Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2010 Visitor Reviews of
Realm of Terror (Round Lake Beach, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
17 out of 24 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/03/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/04/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Right off Rollins Road, easily indicated with signs and lights.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was good, a wide variety of ghouls that varied in personality.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Actors were great, stayed in character throughout the rooms and even followed a little bit.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Not many people were there, so flow was great.

Summary: Overall, I thought it was a good house, but I feel it was less scary than last year's house. It went with a theme this year of a hospital/asylum, which worked in terms of gore throughout the rooms, but every room seemed the same. The added bonus of the strobe light maze is still entertaining, unfortunately a little too easy to get through for my taste, but I understand many people really don't like strobe lights throughout a maze.

12 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: necrodude31   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 11:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find. Lots of amber strobe lights ontop of signs by the entrance along with workers guiding you to the parking lot. There was also a giant inflatable ghost and a haunted house sign over the Kristof's sign.

Wait Entertainment: Excellent. There were 4 or 5 actors in line interacting with the crowd. One actor jumped ontop of a 55gallon drum that was weighing down the tent and began grinding the pole, one guy in line began giving him single dollar bills. HAHA! 
 
There was another actor who had a conversation with us for a good 7 - 8 minutes and was HILARIOUS! 
 
I also liked how the line was broken up into different segments. After the ticket booth, the main queue, (where there was a tent with food and drinks being sold and a TV playing surgery videos with all kinds of music playing in the background) this dark queue before the house, and the rules room that held around 20 people.

Length of Event: 20 minutes. The maze at the end could make this time differ greatly.

Actor Performance: Decent. At the end of the night, you could tell they were getting tired. Timing was way off for most of them and only scared the front of the group. Some were also annoying, not letting you go by them. I literally had to ease a few of them out of my way to get through the room.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Excellent, never ran into a group and no one caught up to us inside the main haunt. 
 
However, in the maze re ran into some people but that can be expected.

Appropriate Ages: AT LEAST 13, but to be completely safe, 15 may even be a better age.

Props / Special FX: Very good. It definitely felt like you were in an asylum.

Costumes / Make-up: Great. Costumes and makeup made the actors believable as patients. Some of the makeup was a little far fetched but the gore did look real.

Summary: Although the Realm of Terror put on a great show this year, overall I felt that last years show was better. The haunt was very entertaining but for as extreme as it is I wouldve liked it to be scarier. Last year scares were excellent and I jumped multiple times. This year, I never jumped once. 
 
However this years haunt was still very entertaining. The dressing of scenes were done very well, the layout was very confusing but was very clever, and overall it was just fun. 
 
Even though the scare factor couldve been higher, again, at the end of the night the actors seemed tired. This haunt definitely still deserves a visit to.  
 
And I'd just like to reiterate the age. 13 is a bare minimum. At RoT it seems as though actors have no limits as to what they can do. (they wont touch you of course though) They did very graphic things, used inappropriate language, and other things. So it made it more entertaining, in my opinion, for an older crowd, but its not something children should experience.

9 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: partycentral   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location and Visibility is very easy and parking is great as it is an entertainment center.

Wait Entertainment: It was fun. There were TV's playing disgusting videos. Seriously, don't watch if you just ate. We were able to order beer and food in line from a vendor, and there were actors scaring people but more were just staring at girls than anything. We waited for 45 minutes.

Length of Event: Total time was 30 minutes, however the end maze was about 5 minutes, could have been longer or shorter depending on your route or if you ask which way to go.

Actor Performance: Actors were great but not amazing. They knew where to scare you and we did get scared multiple times, but they didn't fully stay in character or engage you in each scene.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: In the beginning, they separated people into groups of 2 or 6 and we ended up with a cute group of girls that were holding onto us the whole time. It was funny. Unfortunately, we ran into a group within the first 5 minutes and the rest of the haunt was in a group of probably 15 people so the scare factor wasn't as effective.

Appropriate Ages: 11+

Props / Special FX: Lots of cool special effects and use of props that scared you.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make up were really great.

Summary: The overall feeling of the haunt was that it has a lot of potential but we didn't get to see it because of their crowd control efforts. It just didn't work the way they did it. They also could extend it by about 5 minutes if they wanted to. As a Haunted House fanatic (I go to 18 per year), I want to see better introduction shows and wait entertainment.  
 
The actors stayed in character for the most part but some were lacking acting skills. The make was amazing and a lot of the rooms were really done well. 
 
The maze at the end was fun with a lot of strobe lights and smoke. I want to say that they should use even more smoke next year but people might pass out. All in all, great haunt.

10 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: bigstick4u   (Event Visited: 10/15/10 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not bad. On a main road at a go cart track.

Wait Entertainment: A+. They had tons of actors. From the front and back, from above and below the actors in line got at you from ALL SIDES!

Length of Event: 20 min

Actor Performance: Great. In your face and intense.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good. Did not run into another group until the maze

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Pretty good. Maybe not as top notch as some of the bigger haunts, but good enough.

Costumes / Make-up: Again, pretty go, but not top notch.

Summary: Don't let the mini golf and go kart courses fool you. This is a VERY intense haunt! I enjoyed t he cafeteria scene, the clown with his "friend", and the fact actors came at you from all sides. The Realm is so much better than say 5 years ago. Its a very narrow house with scares around every corner. Some people have complained the maze is too easy to figure out. It took us a while and was quite disorienting. People started to pile up and panic. 
All in all good show! This is one that all haunt fans should check out.

15 out of 33 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: nuge3063   (Event Visited: 10/01/10 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/04/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location is very good. There are many signs and people to direct you to the location. It is directly off a main road (Rollins). It is very, very easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: The wait for us was not long at all. Even if the line was long, concessions are available with everything from hot chocolate to beer and hotdogs to brats. The line is also broken up very well, from the actual line after paying, to the rules line, and one before entering. in all three parts of the line, actors and characters did a very good job of interacting in the line.

Length of Event: The whole thing lasted about 45 mins. and seemed very good. it was not too long and not too short.

Actor Performance: All the actors were amazing. they all stayed in character the entire time. there was no one that seemed to be "lagging" or tired. everyone was high energy and knew what they were doing. they were very professional. there were some actors you could tell were new, but no one came close to violating too much personal space (it is their job to make you a little uncomfortable).

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never ran into another group, until we got into the maze and another lost group ran into us. it was very well timed and the actors inside the house kept everything well spaced.

Appropriate Ages: They wont let anyone under 13 in, and its appropriate. If you wouldnt let your child go to a horror movie alone, i wouldnt let them go to this alone either.

Props / Special FX: The props are really amazing. i would say they look as real as props could look. they are very well placed well used. some water is used with some of the props, but it makes it the experiance that much better.

Costumes / Make-up: The makeup and the costumes were really very good. they all went with the central theme of the house. everyones makeup was different and very seamless.

Summary: This place really got it right. its very fairly priced and an overall amazing experiance. There were no bad parts or dull areas where you are just walking to another part. The actors are very good and go fully into their parts. If you have the chance to go, i would, with it only being $14. It is a really good time and a great place to go if your looking for some friday night fun.

7 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cassafrass   (Event Visited: 10/23/10 @ 11:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This was my first time going to this haunted attraction and it was easy to find. There were some people with lighted batons that were helping cars move into the parking lot.

Wait Entertainment: We didn't have to wait at all since my group got to the attraction near closing. I don't recommend doing this at other attractions so close to closing, but nonetheless, our wait was minimal. From what I could see, there was a bar area and actors came out to entertain the crowd during the wait.

Length of Event: Total, my group spent about 35 minutes in this haunt. The house itself took about 15 minutes and the maze at the end probably took another 15. It's hard to say though, because we lost track of time in the maze.

Actor Performance: The actors were phenomenal. Some of the actors outside the haunt made my younger brother cry (16) and he had to run back to the car and couldn't actually make it to the ticket booth. In addition to that, I had multiple conversations with actors and they impressively stayed in character and helped immerse myself in the world of the "insane asylum." A lot of the actors made it difficult to travel through the house, they would stand in the path and force you to touch them, or get extremely close, to get through. In addition, there was this one girl who said nothing, looked disgusting, and spit this red-globular mass from her mouth onto the ground. She actually shocked one of the members of our group and she was probably the most impressive actor there was. Although, I was impressed at the performances of all of the actors. My only complaint however, is some actors, one in particular, was wearing lovely smelling cologne, and looked decrepit and gross. This broke my suspension of disbelief and it took me out of the world. It would have been better if the actors wore NO SCENT to keep me involved.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Since there was no wait, there were a few groups ahead of us and we kept catching up to them. I'm not sure if our group was moving too quickly or their group was moving too slowly, but we had to keep pausing and waiting to get our share of scares. The actors, of course, did not appreciate our hovering, and tried to usher us along, but it's hard to tell exactly who was at fault.

Appropriate Ages: No one under 13. Absolutely. The scenes in the house were extremely graphic, some times sexually, and violent, the actors were extremely committed and no one was safe. On Real of Terror's website, they say that absolutely no one under 10 is admitted into the haunted house.

Props / Special FX: The props were good, and the special effects were good. It would have been more interesting and entertaining if they had used "Sinister Scents" or used hot and cold to their advantage. I think they over used the strobe light in the house, especially since you had to weave your way through dense fog, with a strobe light for the maze.

Costumes / Make-up: The make-up was excellent and use of masks was spectacular. Sometimes, however, some costumes looked cheap, for example, the legs of the woman in the abortion room. Overall though, I was extremely impressed.

Summary: This haunted house is one of the scariest haunted houses I have been to in a long time. The first scare had me in the corner of the path and multiple other scares were perfectly executed. Their use of "distraction-scare" was unbelievable, and even though I knew it was coming and from where, the actors of Realm of Terror were able to get multiple good screams from me. I had an excellent time at this haunted attraction, the actors were well trained, made my brother cry, and stayed in character, the maze was insane and at the time stressful and confusing, but thinking back it was wonderful. I wouldn't be surprised if this haunted house remains #1 for quite some time. Congratulations, Realm of Terror, on scaring the bejeezus out of me.

12 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: vrpendragon   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: No directions or signs close to the event. If I didn't know approximately where it was I never would have found it.

Wait Entertainment: The fact that you could buy beer in line was the only entertainment that I saw.

Length of Event: About 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: the timing was good but there were very few actors, therefore few scares. All they seemed to do was ineffectively jump out at you or crawl along the floor.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The bunch of drunks ahead of us kept us slowed down.

Appropriate Ages: Over 14

Props / Special FX: Medical scenes were believable.

Costumes / Make-up: Scars and gore were believeable. There was a lot of blood in the "hospital" scene.

Summary: I walked right through the maze. The walls were white and the ambient light from the tops of the tents made it all too easy to see the dead ends. The transition from the main haunt and the maze was confusing.

9 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: kghost74   (Event Visited: 10/01/10 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/04/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's pretty obvious, just look for the "Kristoff's" sign and there are people guiding traffic at the entrance with a sign

Wait Entertainment: Considering it was the first night and it was raining out, there was only one guy (Jason Vorhees) outside roaming around. There were a few creepy hospital patients that would appear in the ticket area. Still entertaining to watch nonetheless

Length of Event: 30 mins

Actor Performance: The actors were great about staying in character, making you believe they were psychos that took over an insane asylum. Although one guy in particular said something to me, that I consider to be 'fighting words'... I brushed it off but it was not appreciated. out of respect, some people need to watch who they're spouting off at.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we never ran into another group although they cleverly left certain windows open so you can see a group ahead of you getting scared, but your not quite sure when you'll walk into that particualr room... good work keeping patrons guessing.

Appropriate Ages: 16+ event.. and definitely not for the easily offended.

Props / Special FX: They definitely shine with major attention to detail and the layout of the haunt very creative. They seem to base their scares off of the actors and atmoshperes and dont rely on mechanical props.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were looking top notch, great job!

Summary: The layout seemed the same from last year and I couldnt really tell if there was anything particularly new, but ROT always works hard to put on a h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored) of a show.  
 
The new intro video was very cool! I always love the atmosphere of Realm because it really looks like your in a mental ward gone wrong. My other fave was the final white maze... holy shiz, disorienting to say the least, it is such a cool effect.  
 
Awesome job ROT!

4 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/29/10 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not hard to find and overall good location, would like to see a larger building used. Well marked and signed, not too bad!

Wait Entertainment: Good wait entertainment, however line not too bad tonight and moved along well. Maybe 2 monsters walking the lines, good concessions.

Length of Event: Maybe 15 to 20 minutes, maze took a little time.

Actor Performance: Everyone seemed to be on cue and they done a good job, but would like to have more "scare" put into the acting..

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Everything moved along well, however they do have beer here and some people maybe enjoy the time a little more than they should, a few slow people ahead of us - I would like to have seen less people drunk here..

Appropriate Ages: Maybe 10-12 years old here, also adults drunk or over-drinking makes it hard to younger children here..

Props / Special FX: Lots of good props, no special effects to speak of. Decent sets and lots of work put into everything.

Costumes / Make-up: The consumes were good and the make-up not too bad, could have maybe been more detail put into several of the actors.

Summary: Overall, not too bad of haunted house here, but they have some work to do before I call next year, dome major tweaking needed on several of the sets.. Would like to see more actors too, but for this size of attraction would be more punch to it, seemed somewhat weak! The maze was ok, but not that hard to master, we took about 3 minutes maybe.. The crazy ward was the best, lots of good detail here, this is a good set, but other rooms need work.. We didn't get exactly the scare factor here that we thought - pass.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at