Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2010 Visitor Reviews of
The halls of madness/Insanity Woods (Paris, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
6 out of 8 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: 09rmartz   (Event Visited: 10/24/10 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: i didnt drive so i didnt really pay attention but it didnt seem to bad to find. if your looking for a haunted house then you will find it because there are plenty of cars and lights.

Wait Entertainment: disappointing. there was a guy with an idling chain saw who just walked around wasnt really scary to me at all. he was the only actor i saw outside in costume.

Length of Event: 15 minutes or so. could be longer if they had more actors to hold you up but it seemed slightly understaffed so a lot of the areas we just walked though.

Actor Performance: i saw nobody texting which is a really good thing! usually when you see a teenager you see them texting or talking with friends. everyone was in place and nobody missed screaming at us. so actors did a good job. other than a few of them lacked makeup.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: never got hung up to the point where we stopped moving. and the only time we ran into another group was in the maze which speaking from experience that was expected.

Appropriate Ages: Im a guy who doesnt get scared easy so i would say with a full staff it is good for a 8 or 9 year old and up.

Props / Special FX: there was a guy with air gun that was only prop i remember seeing.

Costumes / Make-up: there was one girl who opened a window and screamed who didnt look like she had a costume but other than that everyone had costume or makeup or masks.

Summary: over all it was a good haunted house to go to. i havent been to very many and i suppose im a tough critic. i would return in the future because the owner was very nice and it was just a good environment. the only reason i would complain is the kid who dropped from the tree was rude as could be he wasnt scary or anything he was just flat out rude. other than that everyone stayed in character and it was an awesome environment. the only person who scared me was the guy in woods who jumped up and had a scream like a pterodactyl.

8 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: gingersnap23   (Event Visited: 10/23/10 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The haunt is located a few miles outside of Paris, Il on Route 16. There is a lit sign indicating the turn

Wait Entertainment: The lines werent too bad of a wait, so the need for entertainment was minimal, but there was a very creepy man with a chainsaw and blue eyes and a scratched head. He snuck up on people and revved the chainsaw and usually got a pretty good scare.

Length of Event: The event was a good length. It has an inside that leads to the woods, and then back into an inside area. All in all it lasted about 20 ish minutes

Actor Performance: The actors were amazing! They were in your face and terrifying. The best scares came from the woods. The Freddy Kreuger man almost made me jump out of my skin, and when I reached the man in the tree I lost it, but he was on me. He jumped out of the tree, slithered on the ground like a demonic serpent, and then he got on his feet and went insane; smashing wooden boards left and right, denting metal and so on. He was definitely the most dedicated to his character, and his dialogue was both entertaining and very very chilling and morbid, and when I reached the man with the pig scream I knew I could handle it no longer and I sprinted through the rest as fast as my legs would carry me, only to be blocked by a man with a shovel head. I waited for the rest of my group and got outta there pronto!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The only time I saw other people besides my group was while I was waiting in line, and when we entered a very dark maze.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up

Props / Special FX: There were a lot of props. Severed heads, body bags, blood streaks, demonic babies, and the list goes on. Very well done

Costumes / Make-up: The makeup was professional in appearance. Makeup blended well and appeared natural. There were no obviously fake wounds or anything like that. Props to the team of makeup artists that created such creepy characters

Summary: All in all this is one of my favorite haunts. I've been to it for the last three seasons and I think this year is potentially the best. I loved the enthusiasm of the halls of madness. The inside parts were fantastic! The actors were close enough to keep a continuous scare, but far enough apart to make it hard to guess exactly when or where they'd pop out at. The woods was even harder to predict, and very scary. Overall, I would highly reccommend anyone in the area at least swing by to give the Halls of Madness a shot. Two thumbs all the way up.

6 out of 11 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: lollipop   (Event Visited: 10/24/10 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Great! Very Easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: One guy, with a chain saw. He had my son creeped out. We were only in line for 5 minutes so there wasn't much time for any other entertainment.

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Very good. All the actors stayed in character. Right at the beginning there was a girl that followed me - it seemed like every time I thought I lost her, there she was again. I love the clown with the poison lollipops - he's always my favorite! And the scarecrow outside got me. The actor in the woods that beats everything with a thick stick (almost a club) was scary but I sure didn't feel safe with that stick waving around. He did have a great dialogue though. The girl that was sawing herself in half and laughing was great (but needs some serious mental help! LOL!) The girl in the (REAL!)strait jacket was scary. There was also a girl in a room kind of a cage - she kept laughing this weird demented laugh. Very unnerving! There were others too but I can't remember them all.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good. We ran into one group, in the maze. Once we lost them we never ran into anyone again.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: I loved the room with the tv and all the evil babies! I love the creepiness of the haunted woods too.

Costumes / Make-up: Some masks, some makeup. Everyone looked scary. The guy with the chainsaw looked really freaky with those contacts. I was pretty sure the scarecrow was fake - right up until he leaped at me!

Summary: I go to Halls every year and I have to say this was definitely the best it's ever been. It seemed longer and I thought they had added on a building. The haunted woods was better, more claustrophobic feeling. There are always lots of good popout spots in the woods but this year there were more actors popping out so that made it better. I loved the route this year - you start out inside, go outside, then back inside and end up outside. We weren't always scared (we're tough to scare though) but we had a great time. We'll definitely go back!

6 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: aawm720   (Event Visited: 10/25/10 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, but I have been to this haunt the past three years.

Wait Entertainment: There was a guy outside with a chainsaw. I didn't see any other characters outside. I think the chainsaw would've been more effective if he would have sneaked up on the people in line and scared them, rather than constantly running it and just hovering around the patrons.

Length of Event: I would guess about 20 minutes, 15 maybe?!?

Actor Performance: I'm on the fence on this one...There was a kid that jumped out of the tree that a member in our group commented on (saying it was unique, but meaning it as a compliment). The actor's reply was rude and inappropiate.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good. The only time we saw another group was when we were trying to find our way out of the maze. I think that they did a great job building and running the maze.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: I don't recall any specific prop that stood out to me this year.

Costumes / Make-up: There were a couple of actors that had no (or very little) make-up on. The one person I saw outside that was in-line entertainment had a latex appliance (fake wound) on his head. I think it would have been more believable and affective had blood or makeup been added (You could see the shape of the appliance, so it looked like it was just stuck on his head with no effort to make it more authentic)

Summary: All in all, I enjoy going to this haunt. I know that it was on a Sunday, which would typically be a slow night and they seemed to be short of actors. There were many areas that I expected a scare that was empty. I was a little disappointed, as I think the set/scenes were better last year, however, I think they still did ok. I do enjoy the area outside - as the lighting is dark so you are really unsure when someone may pop out at you. The outside part is the only area that they got me in - which was the guy with the Fredy Cougar hand. I wish I would have the opportunity to go through the haunt when they had a fuller staff, as I think the overall experience would have been better.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at