Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2010 Visitor Reviews of
19th Annual St. Matthew Haunted House (Hawthorn Woods, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
9 out of 12 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: hauntfan1258   (Event Visited: 10/23/10 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: St. Matthews was easy to find, due to the big sign in front of the building, with a blinking red light on it.

Wait Entertainment: The waiting entertainment was great. There was concessions, a band, and scary looking actors walking around and randomly appearing behind or infront of you.

Length of Event: I waited in line for about a half an hour, which was totally worth it!

Actor Performance: The actorss performances were pretty good!There were some rooms where all the actors would do is scream "get out!" and there were other rooms where the actors were totally in character and extremely scary!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I was a little dissapointed with the flow of the haunted house. There were about 3 to 4 times that we were told to stop and wait to go into a room because there were people still in there. I would rather wait longer in line, and have that not happen.

Appropriate Ages: I would say that this haunted house is appropriate for ages 11+. I wouldn't recommend it for anyone who is afraid of small spaces, due to hallways called the "claustraphobia" hallway and crawling through small places.

Props / Special FX: The props were very detailed and realistic! There were so many awesome props, from bloody fingers, to knifes, to heads and legs, and even pigs in the butcher room! The special FX were awesome! There were a lot of pop out FXs and even shock pads on the walls in the pitch black hallway! They did awesome with their props and special FXs!

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make-up were very well done! It made everything so much scarier! The clown room was extremely scary due to his costume and make-up! It adds so much more to the house!

Summary: All in all, this is a very good haunted house to go to if you're looking for a pretty good scare! I would not recommend it for people who are claustraphobic or younger then 11. There are a lot of bloody and graphic scenes in the house. I loved that there was so much entertainment before you even got into the haunted house! The actors that were walking around while you were in line were very scary, and I even watched one of the clowns chase three girls all the way to their car! It was definitly a fun experience!

7 out of 11 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: icequeen   (Event Visited: 10/22/10 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, large sign with flashing lights at the parking lot entrance.

Wait Entertainment: There was a live band in the lobby, and characters walking around the parking lot and snack area, and also in the line. The guy with cane really creeped me out!

Length of Event: It took us almost 40 minutes to get thru this house! There are several places where you have to find your way out, or the actors mislead you down the wrong path...

Actor Performance: The actors are always very good in this house, but this year they were exceptional! They are in your face, bold, and scare the pants off you every chance they get!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Could have done better here... got caught up with another group 2-3 times inside, but there is usually an actor outside the room to re-separate the groups. Disappointed about being stuck in the halls, waiting though! It allows the momentum to be lost, losing the scare factor. The last room with all the doors had way too many people in it, you couldn't move. People were actually getting angry because they couldn't find their way out. Not a good note to end on...

Appropriate Ages: Not for the faint of heart! They recommend 12 & up, I would have to agree. Too intense for some younger kids. Saw a few groups being led out of emergency exits because the kids were freaking out!

Props / Special FX: Great job with the props in all the rooms. The hospital room looked like it had real equipment in it! The bottomless pit room was awesome, great effect!! The butcher shop was well done also.

Costumes / Make-up: Makeup was great this year. Thought I was actually looking at Julia Child! Bon Appetit Julia! The clowns were totally creepy, why do there always have to be clowns!!!

Summary: We have attended this house for almost 20 years now, and it's one of our favorites. There is a great atmosphere from the time you get out of your car til the time you exit the house. Not having to stand in a long line is a big bonus. We usually sit in the cafeteria and have a snack while we're waiting to go in, but while you don't have to actually stand in line, there is almost always a bit of a wait for this house. It is well worth it! The good houses always have a wait! If they didn't, that's a clue it's NOT a good one!! We like to hang around afterwards to watch the live feed videos from inside the house too... People do some goofy stuff when they don't know they're being watched.

3 out of 9 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: zuzier   (Event Visited: 10/30/10 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 11/04/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Hawthorn Woods, on Old McHenry Road

Wait Entertainment: Short wait.

Length of Event: 45 minutes

Actor Performance: Loved the 'Julia Child' room  
Actors very good, never out of character, Very good make up.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very cool rooms. Different, and very DARK.

Summary: One of my favorite Haunted Houses. We Never miss going here. This the 19th year. What I like about this Haunted house is they always have something new to see. Can get tickets via Paypal too, cuts down on rating. Great house once again. 
 
The rooms are dark, the claustrophobic room is very cool. There is one room that looks like the floor is missing. I thought it was just a mirror, so put my foot on it, and it went down. I thought I was going to fall through. 
 
The meat locker is COLD and very good scare factor.

3 out of 9 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: tamiwloch   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location is easy to find - Garmin got us there quickly

Wait Entertainment: Fairly good - don't have to wait in line - you get a number then can go have snacks instead of standing in line!

Length of Event: Much longer than I expected - took quite a while to get thru since we got stuck in some parts of the maze!

Actor Performance: Very good - actors stayed in character. Costumes and makeup were great.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good - we went in with just a small group and didn't get held up within the house until the very end when we couldn't find the way out!

Appropriate Ages: I would say 12 to adult

Props / Special FX: NICE! Great junkyard scary dog - butchers room looked REAL! Fog, strobelights, lots of darkness

Costumes / Make-up: GREAT! Makeup very gory, looks real. Costumes are pretty good.

Summary: THis is a great haunted house - MUCH more than I expected from a church event! It doesn't look that big but took us quite a while to get thru. Lots of surprises from characters and props.  
Special effects are really good - in one room it looks like you are falling - strobe lights and black lights make great effects! Maze was great - in lots of rooms it is hard to find your way out!  
Best thing is, instead of just walking past the scenes like in a typical house, you walk THRU the scenes and interact with the actors!! Lots of fun! I recommend this house!

3 out of 9 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: jellikween   (Event Visited: 10/24/10 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Red flashing lights by parking lot. Between Midlothian Road and Quentin Road on Old McHenry Road

Wait Entertainment: Indoor waiting! Actors in make-up working the lobby and halls.

Length of Event: 20 - 25 min...

Actor Performance: Pretty good. Not just kids working this house. Most of their actors really get into their parts. Very entertaining. Their Julia Child really had it down.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Not to bad.. Once in a while we'd run into the group infront of us, but then the actors would separate us back into our own group. We did not end up like a long train going thru the house.

Appropriate Ages: I believe they recommend 12 and up.. that sounds right.

Props / Special FX: They do a really good job. The medical room had real equipment. Butcher shop had some really gross stuff. They had a pit, where a wall pushed you near the edge. ahhhhh We hadn't seen that before.

Costumes / Make-up: Make-up was much better this year. More than just airbrush. Some really nasty looking faces and arms. ewww. There was a guy with really weird looking eyes.

Summary: We've been going to St. Matthews for years(we live in the area). We buy our tickets, leave and go out to dinner and come back 1 1/2 to 2 hours later and not have to wait in line that entire time. The time we did have to wait (20 min)was inside. They have several cameras inside the house that you can watch on moniters in the lobby and in line. We love their house. It's always very entertaining. Not just kids screaming at you. They change it up, They come up with some really different rooms. That pit room was awesome. You have to see it. 
 
For the price of $12.00, not having to wait in line the entire time, not having to drive an hour, really entertaining rooms, I'd say its well worth it. We keep coming back year after year. Keep up the good work St. Matthews. We love you.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at