Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com – Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2011 Visitor Reviews of
Dungeon of Doom Haunted Factory (Zion, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
35 out of 52 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: 10/09/11 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Rather difficult to get to from the south if your not from the area and it not well marked.

Wait Entertainment: small crowd for a Sunday early so I don't think the full crew was there. There were to clowns that were good not great.

Length of Event: 45 minutes

Actor Performance: They were all pretty good. For the most part they didn't have complicated parts so they did what they were suppose to do.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: You have several ticket options and picked the high one so we never had a problem until the chain link maze at the end.

Appropriate Ages: 10(brave 10) and up. we had a 10 year old in our group and he was fine.

Props / Special FX: Not quite I thought it might be but that have enough to put them in the upper class of high dollar haunts.

Costumes / Make-up: They don't ask a lot but they have is good. They don't do the really great make up for the most part but it doesn't hurt them

Summary: I liked this event better in the old location. It is basically the plywood maze with some nice rooms. We went for the single greatest attraction in the haunt world which is buried alive. it was half the size and half the event that it was before. I will say the outstanding feature was the 3D room and vortex. Next to the twin vortex at Spider Hill this one rocked! I kind of thought the price was a little high for the amount of stuff they had. I would expect that they will get bigger as the years go.

43 out of 69 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: dropap85   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/01/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in the history warwick bulding, it is hard to find if you dont have gps, but its a creepy bulding when you get there.

Wait Entertainment: There was a big guy, with a face on his stomach. He was entertaining, and a few actors inside... a pirate guy and a clown, both awesome makeup.

Length of Event: They have different priced tickets, but we did the ultimate package with buried alive.

Actor Performance: I been here for past four years, actors are usually really good idk if it was the first night or what but the actors broke character alot, the only cool thing we went into a bedroom and a guy came from the bed that was cool, but the actor wasnt ethusiastic, and alot of them broke character, and when we went into the 4d mercy hospital, the guy sending people in was rude and swearing at me cause I teased him, and the actors in the gerneral hospital were good, until we got into the morge area when I saw the actors in the corner talking on walkie talkies and not even paying attention to us, they could have been better.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They always do awesome in this area since there were six diff passage ways into the haunt. never ran into another group but it was a dead night when we went anyway.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: This is the category they did awsome in, alot of new props, and sfx, 4d mercy was awsome, more props beginning of house when they say ruled things drop from ceiling really cool.

Costumes / Make-up: They always do good in this category, makeup was realistic, excpecially i give props to the makeup artist doing the makeup in 4d mercy general, mad the characters blend in with the 3d panels on wall very awesome.

Summary: Overall, it was opening night for them, but them being ranked one of the top haunts, I wasnt very impressed this year, like I said, I been to this event the past 4 years, they really did an amazing job, i jumped alot, and actors stayed in character, and it was there opening night, this night I brought 6 people all girls who never ever been to the haunted house who didnt even want to come in, when they got in, they laughed the whole way, disappointing this year, cause they actors where breaking character, in the clown room, mercy general, and the room with all the barrels, and haunted houses there not allowed to touch you and out of all the rooms they had maybe 2 didnt touch us, but yeah, actors could of been better, but overeall special effects, makeup, and props always amazing, this house as a chance to be number 1, but they have alot alot of work to do.

21 out of 34 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: fumbles01   (Event Visited: 10/21/11 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Had to use my GPS. Needed more signs and lights.

Wait Entertainment: It was pretty good the pirate in the line was pretty funny. But the other line actors not so scary or entertaining. Plus i kept seeing them in other rooms of the haunt which is a bad sign. must have been short staffed this year

Length of Event: All together 45mins But take away 20mins cause you have to stand in another line for the hospital.

Actor Performance: Some were pretty good. The guy that tells you to get into line for the hospital part SUCKED he was a d**k (censored) to everyone. not cool. i feel bad to the parents that paid to have their kids learn some new words.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: crowded kept running into other groups. plus putting 10 people in a group at the same time kills the mood.

Appropriate Ages: 5 and up it was not that scary

Props / Special FX: pretty good i liked the 3d art and the rooms looked really good they just need actors in them to make it pop.

Costumes / Make-up: It was ok the pirate,and some of the line actors, and a few others had some good make up ... the eye patch guy not so good

Summary: I was expecting alot more from all the hype. i was stuck with high school girls and they didnt make a sound thats not a good sign. next year kick it up alot and get some actors that dont break their roles. I did like the Building and the design just amp it up. For the design you need more gore. for the actors some acting classes and how not to break character.i have been to DOD many years ago and back then it was pretty good. i think you guys need to go back to your roots. Bring back some of those characters they were really good from what i remember.

16 out of 34 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: rj1527   (Event Visited: 10/21/11 @ 11:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Coming from a hour north, we used our phone's GPS and it got us there perfectly. There were signs pointed to the house as well!

Wait Entertainment: We did not have to wait in line very long because we purchased our tickets online, however we were approached by multiple "characters" even in our short wait. They were both entertaining by holding conversations and they were scary, too! There was also a group picture of us taken beforehand!

Length of Event: My group of friends and I chose the "burried alive" VIP package. The house was about 45 minutes to walk through and had 3 different "parts". Not too long - but long enough to really get into it!

Actor Performance: The actors were always in character!! From the second you walk into the haunted house, you are greeted until when you leave (they were outside of the door.) They improvised well when needed and interacted with all of us. There were a few characters who were funny, too!! The had very detailed costumes and were acrobatic as well (on walls, staircases, etc.)

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow of the haunted house was very well organized. A group of friends went a few days before us and took a different route than we had. (There must be different scare rooms to get more people through.) At one point, I spent too much time in one room and one of the characters told me, "Run to your friends or you'll miss everything!" in a spooky voice - & she was right!! They kept us entertained the entire time. Never a moment where I was bored or thought, "when will this be over...?"

Appropriate Ages: I would say this is a great haunted house for those who are 16+ due to the nature of a few rooms - especially the 'hospital' part. It was too scary for small children.

Props / Special FX: The entire haunted hospital part was 3D which was a great added feature. Also, the 'burried alive' portion was well planned. Even though it was really scary - you had the feeling that it was still 'safe' to be a part of.

Summary: Driving a hour for this haunted house was totally worth it! Greeted right away by characters outside of the house/in line and getting our picture taken by a very enthusiastic girl really set the mood well before we were even in the house being scared! The special effects and surprises in the house set it apart from others. The 3D Hospital, the Burried Alive part, the interactive mazes, special effect 'grounds', movies, etc. The staff was very 'interactive' and personable (which added to the scare)! They would give you direction on where to go and really 'talk' to you instead of just coming around the corner yelling. The detail of the house was incredible. The paintings, specific structures, props - all very unique and well constructed. If someone is looking for a theatrical haunted house that is scary and worth the price - it is this one! We were even thanked for coming/driving a hour to get there after we finished the tour during our chat with one of the house's employees. Awesome time - really enjoyed it. A+!

15 out of 32 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: elwood1217   (Event Visited: 10/22/11 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This haunted house can be a little difficult to find, especially if you are not from the area. Certain streets are closed to direct traffic into the house, but we ended up needing to use a combination of a GPS and the directions on the website to find it. There are signs directing you but not until you are very close to the attraction.

Wait Entertainment: We arrived at the attraction 30 minutes before it opened to avoid long lines so I am unsure of any wait entertainment. When we were leaving it appeared that actors were among the crowd, and there are things to look at once you are inside of the building.

Length of Event: 45-60 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors did a really good job in this attraction. Only once did someone "break character". However this was only an actor directing patron flow, and it was just with two of us standing with her at the time. The actors at this haunt really get into their roles and make this a great experience.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There are several "checkpoints" throughout the attraction that help them monitor the flow of people.

Appropriate Ages: 16+

Props / Special FX: The rooms are very detailed, and the animatronics really added to the experience. Nothing looked out of place.

Summary: Every year I go to 3-4 highly-rated haunted houses in northern Illinois, and as a result it's hard for me to walk out of a place being blown away. This house blew me away.  
 
The factory that it's located inside really sets the tone for what is to come. The building is old and sets the "creep factor" very high. Patron flow inside of the attraction is great. At the beginning of the attraction (in the room where they explain the rules of the house) it appeared that they could send groups three different ways, which really helped flow of traffic in there. Checkpoints throughout the attraction helped to keep group size down, and at one point it was just my friend and me walking through by ourselves. 
 
Buried Alive was one of the best experiences in this place. I assumed it was going to something similar to other "Buried Alive" attractions at other haunted houses- basically a coffin-shaped motion simulator. Needless to say I was really taken by surprise with this one. I am not claustrophobic at all, but even I was a little uneasy after a while. Great part of the haunt! 
 
This house is a great value for the money. We spent $25 each to go in, but we were in the house for close to an hour. I've been to other haunts in the western suburbs and have spent $25 for 15 minutes. Well worth the drive up, and I plan on making this a regular stop every year.

22 out of 47 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: bigstick4u   (Event Visited: 10/15/11 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Fair. If you are not from the area it is a challenge to find without a GPS

Wait Entertainment: Excellent. The place was packed and there were tons of actors working the line.

Length of Event: 45 min with ultimate ticket

Actor Performance: Excellent..over the top...in your face!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Terrific. Only times I ran into groups were buried alive, mercy general, and the maze. I expected that though.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: DOD ALWAYS has some of the best props!

Costumes / Make-up: Top notch!

Summary: I rarely give haunts a 10, but this one deserves it. For $25 I got 45 min of haunted house. A truly great deal! The detail and acting put into this house along with the impressive props are head and shoulders over most haunts Ive visited.  
From the raucous hellevator...to the hanging heads where some of them bite you!....to the torsos collapsing on you, to the cockroach scene....to the renegade santa who made my friend jump....to the electric shock room...dont touch the walls!...... twists and turns ups and downs...a true workout. The clown room was cool, and the vortex disorienting. 
Buried alive was claustrophobic as ever, and Mercy 3d was very cool! The 3d or 4d effect did work well this time. Some years ago they tried this at their old location with mixed results. This year they nailed it. The maze was how a maze should be. NEarly pitch black with a strobe light flashing every 5 seconds or so, so you can see just enough. Of course the actors in the scene mess with you royally. Kudos to the tons of actors in this haunt for being spot on. Every room had someboyd in it. 
This house is worth the bang for the buck and I highly recommend it!

9 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Flash01   (Event Visited: 10/21/11 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Rather difficult to get to from the south if your not from the area and it not well marked... it was nice having our GPS

Wait Entertainment: SO,so .. had a few actors in line and loud tec-no music playing , not scary music .. wasn't good music to set the mood for me ...about 2 hours in line

Length of Event: 45 minutes . thats because you wait in line again at the mercy hospital

Actor Performance: Most of them were out of time and actors broke character alot & missed us in everyroom ... they might have been short staff that nite ...

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: SLOW ... they put you in a group of 10 and then all go in as a group thru the house and end up meeting more people in different area's of the house ..etc etc ...

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up ....

Props / Special FX: When waiting in line for the tickets it was cool and decor was great , I also liked the claustrophobic hallway and you had to crawl as it got smaller and the Watching a guy get his head blown off with a shotgun and getting hit with spray as the lights go out is one of the best , other then then that .. same old thing.

Costumes / Make-up: Pretty good I would say .. again need more scary stuff and gore

Summary: This was my 1st time ever there and all my friends that went in the past said it was good, for me you guys need more blood and guts and gore.But I did liked building location and how the building was layed out .. oh yeah when we went into the 4d mercy hospital, the guy sending people in was pretty rude and swearing at everyone .... no need for this crap. For the price, thats what the house's are going for now ... so i guess it's ok. I wouldn't go back to this house and I'm trying not to be mean here ... it just didn't live up to the stories I've about this place.

15 out of 41 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: fascino   (Event Visited: 10/22/11 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Slightly hard to find if not from area, gps would be a great help. Parking gets a little messy as the attraction gets busy, but plenty of control personnel. Old factory style building gives a great creep factor.

Wait Entertainment: Several actors working the crowd. They did a great job of picking their victims to scare, but also were willing to interact and have their pictures taken with non-screaming guests.

Length of Event: Ultimate ticket was just over an hour. Well worth the $25.00. Had to be one of the longest haunted houses I have ever been to.

Actor Performance: This was one of the areas that the place really shined. There was all the in your face you could ever want, without the excess screaming. The actors seamed very proficient in using body positioning/surprise (that hovering creepiness) rather than the old charge and scream.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good only ran into other groups at a few queuing locations. Buried alive: is done with multiple groups so l would expect this. Mercy general: this one bugged me a little do the 10+min wait, just standing in a line to split the groups back up again. Maze: expect to run into another group or six here, unless by some freak chance you never hit a dead end and get out on the first try.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: The number of visual props and animatronics is mind boggling; rooms are well thought out and fully decorated. Some of the automation is getting slightly dated and I saw a few that were broken.

Costumes / Make-up: All are well done professional looking costumes. Make-up was excellent and fitting for characters location in house.

Summary: Let me start by saying I am one of those people that never jumps or gets scared at haunted house, so I spend my time looking at the scenes. My scare factor rating is based on the other members of my group. 
 
For those of you that went the first year at this new location and like me thought “What happened to the old DOD?” well I can say they are back and better than ever.  
 
Now for the good: The whole industrial area location starts the creep factor. The haunted house itself is exceedingly well done using site, sound and texture. Gone are the days of hard rock playing at ear splitting levels with actor screaming in your face. There is no comparing with the sound and feel of the crunching as you walk through the roach room. Watching a guy get his head blown off with a shotgun and getting hit with spray as the lights go out is one of the best thing I have seen. The 3D/4D in Mercy general is fantastic, I recommend spending time to get a good look at the detail of the 3D art/murals. The actors are by far the best asset here, from what I saw they were able to move smoothly from one guest to another to get a reaction.  
 
The bad: Not too many of these. Broken animatronics was the biggest. Some of the golden oldies, anyone who has been before must remember the guy spewing into the toxic waste barrel, it broke my heart to see it sitting by the entrance not being used. Buried alive: I still remember the first year when you laid down, ever since they started having you sit to get more people in, the effect just isn’t the same. Mercy general : Having to wait in line again to space groups back out runes the flow. A couple of the transitions appeared to be back stage areas, almost like an after though just to get to a different place in the haunt.  
 
Summary: This is a great haunted house, the good far surpasses the bad. Even if you take your time walking through there is so much detail every were you look you’re never going to see it all unless you camp out in each room. There is just so much more to this haunt that I don’t want to spoil the experience.  

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright © 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at