Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2010 Visitor Reviews of
Decatur Jaycees Haunted House (Forsyth, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
7 out of 9 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: MareBear   (Event Visited: 10/21/10 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location is very visible... outdoor signs were good. The inside wait was great.

Wait Entertainment: We were there early, so there was a short line. A couple of actors were at the entrance - a young lady in a prom dress-gone-bad and a guy that got into a cat fight... scratches on his face.

Length of Event: 12 minutes. We walked pretty slowly and looked at set designs, which were good in many places.

Actor Performance: Most actors were on their mark... some missed. There were only four in our group, but we had a good time.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: No problem at all... we were there early.

Appropriate Ages: 10 & up

Props / Special FX: Sets were well done.

Summary: This was my first time visiting the haunt. All in all, I enjoyed this haunted house. The gal giving the rules was pretty intense, getting into our "personal space" while her partner kept circling our group, which was somewhat unnerving. The crawl had a couple of unexpected hidden turns. The vortex was pretty cool. The hallway with scenes from horror films was great, especially Jigsaw... I won't say anymore so I don't spoil it for others! We left this haunt and went on to The Scream Haunted Adventure. Two haunted houses in Decatur / Forsyth makes for a fun night out!

18 out of 27 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/08/10 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The mall was easy to find, but which door to enter was not. No signage on the doors.

Wait Entertainment: saw a monster roaming.

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Excellent. They were on cue and did not just go for the first one in the group.The clown girl was a stand out. The scream guy flew out at us!! NICE!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did run into multiple groups, BECAUSE WE WERE SO DISORIENTED and lost, hard to complain about that.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Excellent props, they really improved the sets this year!

Costumes / Make-up: good combination of masks and make- up

Summary: Please go see this, we were all impressed with a job well done. well executed sets with good timing by the actors.the dark maze and crawl really mess with your mind and direction.I floated between giving and 8 or a 9 and went with the nine..a job well done.

13 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/08/10 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in the Forsyth Mall.

Wait Entertainment: None really.

Length of Event: 20-25 mins. Longer than I expected

Actor Performance: Great! They've really improved this year.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There was a single guy who we kept running into. He passed us at one point and then we passed him. I think it was because he was by himself and possibly he was backtracking a bit. Not sure what was up with him. Otherwise, we did run into another couple behind us in the maze. Hard not to. And we bottlenecked the crawl. Totally our fault.

Props / Special FX: Awesome stuff this year! Really good job. Especially the entrance, nicely done.

Costumes / Make-up: All appropriate

Summary: The first year we went to the Decatur Jaycees Haunted House we had a BLAST! We've gone every year since. The last two years were ok. Not great. But it is a good cause, so we have returned. This year though, they have really, really gotten their stuff together. Lots of details and the actors worked for the scares. So far, this has been my favorite haunt! I believe the cost was $7.00. Great price!! I have never visited a haunted house twice in the same year, but for the price and how much I enjoyed this one, I would may visit again :)

12 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: screamergirl   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Fairly easy to find, some signs along the main road would be good but the lights outside helped.

Wait Entertainment: A couple of ghouls hanging out, creepy guy with a tazer was cool and it was great that everyone even the lady taking money had a costume on..everyone was in character

Length of Event: 20-25mins I was surprised it was this long great job!

Actor Performance: Everyone seemed to be on point and really having a great time scaring. Guy crawling out from under table was awsome.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: only caught up with one group in maze but they did a great job spliting us up again before letting us move on.

Appropriate Ages: 10+ depending on your kid..

Props / Special FX: AMAZING! Props on the props...There was stuff everywhere and it seemed like a real house. great job using everyday stuff and making it look creepy!- New vortex is great as well

Costumes / Make-up: They did a great job on makeup and very few masks--i really like that better and not everyone was the same so it was nice to be surprised on what was coming next.

Summary: Have been to this house several times over the last 5 years and every year they get better. This is is no different and they have gone way over the top. you can tell they have spent alot of time and attention to detail and getting everything just so. The work with their actors shows (saw in paper where they had training days) because they were definatly on point with their scares most of the time. What makes this different that most is that there is so much to look at that you are busy checking it all out and forgetting to try and figure out where they are going to come at you from and by the time you remember it's too late and they are all over you. It's amazing out much it really looks like a real house and using a theme is so much harder than just throwing together what ever designs you come up with. Great job and I think I could even go again at the end of the month with more friends.

9 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: tmclaugh   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located inside of the local shopping mall, but they did a very nice job of effectively decorating the opening area.

Wait Entertainment: We had no wait, so we did not see any entertainment.

Length of Event: 30 minutes...this was the most surprising part! Pretty long for a haunted house...lots of rooms with excellent atmosphere!

Actor Performance: Mostly jumping out of the shadows and screaming...it would have been nice to have a little more monologue from the actors

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: moved fairly quickly

Appropriate Ages: Probably junior high level and older, but I do believe that they have a family-friendly day.

Props / Special FX: EXCELLENT room decorations and great use of space. Very creative use of special effects and lighting.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were average. Mainly people in black robes with masks, so nothing out of the ordinary.

Summary: Overall, I was quite surprised on how well this haunted house was done and some very creative areas (example - the area where we had to CRAWL through an area to get to the next room! That was a first for me!). However, the only area where there is room for improvement was the actors. They could stand to add some more dialogue for the more elaborate rooms to add to the scary factor or some sort of audio effects...some spooky music or sound effects would really add to the atmosphere. Also, the detail and creativity on some of the rooms was very nice (the graveyard room and the hall of famous killers...great rooms, but needed more interaction with the actors or sound effects to increase the "creepy" factor). 
 
Overall, this was a very nice attraction that is probably suitable for junior high age and up, but could have the potential to be truly scary with a little more work on the atmosphere!

11 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ScreamGurl93   (Event Visited: 10/31/10 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 11/03/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I seen signs pointing to were they are located but I been there last year when they were at the other store also my friend told me on how to get in and everything so it wasn't hard to find. Great place to meet your friends and I saw people running out and screaming also!!

Wait Entertainment: I only waited for about 5-10 minutes but it felt longer because I was also waiting for my boyfriend and his sister to get there. But there were people to talk to and then was a wolf walking around getting some people worked up! Haha!

Length of Event: God I think it took about 25 minutes because I stopped and looked throughout the sences and I knew a couple people who scared the h**l outta me so I asked them how they were and everything.. :D Hopefully I didn't get them in trouble.

Actor Performance: I was scared!! They did amazing job. The maze room was really freaky. I got losted like 6 times and the actors in the room tried to help but couldn't break charater, also the bathroom was freaky because of the clown, the bedroom was because I thought the little girl on the bed wasn't really and she turned out to be and then the guy came outta the closet and yelled at me! The graveyard sence was also a hit with my group and me, I was being scared throughout that room! I almost pissed myself when one of the girls knew my name and I couldn't tell who it was!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I was getting scared left and right. My boyfriend never gets scared so it was funny seeing him jump up like a little 13 year old girl. They did a good job in every room and I loved how I could tell they spent their time on each room!

Appropriate Ages: I would say 10+ because my bf's sister is 10 and she loved it!! Maybe even younger if they can handle that stuff!

Props / Special FX: AMAZING work on the spining tunnel, the airbag room (both), and the drop board sence, I saw the girl in front of me almost fall because the floor moved and it moved on me and my group too! It was cool! I never seen it coming because I didn't think I step on it the right way to make it move.

Costumes / Make-up: The make-up seemed so real! I asked a girl if she actually cut herself because she had blood on her arm and she played it off by licking it and saying that is so yummy!! ewww, but cool!

Summary: I am going there next year no lie! I spent 7 dollars well! I can't wait next year, I am even thinking about trying to take more people so it will be more funny and more scarier. I loved the whole thing because I never found the right one to go too! You guys did an amazing job, you out did the scream!! I heard cussing and it upset me but at Jaycees I didn't have any of that. You guys made me happy! I think you guys are one of a kind, and no one can out do you!! Also I think you guys should get number one, someone told me you guys got number 3 last year and I went last year and I almost pissed myself last year too! LOL! See you all next year! Happy Halloween!

5 out of 11 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: mistyd924   (Event Visited: 10/21/10 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The Location was great the mall is really easy to find

Wait Entertainment: At the time I was there there was no entertainment that I seen. My wait was not long at all

Length of Event: 15min

Actor Performance: over all this year I was not pleased with the performance of the actors I head a lot of profanity as i was making my way from one room to the next with my 13 year old daughter. There were a few good ones the few that were in the grave yard room did a okay job and so did the ladies at the ticket stand. Those are the only ones that stood out to me and made me feel as if they were acting there parts

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The group I was in had three people in it and we ran in to another group after just a few min and not long after that a couple that came in after us caught up with us

Appropriate Ages: It says 12 but becouse of the profanity that my daughter and I over heard i would say 16 or 17

Props / Special FX: The props were okay i just feel like i have seen all of them year after year for about the past five years or so there were a few new ones but not a lot

Costumes / Make-up: They had a lot of make-up and costumes.

Summary: I was really disappointed with the haunted house this year. I go to this one evey year but after this year im not sure if I will go next year at all. I had my 13 year old daughter with me as well as one other person as was very disappointed with all of the profanity that i was over hearing from the crew. I expected more out of the crew than that. The first few year that I went they had a really good haunted house. But last year and this year it seems as if something has changed. The scream guys was nice but he is there every year. I didnt really notice anything differnt with their costumes or anything that stood out as new I fell as if they are the same ones I have been looking at over the past few year. They added a craw space this year that was nice but the maze was a let down. There were a lot of actors jumping and screaming, but not a lot of acting. Towards the end I think we caught a couple of the guys of gaurd when were were coming through becouse we seen two people texting on cell phones. That took away from the scare appeal. I really hope they can get there acts together. For me it was a big let down becouse I hold them to a higher stander becouse of the fact that they have been doing it for so long. I do not think that it was worth the cover charge that I paid for me the scare appeal was not there this year

4 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/08/10 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, located at the Forsyth Mall.

Wait Entertainment: Did not see any wait entertainment. Great location within the Mall though!

Length of Event: 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: Great, all actors stayed in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Did not run into any other group.

Appropriate Ages: 12 on up.

Props / Special FX: Great room setting. All rooms tied together and the cemetary scene with the laserswas a nice touch!

Costumes / Make-up: Nice use of masks and make-up!

Summary: In all, this house did a really nice job this year. Last year when we visisted they seemed out of sorts but really stepped up the production this year. There were a couple of dead spots where an actor could have been used to scare up some fun. This is placed on our lists of visits every year and has shown great promise. Nice use of the chainsaw this year. I don't care what people say- if it used to much or what not but it gets a great scare everytime! Can't wait to see what you have in store next year! Great Job Jaycees!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at