Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2011 Visitor Reviews of
Clinton's Terror on Washington Street Haunted House (Clinton, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
15 out of 27 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: insanefan   (Event Visited: 10/14/11 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very visible once you find Washington Street.

Wait Entertainment: This year Clintons Terror on Washing street eliminated their Line and got a digital board on the builing so you knew when it was your groups turn to go in the house. Very good idea. There was a man on the porch calling out your groups number in case you werent watching the board. Their is plenty to do outside at this event this year. A very entertaining place and is defently stepping up there we are an "event" status.

Length of Event: We spent nearly an hour at the house thie year. There were a few things to check out outiside of the house this year and an incredible monster walking around outisde on stilts. Very cool.

Actor Performance: The Actors inside this event know their roles very well. They are very effective and right on key with there roles.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow inside this house is very good. Did not run into another group unlike last year.

Appropriate Ages: No. I would say you have to be 12 and above to fully enjoy this event.

Props / Special FX: Many Props and Special FX were added this year. Things flying up and you and moving by electronics are very entertaing and give the house a since of intelligance.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make up are well suited for every room and every part inside this house.

Summary: My family and I really enjoyed our hour trip to Clinton this year. The house changed for a large part this year and seemed to have alot of thought and work put into it. On the negative side, the beginning room is very high-tech, but not in the least bit scary. A begining room in a haunted house should give you the eariest feeling ever and make you excited and nervous to enter the rest of the house. Talking heads kind of give you a "oh no, this could turn out lame" type of feeling. A begining room should really make you go "wow" this is going to rock! Im not sure what the room was supposed to be but there were skulls everywhere with two of them talking. The two talking skulls had huge eye balls and voices almost exactly the same. I was a hugely dissapointed with the first room, but the rest of the house changed my attitude quickly. Very impressive this year! Keep up the good, hard work! No more cheesy talking heads. Please?

20 out of 39 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/08/11 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in an old VFW building in the little town of Clinton. The event isn't marked at all and it can be hard to find for the first time, use the GPS and it's easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: A few monsters walk around the exterior, not too bad.

Length of Event: The event took us almost 20 minutes to get through, but this includes the intro and some slowed down pacing.

Actor Performance: The actors did a fair to good job, too many young children here - children just don't give the scare we need. Some event staff located where they didn't belong in the haunted house ??

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very very poor here (again this year) and no reason for this. The event didn't have large lines tonight and this should not have happened, we have to get better at this. With the event using some triggered events - these bottle necks destroy the timing and kills the effects.

Appropriate Ages: Take out the chainsaw man and I would say any young kids could handle this event.

Props / Special FX: Lots of standard props here but they do seem to work well, some are getting dated after I have seem them now for 10+ years. I would like to see more automation added to this event.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make-up do the job here, nothing too outstanding though - simple but effective..

Summary: This haunted house attraction has lost alot of it's pop and fear factor throughout the years - sad because at one time this was a very very hot spot for the scare! This events needs a complete face lift to bring back the big numbers of crowds again, the lines have went from thousand to hundred. The house has possibilities to get back to the glory days of yesterday but much work is needed. We all liked the white room with the strobes, and even I liked the elevator (even though every haunted attraction has one) but the little girl outside the elevator needs to disappear when the doors open - it damages the effect when you see her again at the next level. The event started very slow and dragged along until after the white room maze, then things seemed to get better - but bottle necks killed a lot of the effects and scares. I hope to see this event return to it's better days of high scare and large draws again.

17 out of 34 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: illusionist   (Event Visited: 10/14/11 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Terror on Washington Street is very visible once on Washington street. Street signs and blockades show you exactly where the event is.

Wait Entertainment: They had an awesome dracula outside this year with tents and other misc. things going on. Clinton had always had people outside entertaining but this year seemed stale. Only one guy outside.. However, he was huge... so i guess he made up for 2 men.

Length of Event: about 20 min.

Actor Performance: Usually the actors are on cue and ready to torment.. However this year was a bit stale. No one seemed to get into there atmospheres as much as years before.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Perfect

Appropriate Ages: Probobly not. I would say about 13 and up.

Props / Special FX: Props inside this house are awesome. Special effects seem to improve every year.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes are fairly good in this event except for alot of flanel button ups.. Not every monster can wear a flanel and fit the part. Certain characters need certain costumes.

Summary: Clintons Terror on Washington Street used to be the premier haunted house in the area, However, over the past two year has become a bit stale and repetitive. In my opinion-- Alot of the rooms seem to work the same way they have in years past. Alot of rooms changed this year, but the rooms that remained the same "literaly" stayed the same.. The monster came from the same spot they did last year and still didnt work. I have always beleieved that the first room in a haunted house should be the best. This year, once again clinton went with the talking heads to tell the rules. Kinda cool, Not scary. belong in a fun house. not a "haunted" house. the frank-nstein on a table room needs to go. Kinda cool, not scary. fun house material. People come to a haunted house to be scared, not entertained. On the positive side, clint had a ton of changes this year and really used lighting to their best ability. This white room with flashing lights and cool designs is AWESOME. best thing i have ever seen in a house. once again tho... no scare factor? We walked threw the whole hallways with not one scare?.?.?.? 
Clown room is really getting eary. They just need to work on being scary and not annoying. Good attempt this year. Worth the price. Will always come back, just hoping it picks up a bit next year.

15 out of 30 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: linus428   (Event Visited: 10/13/11 @ 6:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very good location. On one of the main avenues in Clinton. Plenty of parking.

Wait Entertainment: I had a private viewing so there was no waiting. There is plenty to see and do while waiting. Many costumed characters outside as well as inside.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actors really get into their roles. Very enthusiastic.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I was on a private tour but they have very good instructions and help to assure smooth movement.

Appropriate Ages: I wouldn't take small children.

Props / Special FX: Very good props. I was fooled by many of the props. Some looked very real.

Costumes / Make-up: They do a very good at makeup and costuming. They have a special group to help with this.

Summary: Many turns and levels that give you the impression that the haunted house is bigger than the actual size. Great lighting, music and clever props. I especially liked the crawl over the burning fires of h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored) Very effective and felt warm! The Frankenstine room was very well done. Table moved up and down. The tight squeeze room was interesting to say the least! Sort of childbirth in reverse. The elevator affect was great. They do a great job of keeping you quessing as to when actors and props will pop out. Very good use of strobe lighting and mazes. I highly recommend. Very good intogration of actors to displays. Things don't just pop out but are part of the scene.

18 out of 37 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/14/11 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find located right on Washington Street in Clinton. The street is marked off by baricades that should keep people out. Please people driving cars stay behind the baricades they are there for a reason.

Wait Entertainment: There was music playing outside. There was also 1 stilt-walker standing outside but he was more interested in talking to his friends. We were there for at least 20 minutes and he never moved from his spot. When we were in the ticket line you could see he was just hanging with friends.

Length of Event: Less than 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: I don't even know where to start on this one. Our first room after the "Rules Room" we did not even know if this was the right way to enter because there were two adults dressing in that room. We finally went in the room and one woman pointed and said look and the other woman in costume said "It's...(long pause)...It's Alive". The rest of the actors were not on cue or paying attention in any way. Only 1 actor seems creepy- the old woamn but then you looked down to see her bright tennis shoes.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This is an area that the house did a very poor job. Even at the beginning they said in the rules to count to 10 when you ran into another group. This never happened the group just ket getting bigger and bigger. At one point there was 13 or 14 people all shoved into the elevator. Even though we told the group behind us to wait.

Appropriate Ages: 8+, I did not see anything that would scare children. The chainsaw guy might have. I am not sure since our group was over 14 people at this point.

Props / Special FX: Some strobe lights and a few animatronics that were falling apart. Nothing too out of the ordinary.

Costumes / Make-up: I only saw a couple of actors that looked like they had dirt on their face and everything else was a rubber mask.

Summary: Clinton has always been a stop on our Haunted House tours but I think this year they might have lost us. Everything was off the mark, no scares. The house seemed to be the same they really did not change much. 
 
In the ticket line we told the ticket counter that there were 6 of us and since it was not busy we wanted to go in 3 and 3. When our number was called, which was a new feature this year, we found that they had put people in our group. They were not busy there was no reason for this. 
 
The price of $8.00 dollars was too expensive for the house. This was a $4.00 house at best. 
 
Please take some of the comments from this reveiw and the other reviews to improve the house. 
 
Better luck next year; but I would imagine Clinton will be off of our list for visits.

13 out of 27 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: haloweenroks   (Event Visited: 10/14/11 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located right in the middle of Washington street. You can see it from blocks away with the street signs blocking the road.

Wait Entertainment: This year they had a very large and cool vampire outside. He was walking around outside. He wasnt scaring anyone he was just walking around.

Length of Event: app. 25 minutes

Actor Performance: All of the actors know exactly what they are doing in this house. They perform perfectlty in there areas.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Ran into another group in the house. The first couple of rooms make you stop before you can move on. Probobly not a good idea and shouldnt be done because it ruins the rooms a bit for everyone else.

Appropriate Ages: I would say Junior High and above.

Props / Special FX: Terrors props and special effects are very good in this house. They seem to spend alot of time on there effects and special props and neglect the rooms a bit?

Costumes / Make-up: Make up is excellent. They must have a studio make up crew work in the house because all monsters and staff workers are very well made up.

Summary: This year I really enjoyed my trip through this house. Many levels in this house and they seem to make the most of there space. Alot of the rooms are lit in red blue and green and make the rooms all seem the same unless you pay attention to detail inside the rooms. Monsters are all on point and eager to scare you through the room. Alot of props were placed in the house this year, but i feel that alot of them were over looked. Too many rooms colors stay and the same and arent givin enough "pop". At one time we were being pushed into a freezer with a huge freezer door being slammed behind us, but i think I was the only person in my group that knew it was a freezer door becuz it was painted black in a dimly lit room. Should have been silver and pointed out a little bit more. Several things are like this in clinton house. They have the props and ability to be a great house they just dont use the most with what they are given. Great year over all. I really wish I had time to dedicate to a great haunt like this to try and give a few minor ideas and suggestions.

15 out of 33 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Morghain   (Event Visited: 10/08/11 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Although I had been there before it was easy for us but they might think of putting more signs out on the interstate. Also it seems to be much more open than last year

Wait Entertainment: You don't have to stand in line anymore. They call your parties number. Not a big crowd this weekend so it went quick. Every thing is new so I don't want to spoil the surprise but the guy with the saw is still there. When we were done we walked over to this big tent and they had a laser light show to music. ZZ top was the music to fabulous lights. For $5 Afterward I told my friends now that I know what it is I'd pay $10. The music was great so were the lights. It took about 20 minutes and it was nice to have other things to see. Also there was a guy doing Tarot readings. Also that's where you find the glo bands that's something I like for when I go in. I guess I'm abit of a chicken.

Length of Event: About 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Very good things were new so I got truly scared to death. Except for the saw guy but if he wasn't there I'd miss him

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very smooth but the weekend was slow so we were not on top of one another

Appropriate Ages: Teens and up

Props / Special FX: Great imagination this year. I could tell alot of work was done to make things different

Costumes / Make-up: Same guys in costumes out in the lot I would like to see some type of acting, or skits now we don't have stand in line.

Summary: I had a fun time with my friends. There is more to do now. There was also jewelry being sold in another tent and pictures being taking but there was no one there. We must have come too late. We plan on going back again before Halloween. Especially for the laser light show. Green and red patterns on the tent wall. You need to sit on the ground so don't wear white maybe take a lawn chair or a blanket. I did see the woman I think the Tarot readers wife is doing novelties bloody fingers, hearts and livers very gross. Fake of course Also you could use some new type of food. Maybe Pork chops or something like that. Oh I almost forgot how about somewhere to get out of the rain? That would be great. All in all I thought they did a great job.

11 out of 27 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: tonyastein   (Event Visited: 10/15/11 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not the easiest place to find when your not from the area but the website gave great directions. Girls Night out to celebrate a Birthday so the travel from Mahomet to Clinton gave us plenty of time to plan for the Haunt.

Wait Entertainment: It was cool that the change from our tickets were $2 dollar bills and assigned a Group number. The Main entrance, a TV with Haunt trivia and a TV near the exit (for those who could stick around after being chased with a chainsaw!)showing people inside the Haunt having the hairs turn gray or walking hugging the person in front (yes, that was me!). We were a human caterpillar. The best part is that you don't have to wait in line they had a visual showing the current group inside so you have an idea if you have to go the the bathroom one more time or eats. A couple ghouls hung around scaring us while we waited, keeping us on our toes and often the chainsaw was seen/heard coming out of the Exit area (we noted this on our way in for our escape plan). Very comfortable atmosphere.

Length of Event: It seemed to go on forever. I didn't time it but if I wasn't laughing I was screaming! I wasn't the ONLY one - everyone from our Group did the same. Even writing this review I can't help grinning.

Actor Performance: Wow, where do I begin. So many great actors but to be honest I tried to run as much as I could. There was not a corner to hide in and catch my breath anywhere. Everyone inside was scary but the lady in the elevator was pretty helpful and gave good advice but we didn't listen to her. We should have stayed quiet! I thought it was about done at that point but I was dead wrong! I really should have went to the bathroom one more time!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They kept Groups separated pretty well and told us to count to 10 if we caught up with another so we did and it worked.

Appropriate Ages: I wouldn't take anyone under 8 or 9 unless they are regular Haunters.

Props / Special FX: All excellent!! So much better than a few years ago - they have added MUCH since then. The elevator, tunnel, strobe room, squeeze tube separating doors are all new to me.

Costumes / Make-up: Most Awesome!! A combination of masks and paint. There were many I could tell if it was a prop or a real human until they came for us.

Summary: The best Haunt so far this year and topped my favorite from last year too. I still have to go to Paris, IL - they have an excellent Haunt there too. My favorite parts were the strobe (different than others, brighter and faster flashes), crawling tunnel, getting separated and holding on at the very end thinking I really need a bathroom. The plastic squeeze tube sure made us look like we had been electrocuted with our hair sticking straight up. Loved the point where we had to crawl - I started behind my Sister but ended up in front of her when we came out. Only because I positive I saw something coming behind me so I crawled over her so she could deal with it (he he). We went in as a Group of five, the Haunt separated us into 3 person and 2 person groups and then separated us again to 2- 2 person groups and a 1 person group (so glad I wasn't Shawneebear!) but somehow we ended up near the end about the same time. Then we heard the chainsaw. I don't know how but we did find a corner and think we nearly melted into the wall from sheer effort of will. But as you can tell I am still alive. Maybe, I'll go back next weekend and look for the others. 
 
Who needs a gym because we got our exercise for the day.

13 out of 33 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: alicia39   (Event Visited: 10/07/11 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The street is blocked so it's easy to find. Nice lighting and outdoor decorations. On a main road in town.

Wait Entertainment: Concession and lots of decorations. The building is decorated and music plays outside. This is the best part of the haunted house!!

Length of Event: 20 mins

Actor Performance: Ok. Could be better.Wish they would stay in character while all people go through. Sometimes silence is scarier than yelling in my face.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Another year of problems here. Every year this attraction has the same issue of running into the group ahead of you. I expect to wait so make it worth the 8 bucks and slow it down and let me enjoy the experience!

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: The white room was a cool effect and the elevator was nice too. The props felt familiar to anyone who has been to this attraction in the last few years.

Costumes / Make-up: Make up was good and the masks were nice too. I wish this attraction would change it up and use something new and fresh. I felt like I have seen all these masks from previous years.

Summary: This haunted house used to be so awesome but in recent years has fallen flat and this year is no exception. I first wanna mention that I watched their "sneak peak" video online and was already disappointed. The video only showed kids getting make up on?? What is that about? I figured I would get a sneak peak of the rooms and got nothing. OK, so the actual house itself. If you have been here before, it is pretty much the same as previous years. I do appreciate the MC at the beginning explaining the rules and building the suspense. Some rooms remain exciting while others seem stale and disappointing. Honestly the best experience at this haunted house is the outside wait. You get concession, music, wait entertainment and a general ambiance that other attractions are missing. I will skip this for a few years and see if it gets better. Boo

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at