Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2011 Visitor Reviews of
Fear City: A Haunted Attraction (Morton Grove, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
67 out of 86 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: HauntGuru   (Event Visited: 10/02/11 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There were small roadside signs staked into the ground, but none of them were illuminated, so they were hard to see in the dark. The building itself had a police car with flashing lights in front of it, so the entrance was easy to see.

Wait Entertainment: There was NO wait entertainment. In fact, I arrived at 6:45pm (15 minutes before the advertised starting time) and they didn't start letting patrons in, until 7:50pm.

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Should have given the actors some cloves, considering how "hammy" their acting was. In an attempt to make their characters real, most of the actors/actresses had overacted performances, which gave the whole production a "cheesy" feel.  
 
Those who tried to scare, failed. Just a hint... Screaming in someones' ear as they round a corner is not scary... it's annoying. Screaming and using an elevated volume in their voice seemed to be the order of the day for most of the actors. Sorry, that doesn't equal scary, either!  
 
Also, several actors were yelling "Get out!" or "Move it!"... Again, more annoying than anything else! I paid an outrageous $25 to get in here, I'll move how fast I want to! LOL.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Poor. Even after waiting an hour after advertised starting time to get in, there were still only 25 people in line... BTW, they tried to group two groups of five together, to go through the haunt. Why? It's not like there were many people in line. As for flow inside the attraction, there were some serious problems. About halfway through, my group ran into another group, then another group ran into mine.

Appropriate Ages: ALL.

Props / Special FX: Overuse of a loud snapping sound effect, with strobe lights. It got annoying after a while.

Costumes / Make-up: This was one of the only positive parts of the show. The costumes and make-up were very well done... very professional.

Summary: Those people looking for a "scary" or even a traditional haunted house will be disappointed. Fear City is VERY theatrical and they had some scene elements that were very professionally done (recreation of a Red Line train car and an airplane exterior). Unfortunately, there is more to a haunted house than a couple of impressive props. It is quite obvious that these guys have never done a haunted house before.  
 
I did, however, enjoy certain Chicagoland references... like creating a "Red Line" entrance and corridors. The whole Chicago Cubs curse scene was pretty funny, as well. There were many scenes throughout the attraction that were very realistically created. The problem is, there wasn't really anything that you could call "scary" in them or about them. These are things that I see in my every day life in Chicago.  
 
Some of the scenes were completely oversized and a real waste of space... Like the broken down car scene and the carnival barker scene... no doubt to fill that 40,000 sq foot claim they are using in their advertising. In this case, bigger doesn't always mean better, folks!!!  
 
There were some BIG missed opportunities in this attraction. They had a long hallway that had flickering lights and doors lining either side... but NOTHING happened. In the laundry room... the main actress in the scene ruined the scare for the girl in hiding. In the scene with the man watching QVC, surrounded by piles of purchased items... nothing happened in there, either!!! There were so many scenes with no punchline, I stopped counting after 10 or so.  
 
And considering how this event was hyped... Geez... seriously, I was duped!  
 
I was VERY disappointed with this event. And before anyone starts to complain about this review, let me clarify that I am not, nor have I ever been affiliated with a haunted house before. I am just a long time haunted house fan, who just needed to clear the air about his opinion regarding a new attraction that bit off more than it could chew and charged way too much... while giving their patrons way too little in return! After visiting Fear City, it is obvious to me, they are just another "Johnny Come Lately" trying to make a quick buck, which does nothing but give the entire haunted house industry a bad name. How sad!  
 
With all that being said... they had an admission price of $25, even though it was their first year. Seriously??? Apparently, these guys don't understand that you need to work your way up to that type of admission price. What are they going to charge next year??? $30? Honestly, I think normal haunted house fans wouldn't attend at half the price.

62 out of 93 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: bigstick4u   (Event Visited: 10/01/11 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not good. Off of two main streets but very little directs you to the actual street. The outside of the house is well lit however.

Wait Entertainment: 1 lady who I will elabaorate on in the revirew summary

Length of Event: 25 min of boredom!

Actor Performance: Crude to lousy!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There was nobody there. We didnt tun into anybody

Appropriate Ages: 5 and up

Props / Special FX: Decent. Some good props...but not utilized properly

Costumes / Make-up: Decent to good. Lots of generic face paint

Summary: PLEASE READ THIS REVIEW ENTIRELY! THIS IS THE WORST HAUNTED HOUSE IVE EVER BEEN TO IN 10 PLUS YEARS OF HAUNTING!!!!! Let me say this again.....THIS IS THE WORST HAUNTED HOUSE IVE EVER BEEN TO IN TEN PLUS YEARS OF HAUNTING!!!! 
I've been writing reviews for various haunts over the years on this site. I go to 5-7 haunts a year, and I have no allegiance to any of them, and I review them honestly. 
This haunt was a compplete TRAINWRECK. For starters you can buy the GA house for $25 or the VIP house which has a "peep show" for $35. I'm not paying $35 for ANY haunt so I skipped the peep show and dropped the 25 bucks and took my GA ticket and got in line. There was NOBODY in front of us, and a group of 3 teens joined us in line. AFter about 5 min waiting in line a large buxomed female/tranny? came up to my group, and made some strange(not in a good haunt way comments to my group, and the one behind...like "do you want eat me or the concessions" and "you look delicous" to the 15 yr old kid behind me. Again, there was nothing scary about this, it was more disturbing, but not in a good way. The music they were playing did NOT fit a haunt either. 
We seemed to wait an ETERNITY befor we were let in the house. They foolishly combined my group with the one behind us even though there was NOBODY there!  
After 10-12 mins of waiting we were FINALLY let in. You walk in to what looks like a run down redline station. Props for the original idea. You walk through a turnstyle to get to the train, but you are stopped by the guard. She stops the group and says "what are you doing here and where are you going" then she proceeds to make a "phone call" and holds a phony conversation saying things like "these guys can wait" and "see you at the motel". 
Then she lets you go through. That entire ordeal lasted about 2 mins and was completely ANNOYING, and added NOTHING to the house in terms of scare factor or atmosphere. What is the point of making you wait to walk thru the turnstyle, and hold a pointless converstion on a cell phone?!?!? 
Finally, we are allowed to walk to the train prop. A very cool and large train prop, but before we are allowed to walk on one of the actors screams "Hey A--HOLE who says you can board the train!?!?" Im not uptight about foul language, but is that really there best scare technique!?!? We are then allowed on the train, which turns into a hellevator like scene, a bumpy ride where the actor is screaming the rules and regulations but you cant hear a thing because the effects are too loud. 
Once you get off the train you start the house, and you go thru some very large rooms, as well as smaller chambers. The acting was TERRIBLE. That is when there were actors in a room! Many twists and turns led you thru rooms with nobody in them. A detailed abandoned car scene had a miss timed horn honk and one lousy actor jumping out at you. The slaughter house was almost too big and underwhelming at best.  
We have a scene with dolls hanging from a ceiling, and an actor doing her best to attempt to scare people with poor results.  
Another scene involves an older woman asking if you'd like to look at her sculputres, and a young girl pops out of a closest asking "have you seen my dog" This is supposed to be scary!?!? Then you walk thru an old mans living room, and the scare in that room was "dont block the tv". Pathetic. 
The bathroom scene was "cute" and was probably the only scene that I actually liked. There is a short dark maze near the end, but nobody bothers to scare you in it. One other interesting room, is an immpresicv laser light scene, but the one actor in there that pops out from the side is so NOT scary and unconvincing, it ruined the entire scene! 
I was so upset by this haunt, I almost asked for a refund. The seemed to try and copy Asylum Experiment with some of their scenes. This haunt..with its ridiculous $25-$35 price tag looks like a group of people who wanted to make a fast buck, and charge a lot of dough and NOT deliver, while laughing all the way to the bank. The hype and name dropping they advertise is a JOKE! Names mean nothing when you cant deliver! I literally got bored half way thru the house and looked at my watch which was QUITE VISIBLE since most of the scenes were TOO WELL LIT! You are better off going to the Skokie haunt for $8 and getting a cheap scare there! If you want to spend $20-$25 on a haunt go to any other attraction in the city. Those haunts know what they are doing at least! Shame on you "Lame City" for calling yourselves a haunt! REFUND!

60 out of 91 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: BIGGUN   (Event Visited: 10/01/11 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: On a side street, and there are flashing lights, but very little signange off the main roads

Wait Entertainment: none.

Length of Event: 25 min or so

Actor Performance: HORRIBLE and few actors in the haunt.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good. There was nobody there

Appropriate Ages: in the womb and up

Props / Special FX: A few good props and special effects

Costumes / Make-up: Average at best. Nothing stood out

Summary: LOL! I'll add a few more things to the first review posted.  
When I pulled in the lot I laughed at the 3-4 parking attendants they had directing me to my parking spot only to find 4-5 other cars parked there. I think they were expecting a HUGE turnout, and got NOTHING! The plain clothes people running the event seemed almost almost depressed if not concerned over the lack of people there. I guess a $25-$35 price tag is a REAL TURN OFF when you havent proven yourselves yet.  
The train prop is literally the size of a train car. But its almost a wasted prop because nothing really happens in it. There are some decent ideas in the haunt, but they fail to deliver. The hallway with the 5-7 locked shuddering doors is a neat idea, but shouldnt somebody pop out from somewheare for a scare?!? The bathroom scene complete with farting sounds was unique, and the silhouette of the girl taking a shower was definitely different.  
Nothing in the house was scary, the house was too well lit, and the acting was something a 1st grader could have done better at. Even the giant inflatables that most haunts have where you have to walk sideways to get through were white instead of black, destroying what little darkness was in the haunt. 
I felt a bit ripped off by the price tag. I had to laugh when somebody in parking lot screamed "this place sucks" when we were leaving. 
I'm sure some of their crew will register here and write how wonderful and scary the house is. Anybody who says that is LYING! This house did NOT deliver at all! At this rate this will be their first AND last year! It should be renamed "EPIC FAILURE NON HAUNTED HOUSE, BUT WE'LL TAKE YOUR MONEY ANYWAY"

31 out of 53 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: darkside   (Event Visited: 10/02/11 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/05/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Decent. Police car with lights flashing

Wait Entertainment: NONE! For a haunt this size there should be some!

Length of Event: Appox 20-25 min

Actor Performance: poor to fair at best.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The house was pretty empty so patron flow wasnt a problem

Appropriate Ages: 5 and up

Props / Special FX: Props were pretty good.

Costumes / Make-up: decent. Nothing spectacular

Summary: Overall, the haunt needs lots of work. Doors opened nearly an hour late, and people were leaving the line. Once in line it seemed like an eternity before we were allowed in the haunt. Seeing that nobody was there I'm not sure why the hold up. The props are pretty decent, the redline car, bathroom scene, and laser rooms are good. There is NOT much scaring going on, and the place is waaay to bright. I think I'll pass on this one next year unless they lower the price tag. Lots of potential....but it doesnt deliver!

23 out of 53 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: bsmith   (Event Visited: 10/14/11 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We followed the signs from Dempster and had no issues. Attendants helped with open parking spaces.

Wait Entertainment: N/A. We walked right in. The line was starting to build when we were finishing the haunted house.

Length of Event: 20 minutes or so.

Actor Performance: Pretty good. Some actors really embraced their role and did a knock-out job.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was fine. At one point we caught up to a couple of people who were moving really, really slow through the haunted house. We passed them without issue and didn't see/catch up to anyone else.

Appropriate Ages: A family-friendly haunted house that is appropriate for all ages.

Props / Special FX: Visual effects and props were over-the-top. A lot of time and effort was put into the various sets.

Costumes / Make-up: Make-up and costumes were great and very well done!

Summary: After reading a couple of scathing reviews online, I wanted to say I enjoyed Fear City in Morton Grove.  
 
My wife and I went to this haunted house for a fun evening out of the house. Am I a haunted house connoisseur like some people who have posted here? No, but I do like to have a good time. 
 
This was my first haunted house in awhile and I thought the costumes and set-builds were really well done and very realistic in an "apocalyptic kind of way." The train station at the start gave the immediate impression that "this is gonna be awesome!" And it was. 
 
My wife and I loved the variety of rooms and different characters. The make-up and costumes were unbelievable. My favorite part of Fear City was the "secondary scare," I guess I'll call it. After we'd walk into a room, we'd be halfway down the hallway or something and all of a sudden someone would come up behind us. Sometimes they'd yell, and sometimes they'd quietly follow behind us. Either way, I liked the part where we'd walk into a room, perhaps get that initial scare, and then a bit later someone is behind us, or my favorite, towards the very end, the head on the wall that dropped down after a few seconds. (Even the "tough girl" in our group jumped at that.)  
 
There was a nice mix of gruesome scenes with a lot of detail (like the hoarder in his living room piled with garbage watching dolls on the Home Shopping Network) and scary scenes (the meat locker, for example). One of the areas was a sequence of vertical black and white stripes and we had to navigate our way through the maze of rooms. I'm not one to get disoriented quickly, but the maze of rooms was certainly a challenge. (That was a room that my wife and I both said could have used something more, be it a fake opening that had a scary person on the other side, or some crazy thing chasing us down the corridor.) 
 
Overall it was an awesome experience. I do think it could have been a little bit scarier, but at what point do we have people constantly jumping out at us, so we can't really enjoy the various sets of the haunted house? The amount of actors, size of the space, make-up and different scenes were fantastic. I'd be curious what the final budget is, because the organizers obviously went all-out. And it shows.  
 
Well done.

14 out of 42 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: dropap85   (Event Visited: 10/25/11 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: it was in a old factory kind of buidling, it was hard to find unless you knew wher eyou were going, when you get closer you say cop cars guiding you to th parking lot

Wait Entertainment: there was no wait entertainment, but there place was dead, but there was one guy walking around in a top hat, with rats having people hold them that was cool

Length of Event: 20-25 min

Actor Performance: actor performance were good, but they could of been better,we got the vip peep show, that was interesting, actress in there was into her role, when you get into the house, some actors where very ethusiastic in your face really played there rolls good, some didnt, the clown room where the clown pooped up from the ballons good scare,

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: it was good, there was no one else there so didnt run into any group

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up

Props / Special FX: props were so and so, some parts you new had fake knives other, when they put two knives together they spark that was awsome, special fx, was awsome, the el train pretty cool, but during the shaking the doors open, and the big creater that came out of the wall very cool, and the rooms where so well designed and looked really awsome like it was really part of downtown chicago,excpecially with the bedroom scene and justin beieber pic in there

Costumes / Make-up: costume and makeup where good, def fit to there scene in the room

Summary: overall this house was better then i thought, i read the reveiws and was debating on if i should go or not, but honestly this is a fun, awsome hous ei jumped one, i dont jump very ofte, so i dont knwo why peopel talking abou tthis is a bad house, i an my group very enjoyed this, the scene in this house where awsoem and very detail so the alley to the el train and red line station, to the clock room was awsome, the actors can be more creepier, but the one that got me was, the dark maze and there was a glow in the dark pic on the chest and pooped out good scare just liek the clown in the ballons,  
 
 
i mean it was a overeall great hautn, i would def recommend it, scene awsome, actors need to do some work but this is there first year, next year they should be good, my only bad comment is, they need to be alittle more dirtier, it was to clean other then that, great job fear city, def goign to stop by next year to see you guys,

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at