Site Sponsors

Dark Summit Haunted House - Summit, Illinois
CreepyHallow Blood Shed Haunted House - Frankfort, Illinois
St Patricks Haunted High - Kankakee, Illinois
Village of Screamfield - Plainfield, Illinois

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2010 Visitor Reviews of
Evil Intentions Haunted House (Elgin, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
20 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ilikehaunts   (Event Visited: 10/07/10 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Evil Intentions is kind of hard to find if you arent familiar with where it is located. It is down a small road, and is located in a large warehouse. They have signs to direct you.

Wait Entertainment: Evil Intentions did really well in this category, they had a large screen playing videos of the attracting, and a pretty cool looking facade-type structure with an illuminated "Evil Intentions" sign. Along with this were several actors walking around in various "goth/Bondage" type outfits.

Length of Event: Overall it took about 15 minutes to make it through.

Actor Performance: Actors in this show did a pretty good job, they utilized many props and things like saws as scares. Much of their attacks were loud and on target, with the exception of a few whos timing seemed to be off.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never ran into any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: This show utilized darkness and lights to create most of their effects. It was done pretty effectively too. In terms of animations or props though, this house lacks in that department.

Costumes / Make-up: Most of the costumes (as earlier mentioned) were Goth/Bondage type outfits, given the type of attraction though, they seemed to fit in.

Summary: Evil Intentions put on a good show this year. The scenes overall seemed about the same as in the past, with the major change being a rerouting of the house. By changing the order in which customers experience the rooms it did make the house seem like it had undergone some relatively large changes. The waiting area this year was bigger, and gave off a much more impressive appearance. The intro this year was the same as in the past, with the main difference being that the coffins you stand in were bigger. Unfortunately, all that happens in them is that you watch a video, I would have liked something more to have happened...  
 
Overall, Evil Intentions put on a good show this year. And at $15.00 per person it isn't that bad of a value either! 
 
If you get a chance, check out Evil Intentions!

16 out of 24 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/24/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's off the main streets in Elgin, but there are a lot of signs and lighting to show you the way.

Wait Entertainment: There were several scary people, very large and intimidating.

Length of Event: 30 minutes

Actor Performance: Really good, they were very scary, and great doing the pop out.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were the first people in after the actor break, so we didn't run in to anyone.

Summary: I really like this house. It's set up in a warehouse, which helps add to the atmosphere. There are also a lot of rooms which end up being very scary, and a lot mazes. One of the maze areas had these two little kids made up and they would follow you through that area. They were very creepy. My favorite aspect of the house is that, there are so many different maze areas, that you end up not going through the whole house. There are several different ways to go through parts of the house, I feel I would like to go back and try to find a different way through the house. The actors are really good at hiding in the rooms and scaring you. One of the scariest and moodiest houses.

10 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: NikkiMo   (Event Visited: 10/23/10 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's not hard to find as long as you have directions, but it is somewhat hidden.

Wait Entertainment: There were many different actors entertaining/scaring while we waited in line.

Length of Event: Took about 15-20 minutes to walk through it.

Actor Performance: The actors did a wonderful job! I didn't see one person out of character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: My group didn't catch up to anyone, but another group caught up to us, so eventually we just let them pass us. We may have been moving a little more slowly and the actors were having a lot of fun messing with us (We were a group of 4 girls)

Appropriate Ages: It depends on the kid, but probably 13 +

Props / Special FX: They didn't have a huge amount of props, but they had enough to make it work. Special FX included strobe lights, fog machines, and machines that blew air to scare you.

Costumes / Make-up: I thought the costumes and makeup were great. There seemed to be an even amount of masks vs. makeup.

Summary: As soon as we got there it looked scary, just because of where it's located. You have to walk down what reminds me of a creepy alley to go inside. As soon as we walked in a clown was standing there to greet us. While buying our tickets another actor (bloody face, mo-hawk, with a wooden steak) showed up to mess with us. He told me he liked my piercings and then asked me if he could give me a new one ha ha  
 
The queuing area was full of fog, red lights, a big screen playing a video, and some nice heavy metal music to get you pumped. There were many different actors walking up and down the line scaring you or talking to you. The clown that had been waiting when we got there came up to us and had this amazingly creepy laugh! 
 
The whole house was full of great actors that really interacted with you and did a good job of scaring us. One guy in particular really freaked me out by letting my group pass and not me, then finding out my name and saying it all creepy in my ear and groaning. I was on the floor screaming lol 
 
The only complaints I have about the house was that there was a long stretch of maze like hallways with no actors for quite a while. And the room with the Insane Asylum girls that constantly kept screaming in your ear. It wasn't scary, just annoying. 
 
The Haunted House was scary in itself, being an old casket company. And I liked that you had to duck the whole way through a little hallway, and how you had to go down a whole flight of stairs. Different stuff like that is fun. 
 
Aside from the two complaints it was a very good haunted house, one of the best I've ever been to. Definitely check it out!

11 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: triogroupie3   (Event Visited: 10/20/10 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: not hard to find, there are signs and lights.

Wait Entertainment: We went on a wednesday night with less than an hr till they closed so there wasnt a line, but we did have to wait about 5 or 7 mins because all the actors had gone on break. But there was ONE person we was kinda creeping my friend and I out. he stood about 3 or 4 feet back from us in silence and as still as possible. And about 2 mins before we were allowed in he rushed into our little circle with a chain saw (that no one in our group noticed he had) Very impressed with him.

Length of Event: about 20 to 25 misn

Actor Performance: The actors were pretty good, they didnt talk much which is a nice change. They got in your face and breathed down your neck but didnt talk, just crept behind you.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: there wasnt any other people in front or behind us.

Appropriate Ages: 13 up

Props / Special FX: There didnt have amazing props. But they worked with what they had, which always makes me happy.  
 
The one thing I didnt like though is that there were about 3 or 4 times when guys had chainsaws and they had to pull the cord like 3 times to get it to start...ruins the element of suprise. 
 
They had a lot of air shock things, which for me always scares me. loved it.

Costumes / Make-up: Lots of people had there faces covered or hidden with just a black cloth or something like that. or a mask. very few had make up.

Summary: last yr this haunt made me very happy. I remember walking out of it saying wow that is good, next yr they are going to be great if they can just improve on a few things. AND BELIEVE ME THEY IMPROVED AND WENT BEYOND!! 
 
I talked already about the guy in the waiting room and how he came out of no where with the chain saw. That was just awesome to me. he had the element of suprise and so much more.  
 
And because we went on a wed there wasnt as many characters as there would be on a weekend but they used the characters in different rooms. and they hit there mark well.  
 
One thing that is very popular this yr is the mazes and the long dark hallways. and I HATE THOSE!! This house barely had any. just enough to get you from room to room. and a little one at the end.  
 
When we finished the haunt one of the main designers was waiting to greet us and asked us how we liked it. And my boyfriend and I being the avid haunted house goers that we are told him everything that we thought, basically how muched we loved it. and he told us that if we come back and show our tickets that we cld go through again for $5 (very good idea) and that if we come back on a weekend and a little closer to halloween there will be even better surpises waiting.  
 
Im very impressed. and we will be going back. My advise GO TO THIS HAUNT!!

11 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: DangrusDana   (Event Visited: 10/15/10 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The purple light that peeks through the night air surrounding this abandonded casket company makes it visible from blocks away and sets the atmosphere.

Wait Entertainment: With live actors interacting with patrons from the parking lot threw the line while waiting, they also play a backdrop of video, explaining the orgins of the Haunted casket company and a loud array of Heavy metal with smoking fog.

Length of Event: Wait in line on the evening that we went was minimal at least, with an in and out time of 1 hour, most of it was spent enjoying the attraction as oppose to waiting.

Actor Performance: With many live actors and flowing themes, each actor tries to play into your different fears looking for the one that will touch your soul.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Amazingly each year they amaze me with the way they change it up. With long dark hallways, fog, strobes and noise, you will have to crawl, squeeze and squint hard to see the scares comming at you through the fog of fear that rolls throughout this haunted attraction and be prepared to be completely and totally scared, change of shorts and no little ones under 10 recommended ;)

Appropriate Ages: More appropriate for Teenage or Adult patrons.

Props / Special FX: Props 
sight 
sound 
fog 
strobes 
mental manipulation

Costumes / Make-up: awesome

Summary: A great local treat with a scare to share if you dare! I could do this attraction multiple times a year and I return every year, as this haunted house works on waking up your senses, sight, sound, smell and fear. Attaching themselves to any fear they see, they work to find them to increase the intensity. You may see a variety of frieghts, including Chain Saws, Ring girl, prisoners, with long dark hallways, fog, strobes and noise, you will have to crawl, squeeze and squint hard to see the scares comming at you through the rolling fog of fear that rolls throughout this haunted attraction and be prepared to be completely and totally scared, bring a change of shorts and no little ones under 10 recommended please.

12 out of 24 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: zabka   (Event Visited: 10/22/10 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Im familiar with Elgin, it was easy to find. They had signs on the street and tons of red lights visible from far away.

Wait Entertainment: There were scary clowns jumping and running. They also had a video playing on the wall. The line was moving quickly.

Length of Event: 25 minutes

Actor Performance: They had actors jumping from every corner and hallways. My group had to hold hands at times. Everyone stayed in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't run into any groups, but I could hear them screaming.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: Not too many props, but actors did a great job.

Costumes / Make-up: Good job, maybe more blood in the future.

Summary: We had a great time from start to finish. I loved the entrance with a coffins, the medical room and the downstairs area with a chainsaw guy. He made us scream and run so fast. They had a great church room with a lot of detail. I jumped so many times through out this place. Outside court yard was a great area to catch a breath. Well worth the $15.00. I highly recommend this haunted house. They seem to focus more on performance, music, lights and the whole creepy atmosphere. Some rooms had a great detail. We will definitely be back. 

10 out of 24 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: 00001880   (Event Visited: 10/01/10 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Found it pretty easily

Wait Entertainment: No waiting

Length of Event: 15 mins

Actor Performance: Poor. Actors didn't act very much. Talking to each other instead of trying to scare. Not very many actors.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Just us

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Not very many props at all. Very disappointing. Alot of unused empty space.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were ok.

Summary: The only haunted house I ever disliked. This location has great potential but isn't utilized very well. I left saying to myself "that's it". I wouldn't ever go back there again. Poorly put together. Poor actors. Most looked to be out back having a smoke. The ones that were their weren't into their characters at all. I would not recommend this haunt to anyone. They definately need to get more props. I found myself just walking through alot of dark empty space. The entrance is done nice but thats it. I guess its to fool you into thinking the rest of the haunted house will be the same. Too bad it's the exact opposite.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Only Exclusive Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2014 HauntedIllinois.com
Questions/Comments? Contact the Webmaster
Media / Promotion Inquiries please click here

Like this site? Tell A Friend and Join Our Mailing List.