Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com – Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2011 Visitor Reviews of
Eleventh Hour Haunted House (Elk Grove, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
24 out of 37 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: THED6   (Event Visited: 10/06/11 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If you are heading west on Devon, the sign will be visible and easy to see. However, coming from the west it might be a little misleading. To make it easier on anyone interested in coming to this attraction, the location will be lit up with many lights, there will be parking located directly next to the street and you will definitely see a corn maze close to the street.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was very enjoyable. I remember two of the actors from the corn maze gearing everyone up for what was waiting for them in the first haunt. Their demeanor was not over the top, but it was enough to get anybody in the mood to enjoy what was to come.

Length of Event: The length of the attractions felt rather long. When I went through the maze I actually had trouble navigating, which is good. I don't go into corn mazes to be led to the end.  
The second attraction felt like the shortest part of the attraction. Through the house I had an idea of how it could go, but it's good to know that I can be pleasantly surprised by opening walls, creaking stairs, ripped hallways and narrow hallways as well as bleak open courtyards.  
The third and foruth attractions flowed so well together I barely noticed the shift in atmosphere and location. The last two had so many critical thinking induced scares, like walking through a pitch black maze of drapes and crawling through tiny crevices, that I was glad to be out of there as fast as possible.

Actor Performance: The actors were on their game! In one room I enjoyed the demonic franticness this one actor had as she mumbled to herself and rocked back and forth with a book in her hand before leading the way to another room. In the final two haunts the atmosphere itself only enhanced their acts. They utilized their environment to both scare and make me uneasy.  
There were multiple points that I was frightened so bad I fell on my butt. Being a tall guy, it's a funny sight to see. One that scared me was a ghoul who came from around a corner with his hand out like a zombie. I was so scared I literally fell on my butt and crawled backwards towards the opposite end of the hall. Whoever that was, touche.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Just to put it out there, I went by myself on a slow night. The flow for all the attractions were phenomenal in terms of length of wait time, time to get through each haunt and ability to be scared along the way. In the first two haunts I was grouped with some girls, but on the last two I decided to go it alone just to get the full experience. I chose wisely.

Appropriate Ages: Completely appropriate for my age and even younger as well. If I had kids, they would be scared, but still safe in all four haunts.

Props / Special FX: The rooms in the haunted house has such a good display of visuals. The creaking floorboards, the tilted pictures, the dirty sinks and even the science lab looked visually entertaining. 
In the third haunt, at first I was skeptical about a rotating hallway and shaking elevator, but the sounds were believable and at points a little too scary, but I also don't like elevators. Go figure, haha.  

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes themselves were somewhat predictable, but most of them I hadn't seen before. There was one person, in the final haunt near the end, that had two different symbols for eyes and draping clothes. I didn't know what to make of him, but I continued on anyway. It wasn't until i was nearing the end that I heard, then saw, him coming after me with a chainsaw! It's a sign of a good haunted house when you can't assume everything that will happen.

Summary: In summation, I would saw this haunted house was a good use of my evening. By myself, it lasted only about an hour for the total package, the effects and visual displays were inviting and frightening altogether.  
Some of my favorite parts were the final two haunts. not only did I have to make it through physically horrifying spaces and obstacles, but the characters and atmosphere were not to be toyed with. At one point, I was going through the final haunt, and I turned a hallway to find a man in a top hat and a ghoulish sidekick behind some open spaces in the wall. Here I go assuming again, but I thought they would simply stay in their spot and reach for my guts...nope. The ghoul stepped off his stoop and just kept walking towards me. He didn't stop; it was awesome to be scared in between atmosphere and character interactions.  
 
In conclusion, I highly recommend this haunt to those in the northern Chicagoland area and even in greater parts of Illinois. AND, if I could give one piece of useful advice, don't be afraid to interact with the characters if they talk to you. Especially if they end up scaring you, it's a complete scene-maker when that happens.

15 out of 27 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/20/11 @ 11:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Wll marked event, hard to miss with lots of parking and lights to get your attention. The same location every year, but a GPS will take you there.

Wait Entertainment: Everything good here, actors waking throughout the attraction, not lines because you have your group called out before you enter the event. It's nice to keep warm, get eats, etc.. before you go into the event.

Length of Event: At least 50 minutes to compete all 4 attractions, the corn maze could take some people more time to complete, but we didn't have too much trouble getting through it.

Actor Performance: Actors done an excellent job here, everyone was picture perfect - for once ! This may have been there best job ever - in the 3 years we have attended this event.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Some work need here - we have always had some bottle up in the haunted houses and this year was the same - we ran into 2 other groups within the event, waited to clear and all was ok. The corn maze can get grouped up but that is expected!

Appropriate Ages: I would say 10 years and above.

Props / Special FX: Haunted house props were great. Lots of mixed effects and props all worked great here. The shaking floor and rooms are nice (nice touch throughout several events this year) and give you a real effect while walking through the attraction, I really enjoy this touch! Theatre type effects keep getting better and everything moved fast and keep entertainment high.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make up was excellent, no cheap masks here - everything well done.

Summary: Overall we enjoyed this haunted attraction very much, lots to do here and they do an excellent job for the show value. We were here a total of almost 2 hours - best to close out the night here as we did. You have 3 built in events which move together throughout one and then the next, and the last (4th event) the corn maze. All the haunted houses are action packed and well staffed to give the fright you need, the only weak spot is the maze. The wild ride elevator has entertainment value and gives you a great experience overall. This is (yes) another must see haunted attraction in the Chicago area.

11 out of 23 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: horrorgirl   (Event Visited: 10/12/11 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If you are going by mapquest, then you might have a hard time finding the place. The best way to find this haunt is to find the berthold garden center sign and park right in their lot. The parking is free so that is a plus in my book. When I visited there was plenty of parking, but it is always a good thing to go a little early. Parking does tend to fill fast so the earlier the better.

Wait Entertainment: When I went wedsday it was a slow night, but it was expected. There wasnt much wait entertainment, maybe a couple girls outside talking to the patrons and showing where to go for the corn maze.

Length of Event: It took me about 40 minutes to get thru all 4 attractions. I did get lost in the corn maze and intensity so that made my trip a little bit longer

Actor Performance: I thought for a wedsday night that the actors did a great job!. the actors in the corn maze were a little bit creepy and funny. I got a kick out of nurse Betti at the beginning of the main house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I was with a couple but i had staggered. There were a couple times when I bumped into them but it was in the dark. I liked the fact that I was able to enjoy the performances without backing up into other people.

Appropriate Ages: I think this should be for ages 9 and above since some scenes are scary and creepy and the young kids shouldnt come through

Props / Special FX: I loved the FX of all the haunts. The creep factor of the corn maze, the detailed theatricality of the house, the decay of the maseuleom and the blaring music and darkness of intensity. I did like the toliet in the bathroom of the main house and the giant demon of the maseuleom.

Costumes / Make-up: All the costumes fit nicely with each haunt. The makeup was great! I loved nurse betti's makeup and the corn stalk guys makeup.

Summary: Overall I enjoyed this haunt! I thought $23 is plenty for all 4. Corn maze was creepy as it was awesome! I didnt bumoped into anyone and did get lost in it, so it did add a great solitary feeling. Eleventh Hour had great acting, especially Betti the guy and girl in the dentist/ morgue room and the library room. Mineshaft/Mauseleom had a good dark ambiance. The truck was fantastic and the end. Intensity was another creep filled haunt with me being lost. I did love the clowns in the cage area, with one following me and the other jumping around. I have gone year after year and they never cease to please me. Love the changes they made. I do have one criticism. I did notice that the corn maze didnt have a lot of actors, so maybe another 2 would help fill the gaps of the maze. Also a few more outside actors to entertain the waiting customers would be great. Overall great makeup, good costumes, awesome scares and great decor! Great job Eleventh Hour crew!

16 out of 35 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: hallowqueen   (Event Visited: 10/15/11 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was very easy for me to find since I have been visiting this haunt for years. On the night that I went they had two guys helping direct people into the parking lot as well as well lit signs and a tall wind blowing thing that caught my attention.

Wait Entertainment: I like this haunt because they let you wait in a heated tent for some of the time since they use the number calling system. Once you buy your ticket you are able to enjoy the music and maybe some food and cider. Then once called you wait in line to go into the house. They had a really creepy troll like creature patrolling the line making creepy grunting noises in peoples ears. The ticket taker for eleventh hour was also very funny and entertaining. I enjoyed how she joked around with people.

Length of Event: I would say it probably took my group 60 mins for all 4 haunts. But I do want to include that we got very lost in the last house and at time spent way to much time deciding who should lead at each creepy corner.

Actor Performance: On this night I could tell it was one of their busier nights. At times I could tell that they were a bit under staffed just by observing some of the wide empty spaces between scares and such. That being said though, the actors that were there did an amazing job of filling in the absence. They were very energetic especially for it being such a busy night. I really enjoyed the sassy 50's era naughty housewife in the kitchen. She did a good job at being off setting without being overly scary. The clown in the bedroom aka mr. snuggles asked me to smell his finger and gave me the serious creeps. The elevator ride was a little different this year. I think a light burnt out so it was pitch black but I think it added to the effect. The truck accident victim at the end of catacombs got me not once but twice even though I was expecting him. And intensity as usual was just over all amazing. I was excited to see mr. tickles again and he got a few good scares from my group. The guy in the dentist room was a new character this year and I loved him. He was so animated and funny. He really interacted with my group and made us laugh and even made some cry.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: To be expected on a busy night I was in a group of about 12. I didn't mind though because somewhere in the house my group broke off and we became our own group of 5 at times. I have to say that I'm very impressed with the fact that we did not run into any other people inside the houses expect the people whom we were originally paired up with anyways.

Appropriate Ages: Any really. As long as they can handle it.

Props / Special FX: The air cannons got some good scares as well as the electric floor in the lab. I want to give props to whoever decides on the music selection for the whole haunt because each room had it's own music and I really think it helped transport you into the scene. The kitchen and dentist room music were my favorite by far.

Costumes / Make-up: Sometimes I had to stop and stare at the actors makeup because it was so cool. The costumes fit the actors spot's very well and it helped create a believable atmosphere.

Summary: I have always enjoyed the show that they put on at eleventh hour. The parking is free and the price is reasonable, especially if you use a coupon that they leave around places. ( I found mine at Ihop) But I must say that this year they really out did themselves. The show has improved so much and I think the time it takes to go through the houses has even increased. You can tell that these actors really enjoy what they do and they are good at it. I will definitely be coming back next year and telling all my friends about this place. My only complaint is they could use a few more actors in some unused spots. But other then that I would say this haunt is well worth the hype.

9 out of 32 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: SuburbanGal   (Event Visited: 10/05/11 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Eleventh Hour Haunted House is located at Berthold’s Garden Center on Devon Avenue in Elk Grove Village. There's a large lighted sign along the road so bypassing it is almost impossible.

Wait Entertainment: There was little wait entertainment but that was not necessary due to it not being very busy.

Length of Event: It took me about an hour to do all 4 attractions.

Actor Performance: The actors in the attractions came to life. There were some standard scare tactics which were sprinkled throughout each house and the catacombs. Some of those tactics worked, some did not.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I was in a group of 4 and was very impressed with the fact that we didn't run into any other groups. Overall, the flow for the attractions was phenomenal in terms of length of wait time and time to get through each attraction.

Appropriate Ages: I don't think children 10 and under should be taken to Eleventh Hour. The last and second house, "INTENSITY" would certainly be too much for little children.

Props / Special FX: I expected an actual corn field with a complex maze that would take quite a wile to navigate through and be somewhat difficult, but no. It was corn affixed to wire fencing and easily navigated in about 15 or so minutes.  
 
The first house and second attraction, "ELEVENTH HOUR", had many creative rooms which had lots of work put into them.  
 
There was a lot of dark corridor navigating in the catacombs, but was plenty of skeletons and ofther niffty prop work throughout.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make-up work fit each character and attraction quite nicely.

Summary: It was fun to have 4 attractions in one location. The effort that has been put into the haunted houses and catacombs is clear and makes for a really fun trip. The corn maze will most likely be the most dissapointing part of the Eleventh Hour experience so don't expect it to be the greatest highlight of the night. The simulated drop on an old rickety elevator in the catacombs, which was a jerky and freakishly wild was the best part of my experience.  
 
Patrons should be aware that the strobe lights and intense music in the last and second house, "INTENSITY", could cause heavy disorientation. This heavy disorientation could cause patrons to become easily annoyed and lost thereby repeating their experience. Should patrons find it too intensifying, they can simply exit through several emergency exits.  
 
It's understaffed and there are some lost opportunities to scare patrons. But overall, it was a plesant experience and I'd highly recommend a visit. 
 

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright © 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at