Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com Ė Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2011 Visitor Reviews of
InnerFears (Bloomington, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
20 out of 35 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ZedRot   (Event Visited: 10/06/11 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/07/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There have been other haunted houses in this building. It is still hard to find. They could use more lighting and signs.

Wait Entertainment: There was an awesome guy in line chatting with us. He was scary and hilarious.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors did an awesome job staying in character. The clowns were scary as h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored)

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was good. There are no guides like there were in other haunted houses at this location. I hate the guides.

Appropriate Ages: yes

Costumes / Make-up: The makeup on the actors was fantastic. I we did not see a single mask in the entire place. The zombies and clowns were freaky.

Summary: It was a fantastic time! Everyone did a great job staying in character. The clowns were super scary and I swear they all smelled like candy! That is just wrong! We were scared start to finish and had a blast. It is great to finally have a ahunted house in Bloomington / Normal. This one is one of the best I have been to. If I had one complaint it seems like there were not enough actors the night we were there. They could have used more people in the middle. We are definitely looking forward to going back soon! Keep up the good work!

10 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: iammrk   (Event Visited: 10/22/11 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It is a little hard to find. One you are on the street the signage is good.

Wait Entertainment: There was a great guy dressed as a green demon interacting with the crowd and a couple of random monsters wandering around adding atmosphere.  

Length of Event: About 30 minutes in the line and under 15 for the event.

Actor Performance: The actor performance was fantastic. I loved the clowns, they were absolutely out of their minds. The one who was helping us and then started freaking out was amazing.  

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good, we never ran into anyone else.

Costumes / Make-up: The makeup was awesome. The guy taking tickets looks straight up out of walking dead. The clowns were freaky and their zombies were all nasty and gory. This is one area these guys really stood out.

Summary: This was my first time going to InnerFears. That is probably not a surprise as this is this first year they are open. The event was a little short considering the $10 price tag, but was overall a great time. I really do want to know what they are giving the guys in their clown area. One of them was actually bouncing off of the walls. I am not kidding! He was physically bouncing off the walls. The house sections were cool, but very expected in a haunted house. Though the bugs in the kitchen were a nice little bit of gross. I was actually startled by the guy in their room with the annoying strobe. The light was bright enough and he took so long to move I thought he wasnít going to move, or was a prop. He then jumped in on us in-between the flashes of the strobe. Normally I donít jump, that guy got me. Overall a great job for a new event. Kudos to the cast of InnerFears on a great show!

20 out of 50 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/14/11 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This building overall has possibilities (the old building used in the famous creatures crypt haunted house) - more later ! Marked good when you know it is there.

Wait Entertainment: A monster walking through the line with a axe. No real lines tonight so no long wait here.

Length of Event: Maybe 15 minutes top.

Actor Performance: All actors done a fair to good job - lots of pop out characters and everyone was on the mark.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was very good, but no lines either.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 5 years could handle this event without too much trouble.

Props / Special FX: Lots of standard props, some laser machines, lots of fog machines, a few pop props - nice overall but some work needs to be upgraded here.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make up was good and everyone looked very good overall.

Summary: This marked the return to Bloomington with a haunted house in the building which housed the famous creatures crypt and that where it ends! The haunted house's return had us all fired up and looking for the days of great, but it falls short and fast! The house was too quick overall, everything went fast and there just wasn't nothing here to continue to. The events were standard props and no high tech equipment or special effects to speak of. The building is good but would like to see it shift back into the old location with more room, and next add some more to this event - maybe twice as much. For Bloomimgton there should be more to thus event, there are smaller attraction throughout the state which have more pop and give more scare factor with less location. I hope that someday this event marks the return to greatness of a Bloomington haunted attraction, but as of now, falls short!!

13 out of 34 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/14/11 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location was easy to find since there were three haunted houses that were located here in the past. Sign that said "Inner Fears" located at the turn onto Bunn Street.

Wait Entertainment: Really just two guys that came up to talk and joke with us. One demon and a pirate- plus one guy outside that let out a girly screech as some patrons walked by.

Length of Event: Around 7 minutes at best and that was walking straight through.

Actor Performance: One actor was on cue scaring but the others were lackluster. No ones performance really stood out.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did not run into anyone else in the house; but I think if this was a crowded night and there were a lot of other people waiting to go through there would have been big groups. There were really no stop gaps unless the actors did this to prevent large lines walking through.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Nice use of strobes and laser lights but in 90% of the rooms they were in, there was no scares just black walls. The smell of cotton candy in the clown room was great!

Costumes / Make-up: The majority of the actors were in make-up. Only two really stood out and that was the guys working the lines.

Summary: Our group had worries going back to this location that it would be another house that was not worth the money. Our inner fears came true this was a rehash of houses that had been tried in this location in the past.  
 
The creepiest room was the public bathrooms loacted right off the wait line. 
 
$10.00 is way to expensive for this haunt. At best this is $6-$7 haunted house. Especially for the first year consider reducing the admission cost. For a first year house you have to bring your A game for a $10.00 admission price and clearly this house does not match the price. We wanted to ask for at least $5.00 back as we were leaving.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright © 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at