Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2010 Visitor Reviews of
Satan's Portal (Joliet, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
36 out of 44 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: blackkat   (Event Visited: 10/01/10 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/06/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: well its kind of off a busier road but the person holding the sign made it easy

Wait Entertainment: none what so ever. some horrible metal music playing in the back ground. friendly ticket taker though

Length of Event: 5 minutes?

Actor Performance: horrible. i couldnt understand any of the ones wearing masks and the others just screamed for me to get out over and over again.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: fine, no one else was there really it seemed

Appropriate Ages: 10.

Props / Special FX: you can see all these props at your local "mart" store.

Costumes / Make-up: a few masks, some basic face paint and tennis shoes.

Summary: so, i think i should have read the reviews before i went. i looked at the website weeks ago, and it was hyped up so much. voted #1 newest haunt (yeah, by who?), and they should not call themselves a "premier haunt", or primer as written on the wrist band, way to spell check! 15 rooms seprated by garland, and spray paint on the walls. i got no scares, no suprises only the feeling of being swindeled. although i got in for $10 which makes it not so bad, becasue i guess for $10 who cares. the site said id get a free shirt, and i got no shirt at all, now i dont see it on the website, so something is fishy there. id have to say this was a very poor try at a haunted house. so in the end, i didnt like this house at all, i dont see how anyone could like it, i didnt get my shirt which the website said, and was just let down in every aspect of the house. ill never return.

50 out of 63 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: eDsKillaZ   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 09/30/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was easy for me to find with my GPS

Wait Entertainment: I believe the longest wait time was when i was in my car smoking a cigarette

Length of Event: 3 to 5 minutes depending on how fast u walk

Actor Performance: Unbelievebly poor! There was actually a 6ft tall Chucky actor...?

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Absolutely nobody but me and my gurlfriend in the "supposed" haunt

Appropriate Ages: 7 and up just because sum of the masks used where inopropriate for a young'n to see.

Props / Special FX: The props were very amateur. Glow in the dark spray paint written on the walls everywhere in regular writing which did not enhance the scare factor at all!

Costumes / Make-up: No Comment....

Summary: I was very dissapointed overall with this "so-called" haunt. I drove from chicago thinking that this premiere haunt or as Satan's Portal would call it PRIMER as written on their wristbands. I am very intrested as in to who established this and put this together. I've been to almost every haunt in Illinois and even out of State including Creepyworld and The Darkness in St. Louis which are ranked in the Top 5 in America. Well...as i read on the Satan's Portal website that there slogan is "You been to the REST...now come to the Best"! I mean would'nt that catch a real haunt fanatics attention. Well it definently grabbed mine and made me very curious as into how scary this VOTED #1 up and coming new haunt in Illinois! And just by seeing the admission i knew it had to be sumthing very State of the Art and scary. Well it was far from that and i'm glad iwas one of the 200 to get in for $10 and even that is overpriced! Maybe a donation would have been a lil more appropriate. I really think that Satan's Portal hyped themselves into a sumwhat joke of a haunt to rip people off if anyone pays $28. I know haunts that are $8 bucks and 10 times more scarier. If the Staff would be open to any ideas or help from a haunt fanatic as myself...i would definently love to give u some help to get this haunt up and goin in the right direction. Sorry for the poor review but its just honesty from a U.S Veteran who loves a good haunt!

39 out of 51 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: thecurse   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/01/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: very eay to find, right off a busy road, girl on corner with a sign (with wrong price on sign). 3 huge decorations, and the name on the awning made it real easy ti find.

Wait Entertainment: none what so ever, but it was very early in the season. the security guards were nice though

Length of Event: 2 minutes, maybe 3.

Actor Performance: no one seemed to break character, but out of 15 room, i was yelled to get out by 15 actors so that got old real fast.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: there were no cars in the parking lot besides the actors cars so we were the only ones there. no one to run into.

Appropriate Ages: 6 and up. nothing seemed gory, or over the top.

Props / Special FX: very basic, nothing that made me want to look twice. one thing that stood out, they had the "halloween" theme music playing in a room where Jason was the actor, just odd to me. it seemed to bright in there as well. good music through out it and you can hear actors screaming from the moment you walked in.

Costumes / Make-up: some face paint and t shirts from what i remember. nothing to scary.

Summary: i dont know who voted this number 1 newest attraction, or why it is called a "premiere haunted house"? they gave it a very good try it seems. name on the marque, etching on the doors with times and everything makes it look very professional. but everything else fell short. the girl on the corner with the sign said $10. and we were charged $15, after a little disscusion we were allowed in for $10. i did not get a free t-shirt that was advertised either. plenty of free parking, as the lot was completely empty, securtiy guards greeted us nicely though and seemed pumped to get customers. they had a popcorn machine and it smelled good to me. i couldnt understand the "rules" room at all. the actors taped voice was to distorted. the trick hallway room, and the star room where the actors are wearing the same as the walls were really good though and got me good! also, there was a room where an actor hid behind a chair and almost through it at us, now that was awesome, i was not expecting that at all. but, as it ended you are let out the back, and its just the back alley, no signs, no guards no anything. almost felt like we got kicked out and shoved to the back. even though we were allowed to go through as many times as we wanted 1 times was by far enough for this haunt. they seem like they have a good idea of what they want, just didnt pull it off. i think next year theyll be better. oh and, i still want my shirt!

32 out of 42 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: sniper   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was easy to see. They had a lot of those inflatable Halloween decorations outside.

Wait Entertainment: There really wasn't any... just heavy metal music playing in the waiting room.

Length of Event: 3 or 4 minutes, tops!

Actor Performance: fair. They tried hard, but most of them were out in the open, so they couldn't surprise me.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: pretty good.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Summary: I was initially excited when I found out about this haunted house. After reading all of the hype on their website... 
 
...voted #1 new attraction 
...one super extreme haunted house 
...you've tried the rest, no go to the best 
 
Plus the fact that they advertised a $24 admission price. An attraction charging that much MUST be great, right?!?! Perhaps not in this case. After all of that hype, I found this attraction to be a big let-down. I probably should have seen it coming, considering that 2 of the 5 "reasons we're #1" that were posted on their website were:  
 
1) Free paved parking 
2) Indoor waiting 
 
...which are things that pretty much every haunted house out there has. As for another reason why they are #1... 
 
3) the first and ONLY climate controlled haunted house. 
 
That couldn't be more false. I have been to a lot of haunted houses that are heated/cooled. 
 
They did have some interesting ideas inside the haunted house, though. The Insane Santa room was fun and I though the Camp Crystal Lake room was done well. The guys in the jail scene did ok and the actors played some decent victims in some of the other scenes. 
 
Props and decor were a real buzzkill, though. A lot of the wall decorations and props were cheap plastic ones, like what you might buy in a Halloween Express store. Definitely cheesy and really killed the mood in a lot of areas of the house! For a haunted house with such a high admission price, I expected sooooooo much more.  
 
I just CAN NOT recommend this event, considering the high price and how small it is. It is MAYBE worth $10, but if I were them, I wouldn't charge any more than that.

43 out of 57 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: hauntfanatic   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 09/29/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The strobe lights in front helped make it visible,but that was it. It was located on a desolate street.

Wait Entertainment: No wait entertainment, but we were also there the 2nd night it opened.

Length of Event: 5-10 minutes

Actor Performance: Poor at best. They did not know how to act their scene very well.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Only ones there so there was no wait.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Props were amateur

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes sort of fit the "rooms"

Summary: Overall, a very poor haunted house. I was lucky to be in the first 200 patrons because we got in for $10 each. If you are not in the first 200, it is way overpriced even with a coupon for the level of entertainment. I know they're a new haunted house, but they should have organized this better. Not scary at all compared to other haunted houses I've been to. I laughed the whole way through. They claim to have 16 "rooms" but they're separated by puny curtains. Very amateur haunted house. They did not even spell "premier" right on the wristband you get. It was spelled "primer". Sorry Satan's Portal, but if you wanna be the best you gotta at least compete with the best. Least favorite haunted house in my humble opinion.

24 out of 32 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: stuffy2004   (Event Visited: 10/17/10 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: They have signs on the main road directing you to the haunted house.

Wait Entertainment: None.

Length of Event: 4 minutes

Actor Performance: Fair. You could tell the actors enjoyed playing their part.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We ran into several other groups throughout the haunted house.

Appropriate Ages: 15 and under

Props / Special FX: Fair. The props were decent, but the special effects were poor.

Costumes / Make-up: costumes and make-up were fair. They were just wearing masks, with robes or street clothes it seemed.

Summary: I did not feel Satans Portal was worth the price of admission. The parking was good, and we had almost no waiting in line. They had 9 differently themed rooms, but with the way it was set up it was hard for the actors to sneak up on you, so you saw them right when you walked into the room. When you leave they put you out the back of the building, and you have to walk all the way around to get back to the parking lot. There were a lot of doors that said "exit" on them, which made it confusing as to where you were supposed to go.

49 out of 66 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ihauntyou   (Event Visited: 10/01/10 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find with GPS, kind of a desolate street

Wait Entertainment: The security gaurds were nice

Length of Event: It took my group 4 minutes

Actor Performance: Poor at best. Very low energy

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't run into other groups of people inside the haunt, or outside

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: No special effects or intricate props

Costumes / Make-up: Cheap masks and tattered clothing, make-up worn by a few actors needed help

Summary: I would love to know who voted this haunt as the #1 new haunt in the area, because they definetly did not walk through it. Fortunatly we only paid 10 dollars as we were some of the first ones there, assuming we got some kind of deal. I was very suprised that there were no animatronics or at least a high quality prop in a place so "premiere". We should have known what we were in for when we saw the cheap inflatables along the curb as we drove up. After being led into the first room of the haunt and trying to understand what the skeleton was saying, we were continually being told to "get out" by everyone in the haunt, which got old after the first 9 times I heard it. I will say that the 3 actors in the jail/electric chair area were the most convincing, for one room I actually thought I was in a haunted house. Some in my group could not stop laughing as we walked, and I lost it when Santa came out of the north pole with a chainsaw. (Really?) With a name like Satans Portal I expected more of an overall theme to the event, not just a bunch of rooms with hardly any decor. Sorry guys, I was very disappointed.

33 out of 48 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: adomagala   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Girl was standing on one corner, but she was facing away from the way we came. Once you turn it's right there so it wasn't bad but maybe a bigger sign or something would have been more helpful because we did almost past it.

Wait Entertainment: We didn't have to wait in line, but there also wasn't any monster even waiting there. So there was none

Length of Event: 3-5 minutes at most

Actor Performance: Poor. They barely did anything except yell to move to the next room. Most of them just talked in their normal voice. Nothing scary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: No one else was there so we didn't run into anyone else.

Appropriate Ages: 5 and up. Maybe even younger. It honestly was not scary at all to me.

Props / Special FX: Poor. The props were pretty cheap looking. Nothing special that I remember. Just your basic halloween decorations you can buy anywhere

Costumes / Make-up: Very Poor. They looked like they were bought from the dollar store. They obviously did not have a professional make up artist to help them. Looked like the scaary make up my mom used to do for me when I was little.

Summary: The haunted house was not scary in my opinion. It was too open. Every room was exactly the same. Basically something on each side of a big room, and 1-2 scary guys. Who did not scare you.  
 
Thankfully we were part of the first 200 people so we only have to pay $10. On the website it says $24/$20 with coupon. If I would have paid that I would have been extremely upset. They should only charge $10 if that for this haunt. I have no problem paying a lot of money for something that is worth it and lasts longer that 3 minutes. Satan's Portal really needs to step it up. Sorry guys.

10 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: srward21   (Event Visited: 10/17/10 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: it was easy to get to and see from the outside..

Wait Entertainment: walked right in there was no line or wait

Length of Event: it took between 4 to 5 mins to get through the entire haunted house

Actor Performance: there performance was poor they barely did anything

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: went smooth

Appropriate Ages: all ages.. but probably 15 and younger

Props / Special FX: nothing really out of the ordinary

Costumes / Make-up: looked very store bought. i had a mask they had and i bought it for $5 dollars at the store

Summary: My friends and i drove an hour an a half to go to this haunted house, we saw on a different website with very high reviews. It was nothing as we all expected.. It took a total of 4 minutes to go through and we did not jump once.. In the Christmas room they made snow out of soapy foam and we all almost slipped on the floor, also they used a leaf blower they blew at us and it irradiated my eyes. The decorations were lame and the whole overall experience was poor. The only good thing was they had a fake electric chair you could sit in and with the wrist band you could go in more than once.

15 out of 23 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: kinghunter   (Event Visited: 10/08/10 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: North of Jefferson Street, on Republic avenue. It is right near the Motor Mat car wash. They have a sign and flashing lights right outside the parking lot, near the street.

Wait Entertainment: No waiting entertainment.

Length of Event: We were in there what averaged about 10 minutes. They do give you a bracelet, and if you want to go back through, you can go as many times as you like.

Actor Performance: The actors were great. They put a lot of effort into making it a fun haunted house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: When we first got there, they were about fifteen minutes late in opening. Once the started letting people into the haunted house, things went quite smoothly.

Appropriate Ages: 8 or above

Props / Special FX: They had some pretty cool fog, strobes and electric chair.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make up of the actors was above average, and some looked very much like the real characters they were suppose to be.

Summary: We arrived a little early for the haunt. There were not a lot of people there, mainly because this is still early in the Halloween season. They charge $10, for the first 200 people. They were about fifteen minutes late in opening the house to the public. When patrons asked how much longer, they did seem a bit discombobulated. Once the doors were open and we entered the house, the actors were very good. They had fun with their roles, and made you feel like they were trying to provide you with a fun, scary and worth while experience. 
 
I was a bit disappointed with the end of the haunt. Usually they have a final scare, but it was a little lacking there. When you leave the house, you to have to walk the full distance of the building to get back to the parking lot, to your car. Over all, I would recommend this haunted house to most. It is fun, and I did find for the $10 I paid, well worth it.

9 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: DARKSTAR8142   (Event Visited: 10/02/10 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find. Less than one block off major road and they had people with signs on the corner to direct traffic.

Wait Entertainment: Head bangin music inside set the mood.

Length of Event: Not the longest event but a good 8-10 minutes.

Actor Performance: Most were great.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was good. I was one of six people going through at the same time and we did not run into a group ahead of us or get run down by a group from behind.

Appropriate Ages: most of it was rated G, but parts were definitely not appropriate for kids under 13.

Props / Special FX: music and strobe lights were great. The construction of the entire place was well thought out and appeared to be performed by someone who knows what they are doing.

Costumes / Make-up: Most of the costumes are well thought out and planned but I saw a couple that were not as well matched with the theme of the room they were in. Santa and his elf were awesome as was the clowns and the people whose costume appeared the same as the walls so I couldn't see them in the dark room. A+++ on that!

Summary: I went to this haunt on it's opening weekend and it had some issues which I won't go into. I was invited back the following weekend for free and I took them up on their offer and am glad I did. Although the first weekend was rough, the actors were really getting their roles down and sold their performances well when I went back a second time. I would definitely recommend this attraction to anyone who wants a decent scare for $10.

Webmaster Comment: $10 admission was only for the first 200 customers. After that, admission increased to $24 for the rest of the season.

15 out of 38 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: rebecca_654   (Event Visited: 10/02/10 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/06/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: They had alot of halloween decorations out front so I found the building with no problem.

Wait Entertainment: Since I went early in the season there was no enterainment. But I could see that the inside waiting area was decorated nicely and they had loud heavy metal music playing. I thought it was a very good atmosphere to have going on.

Length of Event: It took us awhile to go through the haunted house. I like the fact that its not too long.

Actor Performance: I love the guys in the meat room. There masks were amazing and the way they just jump out of nowhere with the chainsaws was great. The jail house actors were great as well. The chair looked pretty scarey but they got me to get on it, which was fun. They have so much energy in that room which is what made it great. The santa room was awesome. Santa was scarey and funny at the same time. And the clown room was the best. They went from being funny to scarey and then right back to funny. There energy is just off the wall. The hide in the most craziest places you never see them coming.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Everything flowed pretty great. They kept it only 6 people at a time.

Appropriate Ages: I would say the younger ones will be very scared if they go in.

Props / Special FX: The props were great I liked the chair and the bars in the jail house. The bubbles that were in the santa room and the tree were great. The clown room had a trampoline that the clowns jumped on. And the dead clown heads in the room.

Costumes / Make-up: I loved the costumes of the two guys in the meat room who had the chainsaws. Also the clowns just looked so scarey it was great. And I also liked the jail room and scene.

Summary: Over all I had a great time. I think the music playing before you go in really sets the mood. I like how dark it is and the strobe lights that they use. Everyone was great but the rooms that really stand out are the santa room, jail house room, clown room, and the meat room. I think if anyone goes here they will be getting there money worth.

16 out of 44 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: terri33   (Event Visited: 10/01/10 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Desolate area,but they draw you in from Jefferson. I was driving down the street lined on both sides with everyone from Michael Myers to an overgrown Chucky??

Wait Entertainment: None, no character entertainment here, security guards are very kind.

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes

Actor Performance: most were scary, some not at all. For example the electric chair room was frightening,but the clowns were not very scary just vulgar and inappropriate.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I didn't run into any other groups, which was nice.

Appropriate Ages: 13+ (clowns aren't appropriate)

Props / Special FX: impressive, It snows in the creepy santa room, and the place is all foggy and spooky.

Costumes / Make-up: Make up needs work, the masked characters really got me. Not being able to see the faces of the actors coming closer and closer to you is frightening. there was even a mask that blood rushed down and it made the most awful sound. Although Chucky was overgrown, the mask gave me chills.

Summary: Overall I think Satan's Portal was a good scare. It could definitely improve though.I would go back next year for sure.However I was counting on a free t-shirt and never received one.Don't promise what you can't provide.

20 out of 58 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ruracin8   (Event Visited: 10/01/10 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Was able to pay and go through the house.

Length of Event: close to ten minutes

Actor Performance: Pretty fair actors. Could use some improvement and stop yelling for people to "get out". The Zombies were awesome!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was good. The only thing is some of the actors yelled to get out which made you feel like you needed to leave the room instead of taking it all in.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: The props were plentiful but most of the rooms were a little to well lit. The string hanging from the ceiling was good. It gave a creepy feeling. If it were a little darker in the rooms it would be creepier!

Costumes / Make-up: The Costumes were good but the lighting took away some of the scare.

Summary: It was a good price at the $10 but I would print the coupon for the $4 off of the full price. Hopefully the actors and lighting will improve. It has potential to be a fun time!!!

12 out of 42 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: musicxbeat   (Event Visited: 10/03/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/04/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The haunt was on a minor road, but was easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Was inside (warm), but not really "entertainment"

Length of Event: 5-10 mins.

Actor Performance: A lot of the actors really sold their performance. The clowns were excellent. Santa's room with the snow, and the insane elf were awesome. The girl in Michael Meyer's room really sold it too.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There was no traffic or congestion. It felt very "me"-oriented.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: No animatronics, but the effects and strobe lights were executed well. The snow machine was cool, and it seemed like there was blood everywhere. There needs to be more spooky sound effects though. Also, it could be a little darker (which could be fixed simply by adding a false ceiling)

Costumes / Make-up: The clown make-up was wicked. Some of the costumes were a little cheesy (Devil's mask) but others were terrifying. The Jason mask was legit like always.

Summary: Overall, this haunt had me freaked out the whole way through. Some people commented about how it was pretty darned bad, but I was frightened. My guess is that it was a rough first day. I for sure want to come back and see it again later in October!

12 out of 49 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: jnnparis   (Event Visited: 10/03/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/05/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy place to find right off of jefferson st.

Wait Entertainment: music was loud in the entrance which made me excited to go in the haunted house. many lights were flashing (strobe) which was cool, security were nice and convincing.

Length of Event: 5-10 min. maybe more.

Actor Performance: honestly i loved the whole thing. everyone seemed to fit their rooms and the music was off the wall i notice they were playing rob zombie. a few rooms i would like to say were the best was the room with the clowns, electric chair, santa scared the h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored) out of me and also jason's room it was interesting how they trap you. chuckys room was scary just the fact of him sitting there staring as you walk in and the bride of chucky stole the ending by jumping out from behind me, also the people that kind of blended in with the walls (creepy old lady jumping out of window). i also couldn't get over the chainsaw room.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: there was a large group of people in front of me while waiting in line. parking lot was pretty full.

Appropriate Ages: being 20 i would have to say 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: the scenes for each room had props that made the room say what it was doing. well done.

Costumes / Make-up: clowns had makeup that looked terrific. costumes were appropriate for the rooms and were convincing.

Summary: i went through the haunted house about three times. overall i had a blast and it is worth your money 100%. 
 
i read some of the reviews from last weekends fright and i disagree with these reviews although maybe it has gotten better since last weekend. 
 
i am proud to say that satans portal started my october off awesome.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at