Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more ! Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2010 Visitor Reviews of
Fright Night (Forest City, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
12 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: mari19   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: very easy to find.. Im from the area.

Wait Entertainment: A 10! like usual very elaborate makeup and costumes.. Especially the thing with the long beak nose..and clangy long fingers. hair eating guy.. freaky.. kinda gross, but it got the line I was in for the church pumped!and scared!

Length of Event: 1hr. 30 min. for all events and museum

Actor Performance: Overall, okay for the most part.. seen alot of vetrans who do a great job every year. Others however could have taken a few pointers from them.. The little kids seemed kind of lost on the freddy song, and sang the wrong words. so that was kind of a bummer!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There was no hayrack ride wait for terror travel..which is always fine with me!!Always love hearing the story as we are riding to attraction! Line for church was long, but that is to be expected for good haunted house attractions. But we did not bump in to any other groups, so timeing was good. loooved that!

Appropriate Ages: Id say 11 or 12 and up

Props / Special FX: Very realistic. they get better every year. loved the museum

Costumes / Make-up: Some of hiders and screamers in mazes could have worn black robes instead of blue jeans, you could see most of the hiders. which was dissappointing. And some could have used more blood

Summary: I love going haunted house hopping every year. And this one is always first on the list. I love how much effort they put in and how they have at least one new attraction each year. That keeps it very interesting. The Slide was awesome! and having to crawl out of unthinkable exits was a great touch. My vote for best attraction- def. House Trail across town. Fav. Actor- The Crazy Bloody Chick swingn the axe at the wall before you go into that little closet telling you to get out! That was genious. and on the outside party of that house was the guy in black that swoope down off that wooden gate. freaked me out. I also got scared real good once n accidently threw my purse at someone! sorry whoever you are!!! Def. come back next year

13 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: boogeyman31   (Event Visited: 10/10/10 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Is very easy to find. Drive straight into Forest City take a right at post office off the main road just like the flyer says that are up everywhere in other cities.

Wait Entertainment: There are monsters walking around and a particularly large bloody butcher type that waited for my girlfriend to use the porta potty then he picked one whole side up while she was inside!! She screamed and I loved it.

Length of Event: there are 3 attratctions this year and each attraction can take up 35-40 mins.

Actor Performance: all actors were in character and professional from the silent heavy breathing butcher to the screaming crazy chicks in the house all were very much into roles

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: the flow of the crowwd was good the live moved very quickly

Appropriate Ages: this haunt is not reccommended for litte children. There are lots of graphic visuals, bloody actors and darkness at this Haunt i would say 12 and up unless they are really brave

Props / Special FX: One of the things I enjoy the most about this haunt is the fact that it changes and evolves every year evenhole buildinghave been constructed to suit the haunts needs and everything changes like the maze and the tunnels its fresh and a new experience each time. all props are man made and utilized at the right time as you journey through the haunt.

Costumes / Make-up: lots of Blood LOTS of blood no mixmatch costumes here Freddy looks like Freddy Micheal looks like Micheal and the butcher looks like a butcher

Summary: I enjoy this place I have always enjoyed this place we come out to get scared and every year the Fright Night staff delivers as long as they keep building it we will keep returning:)

10 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: slim128226   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I Have been here before so it was quite easy for me

Wait Entertainment: At times there were small waits but its nothing like six flags or other parks where I have visited so it was ok

Length of Event: Approx 30 to 40 min. for one then 25 to 30 for the second then the church took aprox.30 min. I would plan on 1 1/2 hours minimum for the haunts more to check out the small horror film museum.

Actor Performance: I have never seen this many psycho actors at one place.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: When I went through I never met any other groups nor did any other group meet me so ya I would say they have the timeing down pretty good

Appropriate Ages: 12-50 I would say, as long as your heart is strong.

Props / Special FX: The lighting and sceens were far more advanced this year so I am pleased with the program. now the 6 ft. slide was something else for me, i didnt exspect that so I think it was one of my fav. spots now for all of you who went through last year you know about the fridge so exspect much more cause I did.

Costumes / Make-up: Lots of make-up very few masks, costumes were good.

Summary: This is not your child friendly haunt, not even adult friendly sometimes. This event is always fun, unless the buthcher takes a liking to you. And watch out you don't get your nose picked by the psycho at the end. I will be back again next year.

7 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: mystics3   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It is a small town,but it was easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: The wait was not long. There were characters outside that made it fun. I would have to say my favorite was called midnight train. He was very funny.

Length of Event: I didn't really time any of them, but I would say probly about 20 minutes for each.

Actor Performance: Most of the actors were very good. There were some young kids and I think they did a good job. They seemed to really get into the spirit of it.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Our group did not run into any other group so that was good. There was some really good things inside the old house that made it interesting.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 12

Props / Special FX: They did not have a lot of high dollar props, but it was still very good. They have taken alot of time into this and that made it well worth it.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make-up were good. Watch out for the midnight train man and the butcher. They like hair.

Summary: We drove about an hour and a half to get there. I was pleased with everything. I had alot of fun. When we first got there I had already laughed so hard from a few of the characters messing with the porta potties. I think they have done a wonderful job. Everybody was very nice. After we were done we went into the little cafe and talked to some of the workers, they were great. The museum was neat. For this being a small town I think it was wonderful and I can't wait to see how they do things next year. I will be looking forward to going back next year.

7 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: chiapet79   (Event Visited: 10/24/10 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find. No problem.

Wait Entertainment: Very entertaining staff. You won't be disappointed, but you may be disturbed (in a fun way) :)

Length of Event: About 10 minutes per attraction with up to 20 minutes wait time.

Actor Performance: Excellent. Kids, teens, adults: everyone did a great job.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great.

Appropriate Ages: 12 or higher, or younger with parent.

Summary: As an adult, it had been 15 years since I had visited a haunted house. This location offered three scary attractions plus a small museum. All attractions were worth the cost, the time, and the drive. I most appreciated that this was not a carnival style event but rather a real house and real church (plus an outside trail) that all offered scares, special effects, and more. The attractions were all kind of a mystery and maze too... you had to find your way out while the event staff jumped out and yelled at you. Worth seeing. Will definitely support this event in future years. So glad I went.

6 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: miaway7   (Event Visited: 10/29/10 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was the first thing we found arriving in Forest City and we had never been there before. There was a sign that lead us right down the street to it.

Wait Entertainment: It was absolutley amazing. The first scare we encoutered was about 2 minutes after arrving at the gates. There was a clown walking around and going up into peoples faces. it was quite entertaining. the lines werent even long.

Length of Event: it took us about 20-30 minutes going through each attraction.

Actor Performance: They were Absolutley perfect. Everyone was in character and went above and beyond then most haunted attractions by almost crossing the line of being too close but didn't cause a problem. it felt like a true horror movie. the only characters that kind of slacked were the children beacuse they lept laughing and werent staying in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: well at times we got lost not knowing we had to get down and crawl. it was a true adventure but for the most part it was challenging but really fun and exciting.

Appropriate Ages: i wouldnt suggest it for anyone under the age of 13 or 14 unless their really brave.

Props / Special FX: they were pretty gruesome and scary they did a great job decorating.

Costumes / Make-up: their costumes and makeup was really well put togther and they did great adding a variety of characters into their haunts.

Summary: I suggest this haunted house for anyone who's looking for a real scare. Not only are the attractions good, but the fact of the location. 2 of the attractions were really hanuted and it just overall added more fun and mystery to the attractions. It was the best haunted attraction that i've ever been to. If your really into the supernatural then check this place out I mean i cant reccommend this haunted attraction more. it's better than most in Illinois and you'll get one of the funnest experinces of your life.

10 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/29/10 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Actually, it's kinda hard to miss. Very small town.

Wait Entertainment: They had bunches of roaming monsters.

Length of Event: 45 mins for all the attractions.

Actor Performance: Actor performance was just ok. I don't much care for the dialog. Very few actors have the training to make this believable and it just sounds goofy. I'd rather have them hiding and scaring. Telling us, 'the skinny ones taste better', is a cheesy. Also, why is everyone always yelling at us to get out?? That gets old really fast. All the touching was a HUGE surprise. While I personally do not mind that type of thing, PLEASE DO NOT PULL ON CLOTHING. My friend's jacket got ripped. That should not happen. Touch gently, do not use force. I am still on the fence about the little kids hanging on and you having to drag them through the house. They literally held on to your leg and you had to drag them. One of those kids is going to get kicked. I also don't think I saw adult supervision in that room and those were very young kids. That scares me for the kids sake. So, use touching to scare, not just to touch people. The girl in white almost had it down, but it was too much and don't touch on the face. Touching can be used to scare. This all bordered on annoying and was worrisome.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They could have done better. Not horrible though.

Props / Special FX: The girl in the freezer was very good. Otherwise, nothing new, surprising or over the top. I was disappointed in the overall decor of both houses. Nothing special at all. Just lots of broken stuff.

Costumes / Make-up: Again, nothing spectacular. Nothing really stands out in my mind.

Summary: I will start with the best. The trail was the BEST of the attractions. Absolutely! I had a blast in there. I love the wide opens spaces. That is unique. The Jeepers Creepers kid must be chugging the Red Bull. He is awesome, as he is every year. He really works that trail. He gets the jumpy scares and is everywhere! I really like the use of the chainsaws in the trail, too. Not at all where you would expect them. I got a scare from one of the chainsaw guys that is quite possibly the worst I've ever had.  
 
 
As far as the church and the house go, I wasn't impressed by either. That's a shame. I really liked them last year. The church had more individual room decoration, but the house had very little. Mostly, it was a bunch of trashed rooms with people yelling at you when you went in. There was a need for more actors in the actual haunted houses. There was too much dead space. I am also not a big fan of real axes and other metal objects being used to bash things. It's just not safe. All in all, the houses felt bare and quite disjointed in the decoration. Both houses really push the limits on acceptable behavior for haunters. I was worried about the actors and their safety. I also worried about all the unmarked steps/stairs. *Strobe lights on stairs is never a good idea* 
 
The "museum" was good. I liked going through there after all the other attractions. 
 
Overall, this is a really good deal for the 15.00 charge. I thought last year was better. However, with the hayride, 2 haunted houses, the trail, the paranormal investigators and the museum/snack bar, you get lots of fun entertainment.

7 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: joey   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: could use more signs but we found it.we drove an hour and a half to get there.

Wait Entertainment: Great all very scary and great to see so many out running around! the thing with the cape and weird face had claws that had a green glow, cool so was the big butcher and the bloody doctor who scared my lil bro! the weird creature was scratching the wall outside the potty and scaring us!

Length of Event: you could spend awile here, each building takes around twenty five to thirty min and then the hay rack ride too and cafe has great food!

Actor Performance: too many lil ones but some of them are creepy! maybe half of what they have would be good. very intense not for kids under nine or ten. most were really scary, could work on the acting skills of some.timing not to bad here either.their were some that were great and others that really needed work and too many small ones!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good! we did not run into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: nine or ten,some of the actors are very intense!

Props / Special FX: alot of things that were built not many store props here. could use some more higher dollar stuff.more authentic costumes needed to match the room.

Costumes / Make-up: ok, some were very nice like the big clown guy but some were just in jeans but for the enviroment that works ok just more blood ,dirt needed.

Summary: overall I will be back!!! I like this haunt alot! they have a great spot with a scary enviroment already.Like the old barn and church. the hayrack ride would be better with a scare or two.the paranormal team was an interesting place to stop and talk they had alot of info and great video. ghosts are definitally at home here! creepy haunt.I hope they put more into this haunt.I think they have great potential but are a lil shy of that.I am putting this haunt at the top of my list of favs the overall experience is fun! it is NOT one of those wait forever to have it all be over in ten minutes.you will have a great time here they scare you until you do!

7 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in the small little town of Forest City, not marked very good however you can find it. Every year we attend this event and it can still take us a street or two to find it. Slow down going through the town, local police watch speeders close.

Wait Entertainment: The have very good wait entertainment every year. This years white zombie girl, butcher, and twig girl was interesting. Watch out, the butcher guy is very involved in his part.

Length of Event: The event usually takes a good amount of time to go through, this year we covered a little over 2 hours here. The main house and trail was around 20 minutes. The second house and trail was maybe 20 minutes or a little more. The hayrack ride around the little town was maybe 8 minutes.

Actor Performance: Most of the characters were very well done, the best for me was leather face with his chainsaw. Some of the younger girls (more than I really like) were off on their timing and somewhat load and hard to believe as monsters.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: For the first year ever we had some major troubles here. The main house we had several bottleneck issues, even once toward the end we got into a back room that jointed into other attraction rooms - major design flaw, but there was a bottle of booze close by..??..the hair lover had skipped out no doubt sick!!! Very weak end to the first house! The second house and trail was much better, but again on the trail they had a design flaw near the mesh wire walking path! We noticed that several of the actors were off timing on the second event also, the young girls before entering the house was asleep before they noticed us.. The flying guy outside house two was interesting, but could use a higher base with hanging cords to add more to the effect. The hayrack ride was fun and listening to the woman build up the effects of actual haunts in the houses was interesting at best.. They even have assembled a ghost hunters group outside house two to show you computer sound bits of monsters and spirits talking along with a couple video clips of the spirits in the basement, lots of good fun here to add to this attraction - and people did enjoy this. This year was a bigger attraction, but for week three the movement in the events should have been much better and seamless, we got bottlenecked several times and had to wait for the setting to clear - not good.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 10 years at least here, there is some physical monsters here and lots of in hour face scary stuff..

Props / Special FX: The props are good here, but nothing high technical or high money involved. The props they use are all standard items, blades, chainsaws, and foam floors.. No special effects to speak of, but they could use them bad.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes are all very good to good and the masks are the main scare here, little make-up on the zombies and the little girls.

Summary: We have attended this haunted attraction every year since it started, we seen the big event in the city park to the no show year, to the now getting back to greatest slowly.. Every year this attraction is getting better now, everything good however the is some tweaking needed now. The haunted house one had some set design flaws that gave us and others trouble. The second haunted house and trail had problems with design flaws too, the fence wire entrance way was a mess, people didn't know what to do? Some of the younger children was off key, the second house basement girls were almost asleep here! The hayrack ride was good and the woman building up the event with stories of actual haunts in both houses to add more suspense seemed to work, lots of the people were going for this - it worked great! The tent with actual ghost hunters was fun too, this even build up more suspense and interest in two old houses, everything worked great. These guys had the computer laptop with sound clips of ghosts talking and video clips with spirits moving throughout the basement and house - great planning here! Overall this is a must see haunted attraction and just needs a little work here and there to make it seamless. The basement monster collection is fun and the food looked to be good. The arm bands should be sold every week for unlimited times, most people wanted to take another go through on one of the houses. I think things should have been smoother the third week into this, but everyone enjoyed it including myself, so who cares! See you next year!

5 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: hotlips77   (Event Visited: 10/08/10 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Its in a small town right past Manito. There is really no signs saying its here. You have to look for the city population sign saying Forest City.

Wait Entertainment: There was no line but there are several monsters walking around and a dining area you can go sit before or after you visit the attractions.

Length of Event: There was 3 events each were about 15 mins, 20 if you get lost.

Actor Performance: The actors were decent. Most acted in charecter but others broke charecter to chat.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was good. Alot of mazes to get lost in and hiders

Appropriate Ages: I would say age 9 and up unless u have brave little ones.

Props / Special FX: It seemed like it was old school. Homemade quicksand in the bridge scene. People hanging from the ceiling. OHHHH and don't forget the slide its to die for (hahaha)

Costumes / Make-up: Make was cool. Some great graphics. Most actors were in costum appropriate for the scene but others were just in street clothes, no make up or blood.

Summary: This is a good haunted house that supposly is really haunted. They have a paranormal group that has video of their findings and the stories the wagon tells gets u pumped up even more for the scares.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2014 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at