Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2011 Visitor Reviews of
Dream Reapers Haunted House (Melrose Park, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
25 out of 43 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: BIGGUN   (Event Visited: 10/01/11 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Decent of rt 64 and there is a sign and a big balloon.

Wait Entertainment: ZERO and unacceptable! Regardless if there are 100 people in line or 1 person..there should ALWAYS be wit entertainment, especially when they open the doors 20mins. late!

Length of Event: About 20 min.

Actor Performance: Very good and in your face. None of them broke character

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: EXCELLENT! A+ never ran into another group.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: Pretty good. Many scenes were very well detailed, and there were sinister scents throughout the house.

Costumes / Make-up: Very good. Love that pig mask. lol

Summary: The house has changed SLIGHTLY from last year. your first scene after the rules and regulations is the predicatble hellevator. It was bumpy fun, but the effect is getting old. From there you have a pretty good disorienting maze with multiple exits that take you to dead ends and in circles. The scenes and actors were good. The slaghter house is ALWAYS great, and the swamp scene was back as well. Things were popping out from high and low, and kept me guessing. While not a HUGE difference from last year..it was good enough for me to recommend to all!

19 out of 34 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: SAuma42   (Event Visited: 10/20/11 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This was pretty good. I got directions from their website, and could see the "air men" (as I call them) from North Avenue. Plus, the sign for parking in the middle of the street was great!

Wait Entertainment: Pretty good. We got there early, and there was an actor in the line for tickets, and two actors in the actual wait line. Being a slow night it didn't seem that they had the other area up and running, but what is the point when the wait time was so short.

Length of Event: About 15-20 minutes.

Actor Performance: Amazing! The actors stayed true to the character they were playing. The interaction was great. I had a girl between the slaughter house and doctors office tell my friend behind me, "I like your face, can I have it?" My friend's response, "Sure but leave my hair, it rocks." The girl comes back with, "No I'll take your hair and put it on my leg." In the swamp, there was a very tiny woman that was almost like a native shaman, and she was creepy. She jumped around, talking in a "language" I have never heard before, and was great at jumping out and scaring us more than once. Also in that area was the creepy woman "ewok" like character. She freaked me out, and when I said that (after passing her) I swear she must have heard me, because she came up behind me and freaked me out again.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Pretty good. We ended up going through twice, and the first time we never saw anyone in front or behind us. The second time I swear the group of girls must have peed in their pants at some point because I saw them a room ahead of us, and the actors were doing a pretty good job of trying to slow us up. It didn't make it any less scary for us either.

Appropriate Ages: Minimum of 13. However, if you have a child that is not good with scares at 15 I wouldn't recommend it.

Props / Special FX: Great. I wonder how they do their walls to make me not to want to touch them. Plus the smell of the rooms were great, and match the room. The swamp smelled like a swamp, the area with the waterfall smelled like a musty outdoor area.

Costumes / Make-up: If there was an award for the make-up Dream Reapers should win in my opinion. The make up is very well done. The actors that have "wounds" look real. Even in the dark if not done properly, you can tell. Here, you can't. The attention to detail on all the actors is great. Plus, the make-up is not limited to the actors inside, they even do it for the people working in the shop as well. It makes me wonder why these make-up artists are working at a haunted house, and not on a hollywood set.

Summary: Dream Reapers has been rated highly in Illinois, and nationwide for years, and there has to be a reason for it. If you are looking for a haunt that is going to scare everyone in your group, keep you from running into others or not herd you like cattle, this is a place to try. It has been a long time since I went to a haunted attraction and been scared to the point of almost having an asthma attack. For me, the price point is almost too low for what you get. I would gladly pay more to go through this haunt.

19 out of 34 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: card89   (Event Visited: 10/23/11 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's really visible from the road. There is a lit sign and the waving man (that thing they blow air through) out front. There are also a lot of lights.

Wait Entertainment: This was ok. Granted, we went on a Sunday night so there really wasn't a need to have a lot of wait entertainment. I was a little bummed that the coffin wasn't open to visitors. The clown that was working the line managed to scare my friend twice while we were waiting. I also liked the bride and groom at the door, very funny!

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: For the most part it was really good. I like the guy in elevator as he managed to scare two of my friends half out of their wits. There were a couple scenes where actors just kind of moved and stared at you. For the most part though, there were in your face.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I don't like how we weren't able to be our own group, especially since it was a Sunday, but hey we managed to separate ourselves enough.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: Dream Reapers is always good with their props and special FX. It is very high tech with a lot of detail.

Costumes / Make-up: I LOVE the detail with some of the costumes. It really fit well with each scene.

Summary: I was at this haunt last year and it was good then. This year it is just as good. I like the enthusiasm that most of the characters have and I find myself staring the amount of detail in this place. I also like how they had the trailer for Paranormal Activity 3 playing in the lobby.  
 
The only drawback to me is that not all actors seemed fully into it. There were some that just crawled out of a space and stared at you. Overall though, most of the actors seemed very into their roles. They didn't break character once while we were in there. Can I also say that the ONE person who said "Get out of my house" annoyed me! I hate when they say that. 
 
Overall, I would definitely recommend Dream Reapers. The cast knows what they're doing and the whole house is fantastically decorated.

23 out of 43 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Cole55   (Event Visited: 10/01/11 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There was only a marquee right before the turn when you were heading west on North Ave. However, if you were adding east, you might have been able to see the crazy armed blow up man, with smoke billowing out.

Wait Entertainment: There was not a person there was entertain the patrons, unless you count the girl before you enter (who was funny). However, they gave you a chance to take a ride in the coffin (even though you tech lose your place in line if you choose to do so) & the extremely loud lighting and strobe light FX that happens. It was way too loud.

Length of Event: I'd say a good 15-20 minutes.

Actor Performance: I was actually impressed! They were making noises that I did not even know humans can make. They stayed in character pretty much throughout the whole time. They did not just focus on the person in the front of the group (which was me).

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was good until we got to the alien tunnel, which the group ahead of us seemed to be queasy from. We stayed in there a little longer so we did not tail them.

Appropriate Ages: I would recommend 13 and up. The scenes are not too gory. The actors did not curse.

Props / Special FX: Amazing!! I'm not even sure how to elaborate without giving away good parts! But, the girl who was "looking for a medical partner." AMAZING.

Costumes / Make-up: Very well done. I liked the doctors & the zombies. There were a lot that blended in with the props!

Summary: I was impressed. I am extreme baby when it comes to haunted houses. However, the actors were on point, and funny at times. The makeup, costumes, and scenes, are pretty much awesome too. They do a good job with scaring you and coming out when you least expect it. And even though my friends pushed me into the front of the line, they actually did very well with spreading the attention evenly, if not more attention to the middle/back (haha!). For the price that you pay, and the entertainment value you receive, I believe its a house that is hard to pass up. Good job Dream Reapers!

12 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: geeway10   (Event Visited: 10/27/11 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It wasn't difficult to find, we saw the sign on North Ave. and saw the floaty men and the huge line outside and we knew instanly. The street was also well lit.

Wait Entertainment: It was good. I was excited and couldn't stop staring at the pictures in the waiting area inside. They made me feel like I was in for a good scare especially when the lights went out and everybody screamed, I thought the monsters were going to come out of nowhere at any second.

Length of Event: 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actors were really good. They adapt to their rooms remarkably. You would think that that is their little world because they can play the crazy and scary perfectly. None of them would stall and think of what to say next, my boyfriend said that he would love to do it because it seems like a good way to get crazy and its not questionable behavior lol. I was scared and I wont lie. It was thrilling though. I freaked out the most when I went through a tunnel and it reminded me of the Ninja Turtles and this girl that led us to that air bag thing got in between our group and went in the bag in front of me and facing me, made me follow her and that freaked me out because she was growling and I am so claustrophobic! It was the scariest thing but it was fun because I knew I would be ok.. Sorta. I also liked the doctor without the legs, that was so creepy and nothing I have ever seen before! I enjoyed it. 

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't run into another group even though we walked fast.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 14 but a part of me feels that's still too young. I'm just a chicken, it was scary fun!

Props / Special FX: It was well detailed and felt so real. The rooms look like they have been there forever with the way everyone looked and the rooms kind of smelled like you would imagine them to smell which I think is weird and I may have imagined it but everybody else in my group smelled the same thing. I also got scared of that gate with the sparks.

Costumes / Make-up: Where do I begin? They all looked like they belonged in their rooms, the make uo was good and the wounds with blood at the slaughter room looked so real, my biyfriend got a little queasy there.. He's not a big fan of blood and if he got nauseous, then that stuff looked real. Whoever does makeup there, kudos! The zombies even looked like movie zombies. I also liked the burn victims. I wonder if they were wearing masks because I think their hair was also burnt. That legless doctor again lol

Summary: Im not the type to take the time and write a review on a haunted house but I couldnt stop thinking about it. It was a fun night and a great show! I have always heard of Dream Reapers being a great haunted house by friends but it takrs a lot of convincing me to go and the only regret I have is that I didn't come in sooner. It was amazing and now I am one of the people that can recommend others to Dream Reapers Haunted House. Its indoors and you don't have to be concerned with the weather there. It lets you really appreciate the house more because you're not to busy trying to keep yourself warm the entire rime you're walking through. Good job Dream Reapers! I hope to go by once more before the season ends.

14 out of 32 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/20/11 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not too hard to find - use GPS ! Same place every year, sign marks the turn into parking lot.

Wait Entertainment: Some monsters walking throughout the lines, light entertainment here and maybe they could use more here. Rocking casket is fun but doesn't take too much time off the event wait.

Length of Event: I think we had 20 minutes here.

Actor Performance: The actors always do a very good job here and this year no different - on mark and on cue.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Everything moved along good, we had no real bottle neck issues here and with a large crowd, not too bad.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 10 and above, some in your face stuff here.

Props / Special FX: A very good job here, automation effects, extra pops, etc... Nice detail and well thought out.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were excellent, they always do a great job with characters and this year maybe the best of any other. Make up excellent and no real masks here to speak of, top notched job.

Summary: Very well done job this year, maybe some of the sets are in need of an update of more effects, but we enjoyed what we saw. The vortex tunnel again (they are getting dated) was ok but and the continue afterward was good. This years haunted house was very good and well thought out, with some changes over last year and added effects in some areas however, could use some tweaking here and there but they are on the right track. Everything moved along great and was well timed, on the mark triggers and all actors right on the cue. A must see event here !

7 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: marys   (Event Visited: 10/20/11 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location was great, this was my second visit and even though I live pretty far I found it again without a problem.

Wait Entertainment: I did not have to wait long at all seeing as I went on a Thursday, however everyone I came across was great at being freakishly scary.

Length of Event: It seemed much longer this time around, unless it was just darker and harder to follow, yet making it much more frightening.

Actor Performance: Loved the actors. Some of my favorites were the patient while waiting, the crazy doctor, the alien, and the scarecrow. Omg the scarecrow! I think they all did a fantastic job so much better than last year for sure.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow went well I have no complaints!

Appropriate Ages: I would say appropriate for probably 13 and up.

Props / Special FX: I can not stress how much I LOVED the props and special effects! Everything was made so realistic as if you almost believe you are in that scene and not a haunted house.

Costumes / Make-up: Awesome costumes and makeup so realistic definitely plays with your mind!

Summary: I loved you guys! I normally go to the front of the line to be brave and I know they normally do not scare the first person as much as the followers, but Oh man I was so wrong this time I was scared a lot more than once. Everything inside was so realistic from your sets to your actors. I particularly liked your attention to detail like a real hospital transport cart and iv pole. Loved the water features and horrid smells, too real. I will definitely be back and I will be letting all my friends and everyone I come across know to stop by and be spooked! Thank you very much for the scares!

8 out of 30 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: tyershooz   (Event Visited: 10/14/11 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find

Wait Entertainment: The guy in the wheelchair was hillarious and gross at the same time.

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors were great...all scary and great scares at the right time.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They managed this perfectly.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: Excellent. Loved the tunnel room, the womb room, the butcher room, the electrical room....

Costumes / Make-up: Superb!

Summary: Loved this house. Very scary, was jumping and scared to make the next turn into another room not knowing what was going to happen. Highly recommended. Loved the entertainment outside...the bloody nose guy out front was awesome. Favorite favorite was the tunnel....it was disorienting but wish it was longer though I'm not sure if I could have made it through if it was longer. Lots of unexpected scares. Loved every minute of it. I think this would be too scary for some children. Staff was great...all of them. Characters really did well in character.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at