Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2011 Visitor Reviews of
Realm of Terror Horror Experience (Round Lake Beach, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
13 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/20/11 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, parking attendants with good parking and lighted safe area, but that's where it ends - nothing scary about a business parking lot. No haunted effects for mood, nice bar area for waiting, but little else.

Wait Entertainment: A few characters working the crowd, but nothing too stand out here. You have to use the bar area to keep yourself entertained.

Length of Event: We took about 20 minutes to compete the attraction, the maze gives some added length to the event.

Actor Performance: Actors all done a great job, no problems here at all, on cue and in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We moved along well and no problems here, some of the rooms are small and seem tight but we moved along well.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 10 years and older, some light in your face scares here.

Props / Special FX: Lots of good standard props and a few added effect props all worked together here good. They could use some more pop here and there, but overall not too bad.

Costumes / Make-up: Make up and costumes were great, no problem here and everything looked great.

Summary: We enjoyed this event very much, a mix assortment of events and effects and all seemed to work good together. Some areas are very well thought out and others need some work, however entertainment value was good and everything went off well. The vortex tunnel (again) is really getting old and has run it's course, however they do add a little twist to this to boost effect. The picture effect is nice and interesting, the shaking room (a few this year) is entertainment and gives some effect, very well thought out. Overall: a very good haunted house and maybe a great attraction with some added effects here and there and tweaking.. Another must see event here.

16 out of 31 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Hagerhogan   (Event Visited: 10/07/11 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location of this house is it's pitfall. The parking lot lighting and waiting area in the parking area takes away from the doom & gloom ambience. 
The VIP waiting room was done well with GROSS videos streaming on the flat screen. The bar was convenient. Being opening night, we didn't have to wait long so the VIP was just an extra area we got to experience.

Wait Entertainment: They have people wandering in the waiting area, but like I said previously the ambience is weak due to location restraints.

Length of Event: I haven't been to a haunted house in years, so this was perfect length for me to get my feet wet, but some in our party that have been to more than I, thought it was a little on the short side for the thrills and chills part. The maze was a non-climactic end that wasn't enjoyed by the majority of our group but a select few enjoyed it.

Actor Performance: The actors are the best part of this haunt. They really enjoy what they are doing and truly are frightening inside the haunt. Outside there is too much lighting so they have to resort to loud noises to scare you as they can't really sneak up on you. Inside the attraction, A+ I realize that to be truly creepy they have to get "in your face" a lot, but I found that I wasn't able to see anything else when they did this.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We got through the attraction cleanly. Some of the "rooms" were cramped and too tight to take in all of the effort that was put into them. I wish they had more room to theater-ize the rooms and give you the space and time to experience them.

Appropriate Ages: I think this is appropriate for ages 10+. The best part of this attraction is Kristof's dedication to running a safe and family friendly event. They don't let the 14-16 year olds walk around smoking, they are hyper vigilant to make sure there isn't mischievious congregating (except by the cast). I would feel 100% positive about sending my teens un-chaperoned to this attraction!

Props / Special FX: Most of the props/special effects were done well. The "intestines" hanging from the ceiling felt REALLY GROSS. The "pregnant lady" room was on the cheezy side, but was humorous cuz' we saw a lady in the parking lot that was pregnant and questioned whether she would be allowed in. They have the spinny fun-house tunnel thing and it is REALLY cool to throw you off of focusing on what is going to "getcha".

Costumes / Make-up: After we went through the attraction and were chatting in the parking lot, we saw some of the "cast" walking in and out and made comments that some of the costumes were REALLY well done (the guy in all black and red).

Summary: Overall, a little on the short side was our concensus. But the actors were top notch and really did a good job of startling and creeping you out. The maze was a hit or miss depending on the person. The smoke in the white maze was a little overwhelming but really necessary to pull off the illusion.  
No crawling in this haunted house which was a plus for the lower-middle-age group of us in our group of 6. 
I hope my "ratings" are correct is this is my first haunted house is years but you can compare as I review the 3 others we have on our to-do list.

9 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: masterfog   (Event Visited: 10/14/11 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy tofind! Props to the parking attendants. Lots of parking!

Wait Entertainment: Superb! The actors they had walking around were just down right creepy. You are uncomfortable from the moment you step out of your car!

Length of Event: About 20 min

Actor Performance: Excellent!!!!!! The actors were there to scare and thats just what they did!! We went at the end of the night and you'd think the actors were just getting started! There was sooooo much energy! GREAT JOB

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: No complaints here. One group was catching up to us but I'm sure its because we love to take our time and look at everything.

Appropriate Ages: NO. I'd say 16 and up

Summary: Realm of Terror is in it's own class of Haunted Attractions. It's not your typical haunted house in a GOOD way. The way the rooms are set up is unbelievable. The whole haunt seems twice as big as it really is and you get lost in a true "horror experience." One moment you're in a room and see another room through a window, a couple minutes later you're in the room you were looking at through the window, only a level below it. AWESOME!!! The fog maze at the end was really well done. You seriously get lost like you're supposed to in a maze. The fog is so thick you can't see anything! Overall it was great and I will continue to recommend them. Nice work ROT!!

14 out of 36 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: necrodude31   (Event Visited: 10/08/11 @ 12 Midnight)
Review Posted: 10/13/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to see. Located at Kristof's Right off of Rollins rd. There were the classic inflatable ghosts along with strobe lights and employees flagging you in. The actual entrance lane was a little weird to see from afar, but once in the turn lane it was fine to navigate.

Wait Entertainment: Questionable. They have plenty of actors outside, but the all seemed to keep to themselves. My friends and I knew Dozer the Clown already and well as Kasper the unfriendly Ghost, so we chatted with them 'til literally 11:59 before we bought our tickets. Just wish I was there when there was a line to see them really go at it, 'cause I know they have and they will.

Length of Event: The haunt itself was about 15 minutes, but adding the classic strobe maze, NEW pitch black maze, and a new ending scare scene, we were in the haunt for around 25 minutes.

Actor Performance: To be frank, it was not good when we went. We were the last group of the night to go through and we could tell the actors wanted us to leave their room so they could leave, which isn't fair. They need to give 100% all the way to the last patron.  
 
They also tended to block paths quite a bit. I hate that. Scare me and entertain me as your character, but dont get in my way. A big problem with that is having the rooms be way to confined to fit patrons and actors.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Just fine. Again, last group of the night so no one behind, but props for having a long enough wait time in the "rules room" to not run into the group in front of us.

Appropriate Ages: 13+, the haunt is terribly graphic. which is awesome and I love it, but no good for children.

Props / Special FX: OUTDATED!!! Buy some new props, I HATED seeing the foam and zipties on the fake legs in the abortion room.

Costumes / Make-up: Fitting to the scenes of the haunt. All very generic, but it works 'cause it's a one-themed haunt.

Summary: We had a fun time all around. The biggest thing that bothered me was the actor performance, but, visiting at a better time would probably fix that. 
 
One of the highlights in my book of the haunt is their special effects series of rooms. It was very clever (SPOILER!!) to go straight from a vortex tunnel into an aircushion hallway. Even MORE clever than that, was going from the aircushion hallway into a new room at RoT. The room was suspended in the air and contained a massive amount of body bags. The crazy part, was the entire room moved and shaked. I could hardly keep my balance in this thing!! If this is what RoT spent their money on this year, it was well spent! I want to get one of these things for myself!! 
 
My biggest complaint, however, is the same on I have every year. And this year, it got worse. The strobe maze. I enjoy it... however, a lot of friends absolutely dont have feel awful afterwards. What made it worse, is you were forced into the maze this year. Literally an actor opened a door and you went in. No emergency exit anywhere to be seen, no questions about opting out, NOTHING. The other thing that made it worse was the new pitchblack maze that immediately followed the strobe maze. The annoying thing about this maze, was the fact that the actors lead you into a circle, and after traveling to one end of a "maze" and then back again, they opened "the secret way out" and you turned a corner and were done. It literally seemed like they had walk a series of halls into a deadend and then back again just be let out. Terribly frustrating. 
 
RoT slowly but surely gets better every year. I've always loved the clever layout of "seeing where you'll be later" where in one room, looking through a window looks like scenery, then 3 rooms later your "in the scenery". Amazing. If they would modernize the props a bit and add some more scenes, it really would be the best haunt around.  
 
This was my first haunt of the season and the local competitors sure do have a bar to beat. Good show RoT, see ya next year! (just get rid of the maze!!!)

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at