. The wait outside in line can takes hours, some people waited 2 hours just to enter.

Actor Performance: Everyone did a good job and stayed on cue throughout the event.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow through the haunted funeral home was very good, they keep the group size down and still continue to move people seamlessly from one room to another. This is a big draw event and you never run into another group - well done!

Appropriate Ages: I would say 8 to 10 years old kids could handle this event, lots of optical effects but no real blood or in your face scares.

Props / Special FX: They have good props here (used about every year) but the special effects are their trademark, they do a great job with this. You will not find better optical effects anywhere except Chicago or St. Louis. These people do a standout job here!

Costumes / Make-up: The consumes and make-up is well done and gets better every year, you don't see any cheap masks here.

Summary: We attend this event year year, with last year a little weak, this year made up for it. The major sets had a nice facelift and everything looked great, nice to see them give the attraction a new look and still keep the basic funeral home effect. This event has again became one of my favorite Halloween attraction, the new look and advanced optical effects really pulled this out. A must see event for anyone new and a very enjoyable attraction for the regulars. The price of $8.00 is very reasonable and well worth it. My only problem was that the end event was very weak and needs more, a projected face on a wall plate just doesn't make it! Also, my son enjoyed the casket ride (simulator effect) so I guess the cash box ride is a positive here, try it!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at