Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2011 Visitor Reviews of
Screams In The Park (Rosemont, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
18 out of 33 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: colie   (Event Visited: 10/14/11 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There were some sings to help, and parking cops to help point the way. The driveway didnt look like we should have driven in, but its ok.  

Wait Entertainment: None, but no one was in line...

Length of Event: 15 maybe 20 minutes

Actor Performance: The Hellivator Operator rocked. The other actors seemed new and just screamed a lot... they tried

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: it was awesome, because we were the only people in the haunted house

Appropriate Ages: 8 or 9 should be fine

Props / Special FX: Some of the fx and props were very cool... the 'shovel lady' was cool as h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored) the Pop out props were poorly timed some of the rooms were decorated pretty well, others lacked

Costumes / Make-up: Poor.. just some white make up and fake blood and messy hair...

Summary: this haunt was not all it was cracked up to be. though i did jump at points is was more because i was startled and less out of fear. It was the first year for this house, so maybe they can get timing right next year and have more actors in the haunt. there were sets with no one in them...  
 
there were some pretty cool props in this haunt. i think with more people and a little more time this could be a good haunt. Id give it some time. 
 
i'm glad i only paid 10 dollars though.  
 
It was kind of sad to see how many people were not there... hopefully they will get more patrons as Halloween draws closer.  
 
they did have a super cool pumpkin carver there, making super cool giant pumpkins in to very cool faces... 
 

20 out of 37 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: bigstick4u   (Event Visited: 10/08/11 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not bad. Behind the Rosemont theatre.

Wait Entertainment: NONE! There were a good 30 people in line and no actors roaming! UNACCEPTABLE!

Length of Event: appox 20 min

Actor Performance: Decent. Ranging from very good to mediocre!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: AWFUL! ran into tons of groups, and literally had to stop several times for the backup to decongest!

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up

Props / Special FX: Some were terrific, and some were very lame. I'd give it a 6.5 on fx.

Costumes / Make-up: See props and fx

Summary: This was a mixed bag haunt for me. I'd give the overall haunt a 6.5 Its quite obvious a first year haunt, because they have no clue about patron flow, or timing.  
The actual haunt DOES have potential to be good. WHile there were many high school aged actors in the haunt..some were very good and into their roll.  
The downside to this haunt was that it relied too much on pop outs that didnt pop out at the right time. There were some huge and detailed props like the giant skeleton that screams at you, and the coffin scene with the surprise was pretty good as well. The cockroach on the wall effect was good.  
The acting was so so. As stated before, some were real screamers and into it, and some actors pretty much said "boo".  
The mechanical dog at the opening scene was cool too. 
I'm on the fence for recommending it or not. $20 is a lot for a first year haunt that overall didnt deliver. But it's not as bad as some Ive been thru over the years.

14 out of 26 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: woody84   (Event Visited: 10/09/11 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was a bit confussing at first. There where a few signs that pointed the way once we got close.

Wait Entertainment: There was none other then a police officer and the girl taking our tickets

Length of Event: About 20 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors where okay. I think their where a lot of newbies that where still in learning their charactors/skits.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Being a new house, I think they are in workings of getting it right. We ran into two other groups in three different locations.

Appropriate Ages: 6 and up I would say. Nothing too scary, but a lot of moving props.

Props / Special FX: If you are into a more visual haunt rather than a scare, this is the place for you. Room after room had many props and fx. The dog was great and I loved it, however the speaker for the barking was put behind the dog in the corner of the walls. I believe it should have been closer to the crowd. I would have mounted the speaker right in the mouth. The elevator was weak. Expected more from that from previous experience elsewhere. The projectors where a nice touch and where pretty cool. A lot of the props that moved and came at us and over us where neat. The huge skeleton monster was enormous and very interesting to watch. The electric chair guy was cool as well.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make up matched the rooms and seemed to be prepared with care. Being a new house kind of took the effect away cause everything was brand new and it showed.

Summary: This house has potential. I really did like all the fx and props even though I felt like I was at the haunted house expo. A lot of money went into the props and fx so I wish them luck in the future. I think to have a better scare they need to focus more time training their actors on fitting them to the characters. I was happy with the experience other than the actor issues. Like I said before, this is a great house if your all about the visuals. If you are looking for a great scare and to be terrifyed you might want to wait til next year on this house. Thats just my opinion and you may have a different experience.

10 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: dropap85   (Event Visited: 10/24/11 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: if you dont know where you are going, you will get lost, but whne you get close you got the police directing you to the haunted house, its next to the muvico theater

Wait Entertainment: there where no wait entertainment, idnt really need it when i was there i was the only person walking threw the house

Length of Event: 15 min

Actor Performance: actor performance, where good, but you can tell this is a new house, some acotrs really got into there charactor, like the guy rounning the elevator, the guy in the fotn telling you the rules, with a dog that was awsome, also some actors when they popped out sayed boo, and when they actors popped out there timing was veyr bad i was like two arm lenghts away when they popped out,its kinda of happens when your anew house, but next year they should be good and better

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: patron flow, they really need to work on this catagory, i was the only person in my own group and i ran into a group near the fireplace youe walk into.its a new house this is one thing they really need to work on

Appropriate Ages: 9 andup

Props / Special FX: this is the catagory they excelled in, alot of awsome props to a dog in the begaining moving around barking, to a big creature in the cemetery, talking to you very awsome, props they actors had whee a meat cleaver, so plastic cause when they banged it against the hospital bed in the morge, the top of it flew off, but awsome special effects, alot of money but into them, it was more fun looking at them then gettting scared

Costumes / Make-up: costume and makeup, could of been alot alot better, they just had white makeup on and some blood, but all actors had same amount of makeup and i love the costume, made you feel into the 1800s era

Summary: overeall, for a new house they did a pretty good job, its more of a visual haunted house then a cary haunted hous,e veyr visual with scence and props, alot of the actors where really good in the roles, but popped out to early, the actors that really stand out the elevator operator really awsoem and creepy, and the girl in the be that rose up, really cool and the actor in the front telling you the ruled while he is petting the roboting dog that look real really cool,  
 
if you dont like getting scared coem to this one, its more a visual haunte dhouse and great for startes i recommend this for family memeber, give it a few years thus house as poential for beinga good house, my only concern was they house had alot of light in it, has to be darker, to make it a creepier area

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at