Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2011 Visitor Reviews of
Fright Night (Forest City, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
12 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Decent60   (Event Visited: 10/29/11 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Visibility, well if you know Forest City then you know that you could spot the location(s) anywhere. Overall though, it was a great spot. Parking is a bit tough but when they utilize every last inch of space for their event, it's very understandable.

Wait Entertainment: Wait Entertainment has always been great, at this particular time, it was a bit less than the usual but we did get there early, so their usual crew could have been just arriving when we went through.

Length of Event: The length for the entire events were very adequate although I'm always want it to be longer (I just can't get enough of it!) 
Although, the new attraction, "The Crazy Cage", was a tad short.

Actor Performance: I'll have to group this into their sections for when I went, due to the multiple locations. 
Church: Everyone was on top of their game there, excellent timing and scare tactics. I especially liked the Werewolf, making his has come out of the fog that was almost surreal. 
 
Trail: Again, excellent performance by everyone, they tried to stall you a bit to make it feel a bit more real.  
 
Skinner House: Wasn't impressed by them this year, in fact they were a bit sluggish except in the beginning and mid way through. The rest were a bit out of touch with things. 
 
Crazy Cage: It has my favorite clowns in there, so of course it was an excellent performance (and I'm not being biased here). As always, they were energetic, creating a fun but frightening atmosphere.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: You're set into group, so it's only as fast as your leader. However, you really never have to wait long, as they try to make you run in terror.

Appropriate Ages: Church: 14+ 
Maze: 10+ 
House: 14+ 
Crazy Cage: 12+

Props / Special FX: They use an old-fashion scare tactics, which makes it much better. Props were are their to only heighten the atmosphere and not to be the main focal point.

Costumes / Make-up: It's never overdone and they actually do great with less. Some of the best costumes are done with little makeup and very little costume design (home made items mostly; gives it a more realistic look and feel).

Summary: This was my 3rd year returning and I have to say, I was disappointed by the new attraction that they put in this year, however, it was still a great idea and was something that wasn't too scary that younger audiences could have ventured in without getting too scared.  
Overall, this year was great. I love how they are always changing it up and 95% of the time, it's for the better. I hate going to the same old routine every year, it really doesn't give you a reason to go. That is not the case with Fright Night. The actors and actresses stay in role better than I've seen in many other places, even if you get a tad lost, they give you suggestions while keeping in character. That is another reason why I come back there: good, quality acting. 
We went there last year with a mix up on times, and while they were almost wrapping it up and were down a good chunk of their cast (school night and halloween parties), they gave us a great time there.  
I always recommend that you go at least once a year to my friends and family and to strangers that I meet there.

8 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: srloin   (Event Visited: 10/22/11 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find once you get to Forest City. There are signs up directing you as soon as you get into town.

Wait Entertainment: Each line had a wait of maybe 30 min at most. (We were in line when the actors had to go on break.) They had several actors scaring and fooling around with people while they waited so the experience never ended.

Length of Event: It took us about 2 1/2 hours to visit all of the attractions as well as talk to the professional ghost hunters.

Actor Performance: Every actor was amazing, from the little kids begging us not to go in to the chef not wanting us to leave. The screaming female actors where more frustrating the scary but overall scary and fit their surroundings.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never ran into another group but we did get lost at one point and almost back tracked into another group. At one point there was a fire alarm malfunction or something so we were forced to stop mid-way through the attraction, which was frustrating.

Appropriate Ages: The staff requested that we refrain from cursing because of all the young kids that were there. I would say 11+ should be fine.

Props / Special FX: Props were spot on. The Lazer + fog effect was so cool. But the strobe lights blinded and gave us headaches. I had to stop at one point and enjoy the bouncing floor for a bit. (I couldn't help myself)

Costumes / Make-up: From the simple little girl starring at me to the full on Yeti/Werewolf screeching and clawing, all of the costumes were perfect.

Summary: Overall, Fright Night is a great haunted house to go through and it actually being haunted added a little more to the scare. The ghost hunter people that were there said that there finding were going to be on History or something in November. We talked to some of the cast after we had finished and they were very friendly and it was obvious that they enjoyed what they were doing. I told all my friends to check it out. $18 for 4 attractions that last atleast 2 hours is a great deal. We had to drive about a hour to get there but it was well worth it.

15 out of 34 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Michelle   (Event Visited: 10/01/11 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/05/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This is located in a small town between Manito and Havana. There are a few signs within the town itself but its small enough that you can easily locate one of the two locations.

Wait Entertainment: Some of the "monsters" work the crowds to begin the entertainment and prepare you for what waits inside...a good build up with stories about the buildings and potential "real hauntings" that could possibly be seen.

Length of Event: This could easily be an hour or more for all four attractions. Depends on the amount of groups and the time of arrival.

Actor Performance: The actors and actresses do a great job of bringing the fear factor right to you..good story build up for the attractions. The actors/actresses stayed in character. I liked the fact that they carried through to the very end (some customers were running because they were so scared in the Crazy Cage)chasing us and others in the group.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was good. Didn't feel pushed or hurried inside. Things moved well and the timing was good between the groups.

Appropriate Ages: I think 12 and up is appropriate. The house is geared more for the adults than the church.

Props / Special FX: This is a good old fashion scare! No automation or high tech gadgets.These people work for your fear! There are a few people with chainsaws and the crazy chick will catch you off guard!

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes are appropriate for the scenes/locations and make-up/masks were very good.

Summary: This attraction is well worth the money and time to attend. I attended this previous years and they seem to work very hard at keeping things new as well as some traditional characters. We didn't have any problems in the house or church...the mazes were sometimes confusing but the gouls/monsters worked the scene to move you in the right direction. The night was cold and we were able to get some hot drinks and they have a variety of food with reasonable prices. Again we enjoyed the vist. The paranormal group was interesting and gave information about their findings in the house as well.

20 out of 47 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/01/11 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in the remote small town of Forest City, there are no visual markings on the road to make this event easy to spot. This is a small town so you you can locate it without to much effort.

Wait Entertainment: A few monsters working the outside and walking around, some in character and some out. There isn't anything scary about people in character eating at the food stand though.

Length of Event: Between two locations and the hayrack ride to each, at least one hour here.

Actor Performance: All the actors and actress did a very good Job and stayed on form. The outfits were good and no cheap masks here.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There were no bottle necks with other groups and everything moved very well.

Appropriate Ages: I would suggest 10 years might be right here, there are some in your face fears here.

Props / Special FX: The props are all standard here, don't find any automation here. The houses and trails are well organized in layout and work good. No special effects to speak of, some monster grinding steel and a few smoke machines.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were all well done and the make up was good.

Summary: Overall a well done event and our group was happy with what we saw. There were some areas that could use some help, the set of the church has a dead stairway which isn't used but could be very dangerous for someone to fall into it - very dangerous!! The disorganization of the haunted trail with cast exit doors open (we actually exited the event early and had to return) and characters behind the sets, this mistakes take away from the event ! The church overall was very good, the event was well staffed and good in design in most rooms. The remote house is very good however some of the crawl areas entertaining but not scary. The trail into the barn was good however somewhat confusing in it's layout - but it worked. We go to this attraction every year since it started again, it is well worth the travel and enjoyable. Note: watch for the local speed traps though, the sheriff has lots of time on his hands here.

15 out of 37 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: shan1974   (Event Visited: 10/07/11 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to locate even for an out-of-towner' like me. Parking was good and I felt safe around the traffic with our kids. Everyone seemed to be looking out for everyone else.

Wait Entertainment: Waiting took some time but not an unreasonable amount. The actors outside made it fun by having great interaction with guests. Violation of personal space is creepy to me so this set the mood quite well for the rest of the tours. The Very Large man in the Mike Myers costume was particularly good.

Length of Event: I thought the length of the events was just about right.

Actor Performance: Great Actors all around but some stand outs were the above mentioned Mike Myers, the small kids at the church (very disconcerting), and the blonde haired guy with the glowing teeth at the ACME van site.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good pace. Actors seemed to be actively trying to move people along without making anyone feel too rushed

Appropriate Ages: We had a 12yr old boy and a 10yr old boy with us. They were too scared in the first 15ft of the church to even attempt the rest of the attractions. Actors were very kind and spoke to them in "real" voices, but this didn't help with our particular kiddos. I saw kids their age and younger going through and they were trying very hard to be brave. Kudos to the actors for being kind and not scaring them to the point of panic/tears. I saw several actors back away when they knew little ones were coming.

Props / Special FX: I find this area to be most fascinating. I loved looking at all the props and think that this place had some of the best I've seen. Well placed. Could have used a few more in the church. Walking in the pitch black with nothing to see seemed to take a long time.

Costumes / Make-up: Very good on the costumes and makeup.

Summary: Overall this has to be one the best haunted experiences I've had. I really enjoyed myself and I think the kids had fun despite not going through the attractions. The actors were gracious enough to keep them entertained and laughing. The food was also good and they enjoyed the treats around the fire. The tours are creepy to say the least and I was disturbed (happily) many times while going through. I can't imagine the amount of time and effort that goes into something on the scale that we experienced but I'm glad you all do it! I like the museum and found reading the histories of the all the scary movies quite fun. If I had any suggestions it would be these: Maybe one night could be adult only night? Or even just a few hours of one night? With some adult Halloween drinks, lol. 
Also, being older I did find some of the footing in the attractions to be difficult to negotiate and was worried at times that I would fall. Also, crawling through tight spaces when you have claustrophobic issues is scary, so um...ok nevermind, good job on that one. See ya' next year for sure. Worth the 3 hour drive from Missouri :) Thanks so much for a great evening.

12 out of 34 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: hauntee   (Event Visited: 10/07/11 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/08/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find from directions off flyer we had, which only said to turn at post office in Forest City. Had a small sign to alert you this was indeed your turn too. Attraction was clear where it began and where to buy tickets. Parking was simple and easy...small city along the street style. Cops in cars watching area well so seemed very safe even in not so lighted place...again small town so to be expected not to have bright illuminated streets but not pitch dark either by any means.

Wait Entertainment: We went on a Friday night and had no wait for tickets. Being only October 7th we didn't expect a huge rush, most haunted houses aren't even open yet this early in the month. There was a nice crowd though and event lines are timed perfectly in my opinion. Four attraction total with one having a indoor horror museum plus food and the other three near each other with a food truck and nice area to eat with a fire. Can grab warm drink waiting for wagon ride back.

Length of Event: We did all four events plus viewed the actual movie horror prop collection museum and ate some food before leaving in a total of about 2 hours. We also had our two boys with us who are 9 & 11 so it took us a tad longer to get them in line and stray them back from the bombfire pit and food stand. They were excited to see it all including outdoor decor. So adult only group i'd say less time depending on the crowd and what all you decide to do and time you take in the museum looking and reading the info in there. Attractions only I'd agree with the previous reviews with an hour though to tour all four haunts only.

Actor Performance: Okay for none of these guys getting paid they sure do give it their all that's for sure. We were amazed at how well even some of the children did...yes children aged probably same as mine I took. All ages mixed in with good acting and oh my some of those girls got lungs and sure can scream! You vote for the best scene and attraction at the end so I think this might keep the edge since they are competing against easy other in a sense. Good costumes that fit the scenes well.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Perfect they spaced it so all actors were on mark. Not sure how it will be when closer to Halloween and more busy but, when we went unlike other haunted houses I've been to in the past we were the only group in the attraction during our tour or so it seemed since I didn't hear anyone else which was a huge plus to me. This way there was no give away to monsters getting ready to jump out soon by hearing dose distance screams. It made a pleasing experience and helped with the fear factor.

Appropriate Ages: Depends on the individual and fears of course but in my judgement as a mother I would suggest no younger than 8. Not to say it would be inappropriate to take a child younger in your best judgement though. There is a handful of passageways you need to go through that require bending and climbing in a sort to exit the trail so handicap might need minor assistance or could maybe bypass the climb to leave the trail too so even though asking about age here this could play into a factor judging who its sutiable for too

Props / Special FX: Not too much high tech but that's how I like it since its more your own fears playing in here than some awesome digital or smoke and mirror etfects that most don't find scary anyways...rather just cool to look at. Here its more darkness and sudden sounds that get you. More classic spooky dark rather than want to be Hollywood props you shall find here

Costumes / Make-up: Not too over done..I think that their character and acting took control more so than any costume. They looked the part though for the scene and who needed be along with dead on acting so to me this is better combo than a awesome look on a poor actor. This is what we look for that you get here I think...keeping in mind this is a non-for-profit haunted attraction not star Hollywood sets and stars at the same time. Some could be though with the blood curdling screams and demeanor.

Summary: I think I pretty much covered everything but I found my family all liking a different attraction the best so this goes to say there just might be something for everyone here. The group rate is for 20 or more people- thought to mention that since we figured it would be less but then again your not saving a huge amount using the group rate anyways and this is raising money for good causes and not just making someone's pocket a little fatter in the process. Our family of four spent $80 so knowing its going towards a good cause makes us happy because $80 to us is a lot of money. We went during bracelet night so it cost us each $15 to see all four and then we got some drinks and two orders of nachos so pretty fair price for everything we got and did. We live in Pekin and next year would consider going back. I really dug the history to the church and loved knowing in a way your going into a possible real haunted location and such an old building. We were not sure what was up about the skinner house and why its going to be on an episode of my ghost story on a&e. Would have loved to learn more about that or an intro perhaps like we got about the church which we will leave for you to go and find out about yourself...happy Halloween and haunting all.

8 out of 23 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: froggy2007   (Event Visited: 10/22/11 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was located in very small town between manito and havana there were lots of signs up so pretty easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Downstairs in the witch's brew cafe the had a t.v. plaing scary video clips,outside while waiting in line they had some people walking around (in costume) wich was pretty neat my favortie was the guy in a pink wig props to him for looking like a dork with all the people that were there!!!

Length of Event: Overall wait time that we stood in line was fair it took us about 2 to 2 1/2 hrs to go through everything!

Actor Performance: There are some little kids but i think they did an awesome job!!!All the actors seemed to be in thier places. I think all the actors and actress's did a great job at scarring!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: the flow seemed pretty good we had no incidents.

Appropriate Ages: i would say at least 10 and up i saw kids younger than that that would not even step foot in!

Props / Special FX: this place does not have alot of special effect but they dont need them thier actors are what makes the place. They did have a pretty cool looking tunnel in the church and a skelton prop!

Costumes / Make-up: Some actors had makeup and some had masks wich all seemed to fit in thier scenes. all costumes seemed appropriate. overall i would rate the makeup and masks about an 8.

Summary: Overall i loved the fact that not only did i get scared but my friends and family got scared! I had have to say my 2 favorite scences were the barn they really got us there and they made my sister piss here pants wich was halarious!!! and the little girls on the merry go round.... boy were they creepy!i did miss the nose picker this year so maybe they could bring him back next year!!!This was my 2nd year here and i wouldnt change anything about this place its well worth the wait and money i will for sure be back next year and the many more years to come!!!!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at