Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2011 Visitor Reviews of
The Scream Haunted Adventure (Decatur, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
14 out of 28 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: gypsyls   (Event Visited: 10/07/11 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The haunt is easy to find off of a major road with plenty of signage and a flashing arrow.

Wait Entertainment: Two characters with chainsaws, a zombie bride collecting email addresses and an actor playing a hard of hearing ornery old man. All were very good and stayed in character.

Length of Event: about 30 minutes

Actor Performance: We could tell there were several seasoned haunters in this house. They stayed in character, waited for the right moment to pounce, and played the role associated with their scene instead of just yelling a generic "arrgh" ... standouts include the actors in the crashed airplane and old west room.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did not run in to any other groups while in the house. Actors seemed to know when to stop messing with us and get our group moving to the next room.

Appropriate Ages: 12+ ... some of the scenes might give younger kids nightmares

Props / Special FX: Several great items here including thunder and lightening, two vortex tunnels, a generously sized crawl (big enough for a large adult), a squeeze hallway, and an announcer with great creepy voices that you could hear throughout the house.

Costumes / Make-up: A good mix of make up and masks. Nice make up techniques used to create cuts, scars and what looked like stitches on some actors. I loved that most of the scene characters had actual costumes vs. black robes. Most of the costumes were definitely not of the "buy off the rack" variety and actually looked like someone put some time in to creating them. The masks that were used were a mix of haunted house standards like Saw and Jason ... with others that were creepy and unique like the pot-faced alien thing that opened the door.

Summary: My group was very impressed with how well organized and pulled together this haunt was. The old warehouse building is a great creepy location, and the scenes / overall build was nicely developed. Actors were on cue and supported nicely with impressive costumes and make up. I'm glad we went early (8pm) because the lot was filling up by the time we left. I wish we could have stayed longer to go on the ghost tour, maybe next time. I definitely recommend this house to both novice haunted house spectators and haunt connoisseurs. Although this is a fundraiser for a nonprofit, these folks are definitely not amateurs.

9 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: bozo   (Event Visited: 10/22/11 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: on one of the main streets across from long john silvers

Wait Entertainment: chain saws / a movie and actors

Length of Event: 30 mins

Actor Performance: very good actors worked very hard

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: had a scared group ahead of us that caused a traffic jam

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: cool airplane/vortex tunnels one went one way the other went backward/crawl was cool and the saw room

Costumes / Make-up: lots of makeup /some masks/ actors looked good

Summary: overall really enjoyed this haunt they put out a strong effort to scare you from the minute you leave your car till your back in it .The haunted house was really good and the haunted warehouse was very interesting I liked that it all was in one location and we got some awesome pictures from the basement very scarey and real.The $20 was well worth the price for both events I would highly recommend it although you can buy tickets for either event.The basement warehouse tour would not be good for children its a very dark flashlight tour with people taking pictures in the pitch dark very interesting figures show up on some pictures a must see.

17 out of 37 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: alicia39   (Event Visited: 10/01/11 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/05/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Same location as last year so easy to find. Decorations and signage on the main road make it easy to find. Lots of parking and police security in the dark parking lot.

Wait Entertainment: Two clowns with chainsaws chasing patrons from their cars toward the entrance. Very fun!

Length of Event: 30 minutes or less

Actor Performance: Most actors were either "overacting" or not doing anything. We were a group of 4 and once two of our group were in a room the action stopped. No commitment. Costumes looked real and make up was superior to years previous.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never once ran into another group. We got lost in the meat locker room and the "Saw" room but the actors showed us how to get out. We were happy that there was a bypass for patrons who don't wanna crawl through the dark tunnels. A nice option for handicapped or older patrons.

Appropriate Ages: 12+ might be too scary for little ones even with the lights on. There was several disturbing scenes like the guy sewing a skin suit that a child might fear even in the light.

Props / Special FX: One room is meant to resemble a downed aircraft like on the TV show Lost. Two vortex rooms make patrons very dizzy, the suffocation room is unique to this attraction. I have never seen it anywhere else. Most props were of good quality except the jail cells. Those scenes were cheesy fake and not scary.

Costumes / Make-up: The make up was well done. The passengers on the downed aircraft were a stand out for me. Most of the masks were typical and have been done before scream,saw, jason, freddie ect.Few impressed us for being unique and scary.

Summary: I attend this haunted attraction ever year since this is in my hometown and last year I couldn't say enough about how great it was but this year it disappoints. I was expecting more and it never came through. No first scene directions from a MC just let you in and go. Not many thrilling actors who jump out and scare you. Most actors were under acting and out of character before the 4 of us made it through the room. Few rooms impress such as the vortex and the downed airliner, the Ed Gein scene, the scary dark crawling tunnels and the suffocation room. I did appreciate that there were no long dark, feel you way through tunnels and no bug room. There was an adult worker who asked us our opinion on the way out since it was early in the season. Things may get better with feedback. Overall we were disappointed but still enjoyed the experience.

14 out of 31 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: 131313   (Event Visited: 10/15/11 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Signs were very easy to see. Good parking with lots of security.

Wait Entertainment: Was great, chainsaws and they had a smaller kid that just scared the daylights out of ya

Length of Event: 20 min

Actor Performance: The actors were great you could tell these werent thier first year.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we never got hung up once the flow was great

Appropriate Ages: 8 to adults

Props / Special FX: The props were good I liked the fact that I have went every year and it is always different Loved the Plane scene

Costumes / Make-up: there was more make up this year than last which impressed me You can see improvements every year. i can see this haunted House becoming very famous

Summary: This is a must see. it is well worth your money. The plane wreck was my favorite. They have an awseome crawl with twist and turns which made it more fun. They also have a western room that just scared me to death. A double jason room who would have thought !! they had a dead roller derby scene which was very unique and definitly unexpected. This house always has something very different than most not only do you have your famous halloween characters, like jason, withces etc but you have a new adventure every year. I am never diappointed when I visit the Scream  

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at