Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com – Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2010 Visitor Reviews of
Dream Reapers Haunted House (Melrose Park, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
12 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: HellsNo   (Event Visited: 10/01/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/05/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Dream Reapers is very visible from North Avenue, and when you know where you're going, it's even easier to find. It isn't hard to get to at all, it's very accessible.

Wait Entertainment: Wait entertainment was entertaining, to say the least. They had these two twin boy and girl characters outside with really creepy masks on. They were awesome and really knew how to creep everyone out. They had a bloody mental patient/zombie outside too. He was obnoxious and really funny, he had no boundaries when it came to humor.

Length of Event: The actual house without wait was about 15-20 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actors were really high energy in some parts of the house. The zombies ranged from slow moving to fast paced and violent, which was awesome. They also had a really disorientating mirror room with some weird characters in it. I remember seeing one clown in the house, as well as some really creepy pig-headed butchers in the slaughterhouse. Actors were amazing, even better then last year.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I never ran into a group, granted it was a rather slow night too. So groups were pretty well spaced apart. I've never ran into a group at Dream Reapers before, but I've always gone early in the month.

Appropriate Ages: 15+

Props / Special FX: The sets haven't changed much since last year. But that doesn't mean they still aren't as detailed, because they are! The bodies in the slaughterhouse always seem to creep me out.

Costumes / Make-up: As always, amazing detail when it came to costumes. Their detailed costumes like the suits and dresses the zombies wore and the amazing makeup on all the actors is always perfect. I came last year when the trolls were out, I was hoping I'd see them again this year. They have creative and amazing costumes! Guess I'll have to come again later on!

Summary: Dream Reapers always has a great way of being a smaller haunted house, but extremely professional. You go to a lot of haunted attractions that are smaller, and you never see this level of detail and intensity. Dream Reapers does a great job of kicking butt every year, and I hope they keep it up!

8 out of 12 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/29/10 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location is the same every year, but this is easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Several monsters walking through the outside lines and others working the inside line. Projectors inside showing haunted images of the haunted house.

Length of Event: I took us about 15 minutes to get through the attraction, quick but a lot too see here.

Actor Performance: The actors all done an excellent job this year, but maybe numbers weak, I think they needed more people working this.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow through the event was seamless, we had no crowd up effect anywhere and this is a big draw event. I have never seen any crowd flow problems here.

Appropriate Ages: I think 10 years old could handle this event, there is some in your face scares.

Props / Special FX: Lots of great props throughout the attraction, but this year it did seem to me that there was less than previous years. No real special effects to talk about, they also need to add some.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make-up was excellent, they do know what they are doing here.

Summary: Overall, we try to attend this every year and this year was good, but just not enough bang-for- your-buck.. The people who put together this event were working on another Chicago event this year and it showed here. This is one of the best haunted attractions i'n Chicago and I hope they do more next year, some sets need a facelift and I think more of the profits need to be used on high tech stuff.. It's time to advance this haunted house to the next level to keep people interested more. We enjoyed our visit this year, but hope to see more next year.

15 out of 23 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: BIGGUN   (Event Visited: 10/01/10 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Decent, A sign off the street and the 2 giant balloons in front of the haunt.

Wait Entertainment: A zombie outside, and bf/gf zombie couple inside working the sparse crowd.

Length of Event: 15 min once you enter the first room.

Actor Performance: Very good and in your face. Tons of actors in this haunt doing their jobs well.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Fair. We ran into a group near rthe end of the house and got bunched up.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: The props in the rooms are detailed and effective. The scents add to the atmosphere and are VERY noticeable. Notmany animatronics in this haunt.

Costumes / Make-up: Very good.

Summary: Not a bad a little haunt. I don't think it deserves the hype it gets, but it is decent nonetheless.  
The opening scene this year was extremely lame with the skeleton explaining the house rules. Last year at least they had a scare in that room. The hellevator is back, and uneffective as it didn't shake that much.  
The mirror rooms were very effective and disorienting. Very well done. The pig slaughterhouse with the pig soundtrack was loud and stinky. Nicely done. 
Many rooms hadn't changed much from last year. The ones that did cahnge weren't effective, like the opening scene. It's a nice little house, and there was absolutley nobody in line when we got there. The price is decent, and I'll be back next year.

9 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: carol60477   (Event Visited: 10/10/10 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: A little hard to find if you are coming from the southern suburbs, but we found it.

Wait Entertainment: Waiting in line was fun. Some actors came out and did a good job of scaring us. They also had a coffin that you could climb into.

Length of Event: It took about 20 minutes to walk through.

Actor Performance: The best actors I've seen in haunted houses, and I've been to LOTS of them.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There were no delays as we went through the house.

Appropriate Ages: 14 and above.

Props / Special FX: The artwork and decorations were extremely good. The special affects were good.

Costumes / Make-up: I was impressed with the costumes and the make-up.

Summary: From the beginning to the time you get back to your car you will be entertained. This attraction should be on the list of must-sees for any fan of haunted houses. We have been to dozens of haunted houses, woods, campgrounds, farms and even a mill in North Carolina. This one beats them all. It was worth the 30 mile ride we drove to get there. As far as value goes we have spent more at other places and were very disappointed. You will not only enjoy this attraction, you will talk about it for weeks and recommend it to your friends. Don't miss it!

10 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/10/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Right off of North Ave. with signage throughout.

Wait Entertainment: There were several actors throughout the line scaring people, and they had a coffin that, if you paid extra, I believe, you could sit in and it would shake around while you were inside of it.

Length of Event: 30 minutes

Actor Performance: Really good, very scary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Moved smoothly throughout.

Summary: Dream Reapers is always an entertaining haunt, with a lot of scary creatures, great pop outs, and the rooms look very convincing as well. There is a lot of variety to the rooms, and all of the actors really want to scare you. The maze parts are very good, lots of twists and turns, and enjoyed all the creatures. I also enjoyed the "Bait and Switch," where you would think a creature was going to pop out from one area, and would actually pop out from another place. A lot of rooms haven't changed much over the last several years, but they are still very good, and Dream Reapers never diasppoints.

8 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ODONNELL   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: In a great location and very easy to get to. Always enough room to park! The parking fee is also very reasonable!

Wait Entertainment: We loved the guy in the wheel chair he was hilarious! In previous years he used to ride in with us attached to the bumper! The other monster that we loved was the guy with the metal plates on his knees. He did a great job scaring my son while we waited in line.

Length of Event: The length is acceptable however the fun can be taken out if you are in the back as the majority of the screams happen up front. Since everyone cannot be up front, it may take the scare factor out for some.

Actor Performance: The actors were spectacular. The actor that stood out the most was "Skully" when he slid down the bones infront of me I swear, I almost tinkled on my self!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: As some stand in line wondering who will go into the coffin, my husband is usually the one that goes in. Some think its creepy. But it is a great conversation starter. The effect of all the power going out while your in line is awesome. It provides enough entertainment while you are waiting and doesnt make the wait seem so long. It should happen more often or have multipe sound effects like people screaming or a chain saw running.

Appropriate Ages: We have been coming every year for the past 7 years! My son was 9 when he first went and loved it. And now looks forward to coming with us each year!

Props / Special FX: Each year Dream Reapers out does themselves and is not afraid to try something new! The things this year that stood out was Skully sliding down infront of me, the alien in the spinning room, and all the actors who jumped out to scare us!

Costumes / Make-up: There was alot of detail put into every room, prop or actor to make each room come alive. Well done

Summary: Overall each year we walk away talking about your haunted house. Some years compare it to others. We have found it is because of the actors at your haunted house who put the fun in freakin out people! This is what honestly brings us back each year. It is never a dull moment. The only thing I could suggest would be to have smaller groups of people so everyone has the oppurtunity to be scared in the beginning. If that is not an option, suggest that some parts are exactly the same but somehow split to where half go one way and half go another. I am not sure if the people behind me got the oppurtunity to see skully slide down the boned wall or not but it sure suprised me enough to write about it!

15 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ThatGuy   (Event Visited: 10/08/10 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I visit Dream Reapers every year, so I know what to look for. As always, it was very easy to find. 
 
The area seems to have a lot more in the way of visible surrounding businesses popping up, which is good for visibility… but maybe not so great for scare factor. There’s clearly nothing they can do about that, but it is worth noting. 

Wait Entertainment: The night I attended was early in the season, but there was the classic waiting room, with the notorious inappropriate priest giving coffin rides for an additional fee. But no doubt, the highlight was when my personal choice for the number one haunted house actor in the country showed up... The artist formerly known as Andy the Corpse… looking and sounding absolutely insane. Freaking brilliant, and great to see him in a high-visibility area.

Length of Event: Probably just shy of 15 minutes. One of these days I’ll remember to time it.

Actor Performance: Last year I gave very high marks to the actors, and this year the veterans were on, as always. Most of the actors were really good. 
 
I personally think the “fetish” type stuff is kinda dumb, but the actors in there were fantastic, with a guy screaming about putting out cigarettes on my eyelids for pleasure, and his highly animated gimp friend trying to lure us in. It was weird and surreal enough that it worked. 
 
The actor in the elevator was a pleasant surprise, he was easy to understand, charismatic, physically large enough for the role, and played to our group well. The bums in the street were also noteworthy in a good way. 
 
With that said, this year there were a few actors who clearly stood out as not as good. A couple of the younger ones looked like they were ready to start giggling, and yet a couple more looked overwhelmed and intimidated in the scenes they were placed in. There were multiple spots where the actor was not a commanding enough presence to do the scene justice. Without being rude, the butcher shop, which usually houses one of Dream Reapers’ best actors, comes to mind. This time it was run by a less commanding actor, and the area seemed largely forgettable. 
 
My personal theory, and this might not have any merit, is that with Dream Reapers apparently running 2 separate haunted houses this year, they may have been spread thin… A couple of these actors were simply not ready for the places they were in. I’d like to say it didn’t hurt the show, but it did. 
 
Also, an unfortunate rut that Dream Reapers sometimes falls into surfaced again this year. Last year I noted they had seemingly overcome their issue of having an actor every few feet. This year, I brought friends who’d never been to D.R. before. Although they enjoyed the show, their largest complaint was that, by a third of the way through the house, they knew there’d be an actor every few feet. 
 
I’d tend to agree that’s the biggest issue at Dream Reapers. At first it seems like mayhem, but after a while, although highly entertaining, it’s not scary; it becomes predictable. Even for nervous rookie haunt-goers. 
 
I’ve brought many people to Dream Reapers over the years, and this is the most common complaint I hear, though I will repeat… overall the reviews are generally very positive otherwise. 

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Perfect. My group this year was lead by a very hesitant (and thus very slow) young lady. When I say slow, I mean the actors and staff were probably groaning behind the scenes at the potential logjam from our sleepy turtle pace. There was a reasonable crowd of customers there that night… Yet still, somehow, no one caught our group. 
 
I also want to point out the kind fellow running the line and splitting up the groups. He was funny, and even with a decent-sized early October crowd, he sent our group of 5 to go into the house by ourselves. We were given our own personal show, and that means a lot. 

Appropriate Ages: Last year, Dream Reapers amped up the gore and adult themes a bit. If this year is any indication, it seems like that direction is going to stick for a while. I probably wouldn’t bring a kid under 12 or 13 for that reason alone. 
 
I felt that parts of the show had more of an “extreme” feel to it this year (last year as well, but more this year.) This will be good for some, but not for me. I personally think shock value is best in small doses. 
 
Tons of poo in the sewer, a gimp, sexual innuendos, carved up animals, (and then a fun blinking cartoon alien?) I’m not offended, I just think they are consciously choosing to follow a slightly more umm.. we'll say "hardcore" vision, and I’m not sure this direction is totally up my alley. That’s from a guy who’s been excitedly visiting Dream Reapers and bringing them lots of customers for 8 years. 
 
Then again, people like Rob Zombie as a director, and I think he's terrible, and I was never into the Hillbillies and everyone else seemed to love them.

Props / Special FX: Dream Reapers is known for their details, and last year the house looked and felt so great… they had clearly outdone themselves. So the great news is, if you missed Dream Reapers last year, there's a ton to see. 
 
The not-so great news? If you saw the show last year, there’s not much reason to visit this season. I’d go so far as to say it was better last year. 
 
Could this be because they are running two houses in separate locations? Because after last year’s amazing transformation, updates to Dream Reapers almost felt like an afterthought this year. As if the Melrose Park location is the forgotten love-child of 2010. 
 
With the exception of a small new ending featuring a little more punch and detail (which was nice to see), I really can’t remember any memorable scenes that looked new this year. If there were new scenes, they were largely extensions of old areas, or the rooms didn’t stand out, and they became lost amongst the old scenes that clearly outshined them. 
 
Also, the new intro skeleton would look very cool in one of the interior scenes. For the intro room, however, I liked the big-screen television better. 

Costumes / Make-up: Some of the makeup was just insanely cool, and some of the costumes at Dream Reapers are among the best in the entire industry. A few of the major characters I saw this year were as good as it gets. 
 
With that said, I have to again bring up my theory about the crew being spread thin. On another visitor review I saw here, someone said that some of the makeup was “standard whited out faces.” Well, I had a very hard time believing that. But it turns out they weren’t really that far off. 
 
On the night I attended, there were a handful of makeup jobs that were far below the Dream Reapers standard. There were at least a couple guys in there this year who looked like they did their own makeup with a mascara stick in the rearview mirror while driving. Suffice it to say, there was nothing even close to that last year, when I attended on Travel Channel night. 

Summary: Let me start by saying: I love Dream Reapers. The show they gave us this year really was good, and worth the money. 
 
The expectations were raised last year because I visited the night the television cameras would be there. On that night, I saw what Dream Reapers is capable of. Amazing. 
 
When I went back for seconds last year, it didn’t quite match the first trip, but it was pretty close. 
 
What I saw this past weekend, however, was not as impressive. So although the drop off is understandable, a few performers were better than ever, and the place still looks great, I’m kinda left to assume their top priority this year is multi-tasking to produce Chronicles of the Cursed: The Sinkhole, instead of rocking Dream Reapers Haunted House to the next level. Or even keeping it running at last year’s level. 
 
If you’re number one, and you’re going to stay number one, I believe you kinda need to match your previous standard, the bar you’ve set from the previous season. And as fun of a time as my group had, and as good as the show was, it wasn’t as good as either visit last year. 
 
My group visited 2 houses on Friday. Out of four others besides me, 2 preferred Dream Reapers, and 2 preferred the other house we visited. 
 
I review Dream Reapers every year, and you’ll find I’m always fair and as accurate as possible. I stand by my score of 8, mostly because of the veteran actors and the overall strength of last year’s house. Though I’ll gladly admit that if it were my first ever visit, I would’ve surely gone with a 9. 
 
It just feels like a down year to be a regular Dream Reapers customer, at least at this location, compared to some of the bigger years in the past. They have most of the year to work in this building, yet the environmental changes were barely noticeable, the makeup slid a bit, the acting slid a bit, and even the gift shop reverted back to it’s *still nice* but less impressive form. 
 
If you’ve never been, you really should finally check out Dream Reapers. Heck, if you just didn’t go last year, you should see it. It’s a top-level show, with incredible sights, sounds and smells. But, if you visited last year, you’ve basically seen it, and I’d say maybe spend your haunting dollars elsewhere till next season. 
 
I wish the owners of Dream Reapers only the best, and hope the Sinkhole goes well. But the selfish, haunt fanatic side of me that loves Dream Reapers’ house hopes that the Sinkhole kinda sinks, so Dreamreapers will get back on the tear they were on last year at this time. I personally want to see a GREAT haunted house, and I’m wary about spending cash on a show in a tent in Chicago… when what I really want to see is more growth of the big show in the permanent location in Melrose Park. 
 
Last year number one was a slam dunk for Dream Reapers. This year I think it’s an open game, with the Reapers still as favorites, but by no means heavy favorites. I can think of at least 3-4 others in last year’s top ten and one semi-newcomer that seem far hungrier than Dream Reapers Melrose Park this year. 
 
All the best guys, it was still very good, and I’m sorry I couldn’t do you a better service than this.

12 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: goth_gina   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We had been there before and there were signs.

Wait Entertainment: What can I say... it's Dreamreapers! Over the top actors!

Length of Event: 30 - 35 minutes

Actor Performance: GREAT! Way over the top. Impressive! Just a few words that come to mind. I have to say that this year is no exception. No character ever came out of his/her shell. I tried to back pigboy up and he came charging back!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did run into a the group ahead of us but they were running back the other way!

Appropriate Ages: 14+

Props / Special FX: So many I can't count. From the smells to the lighting, to all the details!

Costumes / Make-up: Top notch. nuff said.

Summary: I would have to say that this haunt is a favorite of mine, but where do they go from here? I try to rate haunts on if they were greater or less than the year before. How do you rate perfection? I tell you how, see what they do NEXT year! I would have to say that for the money, Dreamreapers gives you the most scream for your buck. I would not say they worked the hardest I have ever seen them, but they did outstanding just like always. I am glad we have a haunt in Illinois like this one!!!!!

24 out of 42 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Haunt_Master   (Event Visited: 10/02/10 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good, they have lights you can see from the street and an inflatable thing waving in the wind.

Wait Entertainment: There was an actor or two in costume interacting with the crowd and getting in people's faces to scare them.

Length of Event: Not counting the wait in line, about 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: Good acting here at dream reapers. The actors were very into their roles and had great timing at popping out to scare patrons.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They tried to keep groups seperated and I did not run into another group while I was inside.

Appropriate Ages: I would say ages 16 and up.

Props / Special FX: This is an established haunted house that has amassed a good collection of props over the years. The scenes are very detailed and realistic. The lighting is very good and spooky.

Costumes / Make-up: They really excel in this department. I really enjoyed the ticket taker girl's mask. It looked like she was a scary puppet with a mouth that could open up super wide. It was the best makeup/mask I have seen in a haunted house. It was very SCARY.

Summary: I have given dream reapers lower grades in the past, but this year they did an excellent job. One area they improved on was crowd control. They kept groups small and timed it so groups didn't run into one another. They kept people seperated well. In the past, this has been an issue. However, this was a slow night at the beginning of October so they were not pressed to be rushed. Regardless, I am glad I went to Dream Reapers this year. 16 bucks is a good bang for your buck. This isn't overpriced and everyone in my group really liked it.

17 out of 32 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: karaann   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/08/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I was shocked that they charged me for parking first of all. But visibility is good.

Wait Entertainment: The coffin ride was unique, nothing i would pay for, but unique. Its nice that you get to wait inside where its warm.

Length of Event: 15 min

Actor Performance: Nothin to brag about. I was yelled at to get out of rooms which doesnt make sense- thats not scary. Ive never heard so many "RARRRRWS" walking through a house. The monsters should work on some variety in their acts, everyone did the same thing. The only actor that stuck out to me was the guy in the graveyard looking room with the grass. He did an excellent job. I was the leader in the group and I walked into a few rooms and watched the actor jump back into their pop out...not sure if they were talking with the actors around them or what, but very unprofessional, and totally ruined the scare they could have had.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great, we didnt run into any groups.

Appropriate Ages: Well i had my 8 year old son with me who didnt flinch, if that gives you an idea.

Props / Special FX: Some cool rooms. They were very detailed and I enjoyed the special effects such as the smells and decorations. I really liked the butcher room.

Costumes / Make-up: Nothin over the top, but okay. Seemed like every actor had the usual white face with blacked out eyes.

Summary: Dream Reapers has sunk a couple points from last year, I rated them pretty high the last time i went through. This house has potential, whoever designes the rooms knows what theyre doing, but the actors need some help. I think with some training this could be a top house.

12 out of 24 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ebe2023   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location has been the same for a couple of years now and there is a sign that points you to it from the main road and someone who points you into the parking lot.

Wait Entertainment: There was one actor outside and one actor in the indoor waiting area. They have a screen playing a repeat commercial of the fear channel or something like that. The wait area has an industrial look so it would be cool if they used the projector and played scenes of movies that took place in industrial settings.

Length of Event: It took my group about 15 minutes to walk through the entire house. It felt like less than that but i guess someone in my group timed it with their cell phone.

Actor Performance: Most actors stayed in character but since patron flow was an issue that played a factor into their performance because they never had a chance to use the element of surprise. Good job to them for still giving their best effort with what they had.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: First off i was in a group of four, we asked if we could go alone but we were forced to enter with another group of four so it ended up a group of eight. Within the first 5 minutes the group behind us caught up and after about 10 we caught up to a group in front of us. This made for a pretty boring walk thru the house and my girlfriend was so upset when she exited she decided to count the people behind us which ended up being 9. So add that to our 8 and we had a total of 17 people all bunched together for a majority of the house. Keep in mind the people in front of us were not counted.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 10 and up sounds about right.

Props / Special FX: Here is one area that impressed me. The props and special FX were all great and the scents made the scenes a bit more realistic. The bloody operating room and the forest like area are both very nice.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were not the best there were some good ones and some that looked homemade. Makeup probably could have been better as well there was one scene that looked like ordinary people just got a job and started working without any makeup or costumes.

Summary: Overall this has to be one of my worst experiences at a haunted attraction. The patron flow was just unacceptable for such a big name attraction 17+ people all bunched up together leaves you very little chance to be scared or surprised. I will give them credit for having very nice and detailed scenes using nice props and FX but that was the only shining light at a dim lit party. The waiting area could use some tweaks and the costumes and make-up should definitely be worked on this way actors could look just as good as the props and scenes that surround them. I would recommend that those that have been here in the past try some place new this year and give the folks at Dream Reapers a chance to work on their flaws.

7 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: stokarz   (Event Visited: 10/28/10 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was found pretty easily since you can see a lot of outside activity from North Ave before you turn on Cornell.

Wait Entertainment: The line was short due to my late arrival on a Thursday night but once inside they did have and "actor" roaming the line messing with people. My wife was trying to use her phone and the creature stood next to her yelling crazy things, it was hilarious.

Length of Event: We got seperated from the group which worked out the best so it was like we were going through on our own and it took about 15-20 min to get through.

Actor Performance: These guys were awesome! I don't know how they could act crazy all night long I would die.... The detail in the costumes and the actual walk was incredible. Since we were on our own they would freak you out with all kind of surprises.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The monstors caused delays which caused us to split from the group of 8 or 10. There were times we were not sure which way to go and the creatures would guide us to the right path.

Appropriate Ages: Not for small kids I would say high school age and up.

Props / Special FX: I can not believe the detail everywhere. The spinning room was awesome it really messed you up. I didn't care for the smoke smell especially in the start of the tour. The props in the butcher area was nasty I guess in a good way...

Costumes / Make-up: Agian great detial was provided in the costumes and make up. It looked like some of the creatures actually shaved their heads to be messed up.

Summary: This place was awesome. I would recommend splitting from the group a bit so that you or your girl "wife" goes through alone. You will get the best scares this way. Favorite rooms were probably the spinning room, mirror strobe light area, the butchers and a room I can't really explain.... In this room, there was about 3 "actors" one chained up with a domination mask, one half man/women and I don't even know what the other guy was.... This room was pretty freaky and the half man/women opend up his bra to show is insides... The end of the buther area was pretty cool as well. There was a lot going on in the room so watch for some unexpected scares. Just when you get through some one jumping in your face someone down below might try to get you... The only thing I really did not like was the smell from the fog mostly in the first part of the tour.

7 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: kimmerz78   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find. Well lit out front with 2 large air blown ghosts to catch your attention, as well as the Dream Reapers herse.

Wait Entertainment: Being a Saturday night, there was a very long line wrapped around the entire front of the building. There was 1 actor at the time out front while we were waiting, and there were 2 in the inside holding area, but leaving, we saw at least 3 actors outside entertaining the crowd, one chasing a girl who was screaming down the street as we were driving away. Hilarious!

Length of Event: About 25-30 minutes. Did not time it though.

Actor Performance: Awesome! All stayed in character. Many were in well hidden areas and came out of nowhere! A couple even came down from the ceiling out of nowhere. Best actors at this haunt, and the most actors compared to others I have been too.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: A good size group is sent into the first room, then you disperse from there. There was 4 of us together who went in behind a larger group, but we walked pretty slow to lose them after the first room. Never did catch up with them, nor have a group come up behind us. It was just us throughout the rest of the haunt.

Appropriate Ages: Saw several very young children with parents there, and they were crying from fright just being in the holding area! Even saw a person bringing an infant in with them! REALLY?!!? Couldnt believe that one, but to each his own. I'd say 14 and up is appropriate. Maybe a little younger with parent. But not an infant for crying out loud! Or 4-6 yr olds like I saw. Dont want to tramatize your kid, do ya?

Props / Special FX: Top Notch! So many elaborate scenes, each different from the next. Vortex is always fun. As well as the Butcher Shop. Dont want to give away any specifics though. See for yourself!

Costumes / Make-up: Fantastic! Professionally done. Enough said.

Summary: Once again, Dream Reapers delivered! It's Still my favorite Illinois Haunted House to visit! Last year was our first time, and we came back again this year! Highly Recommended! You wont be dissappointed! I dont want to give away any of their suprises, so just experience it for yourself! It's also cheaper then some of the other haunts, and packs lots of bang for your buck! Its a Scary Good Time, with tons of awesome actors, lots of jumps and screams, and elaborate scenes. Filled with great Halloween eye candy, as well as thrill to get your heart pumping!

12 out of 26 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: bullme109   (Event Visited: 10/01/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/05/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Pretty easy to see, of course, I used a GPS. Plenty of signs though.

Wait Entertainment: The night we went there was no wait, as it was pretty early in the season. They still had a couple of actors out there though to entertain the brief line. Like one previous reviewer noted, they had amazingly well done make up, and were actually very funny while being creepy at the same time. For being as empty as it was, they get major bonus points for still being able to stay in character.

Length of Event: 10 minutes or so.

Actor Performance: Excellent. I've been to a majority of the surrounding houses, and this one definitely had the best actors. They were all very into their roles, one in particular was hanging from a ceiling and making the weirdest/creepiest noises I've heard a woman make. Also, the makeup was top notch. These actors looked awesome. My favorites were the gf/bf clown/jesters that hung out in the waiting area. The butcher was also great.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did run into a group, despite walking pretty slow. I blame this more on the group ahead of us, who honestly should have been kicked out. They were hanging around scenes, and screaming back at the actors, etc. It really killed the mood for me, thankfully we didn't run into them until the later part of the house. Hopefully they can control this more as the season goes on. Otherwise, it was good.

Appropriate Ages: I'd say R rated. So teen.

Props / Special FX: As I stated earlier, some of the best makeup jobs I've seen in a house, ever.  
 
The scenes were also very detailed, and I loved the swamp/forest area. The scents they use really help to make you feel like you're really there.  
 
Other faves were the vortex tunnel, the butcher shop, and the hellavator.  
 
Maybe because it was early in the season, it seemed like some props (like the coffin ride) weren't operating. Some rooms had much stronger scents than others.

Costumes / Make-up: Best I've seen in a haunted house. They go all-out.

Summary: I now know why this place is always rated so highly, it's top notch. It's a highly detailed haunted house with great actors, combined with great props, makeup, and even scents. This is my new favorite haunt, and for only $16, it beats many of the $25 ones that are out there.

5 out of 11 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: partycentral   (Event Visited: 10/31/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/01/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location is easy to see, but parking is $3. Try to park on the east side of the street. No matter what they say about getting towed, you will be okay.

Wait Entertainment: None. We had VIP tickets and did not have to wait, however I did see actors walking by the crowd outside.

Length of Event: 15 minutes. I walk slowly to enhance the experience.

Actor Performance: Actors were good but seemed like they were ready for the house to be done for the year. People seemed bored inside the house, but at the same time, acting was effective in parts. The best actors were the ones in the introduction room and elevator.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were VIP so we never had anyone in front of us, however people did catch up with us in the last room. The house did a great job with crowd control but should slow people down if they are running through the house like the people that bumped into us at the end.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Sinister Scents always does a general good job but all haunted houses including Reapers need to go through the house every hour and spray because the scents go away and all you smell is sweaty actors. Props and special effects were very well done! Very detailed.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and Makeup were movie quality but not very bloody. They were scary nonetheless but not scary enough to say that a 10 year old couldn't go through by themselves.

Summary: Overall, Dream Reapers always does a great job with detail. The acting is usually good but this year seemed a bit off. Still scary, just not in a horrifying or shocking way.  
 
They need to add better lighting effects and more smoke and mirrors. They also should add more blood and more smell.  
 
We won the VIP tickets through Haunted Illinois, and were let into the haunt through a separate entrance in the gift shop. I definitely think it was cool to be let in this way. 
 
The acting was good, and the costumes were okay. The only real problem that I saw was that a lot of scenes are always the same, like the alien in that spiral tunnel, and the rain forest. Finally, this haunt is fun as the details of scenes are nice but it is a good place for families and kids, not really hardcore haunt fans. 
 
The employees were nice, but seemed like they took advantage of our group when it came to buying items. When an item said $45, they said it was $80, etc. We got some cool shirts though so make sure you check out the shop at the end.

9 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: pumpkinhead2   (Event Visited: 10/29/10 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easily found via GPS or directions from their website. Good location but, watch where you park. Look for the signs for DR parking otherwise you'll have to move your vehicle.

Wait Entertainment: This evening a bus from thetruth.com was there playing hip-hop and passing out anti-cigarette info. While not scary, it was entertaining to watch people dance and be interviewed etc. One actor was mingling in the crowd and did scare a busload of kids.

Length of Event: I timed it from the point that they opened the door to the room where you hear the rules until we got to the gift shop. It took 11 minutes 33 seconds. To be fair, this would vary depending on the people in your group. I was with strangers and thought they went too fast for my taste.

Actor Performance: The actors at DR are really great. I can't say enough about them. They all seem to have different techniques for walking, speaking, and even screaming. I appreciated the diversity of characters.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I saw other groups in rooms I was going to be going into later. I was in the first group that night so, they must have different paths they take or something. I suppose it could have been the guys from thetruth.com since they went through with video before anyone else. Anyway, the point is, we saw another group.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: I saw some very detailed props but, I missed animatronics in every room as I was the last one to go through. I'd rather not comment for that reason. I should have gone first.

Costumes / Make-up: Very good costumes and makeup. I really like the dried, crusted blood around the mouth look some actors had. It's becoming my new favorite makeup. LOL 
 
I wasn't convinced by the actor's costume in the last room however. I'm trying to remember but, I think he was wearing a fake muscle costume and a mask. Some might like it but, it doesn't appeal to my taste in costumes.

Summary: I wish I could have spent more time taking it all in. I think that's a compliment for the haunt as well as a criticism. I don't have the solution however. At a haunt that big, in a city that large, I don't see how they can allow guests to linger for a while but, it would be great if that was possible. Having guests go through at their own pace allows them to race through. I should have just hung back but didn't want to ruin the next groups experience by having them run in to me.  
 
The good part about wanting to see more, is that it tells me they spent a ton of time on details. If I went through and thought "saw it all..." then I'd think they threw the haunt together on the cheap. This isn't the case in my opinion.  
 
I was disappointed to be able to see outside the haunt ceiling in several rooms however. It really really took me out of the scene each time. Every time I noticed the opening, I began to think about the layout of the haunt and what the building was prior to the haunt. If they covered the ceilings I wouldn't have noticed that. 
 
Great job.

11 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: marv58   (Event Visited: 10/17/10 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Ive been to this haunt before, so I knew where to go. If you use a navigation system you will haven no problem noticing the haunt from the main street.

Wait Entertainment: This year when I attended there was only about 50 people in line so there were not many characters roaming around. There were two well detailed actors inside the building interacting with the crowd.

Length of Event: I timed the event from opening scene to gift shop it was 17 minutes. However I did walk really slow.

Actor Performance: I believe the actors did a great job this year. Not once did any actor break character, or tell us to leave a room. My gf did get hit in the back of the head by an actor and he did not apologize. GREAT JOB!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: As stated above I was the leader in our group and walked very very slow, I wanted to see everything reapers had to offer this year, however I did catch up to the group in front of us a few times. I did wait for them to advance further and did not get hurried by the actors.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and above would be appropriate.

Props / Special FX: Top notch, this is the reason I attend every year, the attention to detail is amazing. From the slaughter house to the sewer area, everything seemed very professional and time consuming.

Costumes / Make-up: Another strong area of this haunt, every actors makeup/costume fit the scene they were in, and not one actor looked rushed or like they needed touched up. Great job in this area as well.

Summary: First I would like to start off with a thank you to the gate keeper/ticket person at Dream Reapers. My girlfriend and I were followed in by a group of apparent drunk teenagers, and I thought for sure my experience was going to be ruined and I just threw away 32 dollars. As we approached the door to get in, the ticket master pulled us a side and asked if we would like to go in with the group ahead of us instead of being stuck with the arrogant retards behind us. THAT MADE MY NIGHT!!! Not only did we not have to go in with the gorillas but we got to lead our group. 
 
Anyway on to the review.  
 
As for the attention this haunt gets I would say that its well worth the hype. I will quickly go over some of the pros and cons of this years haunt. 
 
Cons- 
 
This year seemed to be a little more well lit this than years past. There were many areas that were not completely covered and you could see the ceiling of the building. To me that kind of took away from the atmosphere a tad.  
 
Some of the transitions from room to room were off the mark as well, maybe spacing the main rooms a little further apart might have helped get you ready for the next scene. 
 
To me it also felt as if the actors were not as intense as previous years. Most of them did their parts, and did them well however last year just seems like they were more over the top and in your face. 
 
I know it seems like im nit picking, but there really wasnt much in terms of cons. 
 
pros- 
 
As stated above the customer appreciation aspect of this haunt is top notch. They really want you to get your moneys worth, and having one of the workers being that observant of the rowdy teenagers in line really made me appreciate this haunt even more. 
 
The actors followed the typical haunting rules of DONT just scream, and yell get out, or leave here. Seemed like every actor his his/her own set of lines and strayed away from the stereotypical commonly used phrases. Kudos to that. 
 
The pop scares seem to come more frequent this year, seemed like they were around every corner. Fortunately for me the rest of the patrons in my group were very easily scared so hearing them scream, and feeling them jump into my girlfriend and I added to the experience. 
 
Im very happy about the length of the haunt this year, it felt as if they added a few more minutes than last years haunt. I know the type of work it takes to add just minutes to a haunt so great job there. 
 
I have a feeling this haunt is going to match its reign of top stop, however I dont feel it lived up to last years standards. Ive been to 4 haunts this year, and I still havent decided if this is my top haunt. 
 
Definitely this haunt before the seasons over, you will not be disappointed.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright © 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at