Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2010 Visitor Reviews of
Dungeon Of Terror (Mazon, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
11 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: 2012175   (Event Visited: 10/08/10 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location of this haunted house is located in a small town just off a major Highway. In located on the main "Street" of the town." You can see the house as soon as you turn down the street. I wish they could have more signs that show which way the house is. They did have signs but they were in black and white and I couldn't realkly tell what they said unless I got closer to it. The parking was fine. It parked wight across the street from it.

Wait Entertainment: They had a lot of actors outside entertaining. They had clowns, ugly mask, and a chain saw. They entertained me right out as i got out of my car to when I entered the house. They were great.

Length of Event: This was approximately 15-25 minutes long

Actor Performance: The actors played a convincing role. They stayed in character the whoel time. They scared me on time. It was never a delay. They scared me evertime I went around a corner!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was very good. I was always with my group of three. We never ran into any other groups. No other groups ran into us.

Appropriate Ages: It is for all agesd but it depends on how they react to the scare.

Props / Special FX: The special effects were amazing. Some of the effects made me get turned around as soon as I walked in the room. The dog jumping out at you was pretty good. The strobs was amazing in the red and white checker boarded rooms.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were good. They wore the costumes based on what rooms there was. There was of course clowns that wore crazy clown masks. Most of the actors wore a mask but some had just make up on. I would rate the costumes a 10 out of 10!

Summary: I loved this even so much. I have been coming to this house year after year. They keep on doing better and better every year I come. My favorite room was the laser rooms that got my mind twisted. They had this thing where it was like two air pillows that pushed up next to each other and yoluo had to squeeze through it. Some person scared me in there and I screamed so hard. The holiday room was my favorite. They gave me a lot bang for my buck!

10 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: mstinamom4   (Event Visited: 10/02/10 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: signs are visible from the main road through mazon, just follow them.

Wait Entertainment: They have incredible wait entertainment, it is enjoyable just standing in line watching the actors scaring people in line. There are also night vision cameras in the house that you can watch on tv in line.

Length of Event: probably 15 minutes to get through it all.

Actor Performance: The actors were okay, it wasn't what I normally get out of this haunted house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never ran into any other groups so they did a real good job separating everyone.

Appropriate Ages: Probably 7 and up

Props / Special FX: There were some good props, I always love the picture drops, and the hanging things from the ceiling while you are walking through the dark.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes are good, more store bought then makeup, but they do a good job making them realistic.

Summary: This house is first on my list every year, and I don't know if it was because it was their first weekend opening or if it just wasn't as good as the years before. I just wasn't as impressed as I had been all the previous years and I think I have gone to this one every year since they opened. The wait entertainment seemed to be the best part this year and the house was a little lacking and I left feeling I missed out on something. The little boy still is the best in the whole house although he has grown now and they changed his role a bit, but it still scares the heck out of you seeing him coming at you. I usually do this one more than once a year, but I am thinking once is enough this year. Maybe next year.

12 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: emmilyo13   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: dungeon of terror is located on the main stretch of mazon and is hard to miss with the line out the door

Wait Entertainment: there were scary people walking through the lines and fooood.

Length of Event: about 15 minutes

Actor Performance: very awesome. especially the santa claus and mirror drops

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: the small groups make the event much more enjoyable and the spacing is done well so you never run into the groups around you.

Appropriate Ages: it is a scarier haunted house. i would not recommend it to young kids.

Props / Special FX: the electronic dog is awesome as always. the airbag wall as well as the static walls were fun additions and the lighting throughout the house is fantastic.

Costumes / Make-up: the costumes were scary and well camouflaged in some cases. makeup was flawless.

Summary: Dungeon of Terror is one of my absolute favorite haunted houses! This year is the best one yet and it just keeps getting scarier. The environment is great for everyone but it might be a bit scary for younger kids. I love this haunted house and I would recommend it very highly.

8 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: clownfreak   (Event Visited: 10/29/10 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We have gone several years in row now, however I don't think it would be hard for someone new to find. There is a sign posted on the main road (rt 47) and another showing the turn. After that you can't miss it since Mazon is such a small town.

Wait Entertainment: I enjoy the outside entertainment every year. There are several characters outside roaming around. My favorite is always the clown. I swear it has to be the same person year after year because he is always chasing people down the road, around the block, to their cars ect. He not only scares people outside butchases them through. They all do a good job. They also have a small consession outside for while you are waiting.

Length of Event: Not really sure how long it took, maybe 15 mins? Could be off on that though.

Actor Performance: All of the actors seem to really take their roles serioiusly. I did not notice anyone scting out of character at all.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow seemed good, we never ran into any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: Depends on the person or child but I would say not for under 10.

Props / Special FX: I was happy to see that this year they really changed everything. Some years in the past have been similar to the previoius years but the props and specials effects were all new this year. I really enjoyed the new ideas they came up with.

Costumes / Make-up: I think they did well in this area also. the costumes fit the rooms the people were in and they looked well done.

Summary: This year in Mazon really impressed me. They came up with all new rooms and ideas that I have not seen in the past. With out giving too much away, I enjoyed a new prop this year that smashed the persons head. I think it is well worth the money, at only $8 each. We have been to others that cost 5x that much and offered less entertainment. I would highly recommend this haunt. The only thing that I think they may want to consider changing in the future is how narrow the hall ways are. I wouldn't say that I am a very big person and it a few spots I had to turn sideways to get through. I understand the "creepy" factor that the confined space adds, however I think that it would make it very difficult for someone who may be a little bigger to get through.

8 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: goth_gina   (Event Visited: 10/10/10 @ 6:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It is on the main street but there really are no signs till you get there.

Wait Entertainment: There were some people in masks walking around.

Length of Event: 10 - 15 minutes

Actor Performance: They were pretty good. Santa scared my friend so bad she almost peed.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't run into anyone, but they made us wait a LONG time before going in.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: They had some pretty good, full sized, body props and good attention to detail in some rooms.

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly masks. I was disappointed because I thought there would be more makeup.

Summary: I was very excited to go to this haunted house as they have been rated #1 the past two years. I was let down. I wish I could say that there was something that I found that was over the top, but I can't. Mind you it was a very good haunt, well worth the price of admission, but it was not worth the four hours of driving to get there and back. I don't think I will be going back to this haunt unless I am on my way to ones in Chicago again. If I had been expecting less, I would have liked it more.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at