Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2010 Visitor Reviews of
Haunted Haven (Rock Falls, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
15 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: crl1989   (Event Visited: 10/08/10 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location was very easy to find, the signs told you right where to go, and it was on a main road. There was plenty of parking and you didn't have to walk far.

Wait Entertainment: They had great entertainment: the night I went they had a man doing fire tricks that were very interesting to watch and he held the crowds attention! He was very good at what he did and he performed it to music. They also usually have a live band playing for entertainment for customers waiting in line, unfortunately the night I went they had somewhere else they had to be.

Length of Event: The line wait was not that bad, maybe an hour, but I did arrive at 9 and they opened at 7. So if you're looking to get right in I'd go early. The walk through the haunted house took about 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: When you first walk in the girl you see has a very creepy affect as you walk through the swamp. My friends and I found ourselves jumping and screaming many times. All of the actors were on cue and were very effective. My favorite was a guy who crawled on the ceiling right above us; that was very unique and something I have never seen in a haunted house before. There was a guy in a hallway who had a knife and looked like he'd cut himself - it looked very realistic, the blood look very real! The actor sitting with the dummy - you almost didn't know if they were real because they moved in sync and it was creepy! The lady who looked like a doll sitting in a chair had a childish voice that gave you the chills!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They groups were well spaced out! I have been in houses where you always catch up with the group ahead and it ruins it and then you have to wait which takes away the effects. We never ran into anyone else or even heard other groups - so it never gave away what was coming next!

Appropriate Ages: Ten and younger may be too scared. Family-friendly.

Props / Special FX: They had an area in the first room that felt like you were sinking in the floor; it was creepy and felt weird. There was a room decorated from saw that had great props with lots of details: the blood, costumes, and fixtures were perfect for it.

Costumes / Make-up: The makeup and costumes were very realistic, and they were well done up. Some times you didn't know if the people were real or dummies!

Summary: I really enjoyed this haunted house, they had new things I have never seen before and really enjoyed. This haunted house has really expanded since last year and I was very impressed. They had a great show while we waited in line- which i have never seen other haunted houses so. I do think it'd be fun if some slight crawling or slides were added. Maybe even moving walls or 3-D type effects. I would recommend this haunted house to anyone who likes going! Great location, close parking, snacks and drinks for purchase while your waiting, entertainment, and a good scare!

9 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: rward   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If you are not from around the area you may wonder if you are going the right way at first, so could use a Haunted Haven 2mi sign, but I'm local so I knew exactly where to go. Once you get by it there are signs and everything is lit up. The location itself is creepy. Kind of in the middle of no where in what looks to be an abandoned barn.

Wait Entertainment: There was a dj there. I think he should have played more haunted house music. I heard a few rap songs...ehhh. Other wise good. There was a fire spinner guy. I was in line for a while so I got to watch him twice....THAT WAS COOL. I have went all over to multiple states and everything and I've never had better entertainment in line. There was also a movie projector going and actors messing with us in line! Oh yeah i almost forgot there was two fires to stay warm by and hot food and drinks too.

Length of Event: I would say it was 20 min. A great 20 minutes though.

Actor Performance: This is where this haunt gets HUGE marks from me. These actors ARE their character. There wasn't a single "rawr" it was all in your face, is this guy really going to cut me acting. The actor to actor interactions were great. I really have nothing but positives here.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I did not feel rushed at all. I got to interact with the characters and did not get shoved through. I did not even hear another group in front of or behind us at all. I hate when I pay to get in a haunt and you have to stop and wait for the group in front and they ruin scares for you....so I really appreciate the extra wait in line to have a good time.

Appropriate Ages: I would not take anyone under 13. I question taking some adults =D

Props / Special FX: There were not a lot of fake props. Which I like. It was all actors. The scenes were great, very detailed and well put together.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes looked very custum. I appreciate the time spent in this category. I've been to places where its a mask and a hoodie or even walmart costumes. Not at Haunted Haven. Every costume seems custom made for that actor, that scene. The make-up is downright amazing. I noticed a few of them had these weird eyes even. Some even had their whole bodies painted or bloody. And I don't know why but there was a guy wrapped in I think seran wrap but I liked it and the girls in the group Freaked out everytime this guy came around. (he was a total weirdo though hahaha)

Summary: Okay, so to sum it all up. I go to A LOT of haunted houses every year, and these guys never seem to let me down. I love the fact that these are real actors in your face and that stay in character. I more or less hate animitronic props so these guys got an A there. There were very few things I would switch up and I even got to chat with the owner and give her my feedback personally at the end. I had a good time in line. I had a GREAT time in the House, I highly recommend this haunt to everyone. Kudos to all the actors, and I really like that the owner talks with the patrons. Oh and don't go with someone that will claw you everytime some jumps out. You will be in shreds.

9 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: star433   (Event Visited: 10/01/10 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/05/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was out of the way to get there but easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: There were people dressed up that stayed in line. And there was food you could buy and eat while you waited.

Length of Event: Wasn't too long.

Actor Performance: They were awesome! Really creepy. They stayed in character really well.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I never saw or heard another group while I was in there and I got to look around each room a little before going into the next.

Appropriate Ages: It had a sign saying 13 or older but I saw some little kids with their parents. I wouldn't take little kids to it though.

Props / Special FX: Didn't see many of those. Lots of blinking lights that made it kinda hard to walk in the hallway.

Costumes / Make-up: Good! Only saw a few masks and everyone else just had make up but it looked really good.

Summary: It was really fun. I even had fun in the line. The people came out of the house a few times and were scaring people. This guy came out of the ceiling and it was so awesome I didn't expect that. The room with all the babies was really creepy. The girl in that room kept screaming at me till I guessed her name. Dollie! lol and omg the clowns were crazy! My friend is really afraid of clowns and he ran so fast. It was so funny. I really liked this place. It was really fun.

5 out of 10 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ceecee   (Event Visited: 10/15/10 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good location right off main highway. More signs to say how much farther to go would of been great like 10 miles to Haunted Haven etc.

Wait Entertainment: They had a DJ playing music and fire juggler that was awesome. Would like to of had some actors scaring out front.

Length of Event: about 10 min depending on how fast you ran thru

Actor Performance: Actors were right on with their scares. Snookie was great, over the top a bit but was all over the house never knew where he was gonna be. Repoman scared me thought he was gonna come thru the fence. I was really freaked out by the hallway with the guy trying to cut his arms and asking for help then actors crawling on walls and ceiling, geesh didn't know where they were coming from. The bodies hanging really got me to was waiting for one to be alive. My neice about tore my arm off with the clowns coming after her.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We spaced out real well was able to enjoy the house fully. No one caught up to us.

Appropriate Ages: 10+ not for younger

Props / Special FX: Props were perfect sometimes couldn't find the doors out but it just added to the scare.

Costumes / Make-up: They had few masks but mostly make up that I remember.

Summary: The whole event was great my family couldn't stop talking about it. I think the only think that was missing atmosphere was waiting wish there was more actors out front maybe an occasional skit from the actors. My favorite scene was the guy in the hallway with the knife and the guy on the ceiling and walls. They totally freaked me out. Favorite actor was the guy in the fence I think they called him repoman he was great. I liked the live "dead" dolls too. Dolly won't let leave her room. Well worth the money. Looking forward to next year. This one was even better than last year.

9 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: evilmrstabby   (Event Visited: 10/15/10 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The visibility was very good. It was on a main road couldn't miss. Has lit up signs pointing the way.

Wait Entertainment: I was impressed. They had a DJ playing Halloween like music. I read the other peoples reviews and i did not see the fire spinner or the Band. They had a projector playing movie clips on the barn while waiting in line. A monkey clown guy dancing to the music. I thought he was more funny then scary but it was still good overall. A very creepy gate keeper girl standing at the entrance before you entered. I didn't get any food but they had food and a fire.

Length of Event: I would say it depends on who you are. Max time 20min felt like 10min. in certain parts they would stop and talk to you like the Dollie girl witch made it this event last longer.

Actor Performance: I thought the actors were great. I was very impressed. My favorite actor would have to be the Dollie girl. Her voice reminds me of the girl off of the movie House of 1000 Corpses. A very child like laugh. Another favorite was the scene with the girl begging us to help her while she was tied to the bed. Overall everyone was in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Did not run into another group witch was awesome. They spaced it out very well. In certain rooms you could go at your own pace sept for the Dollie room cause you have to guess her name witch i forgot.

Appropriate Ages: this event is not kid friendly. 13+ or unless with an adult.

Props / Special FX: when you first walk in your in a swap seen. as you keep walking through you'll walk over this weird dirt patch that feels freaky. Had lots of strobe light effects and fog machines. I was very impressed with there props. They also had sound effects in areas like the clown room they had hardcore rock music playing to add a horror like feel to it.

Costumes / Make-up: the costumes were all great. I would have to say my favorite was the guy you run into in the long hallway with strobe lights had great makeup. He had blood all over him. Most of the actors were wearing detailed makeup. There were only a few masks. Overall i think Costumes and makeup were very good

Summary: My favorite part about this event was the group i was in. The girls were terrified of the clowns. it was hilarious. I didnt feel that they needed to do anything better just have to be there the right day and time to see the cool stuff while waiting in line. My favorite scene would have to be the guy in the long hallway with strobe lights. i walk up to him and he whispers to me are they in your head while holding a knife on his wrist then he screams while bouncing off the walls. it was freaky and i am the type of guy to not really get freaked out by this stuff, loved it. He was also my favorite actor along with the creepy voiced dolly girl. Just think house of 1000 corpses and you'll know what in talking about. So overall i think they gave you your bang for you buck. :)

7 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Shannonautop   (Event Visited: 10/10/10 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find signs are lit up and signs tell you where to park right past an airport and by a school

Wait Entertainment: get there early cuz they get really busy like packed so get ur ticket and get a good place in line but theres good music a dj a fire dancer and some people in costume messing with people in line alot going on

Length of Event: about 20 mins to walk through its well worth is things ive never seen before

Actor Performance: OMG it was so reall there they all were very good actors makeup was to the max extreame looked so reall

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: never ran into or heard another group

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up unless with a parent very scary

Props / Special FX: the make up and prostetics looked very reall alot of detail and time in this haunt very good

Costumes / Make-up: almost everyone had contacts in there eyes that made them look very scary and protetics and teeth and realalistic makeup

Summary: really if havent been to haunted haven by all means check this place out its a must see well worth the drive and money they even have a commercail on tv with very scary clowns Tweeker and Skitzo and Th13teen and Spazo there was a hallway where a very scary person was crawling upsidedown on the celling creepy messed up doll room very scary slaughter kitchen and a awsome swamp

7 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: booga   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: it was easy to find. the directions lead right to it. there were signs all lit up.

Wait Entertainment: there was a fire dancer which was really cool. a dj, food and drinks, and actors in line. there was a projection screen showing clips of zombies and stuff.

Length of Event: i think it took about 20 minutes im not really sure though.

Actor Performance: the actors were very loud and in your face. they like to be like RIGHT there when you turn around. they did a good job. the leather face guy kept standing in front of the girl so i didnt get to see her. he seemed a little off, i felt like he wouldnt mind having us for tea but the guy in the closet was EVERYwhere. it was like poof he was there. i also liked how a lot of them had there own names. i forget most of them but that was neat. there was def. a little person there. that was so unexpected. I think they all did a really good job though. the clowns were really weird. im not a fan of clowns. these were beyond the normal weird. and there was a creepy girl that called dolly that was very demanding lol. she made us hop on one foot and stuff but it was fun.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: didnt see or hear anyone else.

Appropriate Ages: probably not for kids.

Costumes / Make-up: i liked all the makeup. less masks becasue of it. The makeup was well done and the costumes seemed to go perfect with the seens.

Summary: i enjoyed myself a lot here. the wait was kind of long but that's how you know its worth it too. the actors did a good job. i think that a lot of people think haunted houses are for kids but this one is more for adults. which i like. "boo" isnt scary so im glad theres a haunted house for adults to get scared at around here now. i recommend this haunted house to everyone. you had to park in a cornfield a little bit of a walk away becasue there were so many people, the only reason i say is because there were a couple of old people there. I thought that was weird but hey thay want to have a good time too right? haha

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at