Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com Ė Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2011 Visitor Reviews of
Asylum Xperiment Haunted House (Villa Park, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
26 out of 40 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: jakemitchell   (Event Visited: 10/08/11 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location is clearly visible as there are no other businesses near the site and there was a promotional van parked right in front with one of those dancing air-bag characters.

Wait Entertainment: The only wait entertainment was the security guys who wanded us. My guy very bluntly let me know how he felt about the new Sox manager due to the fact that I was wearing a Sox cap. For the record, I have never been wanded before entering a haunted house or a Sox game.

Length of Event: Probably around 15-20 minutes. It was a comfortable length. It definetly felt like you'd spent some time in the attraction without feeling like the event was dragging on. If you are the type of person who bases time in the event and quality on how much it costs, you won't be disappointed.

Actor Performance: There were some strong peformances here. Standouts were the twin girls in the Victorian hallway, a girl who climbs on a white fenced walkway, the clowns and counter girl at the gift shop, and all the actors in the car arena, to list a few. There were a few actors that seemed like they may have been new to a scene and seemed as though they were still developing or perfecting their styles and characters. But even their performances were noteworthy.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We went early in the season and late in the day so there were only few people at the attraction. We did, however, run into a group ahead of us at the pet shop but we also lost half of our group during the event and never saw them again.... It all evens out.

Appropriate Ages: It was not overly gruesome. I would guess and say 6+.

Props / Special FX: The animatronics were amazing. The pop-out ghosts and zombies were great because they fly right at you or over your head and seem as though they might actually hit you. The cloth and wrappings do actually brush your face so it makes you jump back wondering how close you were to actual contact. The props throughout the attraction were detailed and elaborate.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make up were very well done. Many characters had make-up that would change as the lighting changed such as when a black light was used. This allowed the actors to flip into a more aggressive or ghoulish character and give the patrons a two for one experience with them. Several actors had make-up used with prosthetics that deformed their face and added to the depth of their character design.

Summary: I am a serial haunted house goer and travel to at least 5 or 6 attractions every season. Suffice it to say, I have been to several haunted houses over the years, many through the guidance of this website. I would have to say that this haunted house was my personal favorite and I believe it to be among the strongest I have experienced. The level of planning and design that is apparent in this attraction is a testament to creativity and dedication of Dave, Mike and their hard working, enthusiastic actors and staff.  
 
The haunt begins with the typical speech from an actor letting you know what you can and cannot do while inside. There is a blackout scene that includes what the crew calls "the Blender" or a dead end wall that rotates. My group got seperated as I moved ahead and they got lost and wound up returning to the entrance. I had to go back to get them to get us back on track. The blackout was not a complete blackout because you could see somewhat if you looked at the ceiling, which is what the actors told my lost group to get them on the right path when they re-entered. The haunt trails around through different scenes including a morbid pet shop, a force feeding scene, a Victorian hallway filled with locked doors and a pair of ghoulish sisters, a life sized toy room with giant Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, a snowy TV room, a Frankenstein lab, and a gift shop scene with a surprise twist. There are several other scenes but I don't want to give everything away. Most scenes were detailed and well put together. I was startled by props and actors consistently throughout the attraction. 
 
Suggestions I might have would be to add a second scare or actor to the TV room. Definetly add another actor to the white fence maze, entirely black-out the blackout maze (I personally feel it adds to the disorientation although I did speak to the actor who runs that scene and he mentioned that it was brought up to completely black it out and that idea was turned down because it slows patron flow.) and add some sort of foot/ankle floor effect so as people walk it feels as though something is moving on the floor or grabbing your ankles. I would also cover the ceiling there were areas where the ceiling was uncovered and it took me out of the moment because you could see the arena ceiling. These things were minor overall because the attraction was very well done and gave me a great scare for my money. 
 
After going through this attraction for the first time, I was so impressed by the level "visual sleight of hand" and flawlessly integrated scare tactics that I had to go right back in for another round. When I eagerly professed this to the ghoulish house greeter, she immediately put me in contact with Dave who graciously gave me and my friend a tour of the house to see behind the scenes and allowed us to meet with the rest of the staff so that we could share our excitement about the haunt. We capped off the night by spending some time with the crew in the upstairs lounge until 2am. It was a great night. Thanks to everyone at Asylum Xperiment. Great job this year.

24 out of 39 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: HauntGuru   (Event Visited: 10/14/11 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This haunted house is fairly easy to find, since it is at the Odeum in Villa Park. There have a bright backlit haunted house sign at the entrance.

Wait Entertainment: This was pretty good. While there wasn't a huge line, they still had a couple of actors spooking the customers. There were a couple of vendor booths near the line area and a few tombstones near the entrance.

Length of Event: Around 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: This haunted house had a combination of acting styles. In the dark maze, there were some actors doing pop-outs. In the other part of the house, there were some theatrical characters with scripted lines. They were pretty creepy, although some were almost too low-key.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: My group ran into another group inside the house. Hidden exits inside the house spaced groups out pretty well.

Props / Special FX: Amazing! They really excelled in this area. The detailed scenes were outstanding. Great lighting, sound fx all around.

Summary: Wow, the Asylum Xperiment was a great time. Again, the detailed scenes really set this event apart from a lot of others. You were constantly weaving in and out of different themes... The shaking elevator was fun and I really liked the study, graveyard, room of doors, pet shop and others.  
 
The detail, lighting, sound effects and actors all contributed to the creepy feel of this haunted house. They really stepped up the set design since last year.  
 
My personal favorite was the Frankenstein scare. I had never seen that before inside a haunt. The girls in the doors room were bouncing off of the walls. Great job! The tall guy in the study really creeped me out, too.  
 
Another great job by the Asylum Xperiment! Keep up the great work!

14 out of 26 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: iammrk   (Event Visited: 10/23/11 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It is a little hard to find. One you are on the street the signage is good.

Wait Entertainment: There was a video playing showing an old horror movie. Not too long of a wait to get in though on a Sunday night.

Length of Event: It took us about 20, maybe 25 minutes to get through Asylum Xperiment.

Actor Performance: The actor performance was fantastic. I have to give some serious credit to the two ladies in the door room that have quite the transformation during the show. I was trying to talk to them about what they did in the scene. They never broke character and really kept driving me through the room. AWESOME acting job!! I should also call out the guy in the story/ intro room for Asylum Xperiment. He did a great job setting the mood for the event!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great patron flow, we never ran into anyone else.

Appropriate Ages: I would say over 12

Props / Special FX: Asylum Xperiment has more unique props than any other event I have been in. The place is just full of things that make noise, things that pop out, lasers, smoke, things that move, a wild Frankenstein show. Really this place is bad a@@ as far as their props and special FX go.

Costumes / Make-up: The two girls in the door room have amazing makeup on. Other than that there were quite a few good makeup jobs, but not a lot of great makeup jobs. Now I am saying that as someone who loves horror / spfx makeup. Their makeup was amazing for a haunted house. But as good as this show was, this was one area I think they could step up their actors in. Make the actors look bad a@@, and they will feel / act bad a@@. Granted, I NEVER saw a single mask in there. So this was like 100 actors done up in makeup. It was a great job for the massive number of actors in this event.

Summary: This was second year going to Asylum Xperiment. I actually make a special trip from Normal Illinois each October to check their show out. This place really is good enough to justify a two hour drive and 30 minutes in a line. The show is absolutely one of the best I have ever seen. The sets are amazing. Some of the rooms are just crazy, I mean crazy full of things. You snake through this place on like a never ending path. It just goes on and onÖ it might be 30,000 sq ft but the place feels huge. It was just room after room, then you thought it was over and there was like 10 more minutes of this place. The Frankenstein room was awesome. The graveyard is one of the best sets I have seen anywhere ever. Just a freaking cool set. The actors were giving stellar performances across the board. This show ROCKS, no question. This is one of the best shows I have seen in Chicago, ever. If there is one thing I can say I didnít like, it is the first event that is the black maze. That is just me. I seem to find my way through a maze quickly. I think I ruined the event for the people who were in front of us, then trailed my group as I just walked through the maze. It was pitch black, well-acted, and one heck of a cool event. Just keep us maze rats away for the other people who canít find their way out of those places. As a parting thought I want to repeat how impressed I am with Asylum Xperiment. This event is one of, if not the best in Chicago. The only reason I donít say itís the best is that I have not been to them all. For me, this is the place I drive two hours to see the show. It is that good. Make the trip, you will not be disappointed. I left laughing my a@@ off at all of my freaked out screaming friends. THAT, is why I go to a haunted house. And Asylum Xperiment delivers!!!  
 

12 out of 23 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: colie   (Event Visited: 10/28/11 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Its right off of Villa Ave just half a block North of Rt 83. They had it very well lit, and it was very easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: They were really good. At one point one of the zombies started to do Thriller when it came on over the speakers. The line entertainment was also very good about sneeking up on you when you were not paying attention

Length of Event: It took us about 20-25 min to get through it, we were walking pretty slow though

Actor Performance: The actors were great, never broke character at all. I was very impressed. And they definitely knew how to sniff out the scaredy cats

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They did a really good job of this too. they had "waits" that didn't even feel like you waited cuz there was so much to see...

Appropriate Ages: Id say a brave 13 year old could make it through, but I probably wouldn't go any younger.

Props / Special FX: OMG these were amazing. The timing was great and they really did make the room. This haunted house as so many FX to offer, you really need to take your time to enjoy all that they have to offer

Costumes / Make-up: The make up was very well done... i didn't see too many lame faces with just blood on them... it made you believe the zombies were zombies and the vamps where vampz

Summary: I was only able to attend three houses this year, and this one was by far the best. You could tell they took great care in each room. The detail in each room really helped make the scare.  
 
They had some really great rooms where in other hands it could have gone very very wrong, however they played it up so well.  
 
WARNING there was one room where i thought i was going to throw up. Just the thought of what they were doing and uggghhh eating, made my stomach turn.  
 
The ending of this haunt definitely does not leave you wanting for anything. Horror, gore, scares, comedy... they had it all.  
 
Again you really need to take your time in this haunt, it is very worth it.

25 out of 48 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: bigstick4u   (Event Visited: 10/08/11 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not bad. Signs lead you to the location. Its in a HUGE structure as well.

Wait Entertainment: Not sure. We had VIP tix at a discounted price( thanks asylum xperiment) and we went thru a special entrance so I dont know if there was any wait entertainment in the main line.

Length of Event: appox 25 min.

Actor Performance: Terrific. In your face and over the top, and timed right!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Super! Never ran into another group!

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: Top notch! Some of the best fx you'll see in a haunt!

Costumes / Make-up: A+ Great make up and costumes!

Summary: I was at this haunt last year, and liked the haunt and props, but thought the acting was poor. This year they have corrected that.  
The first part of the house is the blackout. Several series of dark passageways with actors popping out and screams from coming all around. This is a DEFINITE improvement of last years black out. You then go on a hellevator, which is a bumpy light flickering elevator. Better than most haunts that have one of these. Many scenes are the same as last year, but have improved scares that are really in your face and over the top. The props are some of the best Ive ever seen in a haunt, and the detail in each room is absolutely tremendous! The hillbilly scenes are excellent, and have some humor as well.  
The guy eating crap out of the toilet and flinging some at you was gross but awesome, and the Franksteins monster has a hidden surprise for you. 
The pet store scene was awesome, with his caged creature! 
A real top notch haunt from the Asylum Xperiment. This IS what a haunt should be. Seeing that other haunts charge the same or more, and DONT deliver...this haunt delivers the goods.  
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!!

12 out of 24 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: bobkat   (Event Visited: 10/16/11 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Great location at the Odeum. This is a huge venue, like a mini-Allstate arena or United Center, with plenty of parking, easy to see from the road, near major roads (North Avenue & Route 83) so overall very convenient with no parking hassles, etc.

Wait Entertainment: Some interesting old movie footage was playing on a large screen/wall in the waiting area. Also a fairly creepy dude carrying and beating a bone was walking throughout the waiting line providing continual entertainment with our group. There were a few other actors as well making our wait time go very quickly. This was probably the least impressive part of the experience which in the scheme of things was a non-issue. In addition, there were a few vendor booths along with food & drinks available as you entered the wait line, so we enjoyed a beer while we waited as well. A definite plus not found in most other haunts I've attended.

Length of Event: The initial house (Blackout) seemed to go fairly quickly, maybe 10 minutes, although the dark factor tended to keep us moving steadily. The main attraction, The Asylum was probably 20 minutes, with each scene containing so much detail, it could easily have taken longer just to take it all in.

Actor Performance: I attended this haunt last year and the acting was good, but seemed to be rather new and inconsistent. This year, they seem to have spent a great deal of time with the crew as they all seemed much more effective and stayed within their roles and characters. In particular the girl in the attic scene, the guys in the initial library scene as you enter, and the bride in the graveyard were standouts.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The patron flow was never an issue. We seemed to have plenty of time to soak in each scene without any issues of running into groups in front of us or behind us.

Appropriate Ages: I'd say 12 or 13 and above

Props / Special FX: My absolute favorite part of this haunt and definitely where these guys excel. Every scene was created with almost an overwhelming amount of detail. Where do they get all of these gadgets and cool stuff? They actually had a broken down old camper in one scene, all kinds of electronic welding equipment, a junkyard type scene with all sorts of demolished cars, a semi-truck, and some unbelieveable props that launch at you. Stuff I've never seen before so possibly building it all custom? One of my favorite memories is the elevator experience which was new this year. However they did it, it feels as if you are traveling up many floors within a building along with a runaway effect that left me feeling disoriented for a few minutes after. Amazing!

Costumes / Make-up: I thought the costumes and makeup were consistently outstanding. From the entertainment in line prior to entering, through to the end, it's obvious they have some seasoned make-up artists and designers on staff.

Summary: The Asylum Xperiment is one of my all time favorite haunts mainly because it goes way beyond simple scares, blood and gore. There is plenty of this as well but not overdone. It's a great mix of keeping you in a state of awe, admiring the detail in each disply and then BANG, you're hit with a scare or something unexpected. For me it's the "awe" that makes it AWESOME. Many of the sets had a smell about them that made them even creepier - the attic scene and the graveyard in particular. The attic reminded me of an abandoned old house on our farm as a kid and the graveyard had the perfect dank, mossy smell that completed the overall feel. It's definitely an outstanding show and must-see event! 

20 out of 41 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: bumblebee   (Event Visited: 10/13/11 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There are lots of signs and it's a huge building, so you can't really miss it.

Wait Entertainment: We were in the VIP line, so we were able to walk right up. But there was this menacing butcher type guy who was invading my husband' personal space.

Length of Event: about 20-30 minutes

Actor Performance: Very good. Pretty much everyone stayed in character the entire time and were convincing. As someone else mentioned, a lot of the actors are adults and it makes them much more convincing.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great! We never ran into another group. The actors did a good job of keeping things moving.

Appropriate Ages: I would guess 10-12+, it wasn't too gruesome.

Props / Special FX: Awesome! I was actually the group slowpoke, because I was trying to see all the detail and take it all in.

Costumes / Make-up: Again, really great and detailed.

Summary: I LOVED this haunted house! There was so much attention to detail and it shows that the people who do produce it really love what they do. We got the 2 for 1 VIP deal (Thank you!), so we entered the VIP entrance which sets the mood with this great long, dark hallway. The blackout area had some great scares. The Hellivator was so fantastic. It does a good jobs of disorienting you. Like I said above, the attention to detail is excellent and I kept wanting to go slower to take it all in. I loved the giant toys (and the girl who said, "She looks like Barbie!" to me LOL). The hillbillys were great, too. But to me and my husband, the stand-out area was the doors. The actresses in that room were so good! Very creepy and it seemed like no matter where I turned, they were there. And the CLOWNS! OMG! The clowns nearly gave me a heart attack. There were a couple of rooms that could have had a little more going on. The hospital room had great potential, but the actor just said something like, "Need a bed?" or "Room for one more" or a similar line, rev'd his saw a couple of times and that was it. It looked great, but fell a little flat. The kitchen also looked great, but didn't have that much happening. But overall, it was a great time. My husband isn't really a haunted house fan and even he had a great time. When it was over, I think we both wanted to go through again immediately. We definitely will be back next year !!

16 out of 33 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: marv58   (Event Visited: 10/08/11 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: First time at this haunt visible from the road, large building with spot lighted cars in the front. Kind of confused on the parking most places have attendants, not here, just park where you please.

Wait Entertainment: I arrived at about 8-830 pm there were about 20 people in line. I think there were two actors walking about. More security and concession people than actors.

Length of Event: 25 Minutes

Actor Performance: Most actors with lines or major roles were on key. However, most of the pop out scares were off in terms of timing.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: A++++++++ in this department, this was the first haunt in two years where I NEVER saw another group! My group walked really slowly throughout the entire haunt and never ran into another group. Great job in this department.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Best I have seen!! Simply put, this is where this haunt SHINES. Great job to detail. From the props, to the sets visually one of my all time favorites.

Costumes / Make-up: On par with some of the better haunts I have seen. A few plain actors but for the majority everyone was themed well with the room they were in.

Summary: This was my first haunt of the season. I did not get the privileged of attending this haunt last year (not enough weekends in October :() and I wish I would have.  
I went with my girlfriend and we were to be the first two in the start of a new group, followed by another group of three behind us. They wanted to stick another five people with us, but with a simple plea from us five they allowed us to go in just us five, so thank you for that. 
 
The initial scene is a quick rules and regulation before you enter the "blackout" portion of the haunt. This was my least favorite part of the haunt. The area was not very dark and we navigated right through the entire section, not hitting a single dead end. They did have a rotating section of the room which was great but the wall moved rather slowly and we found ourselves bored waiting for it to rotate. The only other complaint in this section was there was not a single actor in the entire blackout area. Not sure if they were short staffed or not but I was expecting at least a pop out scare or two. 
 
Now on to the main section of the haunt. You start out with a hellivator which was very well done, nice lighting and movement. From here on out it seemed every room was highly detailed. Areas ranged from a bathroom scene,kitchen scene, toy room, an area where a seance was being conducted and many others. 
 
I will highlight a few favorites. The tv room was very well done, could have used an additional scare, but great original idea. The multiple door room was also one of my favorites, with some very good actors in this section. The hillbilly room was great, once again very nice use of props, the actors did very well in this area. Unfortunately after reading a few reviews from last year I was already spoiled with the trick ending part, but it was still fun non the less. 
 
Overall my girlfriend and I had a great time. Only downfall, would have been most of the actors were trained to scare the begining of the group, which was great for my girlfriend and I but I felt bad for the three behind me. Most pop out scares were terrible off timed, and mostly ineffective. Im sure this will improve over time. 
 
Please keep up the great work, if this isnt a top three haunt this year I will be shocked. 
 
A must see haunt for just about all ages. Not the greatest with scare but overall entertainment value this is a top notch haunt.

11 out of 23 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: chelebella   (Event Visited: 10/23/11 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find, with or without a GPS. Brightly lit signs and parking.

Wait Entertainment: In line, they offered palm readers (for a fee) and had wandering actors both doing the usual spooks, but also interacting with the crowd. It gave me a chance to preview the awesome makeup and costumes that was to come inside.

Length of Event: The start to finish for our group was about 30 minutes.

Actor Performance: One thing that set this haunt apart from others I've been to was the passion the actors seemed to have for what they were doing. No one just stood around, trying to look scary - they all did their thing, and their thing was unique in almost all cases. You expect the usual dudes jumping out the the darkness screaming or wielding chainsaws, but they had some really well thought out scenes here that made me feel more like I was in a movie, or a REAL haunted house. The acting really contributed to the coolness factor all around.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The haunt moved well and I was impressed with the way patrons were moved from room to room (doors flying open, things moving away to allow access where none was possible before, etc.) I could tell a lot of thought went into the movement of the people through the haunt. They even added a few surprises (which I won't mention specifically here, so I don't spoil it for people who haven't been yet).

Appropriate Ages: over 13

Props / Special FX: The props, sets and special effects are what really makes this haunt unique. I have never seen sets so detailed and intricate. Truly, it was like being on a movie set (and I used to work in the movie industry, so I've been on a few!) Every room was full of amazing things to look at and maybe that's my only complaint here - just not enough time to linger as long as I would have liked to see everything.

Costumes / Make-up: They do a great job with the makeup too - very realistic looking and the costumes were terrific. Again, not just the same old dudes in black. NICE!

Summary: This is probably one of the best haunted houses I have ever been to. From the entertainment in line (and the bar you can go to - if you are of age, of course), to the scares, it was one thrill after the next. What sets it apart are a few things: 
 
The quality of the sets, makeup and costumes, the well-thought-out scares for the most part unique to this haunt, and the imaginative, intricate, scary detail of everything that all add up to make you feel like you are in a real haunted house or inside the scariest movie set you could ever imagine. 
 
Overall - awesomeness! I'm going back this weekend.

13 out of 31 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/21/11 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, signs mark the event good. Large building with lighted sign.

Wait Entertainment: Very good wait entertainment here, monsters walking the lines and do a great job. Concession stand with good food and reasonable here.

Length of Event: We took almost 25 minutes to complete this event, nice length here. The waiting lines do get large here, so start early.

Actor Performance: The actors all done a great job, everything was on time and the cue was perfect here - a joy to see. I only noticed one event that was off timing, but it still was enjoyable.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow slowed down several times here and there, but no real bottle necks to speak of. Everything went off good for an event of this size.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 10 and older. There is some in your face scares here and they do a great job pulling these off.

Props / Special FX: Lots of great sets here, some standard stuff with added custom effects gives the haunted house a great overall look and effect here. The automation props are very good and have lots of pop behind them, very nice touch here.

Costumes / Make-up: The make up and costumes were perfect here, no cheap masks. Everyone looked very good and stayed on their mark.

Summary: Our first year here and we were surprised at the event, this is one of the best haunted houses we have attended this year and maybe ever. Everyone was perfect with the character and never broke character, some younger people here but it worked great. These people are focused on giving you the best scare and it shows, everything was great throughout the attraction. The elevator effects were well done and enjoyable and yes even fun. Lots of "visual effects" here and they looked great! This is a state-of-the-art haunted house and it doesn't get any better. Looking forward to next year already.

8 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: katebai   (Event Visited: 10/15/11 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location was well lit and easy to access. Parking lot area is quite large, so no issues with wait time for parking spot.

Wait Entertainment: They offer a Big Screen & movie projection of old classic scary movies & videos, like Michael Jackson's Thriller, for those waiting in line. We elected for VIP passes this year, so we actually bypassed the Waiting area this time.

Length of Event: About 20 minutes

Actor Performance: All of the Actors did a great job. Loved the Asylum entrance actors & dialog after the elevator attraction exit

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Our group went through the attraction without encountering others in front or in back of us, but we could hear their screams...

Appropriate Ages: 13 & Up

Props / Special FX: Awesome elevator attraction this year for the entrance to the Asylum; very cool. Lots of new, creepy Haunt Room attractions this year.

Costumes / Make-up: All of the character's costumes and make-up were fantastic. The character's make-up & costumes in the Kids Room was way creepy.

Summary: We really loved this Haunted attraction this year, and actually are going back again on October 29th with more friends and family. All of the Actors and Haunt Room attractions are great, and each room flows well with the Asylum theme this year. The best is the new Elevator entrance to the Asylum, and the Asylum workers that greet you afterwards if you survive...Ah, Hah, Hah...LOL This year we bought tickets in advance online and elected for the VIP Passes. Our wait time was only about 5 minutes for our scheduled time slot. Overall, we thought this attraction was great and that all the Actors did an excellent job this year.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright © 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at