Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com Ė Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2010 Visitor Reviews of
Asylum Xperiment Haunted Experience (Villa Park, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
28 out of 34 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: bobkat   (Event Visited: 10/08/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Great location at Odeum Expo Center in Villa Park. Huge arena, tons of free parking.

Wait Entertainment: No wait, although this was the first night. They have VIP ticketing although didn't use.

Length of Event: 20-30 minutes

Actor Performance: Some actors were incredibly good and made the scenes work. Others were pretty average and needing to develop thier lines and performances.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: No troubles, seemed to flow very well.

Appropriate Ages: I'd say at least 10-12 and up.

Props / Special FX: Awesome props and effects. Many unique animations in graveyard, coming out of the floor at one point. Huge truck blasts through a wall at one point.

Costumes / Make-up: Above average overall - airbrush and makeup was very well done, realistic.

Summary: Using animatronics and displays that are totally unique. There were a few glitches on opening night and acting needs some improvement. The detail in almost every scene is outstanding and requires time to take it all in. Worth a second visit for sure, at a reduced rate I believe.

14 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Kristi082   (Event Visited: 10/23/10 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We had been there several times before, but even if you haven't it's very easy to find. We saw a bunch of signs leading us in. And it is located in a giant expo center. You can't miss it!

Wait Entertainment: I saw a few people dressed and walking around but we went through VIP so there wasn't any wait. However when we were waiting for our group to get there we were entertained by a gift shop, snack stand and tarrot card reader. You won't get bored waiting

Length of Event: It depends on how fast you walk through, but on average 25-30 mins. It's worth the $20.00 in length alone!

Actor Performance: Some actors are reallly good, very convincing and into their characters. While in one room two actors just sat there and watched us walk by. Granted I was in the back of our big group so they could have worked the front and I didn't notice. But for the most part the actors did their part in working the whole line which is rare in haunted houses that have big groups going through at once.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: In this area comes my only complaint. My group of all adults had a group of young teens put with us, so when we were given a "life line" (a small rope we had to hang on to) it was really difficult to look at all of the detailed scenes. The teens were going really fast through the house in front of us and because of the rope we missed some of the props and special effects. Also since we were going too fast we ran into a group in front of us and walked into a room in the middle of a surprise prop going off. So that ruined it for our group and we ended up walking right through it.

Appropriate Ages: Depending on your child's scare level I would say 10-13 years. The haunt is gory in some rooms and the actors make-up is extremely realistic!

Props / Special FX: In this area they blew it out of the park! This haunt is the most detailed and includes the most special effects I have ever seen, and I've been going to haunted houses every year for about 10 years. Very well done and thought out. Make sure you take your time going through this haunt and look at everything.

Costumes / Make-up: This is another area they hit it out of the park. Every room was well thought out because every actor fit their room, the costumes and make-up went along with the theme of the room perfectly. Also the talent in which the make-up was applied is amazing! Kudos to the make-up artists, without them it wouldn't have been the same!

Summary: Over all I think this is a great haunted house, the price is well worth it! There are some tweaks that need to be made, but don't forget this is the first year for them. The detail and special FX are unlike anything I've seen, I know that a lot of the props and special FX were hand built by Mike and Dave (the owners and masterminds) so you won't find them anywhere else. Also this haunt is interactive which I love! I like to be involved and not just walking through looking at scenes. I would definitely recommend this haunt to anyone who loves a great haunted house!

11 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: lucylab1   (Event Visited: 10/22/10 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find. Mapquest directions and right off North Avenue , at the Odeum.

Wait Entertainment: Really well done wait entertainment.  
Two creepy girls in great makeup. A weird guy with a clown puppet and I believe the owner in really spooky costume all before you got in the door. Really cool old movies playing on the big screen. Did not mind waitng.

Length of Event: 20-30 minutes.

Actor Performance: Really good actors inside and out. 
Never was a spot where there were not actors. each room was great .

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They kept people well separated. In the one haunted house we all held to the rope which kept us together and not running into another group.

Appropriate Ages: 10 +

Props / Special FX: BEST PROPS I HAVE SEEN! Too many to list. Frankenstein, toy room, first room, alien, car room, junkyard, doctors rooms, Hollywood quality props and animation.

Costumes / Make-up: Outstanding in both categories. Very professional make up . Very scary. 

Summary: This is one of the best haunts i have been in this year. You can tell there was alot of thought put in. The black maze was even different then other mazes. The scares were very sensory in the black maze. I cant describe all the rooms and the props , I wish I could go through again to remember them all. Enjoyed the Frankenstein room, the butcher scenes, the little girl who couldnt find her toys, the car room at the end and the chainsaws and the fog. I would highly recommend this haunt, it is very well thought out, lots of creativity and very spooky.

12 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: merrill   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: pretty clear. on Villa road off of north avenue with a sign at the North av and Villa road intersection as well as a big "the odeum" sign.

Wait Entertainment: we went for the V I P, so no wait, however, the actual line didn't seem too bad, looked like a 30 minute wait

Length of Event: 25-30 minutes

Actor Performance: performances were very good. everyone stayed in character and did a great job. 100% of the crew were enthusiastic from the host at the beginning, to the crazy chainsaw guys who chased us out, full speed, at the end.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: the used a "lifeline rope" (a piece of rope, lol) to keep groups together and control flow, but we did walk into a room too early where another group was getting the "brace yourself" speech before entering part 2 of this haunted house.

Appropriate Ages: 17 and up

Props / Special FX: Props were definitely the highlight of this haunted house. Excellent! I don't want to give away too much..lets just say they had more than just the typical graveyards and clown rooms. props and special effects were top notch.

Summary: Overall, this was a very good haunted house. the only reason I didn't give it top rating is because they did the "two haunts for the price of one" thing that I fall for every year, where, at the end, you're wondering where the first haunt and second were because they aren't separated. the first haunt was somewhat quiet, darker, and had a lot of mazes, perhaps to build suspense. The second part was the best part. Again, props and effects made me stop and look around to appreciate what they setup instead of running from the monsters. they had plenty of themed rooms. another thing I appreciated about asylum experiment was they way the characters scared us. It wasn't typical, where the first of the group get scared, and the others can see the monsters going back to their spot, where they get the same predictable "boo". Instead, they would wait for the first few to pass, then scare everyone. they had a ton of mechanical props that seemed very well thought out. I personally look for creativity, actor enthusiasm, lengh of the experience, and I don't like to get rushed through it by the staff, and this haunted house met all of the above :)

10 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: imthedevil   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/03/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Came in off North Ave sign not really big there but GPS so not really a big deal. Once you make the turn off North Ave you can't miss it.

Wait Entertainment: Pretty cool had a nice vibe. Some video up on a huge wall for the wait line. A few actors milling around. Liked the detailed entrance.

Length of Event: Hum. It was early in the season so it was about 20 or 30 min I think.

Actor Performance: Some were good and some were really spooky.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Fast for us but it was early in the season.

Appropriate Ages: That depends. I guess maybe 13 and up but I don't scare easy and I assume kids don't either.

Props / Special FX: Simply Awesome! In certain rooms the level of artistry and detail is on the same level as the Disney Haunted Mansion but a lot more scary

Costumes / Make-up: Really nice but I looking at the room detail more. In the rooms the actors sneak up on you because you are distracted looking at all the detail.

Summary: This is a really well conceived haunted house. Scary and fun! It has so much to look at that even if you don't scare easy there is a great deal of enjoyment to be had. The level of quality here is really stunning. Some really inventive stuff especially near the end. The only thing I wish is that there were actors in the opening dark maze part to scare may wife a bit more. Again almost every room had so much detail that I was not even looking at the actors which allowed one to really creep me out because she seemed to move like a vampire one spot to another without going inbetween. Very creepy!

14 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: BadDreamz   (Event Visited: 10/08/10 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This haunt is at the Odeum Expo Center in Villa Park, right off Route 83 and North Avenue. Follow signage to get to the Odeum.

Wait Entertainment: They have a huge wall set up with running entertainment to watch, and they had a psychic there, alongside the queue line.

Length of Event: about 30 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors were pretty good--the makeup was GREAT! There were creepy actors that slithered by your feet, others who had great "shock" scares. All fit with the different themes of the awesome scenes they were in.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I thought they did a great job with flow. It was opening night and the crowd wasn't large yet. We didn't have to wait very long, and we didn't run into the group before us.

Appropriate Ages: 13+ years old--there are a few scenes and scares that may be too much for a younger audience.

Props / Special FX: The people who put this together are definitely talented--holy moley! The animatronics are super cool and seem to be one-of-a-kind. Most I've never seen before. The special effects are advanced for a haunted house and most of the sets were movie-quality. VERY impressive.

Costumes / Make-up: I thought the costumes were fantastic--they felt right in place with the themes of the scenes. I got really close to some of the actors, and the makeup was amazingly done.

Summary: I would highly recommend the Asylum Xperiment haunted house. It was the most impressive one I've ever been to, full of details and top-notch with the scare factor. Walking into some of the scenes felt like I stepped into the basement of a torture chamber, real-life mad scientist lab, or spooky cemetery. Definitely worth the price of admission. I think I'll go back soon, and bring a few of my friends who appreciate a great haunted experience!

12 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: hauntgirl   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The Asylum Xperiment is located at the Odeum in Villa Park. It's easy to spot from the street and has a large free parking lot.

Wait Entertainment: None

Length of Event: 30 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors were amazing. They stayed in character and added another dimension to this haunt.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good pacing between groups.

Appropriate Ages: I would recommend the Asylum Xperiment to anyone age 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: Excellent mix of props and animatronics.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes fit the scenes. Makeup was expertly applied.

Summary: The Asylum Xperiment is the best haunted house in Chicagoland. It's obvious that its creators "Spike" Mike Skodacek and Dave Link are passionate about Halloween. Their magical touches, talent, and creativity are showcased in each of their highly detailed rooms. My favorites were the Demolition Cars and the Toy rooms. The amazing special effects, props, animatronics and actors make each scene come alive. The Asylum Xperiment is a must-see haunt to be experienced yearly. Highly recommended. A+++++

12 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: midget   (Event Visited: 10/08/10 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Its easy to find. Very well lit and there is a huge sign for the Odium

Wait Entertainment: There were a few rednecks and zombies around making the line fun, however when we went there wasnt much of a line.

Length of Event: Probly about 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Some of the actors were spot on. the ones at the very end were intense. Some needed some work... and there needed to be more actors in the building

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we ran in to the group in front of us a few time, wrecking the "supirses" that waited in the next room, which was a bummer

Appropriate Ages: 13 is about the right age to be subjecting children to the roar of a chainsaw

Props / Special FX: The rooms were amazingly done, and the props were great. Timing could have been a little better, and the pop up could have moved faster, but that will come with tweekeing

Costumes / Make-up: The make up was great. no one looked like they were rushed at all

Summary: All in all this Haunted House has potential.. They just need to fix the "first night bugs" and i think they will have a good time on their hands. IF they can make the rest of the house as intense as the end... they will have a great house on their hands

7 out of 12 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jeanette   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/03/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I knew the house was in the Odeum and have been there before so, for me, the location was pretty easily found/visible.

Wait Entertainment: The 'gents' in the parking lot and the characters 'networking' in the waiting area seemed to really be enjoying themselves, which of course made us enjoy them that much more.

Length of Event: I was happily surprised by the length. Everytime I thought it was over, we came into a new room - loved that.

Actor Performance: From crawling on the floor to creeping around corners, these actors were completely in character. They weren't just kids going crazy - they had purpose.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We went through holding a rope. There was so much to see in the rooms that I could have spent more time inside.

Appropriate Ages: Older teens and up. Not for small kids.

Props / Special FX: The props were amazing. Some props were very Hollywood, some traditional Halloween, some just sick. There were stationary props, there were animatronics, there were funky effects to throw your eyes and even a section that physically gave you the creeps. Nicely done.

Costumes / Make-up: Very professional. Again, I really appreciated that there was purpose to the attention paid here. The costuming matched the particular room the characters were in, and enhanced it. No one character could be mistaken to be in the wrong room.

Summary: This was a great experience and I really hope they continue this house for years to come. I will definitely be back. There was a level of professionalism to this house that made every detail special. And I think it was the detail itself in this haunted house that sets it apart. Every aspect - the lighting in the graveyard, the twisted music in the Attic Room, the mad scientist and his laboratory - I was stunned and in awe as I walked through. And I think that was very good planning because when you are in awe and looking at every wonderful detail in a room, that's the perfect time to spring a scare onto you - and that is the best part of this house.

11 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: HAVOC   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location was not hard to find at all its the odeum sports center in villa park.They even had signs on streets that lead you to the odeum.

Wait Entertainment: They had a couple of actors walking the lines and also a guy they showed off his magic best part was they had BEER AND FOOD which was great and a gaint movie screen.

Length of Event: black out haunt took us about 12min and the asylum experiment haunt was about 25min

Actor Performance: overall all the actors stayed in thier roles and had great timing.One thing I really enjoyed was no body used the words get out or leave.Some of the best actors were the actors in franks room and toxic laser room

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: they used the "life line" method as a way to keep groups together and our group didnt run into any other group

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up because of gore

Props / Special FX: WOW props in thier were amazing.Ive never seen props like these.The props in this house seemed to really work well for the haunt.

Costumes / Make-up: lots of time spent on each actor some of the best make up I've seen.Great costumes each one matched thier rooms.

Summary: By far this haunt has been one of the best first year haunts. Everything about this house was well planned easy to see there was lots of time and effort was put behing this haunt. Black out was cool good scares through out the maze and the asylum xperiment part was great.I really enjoyed the room with the lasers that guy in there was so fast you never knew where he would hit next also the kitchen guy was so gross in a good way tho.The toy room had great props and the ending will catch u by suprise.This is a MUST SEE HAUNTED HOUSE they raised the bar this high i cant wait for what they have in store for next season.Great job guys

13 out of 23 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: bigdaddy   (Event Visited: 10/10/10 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find using directions given. lots of signs close by.

Wait Entertainment: the wait was not bad for a sunday night. beer stand in waiting line was great.

Length of Event: 45 min easy

Actor Performance: excelant, and will improve as the days go by i'm sure. hillbilly shed was the loudest and the best room in house. lots of gore when he kills his female actor

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: never seen another group the whole time. timed perfect

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up

Props / Special FX: the best in the country

Costumes / Make-up: as real as it gets. thumbs up to the artists

Summary: from start to finish this haunt gets your pulse racing.there is a great maze with lots of thrills called blackout in the beginning, then you enter the second haunt that is over the top with props and lifelike settings.there are about 15 rooms in all that will have you shaking in your shoes. way cool

12 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: h311zwh0r3   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 11:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location is great. It is in the Odeum in Villa Park. I was worried coming from about an hour away but it was very easy to find. Right off of I88.

Wait Entertainment: While waiting there is great music, a giant projection of horror clips on the wall, and characters jumping out at you to get you into the theme.

Length of Event: I would say that the length is just right. It is about a 30 to 40 minutes walk through quite an elaborate setup.

Actor Performance: The actors were great. They always stayed in the part and always kept you scared.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: You go with whoever you came with. There are no backups and the time inside is personal to you and your friends.

Appropriate Ages: I would say that you should not go through under the age of 13. If you know your children(under 13) well enough to know they will be fine with the scares they should still be accompanied by an adult or older sibling.

Props / Special FX: There is a great mix of props, animatronics, and actors. It is not overdone like other haunts, but nicely put together so you can take it all in as you go through without missing anything.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make-up were well done. Very original and nicely applied to the haunt. Several of the actors you cannot tell whether they are really in costume or if you should fear for your life.

Summary: Overall, the best haunt around. You get to experience many different themes within and no matter what you fear, it is covered. You get a glimpse of the bizarre and the creepy, odd sights you never expect and jumpy scare tactics that put you on edge. I would suggest this to anyone and everyone, whether you're a hardened haunter or a newbie to the world of creepy. This is a definite must. My only caution is do not go alone...

15 out of 28 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: bigstick4u   (Event Visited: 10/08/10 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Pretty good. Not many signs but in a giant sports complex.

Wait Entertainment: NONE! There was a movie screen, but the house was still being "worked on" when we go there. VERY UNPROFESSIONAL!

Length of Event: About 25-30 mins

Actor Performance: AWFUL! These actors must be ALL newbies to this. The timing was off on nearly every room, and the delivery of lines was awful!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good. Never ran into anybody

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Fantastic. A+

Costumes / Make-up: Pretty good. Fit the scenes fairly well

Summary: This house COULD have almost been a 10, but definitely a solid 9 if it had good actors, and was actually scary.  
This house gets a 10 in props and room detail.  
Tons of detail,imagination,and $$$ went into this house. Too bad it didn't deliver in performance. 
The house starts out as a dark maze. I was hoping something would pop out in that maze, but nothing. The man in the fog with the red eyes was the best scare. SO much detail in the rooms which start after the dark maze. The timing was off on nearly ALL animatronics. There was a room with a mom and child, but no scare in the room, then you walk through the childs closet, but nothing really happens. The toy room with ET anf the Ninja turtle mask have tons of details in it. The toy that comes to life offers NO SCARE. The TV room where you are on tv...great imagination...no scare. The Frankenstein room...visual overflow....no scare. The room with the truck driving through the living room... awesome to look at...AWFUL ACTING...and NO SCARE! There is a giant prop alien creature... LOOKS AWESOME....sadly yet again no scare. 
There is a room that gives the impression the haunt is over...its not...great imagination, but the scare was horribly timed. The junk car alley...real cars, real chains, little to no scare. 
I know it was opening night and kinks need to be worked out. You see a trend in all the rooms I listed. Again, this house has the best detail,imagination, and probably the most $$$ put into a house that I've ever been to, and I've been to all the big haunts in the area. Kudos to whoever put this house together.  
It needs better actos, and MUCH BETTER TIMING! It's worth the $20 IMHO just to see the detail in all of the rooms, but it does need improvement, and some people may not like it the way it curently is.

8 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: mistress   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Simple to locate. Inside of the Odeum complex in Villa Park. Huge sign will direct you into the parking lot..plenty of parking

Wait Entertainment: Was a little disappointed. The atmosphere was great when you walked in. Exciting. There are a few novelty booths setup where you can get a reading or picture in a coffin...old clips of movies and videos playing on a huge screen..There were a few creatures walking around periodically, a few of them interacted with the crowd, but a few just walked back and forth not really provoking any scares.

Length of Event: approx. 20-25 mins.

Actor Performance: Great! Most actors working inside of the haunt had killer costumes and were high intense, trying to get that scare from everyone. The only complaint I had about the actors was that they didn't work the back of the line..once the first few people walked through..you missed out on what was going on.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: At first great...we had the haunt to ourselves...but about 1/2 way through the crowd behind us not only caught up with us, but was practically breathing down our necks. Spacing out the crowds a little bit more would work wonders.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: The absolute best that I've seen in a haunt in a long, long time. You guys deserve major props for putting together some killer scenes! Plenty of eye candy to check out here!

Costumes / Make-up: Some were great and very creative with the makeup and costumes, while others just had a smidgen or two of makeup, however most actors fit in nicely with the scenes they were working that night.

Summary: This was our first haunt of the season, and I've been hearing such great things about it..we jumped on the chance to go. 
 
Well worth the $20.00 for anyone who enjoys a well thought out haunt has to offer...Great Props/eye candy, some well thought out and executed scenes and some very involved actors. 
 
A lot of fun and for the time it takes to get through the haunt it is well worth the trip. 
 
I didn't find the haunt very scary, but I will admit it does take a lot to scare me. However, if the actors would work the back of the line as much as they do for the front - they would have gotten my butt a few times. Bringing up the back of the line, I missed out on a lot of things going on - especially since they group you together with another crowd about 1/2 way through the haunt. 
 
At this point, a guide gives you your "life line" - a piece of long rope - that you MUST hold on to, less you'll be trapped inside forever. 
Wonderful idea, but when they group you with others, they perhaps don't realize that this rope gets pretty tight at the end...almost causing rope burn for the people on the end because there is no slack when turning corners or someone decides to speed up. At that point, it takes away from enjoying the haunt. 
Had to let go of my lifeline a few times though, and still made it out just fine ;) 
 
The props in this house were simply amazing!  
Well plotted out science lab, haunted foyer, graveyard and my favorite the accident scene at the end. My only gripes about some of these well thought out rooms were that some of the actors relied more on the anamatronic scares rather then adding to it as well. 
 
Although they advertise two houses, you do not realize that it is really one big house put together and advertised as two. Pitch black is the first series of rooms that you enter...never a break between the two haunts. Others came out wondering where the other haunt was as well. 
 
But aside from these small "complaints"..I wouldn't even call them that...just some suggestions.  
I absolutely loved this haunt and recommend it to everyone. Great time and well worth every dime!!! 
Great job guys!!!

10 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: milincoln   (Event Visited: 10/15/10 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very Easy to find on the East side of Villa ave. In the Odeum, a big expo center. Lots of Lights and signs. They have a street sign on North Ave telling you to turn. Look for the Huge building with even bigger FREE parking lot.

Wait Entertainment: They had a Magician, a jester playing with a yo yo, a Ghost hunter explaining the rules, a Huge projector showing music videos, a fortune teller, and a Coffin for pictures.

Length of Event: I didnt time it but easily 40 mins

Actor Performance: I loved the Ghost hunter explaining the rules. He advised men to use wives as shields if we got to scared. And this was while in line.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: My group didnt run into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up.

Props / Special FX: Props were excellent. My fav being the living room scene where something smashes through the wall. I had never seen anything like it before. And the hillbilly room was very unique. It looked like sometihng right out of a movie. 
 
The one thing I missed was the rotating cylinder room/walk/vortex most haunted houses have.

Costumes / Make-up: I thought Makeup and costumes were great each costume perfectly matched the room.

Summary: I have to admit at first I was confused when it was over because they advertise it as two haunts so when I got out of the Haunted house I was looking for a second. Later I found out the big Maze at the begining is the first haunt (Black Out) and the rest is the Asylum. While it would have been nice to have known before hand, the two houses being attached doesnt take away from the fun. I dont scare easily at all but the maze was very disorienting for me and did make me fear what might be ahead. 
 
 
Well worth the trip to Villa park.

12 out of 24 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: halloween4me   (Event Visited: 10/08/10 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There were 2 signs leading you to the haunted house and then a huge one that was lit up once at the expo center.

Wait Entertainment: TERRIBLE. my god, there was no one at first, then there was a child..yes a child, trying to scare you which after a while got terrible obnoxious.

Length of Event: 30 minutes about.

Actor Performance: Okay there was a huge variance of how the actors performed. Some of the actors were super into their roll and did a great job and were on time with their scares. HOWEVER, some of them looked like they would have rather been dead than actually acting, they were not on time and seemed to not even care that we were walking through, and had terrible lines.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Did not run into another group once which was awesome. Only down fall to this is that it takes a super long time to actually get inside the house, because they make sure you wont see another group.

Appropriate Ages: 12 +

Props / Special FX: They had some INSANE animatronics inside. I have never seen most of them and it was awesome. Very entertaining.

Costumes / Make-up: Well done.

Summary: The dark maze was a lot of fun and I especially loved all the different rooms and the spectacular detail to each one. This haunted house definitely had things that i have never ever seen done before which was amazing. Wish there would have been less animatronics and more actors at points, but they were all definitely a scare. Recommend it for sure.

8 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: krzykat   (Event Visited: 10/30/10 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 11/04/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: very easy to find. lots of parking and indoor waiting!

Wait Entertainment: FANTASTIC! there were videos playing on a big screen, a coffin you could take a picture in and characters walking around.

Length of Event: took our group about a half hour to walk through, definately worth the money.

Actor Performance: the BEST!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: for the day before halloween the wait wasting that bad, the line was constanly moving for the most part.

Appropriate Ages: i saw quite a few kids there, but i was scared so i dont know how they did it.

Props / Special FX: details of the rooms were amazing.

Summary: i couldnt believe my eyes, this place was wall to wall terror! the rooms were so detailed and overall disgusting, i felt like i was walking into a movie set everytime. the blackout was terrifying and the kitchen i am spechless about, those people eating that "stuff" omg!!! the most disturbing room by far the actors at this haunt were just fantastic! the guys with the chainsaws almost made me pee my pants. after leaving the place we talked about it all night. the images of what was witnessed just stays with you. the kitchen family will haunt my nightmares for the next week, i can still here chainsaws and screams. that was awesome to, hearing the screams coming from everywhich way was so creepy, making me not want to move onto the next room.

7 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: gvmnt45   (Event Visited: 10/15/10 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Excellent location. Easy to get to. Only a block off of Rt 83 and Lake Street in Villa Park. Signs on Rt 83 and Lighted Marquee styled signs at Villa. The Odeum is very lit up and the Marquee there is also bright and well seen

Wait Entertainment: Psychic has a table there. There is a concession stand. There is beer served (OH Yea!!) There could be more actors in the lines. The costumes of the actors were very good and they did stay in charicter. The movie on the very large screen helped also.

Length of Event: It took about 25 mins to get through.

Actor Performance: Actors were in my opinion really good. Based on older surveys I expected less but was plesantly suprised. Everyone stayed in charicter and from what I heard, nothing was said that would have made me think they were other than what they appeared to be.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was handeled at the beginning before the 1st haunt Black Out and before the second haunt in a labrary. Had to hold a rope with to go through with your group. Never saw the group ahead of us or the group behinde us.

Appropriate Ages: 12 or so and up. Depends on the kids though

Props / Special FX: WOW!! The animations and rooms were very professionally done. The rooms were all very believable Frankenstines lab is visually fantastic and Frankenstine is HUGE!!! The grave yard had a lot of animation. The tree guy was even bigger than Frankenstine.

Costumes / Make-up: All very well done. Looks very professional. The guy in the kitchen was just disgusting looking. In a good way. The guys at the end around the crashed cars were right on the spot with the way you would think they should look for that particular scene, very apocolyptic.

Summary: I really enjoyed the visual aspect of this haunted house. There is a lot of detail here. The scares were good too, even when I expected them, they got, they still got me. I am pleased with the value of my ticket 20.00 and the time I spent there. I will however spend more (25.00 to avoid the lines)on the VIP tickets when the lines are longer. Over all, I am going to going back through this haunted house again. It was nice to go upstairs and have a drink with my friends afterwards too.Parking was easy and free. Looks like they had a lot of security running around there too. Great time!

16 out of 35 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/10/10 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's at the Odeum in Villa Park, plenty of signage around the area.

Wait Entertainment: There was one actor scaring the kids, and had a giant screen showing old horror movies.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: The actor performance was great, very convincing and stayed in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Went very smoothly, no one caught up to us, and we didn't catch up to anyone.

Summary: As a long time Haunted House fanatic, I was looking forward to going through this house, as it was one of my favorites in the late 90's/early 00's. Sadly, I was a little let down, because the house wasn't that scary. The first half of the house was a dark maze that was pretty straight forward. Half way through, my group was asked to all hold on to a rope for some reason, and gave it back towards the end. There were very little pop outs, nothing that scary until the end. There was a twist towards the end of the house, and they ended with the chainsaw boys, but, overall, not that scary.

7 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: iammrk   (Event Visited: 10/28/10 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I traveled two hours to see this haunted house, so I was not all that familiar with Villa Park. It was a little hard for me to find, but I am sure people who know the area could get right to it.

Wait Entertainment: There were a few actors there to entertain and a movie of some kind on a rather cool screen with skulls on it. Fortunately when we got there the wait was short so we didnít have to wait in line.

Length of Event: About 30 minutes, and I thought we walked really fast through the first part of the event. The place was far longer than I was expecting.

Actor Performance: The actor performance was outstanding. I was amazed that even late in the night the actors were spot on and really into their roles. There was a stellar performance by the intro room actor, the nasty guy in the kitchen, and the zombies. But overall I canít say I ran into one actor who wasnít doing a great job. Really a great group of actors!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was great, we didnít run into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: Might not be good for kids under 12.

Props / Special FX: This was an amazing part of this event. There were tons of props and more than a few things I have never seen before anywhere. I have been going to haunted houses for a decade and it takes a lot to impress me. The props and sets in this haunt were impressive!!!

Costumes / Make-up: It was great acting and great makeup / characters with those actors. This event had some very cool makeup. I think I saw one mask in the entire event, and it was in a place where a mask was freaky on the actor. Overall the actors, costumes, and makeup were outstanding!!

Summary: Hands down this is the best event I have been to in years. Well worth my two hour drive and the price of admission. The acting was fantastic and the sets outstanding in their detail. Add into this mix a few props that have to be 100% unique to this event and it was truly an amazing event. Several of the scenes are just completely unexpected, I will say truckÖ you will get it once you goÖ.. and several rooms, like the zombies, are just very cool in the way they are done and the overall experience given by the combination of sets and outstanding acting. Asylum is truly a scary and beautifully done event. If you love haunted houses you should love this one!

7 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: triogroupie3   (Event Visited: 10/21/10 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: very easy to find. Plus Im from the area, so I pass it daily.

Wait Entertainment: There was someone who might have been a clown, doing some tricks with a yo-yo, and a couple of actors that came in and out of the area.

Length of Event: about 15 mins

Actor Performance: there was some very good performances but nothing that scared anyone in my group.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did not catch us with any other group, which is very good. We go to a lot of haunts and 8 out of 10 times catch up with other groups, so to have not have caught up with a group impressed me. expecially because there were people in front and behind us.

Appropriate Ages: 13 up

Props / Special FX: GREAT GREAT props, they had a lot of the animated stuff that popped out. I dont love those because I feel like they react too slowly and you loose the scare effect. but other than those the stuff they had was great.

Costumes / Make-up: I enjoyed the costumes of a few people but felt a lot of them were generic

Summary: This house has a lot of potential. They have all the right things to have a great haunt, I just think with a few more actors and actors that can hit the mark a alot better they cld be a favorite.  
 
Something that they had a this haunt that I havent seen before was about 3/4 of the way threw they stopped you and pretended that the haunt was over but it wasnt, and a guy with a chain saw came out and tried to scare us. And then kept up moving to another room 2 or 3 rooms. it was kind of neat.  
 
There was a guy that was walking around the outside asking how it was getting feedback, I love when they do this because if people give honest oppinions itll help build them for next yr 
 

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright © 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at