Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2011 Visitor Reviews of
Haunted Haven (Rock Falls, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
26 out of 43 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: blafavre   (Event Visited: 10/08/11 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: very good location, easy to get too!

Wait Entertainment: in character guys/females would keep the anticipation that nuch more hyped by them going through the crowd and scring people when they blend so well in with the rest of he people in line!

Length of Event: about 16 minutes of actual haunted house time, it could be longer, it seemed to go by too fast so a little longer would def benefit ths haunted house,

Actor Performance: very well, would recommend to get rid og church scene, to me a lil too much, i know its a haunted house but that was not an ok or a good exp. i would recommend changing that to something else.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: very well, was never with another froup nor did another group ever was with us, it was like we has the place to ourselfs, which was great!

Appropriate Ages: i dont think apprpriate for younger kids and some teen kids, depends on how u can handle to scare factor hich they have alot of specially first starting out and in line

Props / Special FX: LOVED it, very well and scary and loved all the props and special affect ecept like i said before the church seen,

Costumes / Make-up: amazing. whoever does it does an amazing job!! very scary and realistic

Summary: Had a blast not a long wait time, love the interaction waiting in line with the characters walking around and bn scared before ever entering the haunted house, the swamp/cemetary area was AMAZING and one of my favorite parts! had a fantastic fun and scary creeped out time, wish it were longer and more scenes, besides church scene,over all would highly recommend it and would def go again over and over! great characters and haunted house and affects! def a scary fun time! if i were u i would def check it out!!

15 out of 28 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: hauntedman   (Event Visited: 10/22/11 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find. Its very visible from the highway.

Wait Entertainment: The music was good set the ambience and concessions are available. More character interaction would have been good.

Length of Event: They do a great job of building stories in the attraction that give you ample time to enjoy the time in the Haunt.

Actor Performance: They have some of most unique actors I have ever seen. They are young but very professional.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It is easy to find your way for the most part but I found myself making a few wrong turns that added to the anxiety and fun of the Haunt. The actors are very good about directing you without breaking character.

Appropriate Ages: PG-13 for sure kids.

Props / Special FX: Excelent use of special fx to direct your attention to the area they want you to look. They use an electrical device that pops on the ceiling before the clown room. You can't help but look up and when you finally look back forward there is a clown right in front of you when before there was empty space.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make up were very well done! This is a professional Haunt with great attention to detail on the make up and costumes.

Summary: Haunted Haven is a professional Haunt at a new location that is growing in size and well deserved reputation. The theme rooms are well thought out and executed like the sheet maze with strobe effect, the sugery room, and my favorite the clown room. You can tell they take a great deal of time to set up the scenes. For example: after the strobe effect you are greeted by an actor who is very good at immitating the spasmodic look of the Silent Hill character.  
 
They use distraction well to keep your attention where they want it to set up the actors. Using items haning down in front of you keeps your mind focused on moving around the obstacles instead of where they might be waiting.  
 
The fact that they build a story in each room let's you take time to immerse yourself in the attraction. My favorite part of all is Tweeker! I know the actor personally and he was still able to scare me to the point where I had to back up a few steps. The way they have the trap doors set up in the clown room and the way they use them you would swear there were 6 or 7 evil clowns running around when there are actually just 3.  
 
Haunted Haven is growing every year and I for one can't wait to see where they go from here.

13 out of 26 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: bondf143   (Event Visited: 10/08/11 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: on a main road so it was easy to find

Wait Entertainment: there were people dressed up that stayed outside and sometimes the actors from the house would come out too. One of the girls took off running and begging us to help her then the crazy doll girl grabbed her and dragged her back inside by the hair. It looks like it hurt!

Length of Event: I'd say about 20 minutes

Actor Performance: they were amazing! everyone stayed in character and each room was really different from the next. the actors were CRAZY! LOL

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: sometimes it we were kinda rushed but other rooms kept you longer like this crazy girl that made you play a game with her

Appropriate Ages: they tell you 13 or over but I saw a few kids younger than that there but they had adults with them

Props / Special FX: there wasn't a lot of special fx stuff

Costumes / Make-up: most of the actors did make up instead of masks but the make up looked really good and the couple that had masks looked really cool

Summary: It was very interesting. the line was a long wait, but it was worth the wait. There was a scarecrow that scared the living crap out of me. and he wasn't even in the house! Anywhere he seen me, he scared me. Lol. The first area was really good. There was this zombie that came out of no where and scared the crap out of me also. then when we were going into the second area, where it was like a grassy area, then this voodoo guy cam out of no where! he was really cool! his face looked so creepy and he talked with a weird accent, then his little minion came out! we went to the doctors room, the was very interesting cuz the dr looked really weird and there was this girl on a swing who looked like she didnt have any legs. i loved the doll room the most i think because she was creepy and called my friend Justin Bieber and then said he belonged in the closet where she sent us. We're all still calling him Justin haha. then i went to the clown room.. that was AWESOME! the pink clownchased me out with a chainsaw and i think "Justin" peed himself at that part. It was awesome, so in the end, it was a very good haunted house and i look forward to it next year!

11 out of 24 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ceecee   (Event Visited: 10/29/11 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Well visible from the south. No sign except for parking sign from the north. I almost drove by it.

Wait Entertainment: Several actors came out and visited the line. There was no music going, the wait got a little boring. Actors could of been "scarier" they were more funny out there.

Length of Event: Was about 15 minutes inside. Total wait was an hour.

Actor Performance: Actors were good. They seemed to come out of no where. They were definitely in your face.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never ran into another group. A little hard in swamp area to tell where path was otherwise was easy to get through except for actors sometimes blocking the path.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and above

Props / Special FX: Props were cool. Was cool in one room it felt like you had bugs crawling on you and the lighting added to the effect. I kept trying to wipe off the "bugs".

Costumes / Make-up: They had awesome makeup starting from the hostess. They all did a great job with make up and costumes.

Summary: Great haunt I have gone for 3 years and each year is new and different. Personally don't like the stuff about satan. Just because a person likes a good scare doesn't mean satan is involved in that. Witch doctor was very cool he came out of nowhere. Snookie was back and is up to his old antics crawling up the walls. Tweaker really got my nephew, he kept saying "you don't scare me" but he sure ran out of there with Tweaker behind him screaming like a girl. Some acts made you laugh a little and some will make you scream and jump. All in all well worth the money. I will back next year.

19 out of 43 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: stone   (Event Visited: 10/01/11 @ 11:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/04/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: the attraction is very visible from the road, easy to get to. ample parking, security on site.

Wait Entertainment: several "scarey" characters entertain the folks waiting in line, bonfires to warm up.

Length of Event: est. 15 - 18 min.

Actor Performance: the actors are right on cue

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: a little quick

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: the barn has moving eyes in the two windows that make it appear to be alive, was cool.

Costumes / Make-up: the costumes/make up is totally awesome. very realistic.

Summary: my favorite room is the surgery room. the actors are so realistic it had me wanting to help them get away. the cemetery with the fog was very spooky and the scare level is right up there. tweeker the clown in the twisted circus makes you laugh before the scare tactics begin. the lighting throughout the entire event is awesome, strobes, black lighting, pin lighting. there is a room that is all black with polka dots all over on the walls that glow with the black lights, at first you wonder what is so scarey about that and i won't ruin it for you, but beware! while you are waiting in line the screams from inside really get the heart pumping in wonderment of what lie in store for you when you enter. a must go.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at