Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2011 Visitor Reviews of
Basement Of the Dead (Aurora, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
60 out of 88 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: HauntGuru   (Event Visited: 10/15/11 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I never have liked the location of this haunted house. It is near the casino, but nearly invisible. It isn't visible from the street, since it is basically underneath a bridge.

Wait Entertainment: They kicked a@@ in this category! Stilt walkers everywhere and other actors stalking the crowd. Loud music was playing outside.

Length of Event: Probably around 15 minutes

Actor Performance: They did a pretty good job. Most of them were in your face, which is creepy, but timing seemed off on some of the scares.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It could have been better. My group ran into the group in front of us.

Summary: I have always been a fan of City of the Dead. This year they did a good job, although it seemed like the energy level was down a bit this year. Also, I wasn't happy to see that they jacked up the price from $15 to $18 this year and had pretty much the same scenes as last year. Why did the price go up so much???  
 
Don't get me wrong... I thought the zombie girl eating guys guts was cool and the electrocution was effective. I have always liked the gore they have in their scenes... many scenes with body parts and such. The dark maze part was very dark and there were hanging bodies you had to push out of the way.  
 
Again, I really liked this haunted house, but think there was quite a bit less bang for your buck, because of the lower scare factor and price increase.

34 out of 56 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: SLAY3R   (Event Visited: 10/07/11 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It would be sort of hard to find if youre not familiar with the area. But its right across and down the street from the casino (you cant miss the casino) and right below a staircase next to a pub & restaurant called "Ballydoyle's"

Wait Entertainment: Wait entertainment was pretty well done. The actors went up and down the line, and it was very intimidating. They had loud rock/metal music to pump people up. There were many actors outside interacting with people, including clowns, vampires, giant pumpkin guy, devil, and a fish that even took it so far that swam inside a fountain! They also had a screen that showed a little horror clip.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes

Actor Performance: Actor performance was amazing, every actor inside and outside never broke character. The energy within the actors was at an unbelievably high level. Each actor inside and out had their own personality and character that was fitting and just overall outstanding.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Patron flow was great, never bumped into anyone inside and a group never bumped into us during the entire walk through.

Appropriate Ages: +16

Props / Special FX: Many animatronics were used, but not so much as to where is was a bad thing. The actors definitely overruled the animatronics...animatronics were definitely used for distraction. Such animatronics included a werewolf, electrocution chairs with victims suffering, a giant beast-monster, and many many more. The one that stood out the most though was a giant goat-head skull coming out through a cave which had water flowing out through it (HIGHLY detailed...and loud! caught me by surprise)

Costumes / Make-up: All costumes and make up were top-notch and matched all rooms. No one seemed out of place and the characters inside the costumes did a good job representing the character itself.

Summary: The basement of the dead is my favorite haunt. I visit about 3-6 other haunts every year and this one always takes the cake. They never let me down and get better each and every year. The scenes were at an extremely high detail and I had tremendous amounts of fun from the moment I bought my ticket to the moment I left the attraction area. The haunt has a little of something everyone is afraid of. I dont want to go into detail with every scene, as to I do not waint to ruin/spoil it, but I do want to say that every scene had amazing actors and the details in the scenes were just...mind blowing. I could feel the darkness, it was creepy. I, as well as everyone in my group, had much much fun. Im not the type of person to get startled easily but nightmares seems to always get to me, and I dont know how they do it. Once again, as always, good job nightmares. Keep up the good work, Ill be back again later in the month!

36 out of 69 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: nibblet   (Event Visited: 10/02/11 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/04/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: A littel hard to find. Once you see the casino it is right across the bridge in the basement of the Irish Pub and restaurant.

Wait Entertainment: The line actors are incredible. They all are in silicone masks. The fish guy actually was in the fountin and came out of it when he was scaring the line costumers. They also have two stilt walkers. The actors and costumes looked like the stepped right out of a movir

Length of Event: About 12 to 15 minutes

Actor Performance: The doctor/victim scene was very real and high energy. The kitchen had another silicone mask (pig mask). The guy wearing it was very large and intimidating. The girl victims at the end were also very believable.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I did not run into or have another group run into my group.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 13 years or older.

Props / Special FX: It seemed like they had something going on in every room.The one I like best was a dragon like head that came out of a cave.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make were done very well and matched the room they were in. The doctor at the end was dressed in this stem punk looking head dress that was very sinister looking.

Summary: Basement of the Dead ia a haut that plays on all different types of fears. It is very dark in some places, gory in some places, and even very bright and loud in others. The characters also folow suit with the differnt types of fears. They have vampiers, doctors, zombies, inbreds, and everyone's favorite clowns to name a few. The actors are very high energy and look very believable in the costumes, make-up, and or mask that they are wearing. They do this all very well. From the time you get there to the time you leave, the actors outside and inside the haunt will keep you very entertained. This one is a great one to go see.

12 out of 24 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: katebai   (Event Visited: 10/08/11 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location venue was well lit & easy to access

Wait Entertainment: Several characters greeted and scared those waiting in line. Way creepy Clown character this year. Scared the bee-geebies out of me.

Length of Event: About 20 minutes wait time, and 20 minutes through the Haunted House

Actor Performance: Actors all did a wonderful job. Very scary looking Clown this year.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow through attraction went well. Our group did not run into any of the other's in front or behind us, but we could hear their screams...

Appropriate Ages: 13 & up

Props / Special FX: Loved the Aqua-man character this year in front of the venue in the water fountain.

Costumes / Make-up: Great job with the characters and costumes this year.

Summary: We really look forwrad to visiting this Haunted attraction each year, and like that they change up the props, haunt rooms and characters each year as well. Looking forward to seeing what they come up with for next year. Was just a bit disappointed that the TV Monitors playing the old scary movie films were not used in the wait line this year when we attended. Would like to see this come back if possible. Was very entertaining the year prior & helped get you in the mood for a good scare in the Haunted House.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at