Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more ! Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2010 Visitor Reviews of
Dungeon of Doom Haunted Factory (Zion, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
35 out of 46 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: julissa19   (Event Visited: 10/02/10 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location is VERY hard to find they need MORE signs!

Wait Entertainment: The Entertainment was good HOWEVER the guys getting in your face and almost making you fall flat on your back in UNCALLED for, its ok to get close to someone but NOT how close they were getting to us.

Length of Event: under 45 minutes (we did the $25.00 one )

Actor Performance: Acted well some were bad

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good didnt really run into anyone besides in the maze

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: eh to many fake people

Costumes / Make-up: they were good but could be better

Summary: SOME of the actors were good,meaning the ones who didnt walk around with whistlers in there mouths and blowing them in your ear time and time again I'D LIKE TO KEEP MY HEARING THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!!!! I also didnt like Santa telling part of my group to sit on the ground and be-little us yes i know this is a haunted house and we shouldnt go if we get affended easily (which none of us do) but i dont appreciate being touched and held back by the actors, i went with a group of girls and i dont think their actors should feel like they can harass us over and over and over again we didnt appreciate it. the group in front of us was pushing one of the actors and the actor kept getting in his face if someone doesnt want you in their face then get out of their face and move on to someone else! I did like that when we told the girl working buried alive that some of us couldnt do it she let us stand up and the balls came up to our chest. Overall I dont think ill be coming back next year with the actors coming as close as they did and touching us i dont want to go back knowing that maybe next year they'll take it up a notch and really grab us.

24 out of 33 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: halloween4me   (Event Visited: 10/01/10 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Difficult to find considering it's in the middle of no where. There are police roadblocks pretty much leading you the way once you find the last road. *If you have GPS you should be fine.

Wait Entertainment: They take your groups picture which is different and you can see it at the end or purchase it. They only have a few characters for waiting in line and they didnt do much at all besides stare at you. You can only enter with 6 people or less so if you have a group of 6 or more make sure you can split it up.

Length of Event: 30+ mins. My group only went through the haunted house once we didnt get the buried alive (a friend of mine had previously done it said it's a waste truly)

Actor Performance: While waiting to actually get into the haunted house after the wait in the line was by far my favorite part. The actors in that room are the best and definitely put on a show. Throughout the house the actors were pretty set up and did a good job at scaring us. Especially if youre a girl in the group, you're going to get picked on.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We caught up with a group once in the foam room but the actors made us stop and do ten jumping jacks each before we could move on which i thought was funny. Once we got to the hospital part - which was unfortunately another line, they paired us up with another group which sucked and that part was just a hassle. The one actor there was terrible, he had no idea what to say or how to act and was just plain annoying.

Appropriate Ages: 13 +

Props / Special FX: The first room was amazing, and the first room in the actual haunted house was also a blast with the effects of blood splattering on us. the foam room was amazing. and the maze was pretty fun almost had a seizure though hah

Costumes / Make-up: Loved most of the costumes and makeup they were fine.

Summary: All in all the place was pretty good besides the 2nd wait in a line and one lady who was quite rude trying to show our group where to go. I would definitely recommend coming here, it will be worth the drive if you're coming from chicago!

26 out of 36 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ilikehaunts   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 09/30/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Unfortunately The Dungeon of Doom has little to no visibility off of the main roads, and due to a police order you can only enter down one specific road. This is all clearly marked on their website though, so there weren't any surprises. Once you finally do pull up to the attraction though, you are greeted by potentially the single best location any Illinois haunt has.

Wait Entertainment: It was slow when I attended, but still there were several Character roaming the line. Amongst them were a Goo-covered man, a red-haired clown, and a machete-wielding ghoul. All of these characters stayed in character and did a good job of working the groups that were there.

Length of Event: This time will vary depending on the Ticket Purchased. For this we will base it off the Ultimate ticket, priced at $25. This included 2 trips through the 1st floor, Buried Alive, and The 2nd Floor. 
 
1st Floor (both trips) 20min 
Buried Alive 3min 
2nd Floor 7min 
 
Total: 30min

Actor Performance: The Dungeon of Doom was well staffed during our visit and really seemed to have most of their areas filled rather nicely. The actors were energetic and with the exception of a few, all had well timed and executed attacks.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Smooth, we only ran into other groups in designated waiting areas. Again though, it was a slow night.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: Dungeon of Doom had several areas featuring animations and effects. They had some fun intro scenes too, including a saw type execution scene. One feature that is pretty neat is that there are 6 different entrances that lead into 2 separate paths, so you can get a new mini-show during each visit. (if you decide to go twice) 
 
Unfortunately, many props and intro scenes were either hard to hear or functioning improperly so at times that was frustrating.

Costumes / Make-up: The Dungeon of Doom has always had an exceptional makeup team, and this year was no exception, faces looked great.

Summary: As a comeback from what was a herky-jerky season in 2009 the Dungeon of Doom really impressed me this year. They seem to have remembered what they are and what they should be doing, and really improved on what was a lacking product.  
 
As this show is multiple attractions I will break it down as such. 
 
The Dungeon of Doom 
The acting is as it always has been, but the scenes really had some improvements. One notable area had you crouched and borderline crawling for upwards of 20 feet! This created a very claustrophobic feeling and had a lasting impact. The Detail in the attraction lacks in some areas, but detail hasnt always been their strong suit. Rather, they make effective use of darkened areas throughout the attraction.  
 
One complaint is that certain areas of the attraction seemed to be rather physically demanding. This made for a cool effect, but at times it seemed at the cost of some kind of awkward trip points and props that literally hit you (kind of hard I might add) as you walk by. 
 
Buried Alive 
Now an additional cost on your ticket, buried alive has always been a staple of the Dungeon of Doom attraction. As it stands, it hasn't changed in years and really begins to lose its effect over time. 
 
Mercy General Hospital 
The second floor of the Dungeon of Doom is a medically themed area with some cool props and interesting actors and make up. This area employs a much brighter environment than its downstairs predecessor, but it is effective none the less. This section has changed very little since last year, and in many ways seemed to lack this year. In 2009 Mercy was the Highlight of DoD, but this season it seemed to have lost some of its impact. Additionally, several props seemed to be functioning poorly on the night that I attended. 
 
 
Overall, as I stated earlier, the Dungeon of Doom really did impress me this year, they seem to have brought back their old style, and have fixed most of the problems they had had last year. They seem to still have some growing pains ahead of them, but regardless, they have a very solid show. 
 
To the Dungeon of Doom good luck for a great 2010

26 out of 39 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: bp2687   (Event Visited: 10/01/10 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This was, as last year's, very difficult to locate. They definitely need more signs.

Wait Entertainment: They did have great actors roaming around. There were very few people in line, so the actors did not have much to go on.

Length of Event: Although we entered at 10:00 pm and did not exit until 11:30, we spent a great deal of time waiting in line.

Actor Performance: The actors did a great job in the rooms and were very convincing.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We often ran into other groups in some of the rooms, and we spent a great deal of time waiting in line from one section to another.

Summary: I have attended Dungeon of Doom for many years, but I thinl this year will be my last. For the price of the ticket ($25) and the difficulty finding the location, I would have expected much more. We did not get to go throught the first section twice, and we stood in line waiting as people who arrived after us entered the house before us. I miss the Lake County Fairgrounds location and house.

11 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ONEofTHEM   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: the visual of the building was awesome, the building gave a spooky feeling right off the bat. location was pretty cool, out in the woods, back by nothing- really creepy! i have read that some ppl are complaining about the "sign viability" all i got to say is that nowadays, everyone has a GPS, or print off directions and a map! if you rely on your own stupidity to say 'we are going to the dungeon, ill just drive to Zion and hope that they have signs pointing my way" well then you asked for it! lol everyone knows where the dungeon is, and if not, they prepare themselves!

Wait Entertainment: the entertainment was really fun, like always! the outside actors are always fun to watch. i think they can decorate the wait area a lot better tho. but the music and the little snip-its of the DOD cast talking is pretty awesome!

Length of Event: we bought the $25 ticket, and my group of 4 timed our walk through. mainly because there have been mixed reviews of how long it actually is.... we were in the DOD for exactly 37 minutes!

Actor Performance: for the most part they were always on Que. but there were some actors that were off on their scare, my group was only 4 ppl, idk how you can get that timing wrong, but that only happened 2 or 3 times. i dont like some of the inside actors saying "get out of heeerre!" its was like for every 10 good actors there were 1-2 not so scary ones. i LOVED how the actors in the kitchen and in the hospital got soooo into character tho!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we never ran into any other group except when we went to buried dead or alive. but thats to be expected its always like that... and i dont mind the intermission.

Appropriate Ages: i say kids with some strong guts ages 13+. its really gruesome, and some language isnt appropriate for little ones.

Props / Special FX: always detailed to the T. they might not have had toooo many new rooms, but if anyone noticed, most of all the hallways were changed from last year (plain black dark hallways) to extremely detailed walk ways. i liked the bug hallway- and steppin on all the roaches! and the VIP corridor was awesome with the mummies flying out at you! very cool. I also liked being able to walk up on top of the gateway, that was a cool addition from last year too! there are so much more new things they added, it just seems like people dont pay attention enough. the Saw room was pretty killer too!

Costumes / Make-up: make up is alllllways fricken awesome! so real looking. costumes fit the character of the rooms...

Summary: Go to this haunt, spend the $25 bucks. you wont regret it. i have been going for the past 5 years. i followed them from the old fair grounds and i will follow them anywhere. these guys know how to do it right. there are too many things that this haunt does right vs other haunts... you can tell that these actors are really into their job, and that makes it all worth it! I love the dungeon, and i will always be going there. they have stepped it up from last year, and the skills of the acting are better every year. the props and detail never goes unnoticed, the makeup is crazy real looking. there is always room for improvements, and with a permanent building, there is no stopping for the DOD!

27 out of 42 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: bigstick4u   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not good. No signs anywhere. The billboard at 137 and Peterson is facing south instead of north. In other words if you are traveling from the south to Zion you'd NEVER see the billboard showing where the haunt is.

Wait Entertainment: NONE outisde, other than Zion police giving people hard looks.

Length of Event: 15-20 min

Actor Performance: Very good acting. Over the top, and lots of actors in the haunt.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good. Did not run into anybody until the cage maze.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Very good props. Almost movie like effects. Very nice.

Costumes / Make-up: Extremely detailed, and realistic. Looks right out of a horror movie!

Summary: I am another patron who is miffed they moved out of the fairgrounds, and didn't follow them to the new fairgrounds. The place is way up north in the middle of nowhere off an industrial road. I have NO IDEA how they think people will come to this based on location. 
The haunt itself was pretty good, and the acting great. It WAS shorter than last year with the $25 tix. only one portal. Not sure if that was done on purpose or not. The night we went very few people were there, so maybe they rushed us out of the house. Many of the same scens as last year, only darkened up. They had a year to change things up, and all they did was darken most rooms and kept them the same. The scenes are good, but pretty much the same as last year. Bring back the phone booth! 
Mercy General was almost 100% identical as last year including the same opening scene. Good haunt if you've never been there. Check it out if you can find it! 
If you were there last year expect a repeat.

15 out of 24 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: partycentral   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Using GPS won't really help you to get to this haunt. There are very few signs and they are small so really look closely at the curb in the area. Thankfully, we saw a bunch of cars turn onto 27th street all at once so we knew we were going the right way.

Wait Entertainment: Some entertainers but not overly scary. The videos they were showing were hilarious and gross. I won't give it away but if you just ate, don't watch! There were some cool moving props, and they take your picture on a green screen with a surprise.

Length of Event: The line to get in was about 45 minutes at 7:30 on a Friday, so make sure you leave enough time. We paid for the Ultimate Deal which is worth it because you get to go through the first floor twice (different areas), buried, and an upstairs section. Total time was 1 hour on the dot but if you minus waiting time in the attraction, 45 minutes. The actual upstairs portion is about 5 minutes.

Actor Performance: Actors were very involved for the first 15 minutes, we felt and then acting died off a touch. Actors stayed in character all the way through and really jumped out at the right times.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Throughout the attraction, they have several check points where you come to and have to wait in line again. This is because of the different ticket packages and they have rooms where you need to show your colored bracelet to an actor so they can let you through to the right door. Because of these section, after the first 10 minutes, we went from a group of 6, to 22 people (we counted) and then the scare factor went much lower. Fortunately, we ran passed some people on the second floor staircase to get ahead of people to get the scare factor back up.

Appropriate Ages: 14+

Props / Special FX: Lots of props and special effects. Props with their use of strobe lights was very effective especially in the long hallway of skeletons. The only problem I saw was in Mercy General where props didn't seem to work well.

Costumes / Make-up: Over the Top! When you compare the costumes and make up to other haunts in the city of Chicago, there is no comparison. Dungeon of Doom was great.

Summary: Overall, the haunt was awesome. The wait line, and the actual attraction itself was well put together as it is on a permanent site. The biggest problem is the location. 
 
The location really is in the middle of nowhere and they have pointless road closure signs that make it harder to get to it. The house needs to put in several of thousand more dollars next year and make it longer, with 1 pass rather than 3. For the location they are in, they have to be #1 to get people there. If they are #2 or #3, they will lose. 
 
Actors were good in most areas and props were fun except for the crawling part which was not made well. They need to work on crowd control as that is a big problem. 
 
The introduction show was not effective, except for the room after it with the coffin. I look forward to going in a couple years when it hopefully will be better.

10 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: trickrtreat   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I am not sure how people have trouble finding it. If you have Mapquest or a GPS you will find it. The building is very large and if you looked at any info at all about this haunted house beforehand, you will recognize it. Besides the fact that there are squad cars out directing traffic..

Wait Entertainment: It was okay. There were about two, sometimes three characters out at a time. One of them did a really great job, running up to people and chasing them. A character on stilts, didn't do anything but just walk down the line and ignore everyone. I thought he could have done a better job.

Length of Event: My phone died, but it appears we got in there around 10, and left around 11. We were on the ultimate package.

Actor Performance: Most of them did an excellent job. They all stayed in character, and tried their best to freak you out.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't run into the people in front of us, but the group behind us caught up with us several times.

Appropriate Ages: Yes, I would say with a parent.

Props / Special FX: One thing that kind of disturbed me was hanging on the ticket booth, was a pair of little girl's underpants.. I think that's a bit inappropriate.. Even for a haunted house.

Costumes / Make-up: The make-up on some of the characters was just plain awesome.

Summary: Overall, I found it to be a really fun night there. The line looked long, but it really didn't feel too long. I don't think I have ever been to a haunted house that lasted longer than twenty minutes either. It was nice how there was only one main line to wait in, which was the line to purchase tickets and enter the attraction, combined in one. I thought each room was also well-crafted, including the dark crawl spaces. They had plenty of scenes for everyone's different fears.. Bugs, chainsaws, clowns, claustrophobia, gore, etc. I would definitely recommend it for anyone looking for a good scare.

23 out of 37 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: BIGGUN   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/01/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: HORRIBLE! No signs anywhere!

Wait Entertainment: Outside no scares at all other than the radio station that promoted the house. The music they played was scary bad!

Length of Event: 20 min

Actor Performance: Top notch in your face! Ever actor stayed in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good. Did not run into any groups until the maze

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: The DOD ALWAYS has the best props anywhere.

Costumes / Make-up: Tons of detail in the costumes. However, some rooms are so dark you can't appreciate all the detail put into the costumes.

Summary: The DOD is always my fav haunt to go to. I know they put a lot of time and energy into the house. 
I'll start with the cons: My group bought the Ultimate tickets for $25 a pop. I remember we were in the house last year for about 30 mins with that ticket. I think we got screwed this year because we were barely in the house 20 min. Last year we wen through the 1st floor twice in 2 different portals. This year just once! I think somebody missed there checkpoint when you have to flash your wristbands and we were sent down a wrong hallway. If this is NOT the case and the event is only 20 min, then the Ultimate tix are NOT worth it. The group in front of us bought the standard admission and we ran into them in the cage maze. If the tix my group are for almost twice as much haunt there is NO WAY we would have run into the general admission group that were directly in front of us. 
Another con. Gates didn't open until 7:20 and ticket booth until 7:30. Does any haunt ever open on time? 
The location of this event is HORRIBLE. No signs and 20 miles north of the original location. Wouldn't it have made sense to move to the NEW fairgrounds or somewhere in the vicinity to take advantage of well to do towns like Libertyville,Grayslake,Vernon Hills, Buffalo Grove?!?! 
The haunt was detailed well, darker, and had better acting. There is a reason you don't see Stilt man outside this year. The acting was over the top and in your face. Gone are the days of Jimmy being fried, Frankenstein, Excorcism etc. Dead bums alley was darkened and intensified with strobes and glitter. Bureied alive was clausotphobic as usual, and flip the right switch on the poor guy whose tied to an electric chair. All in all tons better than last year, but a slightly bitter taste in my mouth for the $$$ spent and time in the house. 

10 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/15/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Lots of signage, very easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: There were several actors scaring the patrons, and I love the giant animatronic creature that looks like it's eating a person.

Length of Event: 45 minutes if you do the whole thing.

Actor Performance: Really good, they were very scary throughout all the houses.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Went very smoothly, didn't really run in to anyone.

Summary: First off, I have to say I did the deluxe package which included the buried alive part of the house. I have to say this was one of my favorite houses I hve gone to this year. There were a lot of twists and turns throughout this house, and there are places were you sometimes have to crawl on your hands and knees to get through part of the houses, and the buried alive part was great. They ended up dropping about four feet of plastic balls on you, and, at least where I was laying down, an actor pressed down on the balls on top of me, scaring me even more. The other part of the house becomes a scary hospital, which becomes a maze at the end that was very confusing to get through. Overall, one of the best I have been to this year.

8 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Prtyblues   (Event Visited: 10/29/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/03/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Definitely in a scary place

Wait Entertainment: Was ok, however while waiting in line to go in to the haunted house right after we paid I kept being harrassed by a character, he was breathing on me so much that I could smell his breathe and the blood he had on his face was dripping on my hands and he even came so close to my face that he got the fake blood on my face.

Length of Event: About 30 or so minutes.

Actor Performance: They need to not be so harrassing of those going in. I have a bruise from the chainsaw guy hitting the back of my legs so much, I kept saying ow but he kept going

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good

Appropriate Ages: No, there were some very inappropriate words that the "actors" were using, for example the one dead nurse asked if anyone was ready for a hysterectomy - completely inappropriate for ALL ages

Props / Special FX: Good

Costumes / Make-up: good

Summary: I would NOT recommend this Haunted House to ANYONE. I have never felt so harassed in my life. I was harrassed while waiting in line and even got blood on me from one of the characters. I felt so disgusting I didn't even want to go in to the haunted house at this point. When I did finally get in I had to deal with someone with a chainsaw hitting my legs so much that I was bruised and hurting. They wouldn't stop even with me saying OW. I was licked and touched and just wanted to get out of that place. Not to mention the dead nurse asking if anyone wanted a hysterectomy, maybe the staff needs to be educated on what a hysterectomy is, it's not scary it's morbid and sad if someone were to need that. Not fun at all.

9 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: miracleman74   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The Dungeon of Doom was very easy to find. Upon approaching the area I could immediately feel the energy surrounding this place.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was fabulous. They truly know how to keep in character and bring you into the haunt.

Length of Event: Having gone through on the VIP pass I think that the time spent inside the dungeon of doom was top notch for the price paid for the ticked.

Actor Performance: I have never been to a haunted house in america where I have been as emotionally affected as I was at the dungeon of doom. The actors really draw you in and know how to scare you. It is clear that timing and style are practiced by the actors inside the haunt.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Patron flow inside the attraction was relatively smooth. groups are not bumping heads due to mismanagement of release into the attraction as they are in some other haunts I have been to.

Appropriate Ages: I think this haunt is appropriate for most ages but I would recommend no one unter the age of ten. This haunt does a great job of keeping the language clean and I would have no problem bringing my children in to see this attraction.

Props / Special FX: I dont think I can say much more than the props and special effects are top notch all throughout the attraction.

Summary: All in all, This is a great haunted house. There are many features and styles inside that are a cut above the rest. I really enjoyed the buried alive experience. I admit that I was skeptical at first, but once I got in there I had a lot of fun with it. The room with the clowns was a blast. I especially liked how they had the room set on a suspension system so it moves as you shifted your weight. The vertigo tunnel was very effective. While have enjoyed many of the haunts in the area, I would have to say dungeon of doom is by far the best one yet. Quite possible even rivaling the Sloss Furnace in Birmingham, Alabama. Absolutely incredible haunt and everyone in the midwest should make a journey to come see this one. Well worth every penny spent, hands down.

14 out of 27 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: melonskies   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location would have been very difficult to find without the use of a GPS device.

Wait Entertainment: Above average. Very creepy and funny giant bat eating a corpse was my favorite. There were a few props that looked neat but weren't lit up, though.

Length of Event: About 30 minutes

Actor Performance: AMAZING. The actors really went out of their way to stay in character while startling us, keeping us separate from other groups, etc. They paid attention to our dialogue and came back with their own.  
 
I also want to leave a rave review for the scary clown girl who helped my friend and I in the "buried alive" event. We are both a little bit claustrophobic and were hesitant to try it, but she told us she'd hold our hands "above ground" and would yank us up if we squeezed. I loved the experience of being buried alive, but wouldn't have tried it without her fantastic support.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Perfect execution. I was hardly aware of the times they were deliberately keeping us separate until thinking back on it after the event.

Props / Special FX: I was completely taken off guard by the size of some of the props, the interaction with the first actor when you go into the house (I won't spoil it for you, but - WOW!!), the "snow" room which none of us have figured out, the black light tunnels, the clown room with chain saws, the swamp, the country home....it was all so well put together.

Costumes / Make-up: Unique costumes and professionally applied makeup. I didn't recognize anything from the local halloween prop shop.

Summary: This was the scariest haunted house I have ever experienced. The actors draw you into the scenes which have been meticulously put together with the highest quality props. You will feel like you're really living a fantastic nightmare. Try the buried alive event if you haven't before. It only lasts about 30 seconds but feels MUCH longer.

18 out of 37 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Deege79   (Event Visited: 10/02/10 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/04/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It took a minute to find it, but once you go down the right street, it is impossible to miss it. It is most likely because I am new to the area haha.

Wait Entertainment: The theatrics were great and you can tell the actors were passionate about this place. Everybody was in character and the makeup/costumes were extremely impressive.

Length of Event: It took me about an hour (give or take) to get through the whole event. It was packed with action from the time I even went to buy my ticket to the time I left. You don't get a break.

Actor Performance: Once again, the actors are obviously passionate about their jobs. I have been to so many haunted attractions that you can tell that the actors just want out. I was genuinely convinced by about 90% of the actors. Especially the Saw-type room.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't run into any other groups, and we did the typical hug each other and baby step through the whole thing. It was kind of weird since so many people went in at once through the area with the six doors.

Appropriate Ages: Well, I wouldn't take your small small children to it, but that's a given. This haunted house means business, and doesn't limit the gore or scares haha.

Props / Special FX: Awesome. The rooms were all extremely believable. I particularly liked the cabin/backwoods feel room and the Saw room. I seriously felt like I walked straight into a Saw movie with the guy crying for help and us forced to try to help him. I won't spoil the rest of that :)

Costumes / Make-up: The make-up all looked soooo real!! The Santa was just missing a beard (yes, X-mas is part of this haunt). There was loads of gore and the costume/masks were all appropriate and convincing.

Summary: This was the 2nd haunt I went to this year, but it was good enough that I felt I had to review it on here. I want to go back and experience it a couple of more times before the season is up. I have been telling everyone on the Navy base about it!

18 out of 39 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: adomagala   (Event Visited: 10/01/10 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Was kind of weird to get to. The site said follow the signs. The only signs I saw said "No Parking" But once I turned on the street I saw the police car so I assumed it was over there and it was. It is in desolate kind of area which made it a bit more creepy so I wouldn't complain about the location.

Wait Entertainment: They had a lot of guys walking around, but I think that was a little bit of overkill. Maybe if there is a lot more people in line it would be okay, but they basically just hung all over us since there wasn't that many people in line. The guy burping in your face it completely disgusting. He did it 3 times to me over the 20 minutes. That i found to be just gross.

Length of Event: 40 Minutes. Waiting in line for like 20 minutes but it was the first day it opened. I have been to the previous one in Grayslake and have waited for over 2 hours.

Actor Performance: I thought they did a great job. Some were better then others. But I did get off guard and scream a bit. Some were annoying and just tried to hard, but for the most part they did their part scared you and went back.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Ran into one group on front of us because the girl was so scared she would barely move. Then the only other time we ran into anyone was in the maze. Which was fine because I know that's how they spread people out. Once we got through it we didn't run into anyone again except where you are suppose to at the designated spots where they spread you out again.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up, maybe older. Really depends on how scared you get at haunted houses.

Props / Special FX: I really did enjoy this haunted house. They had a lot of cool things. I like the room that moved. And the door when you enter Mercy General Hospital, with the girl in the window... that was pretty cool. They had some other cool things too but don't want to give to much away.

Costumes / Make-up: Very cool costumes and make up for the most part. They took the time to come up with costumes, think them through and deliver on the make up to go along with it. Keep it up!!

Summary: I really enjoyed myself here. It was long and had many different things to offer. The elevator, burried alive, the guy who blow ups and you get splattered. I Drove an hour to get here and t was worth it. 4 of us went and we all really enjoyed. Even my boyfriend who thinks haunted houses are lame and extremely dumb. He kept saying how much he liked it.

7 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: barngirl   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: the location was excellent. the building was right next to close parking and it was very easy to find. there were signs that helped us to find the location.

Wait Entertainment: while we were waiting, there were scary people chasing and scaring everyone. they had a radio station playing and a tv with video clips from horror movies. the waiting room was very dungeon like. and all employees had face makeup that was completely believable.

Length of Event: we were in the haunted house part for about 45 minutes.

Actor Performance: the actors did a great job! they were really scary!! they would chase you, pretend to slice you, get in your face, and growl at you. the timing was perfect every time.. and they always did their role. they did an excellent job.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: inside they separated all groups so that nobody caught up to anybody. once we would get done with one tiny section you were put in the small group you entered with and moved forward they made sure you didn't run into anyone you didn't go in with.

Appropriate Ages: this haunted house i would say is more for teens and adults. little kids would not stand a chance. more for the ages 12 and up.

Props / Special FX: they had many cool props and effects. for instance they had a spinning vortex that made you feel you were going upside down. they had a gigantic monster in the waiting room that was eating a fake dummy. also they had a body that was hung that moved his legs around!

Costumes / Make-up: their costumes and makeup were crazy! everyone working there had something creepy on them whether it was a costume or face makeup. they all looked like it was real and it was just amazing!

Summary: this haunted house was the best haunted house i have ever been to in my entire life. the hour and a half wait in the line was so worth it! the only thing i would have changed was the fact that none of the killer crew members were in the actual event. they all were scaring people outside. there were different members inside. also i think that they should make more clowns and try to make the clown section of the house more terrifying then it already is. inside the waiting room they should have made three lines. one line for they people who need to buy tickets. another for they people who bought tickets already online. and one last one for the people who have VIP passes. it would make the line go faster. it would be a lot more efficient.

14 out of 33 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ebe2023   (Event Visited: 10/02/10 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/04/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: They could use a sign or two on Sheridan Road. Im sure most people are using some form of GPS to get there and that is the main street before you get sent down side streets and find some street closures so a simple sign would help. I do like the location itself and driving down some of those dark side streets just adds to the atmosphere.

Wait Entertainment: They did have some concessions outside so that was a plus. The waiting area is inside so no need to worry about getting wet or cold. A few actors walking around and the waiting area is somewhat similar to the way it was set up at their old location. It was the first time for some of the people i was with and they were impressed by the wait area.

Length of Event: I did not specifically time the event but if i had to take a guess i would say it is for sure upwards of 30minutes. I took a guess before my group arrived and was thinking we would be in and out in about 20minutes and i am pretty sure it was well past that.

Actor Performance: Most actors stayed in character but i would say that there were one or two that just could not help themselves and give me and another person in my group some trash talk about me wearing a sox jacket and him wearing a cubs jacket. I did found it kind of funny but it did kind of kill the mood. Another also decided that cracking some mexican jokes and talking his best spanish would be funny, i crack jokes like that because im mexican/american but the actor needs to be careful because someone may take it the wrong way. Overall i would say Actor Performance was about 8 our of 10 because a few could have been more energetic.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: While walking thru pathways and scenes we never ran into other groups until the wristband check points and Buried Alive.

Appropriate Ages: I would follow their guidelines because they will deny you entry if you try and bring a little kid.

Props / Special FX: All of the stationary and handheld props looked great, but some of the mechanical props appeared to be off timing or moving to slow to really surprise us. Special FX were great, I think the foam/snow section was the most tripped out for me and the first time i ever scene that in a haunted house.

Costumes / Make-up: All of the costumes and make-up looked good. Like someone else stated there are very few people wearing masks and this just adds to the overall feeling and detail required to scare people.

Summary: Overall I really enjoyed DoD and the new location. I would encourage anyone looking to spend more than average time (10-15 minutes) in a haunt to visit the house. The acting was good, the costumes, props and fx were good, and the length of this event is well above average. I felt comfortable with the price point, the only thing i will say is that DoD should inform you(all guests) on how many wristband checkpoints you are to encounter in the house because some other reviews are describing scenes i did not encounter or do not recall seeing with my own eyes. SO it is kind of in the back of my head that i drove more than an hour away to miss some part of the attraction. And its kind of weird that they send you through one pathway and another group thru another at the same time but you never come across them. Just makes me feel like im missing whatever they are seeing. Anyhow goodluck to all those attending and be prepared to dodge, duck, and crawl.

17 out of 42 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: kghost74   (Event Visited: 10/01/10 @ 11:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/04/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Considering the Dungeon is off of a main road... I made sure to look up how to get there. Anyone complaining about location.. did you use common sense and bother using a map or your GPS? It's not hard to find if you know how to follow a map and drive for that matter.

Wait Entertainment: the waiting line actors are top notch! The 2 clowns were awesome, I was laughing hysterically watching them scare other patrons. Then there was this tall disgusting guy who works at the door before you enter the actual haunt, wow! He was insane to watch... word of advice dont bump into him.. lol 
All of the makeup on these guys looked top notch and very convincing!

Length of Event: it lasted about 45 minutes for us.

Actor Performance: Actors were great, it seems the Dungeon of Doom has been working hard to fine tune scares. Even though it was the second weekend and it was towards the end of the night most of the actors were on point.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never bumped into another group until the Buried scene and the maze, which I'm sure is the appropriate places to run into other groups.

Appropriate Ages: I wouldnt recommend this haunt for anyone under 15. Very intense

Props / Special FX: A couple props weren't working, but overall everything looked great, you can tell they had alot of time since last year to elaborate on detail. Lots of scenes looked really good. A couple that stood out was the cabin, the kitchen, and the hospital, but there were plenty of other very detailed rooms.

Costumes / Make-up: These guys dont play around when it comes to makeup. Everything looked professional and very convincing! only saw 1 guy wearing a mask, but 1 out of 100 is no big deal!

Summary: The Dungeon of Doom has definitely stepped their game up this year, I was thoroughly impressed. Once again, it's obvious they have been working to fine tune their attraction.  
 
I recommend this haunt to anyone who wants to experience a really intense haunted house.  
 
GREAT WORK THIS YEAR GUYS! I'm going to comeback out again with some more friends this season..

11 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: chainlink   (Event Visited: 10/25/10 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/06/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: its located in a big abandon factory in zion very very hard to find if you dont know where you are going

Wait Entertainment: in the wait area there was loud music playing hard rock and three actor entertaining the line scaring people

Length of Event: depends on which one you get we all got the 25 dollar ticket the 45 min walk tru

Actor Performance: actors were amazing, so in your face and great scares, i dont get scared easily and i jumped alot, the only acotr that was bad was the actor lettign people in mercy general hospital he was rude and very bad acting but other then that all the actors amazing

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: never ran into a group awsome job spreding out

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: awsome job this category many relaistic props a make up awsome job makeup artist actor looked like real zombies awsome

Costumes / Make-up: awsoem like i wrote in last category great makeup very realistic

Summary: overall amazing house this year, been to this house last four years and this house get better and better,i jumped so many times very un expected scares, deff comign back this year and def recommened this house, great show and great job this yea ryou guys

14 out of 39 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: vrpendragon   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/04/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The signs on the main road do a good job of pointing you in the right direction, so long as you can find Zion

Wait Entertainment: Very much a crowd mentality going on, the excitement built as the actors got in your face - from behind and you didn't know they there until someone screamed and jumped back. Realistic, almost too realistic was the actor that smelled and seemed to take great pleasure in getting in your face and nose!

Length of Event: the event was longer than I expected.

Actor Performance: Sometimes out of sync with the room they were in, expect that will improve as the season goes on.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: No other group caught up with us, but the group ahead of us was slow, it looked like they were too scared to go forward.

Appropriate Ages: Over 12.

Props / Special FX: The props were so realistic that it looked at times that the blood was going to drip on me. The timing of the bodies back and forth made it easy enough to get around without too much trouble. The props in each room were very detailed and made each room look very real. The suicide room was almost too real with the sound of the gun going off and the splatter that came with it.

Costumes / Make-up: Makeup was gross (meaning good) especially the actors who had worms or flesh hanging from their faces, bullet holes and general gore. Had they added hair or hats to the masks would have made them look more realistic. Some costumes were a little hokey but in general very scary.

Summary: I plan to go again later in the season to see if the timing improves and I will definately take a more friends so they can be as creeped out as I was. The place was very dark, darker than last year upping the scare factor.

6 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: carebare1227   (Event Visited: 10/10/10 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There are signs on Sheridan Rd and easy to find and if you cant find it. It is on there website for more information. Very well organized and having police there makes you feel safe.

Wait Entertainment: The scary people outside did a great job.

Length of Event: at least 45 min... If you get the other packages they are shorter but the VIP is worth it

Actor Performance: WONDERFUL

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The first room was amazing, and the first room in the actual haunted house was also a blast with the effects of blood splattering on us. the foam room was amazing. Then up stairs the hospitall. Great as always the the MAZE was my favorite. They guy right when you come in the maze scared me so bad...

Appropriate Ages: 12

Props / Special FX: They have done a wonderful job for there 2nd yr and it is so much better from last yr. Great job DOD!!!

Costumes / Make-up: Everything looks so real and scarey the makeup artist did a great job.

Summary: I would go again and no complaints about anything. I give it 10 stars!!!! Cant wait for next yr. I sure did get scared there. Like the new thing with getting your picture taken that is really cool and over all in general DOD is my FAVORITE haunted house. Get the VIP Package! it is worth it.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2014 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at