Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2011 Visitor Reviews of
Fearfactory Haunted House (Rantoul, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
17 out of 32 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: froggie   (Event Visited: 10/08/11 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This haunt was easy to find, it was right off of Rt. 45. The sign was hard to see because it was not lighted. A pick-up truck was situated right next to it with a flashing light. Plenty of room for free parking. The haunt building is painted with a clown logo on the front with gargoyles on pedestals. The paint is peeling all over the artwork.

Wait Entertainment: Did not see any not to many people were inline so we got in quickly.

Length of Event: It was about 10 - 12 minutes

Actor Performance: Missed the mark on timing, kids screaming and the usual arrg. Not to scary

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This year they did away with the guided tour. It was the best thing they could have done. Did not run into any other group but that's because the crowd was small and they were able to send us in a timed space. This will get hectic when the crowd gets larger.

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up

Props / Special FX: The best prop was the fire room but, seeing how I have seen it last year it is a bit dated and old. As a matter of fact the whole haunt is a rehash of last year and previous years.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were o.k. as usual but needs more work on the make-up and ditch the masked. The make-up needs to have an understanding of facial contours to high light the expressions of the actor.

Summary: I have been the his haunt several years first when they were on the old base in a big building that was 2 or 3 stories. That was the best I have ever seen. Then I have been to there haunt in the current building the first year they got back to Rantoul. It was a cool haunt with new ideas. Now my third time (last year) I thought they were going to be like the previous years. It was a rehash like I mentioned earlier slightly disappointed. That brings me to this years haunt. They have you go in a different direction and that is supposed to be different. They had the same old haunts but just in a different order. The room with the trees, fireroom, labcoat room, Michael Myers room, etc. If you remember lasts years haunt, it will be the same this year. Just saying.

18 out of 35 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/08/11 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This haunt is easy to find, just watch for the signs on the main street. We have been there several times so no problems finding it.

Wait Entertainment: None, there was no wait; but maybe this will change when they get a little busier.

Length of Event: 12 minutes or so.

Actor Performance: Only two actors were memorable and they were the two first performers we saw. The stilt-walkers are always good. The 7-8 little girsl that we saw working in the house were just screaming in people ears as they walked through. Not scary, just annoying. They would also get right in front of you and stand- when you tall you can see them until you run into them. Please teach them to say something different or not to scream directly in peoples ears. Good thing I am deaf and could just see them screaming in my friend's ears as she cringed.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This house needs to learn to control the patrons a little bit better. They always seems to be a large group walking through at the end. Our group went from 5 to about 15. there are many places in the house that will allow for a little wait for patron control.

Appropriate Ages: 10 on up.

Props / Special FX: Good use of props and animatronics. Explosion was good as always.

Costumes / Make-up: Figure out something else to do with little kids- giving them a mask or spray painting their hair green and pink is not scary. 
 
Stilt walkers are great- backwoods characters are really good!!!

Summary: They did not change the house around very much just that the exit was the entrance this year. The slide which was a nice attraction was changed also and made it very difficult- don't stand up too fast- please post a warning.  
 
This house has always done a decent job in the past. What has changed? This year I thought the admission price was TOO HIGH for what they were offering. I felt we did not get our $10.00 worth. I thank my lucky stars that I did not pay the $15.00 for the 3D tour, I would have been very disappointed.

20 out of 41 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/14/11 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location the same every year and not too hard to find.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment wasn't nothing to speak of, but there were no long lines so everyone moved right through to the entrance.

Length of Event: Maybe 20 minutes here and all action packed.

Actor Performance: The actors done a great job, one of the better haunted house performances I have seen.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was great, no bottle necks tonight, but with a few maze rooms this could slow down the flow throughoutb the event.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 8 years or older, there are some in your face scares here. We saw a 12 year old girl too scared to enter and she had to exit.

Props / Special FX: Lots of great props here and some fx effects, like the devil's fire! Lots of interesting detailes here and lots of look at.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make-up was great, everyone done a great job here.

Summary: This haunted house has always been noted as a good haunted event, but this year they seemed ever better than ever. Everyone in our group had lots to look at, the sets were great, and the event was layed out excellent and moved along good. There are lots of very good people working this event and it shows, lots of super detail here and we are looking forward to next year. The event has some up/down stairs and crawling, but its all good and enjoyable - but be ready! This event does have some length overall and we never felt rushed through - so we enjoyed all the detailes!

8 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: danicalyrica   (Event Visited: 10/23/11 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It wasn't hard to find at all if you have GPS.

Wait Entertainment: There is an outdoor television that appeared to be showing some movie or preview and there was an actor who walked around who wasn't at all engaging, however, since the line was moving fairly fast, this wasn't an issue.

Length of Event: It was about 15 minutes. We kind of rushed through it too, so it may really be closer to 20.

Actor Performance: The actor performance was fantastic. Everyone seemed really into it. However, once or twice, the actors didn't quite keep from underfoot and I accidently ran into them and stumbled a bit.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good. We never ran into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up.

Props / Special FX: Fantastic. I felt that they over did it a tad with the strobe lights, but other than that, nothing to complain about it.

Costumes / Make-up: Maybe except for one or two actors, everyone had great costuming and make up.

Summary: It was overall a very nice experience and worth the admission fee. The building layout seemed unique and kept you guessing about where you might end up next. The scenes, in my opinion, were very well done and elaborate. The actors were well placed to jump out and get you at the right time. Its not for the faint of heart for you definitely won't get any sympathy from the actors, even if its a crying child.  
If you live in a half an hour distance of Rantoul, I definitely recommend checking it out.

12 out of 31 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: NightmareInc   (Event Visited: 10/01/11 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It wasnt very hard to find with the maps on there site but the sign could use some more lights insted of the service truck with the yellow strobe. Once on the road it was easy to see it with the front of the building painted with thwre logo and a HUGE banner on the side . It had there old website for some reason idk? Maybe an old banner? Idk still was huge .

Wait Entertainment: They had a weird mix here with a huge Gorilla? Idk what that was about AND!!!! A clown that was trying to hitch hike by the road and then mess with you until you went inside

Length of Event: 20-30 min it seemed longer this year with the hosts letting you go through the haunt by yourself. I give you guys an A+ for this

Actor Performance: Very good overall the little girls on the biohazard type room were talking before we got in there room but were 100% dead on target with there scare though so even though we herd them talk a room away they still did there job well

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: it was rather slow night being first weekend open so no issues here

Appropriate Ages: 10+ some gore and devil type actors

Props / Special FX: They had some crazy detail work this year with the hick room and there forest gets better every year and what stood out the most was there sound system this year it just seemed more clear then other years. There biohazard room had new things.

Costumes / Make-up: There make up was good still would like to see less masks but the make up wasnt bad

Summary: It was a great haunt they went with no hosts and that is what made the haunt this year. They went backwards this year so that put a twist on things as well there slide was again backwards. Alot of good things that got better. The clown room was just silly big and lasted a long time but was fun even though a clown kinda grunted? But overall we will be back to go through with the 3D to see how well it got better. Hope it improved like the rest of the haunt did if so it will be on of the better ones in the area I think going to others next weekend to compare but so far A+ job seems to get better every year.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at