Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com – Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more ! Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2010 Visitor Reviews of
Eleventh Hour (Elk Grove Village, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
24 out of 30 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ciszews3   (Event Visited: 10/02/10 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/05/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Finding the Eleventh Hour Haunted Houses was pretty easy. We just looked for BERTHOLD'S GARDEN CENTER and we pulled in! Simple enough!

Wait Entertainment: They had a crazy country nurse rolling around in a wheelchair and making fun of people...hilarious and creepy at the same time! Also, a mad slasher guy that was dark and hairy wiht a big hat sneeking up on people and running everywhere! Creepy and scary!

Length of Event: About 30-35 mins total for the 3 houses and corn maze.

Actor Performance: I would have to say that the actors, for the first opening weekend where in top form! Very enthusiastic and it is different than last year with some actors actually working together to tag-team our group as we walked through! Great job!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was well done! Did not bump into anyone, except when in the last house, Intensity where we got turned around in the dark but it was fun to have the monsters come at us from all directions!

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up! Maybe younger for the first house and corn maze! Yes, family fun because there are pumpkins and food out front, so; we didn't have to wait in line! They call our number when they are ready to scare us! Well done!

Props / Special FX: Great! Eleventh hour has really detailed rooms and the graveyard is different. Catacombs has a couple of different rooms added in compared last year with a big semi breaking throug the wall at our group and a cool entry way called, the Mineshaft! Intensity is different too. More obtacle and confusing rooms with a fog/laser light room that rocked! Oh, and the corn maze out front is amazing! They made it bigger and there is a creepy psycho guy jumping off a platform at us!! Great job!

Costumes / Make-up: Again, well done! Make up was detailed and creepy! Costumes were good too!

Summary: Well done guys! I really enjoy coming out every year and our group had an awesome time! Great to see that everyone was in Halloween form and it made a difference for the first week of October! I will definately be back again this month and next year!!

8 out of 11 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/29/10 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find - Bertholds Garden.

Wait Entertainment: Some monsters "creeps" walking throughout the crowds. Crazy nurse in a wheelchair being pushed around, she has been here the last several years - it's works!

Length of Event: It took about 30 minutes or a little more to get through the entire attraction, not too bad. We waited for maybe 40 minutes before being called.

Actor Performance: All the actors done a very good job and stayed on cue..

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The crowd flow was excellent, these people know how to maintain a good flow throughout without running into other groups, and this is a large draw attraction - the know what they are doing here!

Appropriate Ages: I think a 10 year old could handle and enjoy this without any problem.

Props / Special FX: Lots of good standard props and some added detail effects. No special effects to speak of and they should have some by now, the fog machines and strobe lights need more, I think some digital effects would really make this a 10 event!

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make-up was excellent, same every year - these people are good at this. No detail was emitted here.

Summary: Every year we try to attend this attraction and it never let's us down, they do a very good job. The mineshaft was one of my favorite sets, however the "creatures of the corn" was interesting and fun - need more actors here and some chainsaws! The "catacombs" was my favorite house by far, lots of action and the sets were excellent throughout. Note that all 3 of the haunted houses are linked together so you flow from one to another smoothly, not too bad, same every year but it keeps the flow moving.. I would suggest that you buy tickets on line because it's quicker and cheaper.. I think the price here is a little high, but they do put a good attraction on here.

15 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ilikehaunts   (Event Visited: 10/07/10 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Eleventh hour is located at nursery, on the night I attended they could have used a lot more signage. We drove by, and we knew what we were looking for. there was little signage for the event, and what was there lacked lighting. The location is easy to find, but it isn't overly apparent that it is a haunted house.

Wait Entertainment: On the night we attended there wasn't too much in the way of wait entertainment. There was only one guy entertaining the crowd, he wore a tie and a cut off tshirt. As people waited he taunted and made fun of the people waiting. It was fun to watch but got tiresome after a while. I would have liked to see more people trying to get scares, but this could have also been due to it being an off night.

Length of Event: Eleventh hour is split into several attractions, the total time was approximately 25 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actor performances in the house varied. In the main portion of the house (eleventh hour) the actors seemed to have more theatrical performances, where they would stop the groups and actually spout off lines. The actors delivered the lines very well, and really seemed into their roles. Unfortunately this style of acting doesn't impose as much of frightening environment. It was very entertaining however. The actors in the other attractions seemed to follow a more traditional approach and really did a good job. Overall there was a good mix of theatrical and traditional scares that really made for an entertaining show.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Our group never ran into any others, crowd control was well done. This is largely thanks to the main house with their ability to stop groups as they needed to.

Appropriate Ages: I would say the main house is appropriate for all ages, as it isn't overly frightening. The second portion would bring a rating of about 10+.

Props / Special FX: Eleventh hour usually has many cool animations and props, but unfortunately on the night we attended many of them were not working. Overall the static props and scenic details were effectively used and helped to set the mood.

Costumes / Make-up: Eleventh hour did not excel in this area. Many of the makeup jobs seemed to be rushed, perhaps the makeup would be better on busier nights.

Summary: I have been attending Eleventh Hour for many years, and let me begin by saying that this year has been one of my favorite performances by them to date. In the past the show seemed thrown together or unfinished in areas, but this year was different. The rooms this year seemed more complete and well rounded. Unfortunately, the main haunt hasn't changed in several years, or if it has, the changes seem unnoticeable. The big plus though is that the other haunts have been improved greatly. The detail in the second house was improved and each of them had some pretty cool scenes. Some favorites were a large semi-truck that crashed through a wall, an interesting take on the standard dark maze, and a very cool lazer room.  
 
Overall, Eleventh hour put on a really great show this year. If the main haunt were a bit scarier it would have made the experience that much better. Unfortunately the price tag is a bit high at $25 for everything, although for three attractions it averages out to about 8.50 per haunt, which is absolutely worth it. If you get a chance and are in the area, Eleventh Hour is a good time!

15 out of 23 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: staticcharge   (Event Visited: 10/02/10 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was easy to find with a map service. The huge corn maze along the road and arrow pointing in are difficult to miss.

Wait Entertainment: Early in the saeson. A beautiful and deranged actress and a really nice little Halloween festival. Concession stand. The façade to the Eleventh Hour house was great. Unlike all of the industrial and commercial spaces that house most haunts, this one actually looked like a scary house from the outside. You have to award points for that!

Length of Event: With all four haunts, it was no less than 30 minutes long. Any quicker and you’d be running through (and an expert at mazes.) 
 
I’d break it down like this: 
 
“Eleventh Hour” (Theatrical Haunt): 10-12 Minutes 
 
“The Catacombs” (Atmospheric/FX Haunt): 7-8 minutes 
 
“Intensity” (Dark Maze/Funhouse Haunt): 9-12 minutes 
 
“Creatures of the Corn” (Haunted Corn Maze) 5-7 minutes 
 
I thought the 4 different styles gave a really good feel to the event.

Actor Performance: The actors did a great job. I wish there were a couple more in the corn maze, but the ones in there were good! Loved the dark maze guys and the “master of the house.” Good energy all around.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The groups were perfectly spaced, but we did have a group of “trouble-makers” moving way too fast and causing destruction right behind us. Other than that, the flow was great, it’s hard to stop people who are out to cause trouble.

Appropriate Ages: 11 and up, with parental discretion advised. Maybe a bit older, maybe a bit younger, as everyone knows, all kids are different. It was scary, but not offensive. No profanity or vomit-inducing violence, but still had a good style.

Props / Special FX: Very Good. While some of it is standard haunt-level sets, (and there were a few blank walls in darkened areas and the dark maze,) it’s all highly detailed where it needed to be. They also had some custom set pieces in there that look as good as at big-dollar theme parks. I’m pretty sure if you turned the lights on, the quality and amount of detail here would blow many (most) other Chicagoland houses away. 
 
As for special effects in particular, spinning tunnel, fog, lasers, secret exits, a swamp effect, and a giant truck busting through a wall, which was very cool! Some fun surprises.

Costumes / Make-up: Pretty good. Some looked great, others looked passable, a couple were lacking. Nothing earth shattering but it all served its’ purpose. The guy in the cage area looked great and so did the “master of the house.”

Summary: I’d call this one of the most ambitious haunted houses in the area. Of what I've seen, one or two others spring to mind as comparably ambitious, but those events are literally half the size of this one. At over half an hour, which is easily how long I was in there, (and you can take that to the bank), this is a pretty long, ambitious haunted house experience. 
 
For opening weekend I felt they performed really well, and it will probably only get better as the season goes. 
 
I believe it was a couple bucks too high on price, but for the most part, almost every non-charity haunted house I’ve ever visited is a buck or two too high. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve paid $13-$20 for a 10-15 minute haunted house. I’ve even paid $30 for a 12-minute haunted house that didn’t even take place inside the advertised venue! 
 
Back to 11th Hour, In reading the reviews here, the tickets are cheaper online. Go figure. Woulda been nice to know that ahead of time. Oh well. At least now you know. 
 
I loved the fact that the actors and staff here don’t strut around like they’re cooler than you, like at many houses. They were cool, especially the actors in the dark maze, but it wasn’t about intimidating you by acting like a “cool angry metalhead giving you the death stare” like at so many other haunted houses. This environment seemed eerie, ominous, yet oddly welcoming at the same time. 
 
We also would’ve liked to see a chainsaw at the finale of the event, and we didn’t get one. Please add one!!! 
 
One problem the night we went was there was a group of really cocky, loud, too-fast-moving troublemakers right behind us in the last two houses. They were punching the walls and messing with the scenes- and our group. One of them actually ran up next to me, and passed gas right in my direction! Then ran away laughing. I kid you not. After a while, we stepped into the shadows and let them pass us- But then they slowed down to a crawl and we caught back up to them! They eventually disappeared out a curtain mid-way through the dark maze (that clearly wasn’t the exit.) 
 
A word to the wise: if you’re ever at a haunted house and go out the wrong curtain: Turn around and go back in. I’m sure the curtain won’t be locked behind you. 
 
Regardless of rude customers, my group enjoyed Eleventh Hour. The actors were on, the detail was great, there were some fun scares, and the atmosphere was a sort of “autumn chilling” that strip mall/industrial haunts can’t seem to bottle. 
 
Our favorite of the four houses was The Catacombs: tremendous detail and effects! The Catacombs is one of the cooler-feeling haunted houses I’ve been to. 
 
To wrap up, I strongly believe this is one of the better events in Chicagoland, and it’s on my personal top-5 list.

12 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: karaann   (Event Visited: 10/08/10 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in Bertholds Garden Center, theres some inflatables out front to catch your attention.

Wait Entertainment: Great, a man and a woman (they very well could be married in real life) actually met us at our van in the parking lot and scared the wits out of my big headed kids and their friends! Nicely done, it made my night. Their characters were very entertaining.

Length of Event: I didnt time it exactly, but I can estimate around 35-45 min with all 4 houses.

Actor Performance: Excellent. I think my girls left pee puddles in some of the rooms, and one ended up in tears. They're in your face, but not to the extent where its annoying or obnoxious. All of them kept to their character, which was different in every room. You can see that these actors put hard work into their characters and really are passionate about what they do.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good. The only place we ran into another group was in the last maze, but its a maze.

Appropriate Ages: 10+ there wasnt any harsh language or terrible gore, but parents know their children and their tolerance the best. There are things to do in the festival outside the haunted house if somebody changes their mind or wants to bring their little ones.

Props / Special FX: Every room was so detailed and different from the next. The time and effort that must have been put in this house is amazing. Im so use to seeing plain warehouse walls inside other haunted houses so I really enjoyed the actual house feel of this one. I dont want to give away the scares, but many suprises, especially at the end of the mine part!! Ive never heard my girls scream like that.

Costumes / Make-up: Spooky! I really dont think haunted houses should put people in obviously fake looking masks, which I saw a few of here. But the mojority was hand done makeup. The waiting entertainment monsters had fantastic makeup that you are able to get a good look at since they are in the light. Again very unique in some rooms, such as the opening room.

Summary: Going to haunted houses is something my husband and I love to do with our kids and their friends around Halloween. So far we have been to two other houses, and this one was the best by far. It gets exhausting to consistently see the same things in every house, and thats not the case here. They changed it up a bit from last year which is great since we are returning customers. One great thing they did last year later in the season when its packed, is have only a limited number of people stand in the actual line at the same time. They will call your ticket numbers over a loud speaker so you can wait in a heated tent with picnic tables and consession stands. Great idea, ive never seen this before. It really builds up the anticipation when your group makes their way to the line.  
Not only was this house scary, it was entertaining. My group agreed that this was their favorite yet again this yea, and we will be back next year!

11 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: triogroupie3   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: very easy to get here. lights and signs.

Wait Entertainment: not much. there was one guy that was hanging around in a wheel chair. making funny remarks and acting more of a comedian than someone that worked at a haunted house. Also there was a girl with fake blood and a prom dress on...screaming and yelling...in peoples ears. not entertainment for me at all.

Length of Event: about 25 mins

Actor Performance: VERY VERY POOR. There were two people out of the entire place that I was even remotely impressed by. Sadly enough one of those said people was the ticket taker for the second haunt. The other person that I liked, was one in a very dark maze and he had a flash light. we got stopped because we ran into another group and he stayed quite for about 30 seconds and turned his light on and growled. about 3 inchs from my face. I enjoyed the fact that he actually cld keep that quiet and was able to get that close without me noticing him.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We ran into multiple groups, and had mulitple people running into us. Made me very unhappy because it never allows you to get the surprise that your supposed to get.

Appropriate Ages: 10 up

Props / Special FX: VERY VERY GOOD props. that just did not utilize them like i hoped that would have.

Costumes / Make-up: nothing special. very generic

Summary: Overall I think this house is the house I was most dissappointed in out of all the haunts I have been to this yr (about 15 haunts). And oddly enough, this was the house I was most excited for, because last year it was amazing. 
 
There was no in your face scares, no amazing "creatures" walking around breathing in peoples ear, and all you heard was "get out". 
 
When your buying tickets, theres a sign that says 4 haunts plus corn maze $23 , or one haunt $18, we bought the 3 haunt one. But to me, it felt like we only got 2 haunts and a very poorly made corn maze. 
 
Im glad I have coupons, otherwise the cost, (that went up since last yr), wld be way out of a good price range.

24 out of 40 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/03/10 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/04/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Plenty of signage around the area, easily seen from the street.

Wait Entertainment: Not bad, but I feel it would have been better if there was a bigger crowd. I went through everything essentially by myself, so I bet a lot of the actors were in the houses.

Length of Event: 30 minutes if you do all three houses, as well as the corn maze.

Actor Performance: Really good, one guy followed me throughout the corn maze, and the ones in the houses had really good make up and were very scary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flying solo, so no one else was in the houses.

Summary: First off, there are three different houses and a corn maze. The corn maze, although in a small area, was really well done and very confusing. The first house seems the same as last year, but it is still really well done. The second one was in a farm, and wasn't as scary, but I feel that was due to going in late on a Sunday, I expected a few more actors in that room. The third house was a maze that you can easily get lost in, like I did. The first half of it is pitch black with plastic strips hanging down, and the second half you go through a laser light show that easily confuses you with the lighting. There is an added bonus that if you buy a ticket for the whole thing, you can come back for free on Wednesday or Thursday, and I will definitely take them up on that offer!!

9 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Blackmetal26   (Event Visited: 10/08/10 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This was the only problem i had with this attraction, the place has one lit up sign. Instead of looking for an "Eleventh Hour" sign, look for the Bertholds one it is more visible.

Wait Entertainment: Very VERY entertaining,there was a scary woman and man that would both be in and out of the wheel chair barking hilarious comments towards people! And there was this weird furry guy who would pop out from time to time.

Length of Event: It varies with the size of your group i would assume. 
The corn maze was about 8 minutes (confused the heck out of me) 
Eleventh hour - 12 minutes 
Catacombs - 10-12 minutes 
Intensity took the longest which was probably for us about 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: Corn maze i wasn't so thrilled with just your typical mask, only cool part was the guy on the bungy. 
Eleventh hour was all about the crazed mentally insane, their performance was entertaining and quite the show, they literally make you leap back with how real it feels. (i personally loved the toy room and that overgrown clown and the guy in the grave yard - GENIUS!) 
Catacombs was just as a boneyard with creepy gouls, best of all was this truck part it was different and quite the scare! 
Intensity was my FAVORITE you do not know when someone/something will pop out and it really keeps you on your toes! There were these 3 nutso jesters a guy who would confuse you through the maze and then these two absolutely INSANE girls with the light show and cage, they were jumping over the walls and crawling by your feet to the point where they had the grown men in our group sprinting out, they call it intensity for a reason and those 3 were intense!! the guy with the chainsaw was awesome also quite the finale! 

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We only Bumped into another group inside intensity because it is so confusing but that is somewhat what is supposed to happen i would suppose (it is a maze)

Appropriate Ages: i'd have to say 13 and up.

Props / Special FX: the detail of the house also is very VERY well done you feel like you really are in an abandoned house trapped in a nightmare! i also loved the detail in catacombs, very realistic!

Costumes / Make-up: B-R-A-V-O thats all i have to say about this, so life-like inside the eleventh hour, i am not a big fan of masks so please less masks next time!

Summary: I've been to most of the chicagoland haunted houses and none of them have put on a show like these kids, it is one heck of a show that will keep you on your toes, and even has some comic relief. VERY fun and such a great environment! well worth my money and i am even returning again. Best show i've seen in awhile here, i have been attending this attraction for a few years now and each year there are new characters,bigger and better things and a lot more fun to expirience! Well done guys! If you havent checked it out yet make sure you do, or you will miss out big time!

9 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: chainlink   (Event Visited: 10/03/10 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/06/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: not much lighting but the place is right off devon ave and in betholds flower center

Wait Entertainment: not much wait entertainmnet just a rude lady outside sittign on a wheelcharir entertaining people

Length of Event: 40-45 min

Actor Performance: actors performance, 
eleventh hour: good, very creepy, excpecially shirtless guy in morge or doctors room awsome and scared crap out of me 
 
catacombs: very very creepy and need more actors but what they had in there very creepy and into there rolls 
 
intesity: my god amazing, unexpected scares,awsoem costumes of what i saw when they flashed there flashlights, the guy with the white cut up bloody shirt and looked like a doctors mask was very creepy and wierd. 
 
creatures of corn creepy corn people and guy on bungy awsome

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: awsome never ran into another group

Appropriate Ages: 11+

Props / Special FX: props and special effects in catacombs where the best very realistic things and truck scence very awsome and once again the room in intensity with the fog and strobes very awsome

Costumes / Make-up: costumes and make up was awsoem lets start with the corn maze, alot of mask but awsome with the scenery,  
 
eleventh hour: the guy in the lab awsome bloody makeup creepy and the guy in the morge make up the viens and idk what that was awsome, 
 
catacombs couldnt really see the makeup but fit awsome with the scence. 
 
and intensity: alot of actors in there with mask and red mask guy was awsoem but the one person who caught my eye was the guy in the fog and strob room with a doctors mask on with white hat and bloody shirt makeup was really creep and realistic of what i saw only time i saw was when he shined his light but awsome makeup all around 

Summary: overall this is my 5th season coming to elevent hour this year i think there in the quest to be the best aroudn, its longer, scarier and just plan awom come visit you will see the intese of the actors and the atmospher of the room justall around fun and great show def be back

16 out of 28 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Kristen75   (Event Visited: 10/03/10 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/05/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to get too. Just look for Bertholds.

Wait Entertainment: We didn't have to wait at all. There were very few people when we went in.

Length of Event: It took about 45 minutes for us to get through everything.

Actor Performance: The actors really got into their characters and really made you think they were insane.A couple were extremely scary. I would say the guy who liked to smell hair was the best!! He really gave me the creeps.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There were not too many people other than us at the time we went in, but that made it that much better as we got to go at our pace.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 13 and up.

Props / Special FX: I would say on the whole the props and special effects were 8 on a scale of 10. There was one area that we had to walk through were it was really dark and couldn't see much, but a cast member had a flash light and tried to lead us through. It was hard to see and the light hindered more than helped.  
The corn maze was really great too.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were fantastic. The makeup was well done and very realistic.

Summary: I would definitely go back again. I would like to go when there are a few more people, but this haunted house is really worth the money. We bought our tickets online and paid only $19.75.

9 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: FallenAngel   (Event Visited: 10/24/10 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: the location is vary well seen. they have signs everywhere to let you know where it is and a big corn maze by the road.

Wait Entertainment: the wait was fun they have people in line to keep you on your toes. there was a girl in a blue dress that was so creepy.

Length of Event: i think its a good time it is about 30-35 min depending on if you are with a good group or not

Actor Performance: the actors where really good the people in the dentist room where so scary they scared the h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored) out of me. also the truck in the end of house number three and that awesome band in the last house where so good lots of people where talking about them.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: the flow of the place was better then i thought because they where really packed i was expecting to get backed up but my group did not run into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: i think that the corn maze and maybe the first house would be good for maybe like 10+ but some kids are braver then others

Props / Special FX: i thought that they way they put that place together is well done i have been to a lot of haunted houses in my day and i just really like this one the spinning room in the 3ed house and the chain saw guy was cool.

Costumes / Make-up: make up is so good i have no idea how they do it. it looks so real. costumes could have been a little better some of them looked like something i would ware like they are new i think they need more blood.

Summary: I would have to say Eleventh Hour rocked this year. I was amazed by the great amount of entertainment. It's very easy to find, and though it was a far drive for me, I thought It was well worth it. The actors were amazing and very theatrical. I never saw anyone break character. They seemed to be very experienced. I very much enjoyed the visual effects, such as that spinning vortex,(my favorite!) as well. All and all I would say it's worth the price. It's a pretty long deal, for a haunted house, but I like that about this place. It's family friendly and very entertaining.

8 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Kristi082   (Event Visited: 10/23/10 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: You can see it pretty good, it's lit up well. However I didn't see an "Eleventh Hour" sign anywhere when pulling up.

Wait Entertainment: I saw two people walking around, their was a african american guy that was really good and he got some good scares. However there was a girl in a teal dress that came up behind you and screamed in your ear. That made my group really mad, we told her as much but she didn't apologise. We understand scaring people but screaming in your ear is not cool, or scary!

Length of Event: 20-30 mins if you pay for all 3.

Actor Performance: There were a few really good actors, they stayed in character and were really into it. But there seemed to be a shortage on actors the night we went, some rooms were empty.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was good until the end we caught up to a group in front of us but it didn't bother anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: The rooms were really deatiled you could see there was a lot of work that went into them. There wasn't a lot of special FX, I think the truck broke since it was through the wall when we walked by.

Costumes / Make-up: Most of the actors had costumes/masks covering their face. Some had make-up but it wasn't that detailed. The actors did fit their rooms though, that was nice to see.

Summary: Over all this was a good haunted house. However I think with the detail and the work that went into building it, it could have been a lot better. We were really disappointed after we spent $23 (for all 4) and then found out there was a number system on your ticket. We had gotten there at prime time and there was a lot of people there, we were told there was 200 people in front of us and we had to wait. Well after about 2hours of waiting (and us being almost the only big group left) we decided to jump in line without our number being called and see what happened. We found out they weren't even checking numbers anymore and that they had stopped calling them altogether. Good thing we jumped in line! I think this haunt has a lot going for it but it needs help in my opinion. I don't like the number system and I wished they had told you that at the ticket window, and I don't think $23.00 is a good price. I would have been happy just paying the $18. $5 for a corn maze that takes 5 mintues to go through wasn't worth it to me.

9 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: mrsmitch2   (Event Visited: 10/23/10 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was easy to spot though there was some construction going on. There seemed to be a traffic jam too once inside and we waited for 15 minutes just in order for someone to direct the traffic b/c nobody was doing so.

Wait Entertainment: We did see quite a few monsters and dead people - quite a few - but they all seemed to be conversing with patrons as opposed to scaring people. I did see one guy though who made it his duty to try to scare everyone he could!

Length of Event: for all 4 events it took about 45 minutes.

Actor Performance: Our favorite actor was little michelle! she really got into it and did very well as she lured us towards her brother! Most of the actors did an ok job - the usual. I didnt see anyone that stuck out as extremely great or off the charts.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We had a major traffic jam.. we caught up to the group in front of us and ended up having some 'scares' not available to us b/c we had seen them due to catching up with the other group.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: I have to say I loved the scenery! the special effects available and the designs for the props and scenery were just wonderful! we all really enjoyed staring at all the details!

Costumes / Make-up: costumes and make up were very good! very detailed... they all looked very well done - someone had definitely prepared for that well!

Summary: Overall I was not impressed with this haunted house. I had heard of the reputation and had been trying to get out that way since last year to check it out but I was disapointed. I didnt think this haunted house stood out from all the rest. It says on their website that they were #1 but after visiting some of the other haunted houses I find that very hard to believe. It was a "good" haunted house - dont get me wrong - but I dont think it stood apart from the others out there. I think that Eleventh Hour has so much potential - they certainly have the space to really make this a haunted house that nobody would forget but I dont think they have that just yet.

9 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: familyman45   (Event Visited: 10/06/10 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The haunt doesnt have a HUGE sign but if you mapquest it it will bring you right into the parking lot.

Wait Entertainment: Its GREAT they dont try and be scary the whole time and thats what I love! I mean the guy last night was great! He is very funny but knows how to creep people out at the same time.

Length of Event: Everything talkes about 35-45 mins

Actor Performance: The actors were great! I like how all the houses have diffrent scare tactics. The first house is great because they dont act like dead people. They act more like crazy people who are mentally ill, and personaly thats more scary because it can really happen. I liked the intro in the first room alot! Then when you get in that room after the bookcase with all the toys....HE IS CRAZY! I think his name is Snuggels or somthing like that but he made my one friend cry in a corrrner and the other friend sprint out of the room! I also liked the intensity actors, they are EVERYWERE its crazy how they pop up everywere!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Rather good, when you get into the intensity it can get congested because you get VERY lost

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: they were all great! Plenty of pop outs and little things that you will not know are comming!

Costumes / Make-up: Great! the guy in the chair...i think it was a dentist room had CRAZY makeup on looking liike his face was ripped off

Summary: I would recomend this haunted house to EVERYONE! I am planning on going back this weekend or next weekend again with more people. I really did enjoy it and again i would tell everyone to go to this haunted house!

5 out of 11 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: chollabones   (Event Visited: 10/23/10 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Quite easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: None.

Length of Event: 30 minutes

Actor Performance: Only ok. Some were better than others, but some of the actors seemed to be there only to direct you to the right location, as in Chain Reaction. Also, talking actors rarely work, and MANY of these talked. Leave that to more professional people.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Fast. Waaay too fast. They seemed to be making every effort to get us through as fast as we could go.

Appropriate Ages: 6+

Props / Special FX: The rooms looked pretty cool. I was mostly impressed with this part.

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly very good.

Summary: The corn maze is not hard at all compared to most corn mazes I have been through. We were out in 5 minutes. Then, we had to go in a group of 6 through all the other parts. 6! It is completely impossible to be scared in that large of a group if you are not up front. I was up front, and nobody in back was scared a bit. In fact, the monsters had already scared me and gone before the last 3 in our group had made it into the room...and we were all jammed together single file. Add to that very weak actors who often worked to "scare" us to the right direction, and we made it through the last 3 parts like we were greased! The catacombs was very cool looking, but it was mostly a bunch of walking through nothing scary with an occasional "boo" from someone. This house is far too overrated, and I can't believe I am saying this, but I have been to much better houses in the small towns down south.

7 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Stephen_King   (Event Visited: 10/13/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I was expecting to see a large "11th Hour" sign or something along those lines but instead came across a rather pleasant looking pumpkin patch/petting zoo that just so happened to also be the location of the haunt.

Wait Entertainment: Thankfully there was no wait! Considering I went on a Wednesday, I was in and out rather quick.

Length of Event: 20 minutes:11th Hour says you're paying for FOUR haunted houses but honestly when I was done I was left scratching my head and wondering, "was that it?"

Actor Performance: Varied from terrible to rather impressive. Some rooms were very well done and entertaining, especially the first room where you're introduce to a mad doctor of sorts. Unfortunately the rest of the house is mostly made up of people banging on the walls and pulling all of the cliche haunted attraction maneuvers.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Perfect. Then again, I went somewhat early on a Wednesday but with that said, I did notice a few actors being caught, "of guard" in a few rooms which ruined the scare.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: This was where 11th Hour really succeeded. Most of the rooms were done very well and the detail that went into them was top notch. From room to room, it felt as if you were entering a different world and that made this attraction more enjoyable.

Costumes / Make-up: Unfortunately the costumes/make-up were rather tame. Just a simple mix or white or black face paint made up nearly all of the actors in this house.

Summary: Overall, it seemed that 11th Hour had a very cool layout in regards to the aesthetics of the place. But, for the whopping $23 ticket price for supposedly FOUR attractions, this haunt was not the "best-bang for your buck" that they had advertised. Also, once completed with the first attraction, there were no signs or employees directing you to the next haunt. I found myself leaving one haunt and then wandering down some dark road looking for the next attraction when the road would come to a dead end! Though I thought this was a decent attraction, if I was on a budget and could only afford to go to ONE haunted house this year, 11th hour would not be it.

15 out of 48 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Haunt_Master   (Event Visited: 10/02/10 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I was on a bus tour and the bus driver had trouble finding the place. There was an inflatable to look for however waving outside.

Wait Entertainment: There was a rude girl in a wheelchair (she wasn't really crippled) rolling around and picking on people in the crowd.

Length of Event: About 20 minutes worth of haunted house activity after you get done waiting in line.

Actor Performance: Mediocre. No one seemed too into their roles or too intense. There were some girls who were really loud screamers which was more annoying than anything. I was not too impressed with the actors. Also, there was an actor shortage. There was only about one guy in the maze and maybe 2 tops in the corn field.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Poor. We were constantly running into other groups at all of the 4 haunts. The cornfield, the house, and the mazes.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: The house is about the coolest attraction for props because it is pretty detailed, especially the first room. However, there are zero props and special effects in the cornfield, and the mazes. It's just dark and you are trying to find your way out.

Costumes / Make-up: For the most part it is dark so you can't really see anyone's costumes that well. There was little to be impressed about.

Summary: I did not enjoy 11th hour for a multitude of reasons. One, there are hardly any actors. Actors are what help to make a haunt truly intense and scary.  
Two, the patron flow was horrible. We were constantly running into other people and the group behind us caught up to us. They did not do a good job seperating the groups which limited the scary atmosphere and your chances of having an actor pop out at you.  
Three, in the last "pitch black" maze (it wasn't)... my group was following another group. We went out an exit that wasn't really an exit. There was an exit (probably an emergency one) that wasn't marked as such. So we took it thinking it was the way out. We then had to walk past a quarry and hop over various wooden planks and boards and rocks. My friend tripped as it was very dark and you couldn't see all the debris in th way as we tried to navigate our way back to the car. We weren't the only ones to take this route, as about 20 people thought it was the exit too. Clearly it was not though, as the end of the debris path was blocked with trash cans we had to squeeze past. This is poorly designed and there should have been more actors in the house to ensure that exit was not taken.  
Overall, this is a poor bang for your buck haunted attraction. None of the attractions take long to get through at all. I think they greatly exaggerate how long their attraction is. Unless you count waiting in line, this is definately not the longest in the Chicago area!!!

7 out of 23 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: partycentral   (Event Visited: 10/08/10 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Just look for the yellow blinking lights with an arrow. There is construction so watch out for them.

Wait Entertainment: We were the first people there and right off the bat, there was someone outside trying to scare us, but was more crazy looking than scary.

Length of Event: The corn maze was about 10 minutes, but could have been longer if they did a better job keeping us going in circles. I would say if you are a someone who likes to get scared, and you follow every nook and cranny, you could be in there for 30 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actors were okay. Some were better than other inside the Haunts (not the Corn Maze). All I will say is that some actors were better than others, but it was also early in the night and they might have been getting warmed up still.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were the only ones in the attraction the entire time and never ran into anyone which made it more fun. In the houses, they tried to stop us in certain areas to give us a show, but the acting didn't work well enough to make it really scary.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: We saw very few special FX as a lot of things didn't seem to work anymore like the giant dinosaur looking thing in one of the houses. There were some cool looking special effects that were effective. Props wise, things were there and scary looking but there wasn't enough. The laser lights were pretty sweet.

Costumes / Make-up: Makeup was so so, costumes were basic and not over the top.

Summary: All in all, the venue of 4 haunts were okay. I have been to this house many times before and they didn't seem up to it this year. They were not ready when we go there at 7:15, and they were supposed to be open and ready with music blasting at 7. The corn maze was pretty cool but could have used 1-2 more actors in better costumes...possibly with a chain saw. 
 
Eleventh Hour House's introduction was not effective and the same as every year. There were areas in the house where I was scared and there were definitely places in the houses that were very effective like getting lost in some of the mazes they had. Everything was very dark and claustrophobic.  
 
If I were them, I would remove the Chain Link fence at the end as it was easy to get through and too bright (since it's outside). I would also make the Eleventh Hour connect to Pitch Black so there is no showing your tickets twice. They should charge for 1 house (not 4) as there really are not 4 houses.  
 
Acting was good but not great. Costumes were so so. People in the house stayed in character for the most part but there were some that spoke to us telling us which way to go. The courtyard was not effective as there were not enough actors, and the houses in general were not loud enough, nor dark enough.  
 
Overall, the house is scary but not overly scary. Worth the price? Only if you pay the online rate of $19.75. I hope they do a better job next year.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Only Exclusive Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright © 1999-2014 HauntedIllinois.com
Questions/Comments? Contact the Webmaster
Media / Promotion Inquiries please click here

Like this site? Tell A Friend and Join Our Mailing List.