Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com – Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2012 Visitor Reviews of
Haunted Haven (Rock Falls, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
24 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Carlyrazo   (Event Visited: 10/12/12 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Light up sighn that says Haunted Haven.

Wait Entertainment: very good, they had a bonfire and the actors were scaring the people waiting in line.

Length of Event: 20 min

Actor Performance: above average

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: very good

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up

Props / Special FX: above average

Costumes / Make-up: very good

Summary: This year Haunted Haven has gotten better, there are more props and new characters. It is very exciting and you don't know what to expect. Waiting in line was intertaining. They had characters interact with the waiting line. Characters stayed in character and everything flowed well.The maze was my favorite additon to Haunted Haven. It made it fun and interesting. I will be back again before the season is over. It just keeps getting better and better! I recommend going it was worth it! You will just have to go and find out yourself. You won't be disappointed!

20 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: trueblood87   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find, great big lit up signs show exactly where haunted haven is.

Wait Entertainment: The wait was pretty short. actors came outside and interacted while customers were waiting in line

Length of Event: approximately 20 minutes depending on the time it gets through the maze.

Actor Performance: absolutely amazing. all actors stayed in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: the group in front of us was so scared that we ran into them a couple of times,so it kind of ruined it considering the actors were still trying to scare them and we ran into their scenes.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and older. unless accompanied by an adult.

Props / Special FX: all props were awesome. i especially like the volkswagon beetle in the hillbilly room

Costumes / Make-up: costumes and makeup were very unique as usual.

Summary: Haunted Haven in Rock Falls gets better every year. It was even better this year. The group I was with doesnt generally get scared in haunted houses because we are so used to it, but we definitely enjoyed the performances and the new props and characters. The maze is so much fun trying to go through and I think the Twisted Circus would be my favorite part. I love Tox the clown, absolutely hilarious!! Everyone was amazing and I'm looking forward to see what they have in store next year. I guarantee I will go at least 3 or 4 more times this season to see them. Haunted Haven is my favorite!! :)

19 out of 24 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: BillC   (Event Visited: 10/20/12 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find. Two large illuminated signs along highway 40.

Wait Entertainment: Excellent. There were 3 or 4 actors working the line that did a very good job interacted with the customers in line. As an added bonus, there was a guy that did tricks with swinging balls of fire. Yes, real live fire! I have no idea how he didn’t hurt himself. Awesome to watch! As I understand it, this fire guy was a one night show, so if you made it there Oct. 20 you picked the right night to go. But don’t let that stop you from going at a later date.

Length of Event: Around 20-25 minutes at a guess.

Actor Performance: Very good. All actors stayed in character. Looks to me like they take their job seriously. Much effort put into being the best that they can be.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Excellent. The actors would stop us to keep us from catching up to the front group without making it an obvious stop. My group got “lost” once and the actors let us try to find our way, but when it was obvious we were lost, they helped us along to keep the flow going.

Appropriate Ages: The sign says 13 or older.

Props / Special FX: Very good. One or two “cheap masks” but for the most part the actors had very good make-up and/or well done prosthetics. There was obviously a lot of time and work done to the special effects and props. If you have time, and are a stickler for detail like I am, take your focus off the actor and look around. Many hours spent on the scenery around you. Look around, you will appreciate it.

Costumes / Make-up: It was obvious that a majority of the actors spend some time applying make-up and masks. I like that. No cheap Wal-Mart makes for these people, and no 2 minute make-up jobs. By the looks of it, a few actors spend many minutes (hours?) before the show prepping.

Summary: It starts off with you going threw a back woods hillbilly type of setting. This is where it’s obvious that many many hours of work was spent a month or so before setting up scenery and props. Then you go into an insane asylum type thing. The female actor there just might be insane herself as she did a very good job. The hospital scene was very good, too good for my group as they hurried threw it and I think we missed part of the skit. The doll house was very good. Three actors in there played their parts well. Then there was Snookie’s hallway. He/She/It scared a teen boy in my group to the point I thought we‘d have to carry him out. Snookie came out of no where from up above, then seemed to vanish into thin air, then got me good as I was the last in line. The clown house, as always was fantastic, even better then last year. More clowns, I think five now, and it’s non stop mayhem, confusion, and madness. I could write a book, but don’t want to ruin it for you if you go. As my group entered the red and white maze at the end we pretty much all took our own path trying to find our way out. I got lucky and made it threw in just a minute or so. Most of my group made it out in 2 to 3 minutes. One we had to go back in and talk him threw, he was hopelessly lost inside, which made it fun. You get scared, you laugh, you get scared some more, then you really laugh in that maze to wind things down for the end. Highly recommended to all. My best haunt so far this year.

18 out of 23 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: MorningJoe   (Event Visited: 10/05/12 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I'm a local, so I knew right where it was. But they always do a good job getting signs up ans making it clear where the parking areas are. Its secluded, country location makes for a nice "no-one can hear you scream" sort of atmosphere. If only they could do something cool inside the neighboring corn field...

Wait Entertainment: The wait was pretty short, but there weren't too many people there when I arrived, so my group went straight to the front of the line. A few of the actors were walking around, talking to and interacting with the crowd, making the wait seem even shorter than it was.

Length of Event: About 15-20 minutes. It all depends on A. How fast you walk through it and B. How long it takes you to navigate the events maze, which was a great new addition to the attraction.

Actor Performance: It was pretty good, but some were definitely better than others. Of course, Dolly, Tweaker and Snooky were outstanding and really have those roles down pat. I also liked the guy with the green hair in the "Toxic Industrial" room that was telling the dirty jokes and being really twisted. Some actors kinda broke character though when my group and I verbally interacted with them, so that kind of took us out of it. But overall, pretty good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The groups were nicely spaced apart, for awhile. Until the maze, where my group ran into the next group and ended up finding our way out with them. That maze takes awhile, maybe space the groups out accordingly.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up. There were some gory scenes in there, for sure. But nothing we haven't seen in any horror film ever made. It's not appropriate for small children though, unless you want them to develop a clown phobia.

Props / Special FX: Very well done. These guys definitely put a lot of time and money into their attraction and it shows. The production values were very high end, for the most part. The "Psycho Hillbilly" room was awesome, even though they've done it before. I really liked the Industrial room, too. And Dolly and Snooky's rooms always impress. How does that dude hang from the ceiling like that? He must really be half-man, half-monster or something.

Costumes / Make-up: Like the rest of the attractions production values, the make-up and costumes are also very well done. Movie quality in most cases. And I liked the additions to Dolly's make up as well, so that she looks more like a porcelain doll. Very, very cool.

Summary: I've been going to this haunt for years now, ever since they were doing it out of their house. They clearly love this sort of thing and you can tell by the high production values seen in the house. They are always improving their game and stepping it up year by year, so we'll just have to see where it goes from here. They definitely have a nice location though, where they have room to grow and experiment with their formula in seasons to come. Let's see something like a scary corn maze addition! It would be nice if it were a bit more intense and scary next year. I came here to scream!

18 out of 24 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: mcochran   (Event Visited: 10/20/12 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find,located right off the highway and big lit up Haunted Haven display sign. They have ample amout of parking and is located close to the enterance.

Wait Entertainment: Wait time in line wasnt to long. They have bonfires going to keep you warm,actors come out and interact with vistors, concession stand where you can purchase food/warm drinks and they had a actor performing a fire stunt show to keep you entertained while standing in line.

Length of Event: Approximately 20 min.

Actor Performance: The actors did an amazing job. Everyone stayed in character and fit their roles perfectly!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The timing of the groups was very well. We did run into the group behind us at the end in the maze but only because we were lost. Running into the other group didnt ruin our fun we laughed, wished each other good luck finding our way out and went our seperate ways!

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up unless accompanied by an adult.

Props / Special FX: The props are awesome. You can tell the have put alot of time, money and thought into them. They are very realistic and fit into scene very well.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make up are amazing. They are very detailed and fit each characters role very well.

Summary: This is the first haunted house i've ever been to and I had so much fun, cant wait to go back! I liked that they provided entertainment to their guests as they were waiting in line. All the characters stayed in character throughout the whole thing and each character played their roles very well. The maze at the end was alot of fun..especially when Tweeker came in and scared my husband!! This is a very well put together event and is well worth the price you pay to attend. Id highly recommend it anyone looking for a good haunted house to go to, definitely wont be disappointed!!

17 out of 23 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: star433   (Event Visited: 10/27/12 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: had lit up signs letting you know where the haunt was

Wait Entertainment: awesome! there was a lot of actors to entertain you while you're in line. There's this skeleton guy that shoves a real nail INTO his nose! It was freakin sick as h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored)

Length of Event: 20 minutes I'd say depending how fast you run

Actor Performance: awesome! all the actors fit perfect into their scenes and they dont break character no matter what

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I never ran into another group so that's a plus

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up DEFINITELY not for little kids

Props / Special FX: lots of cool props not a whole lot of FX stuff but the actors make up for that

Costumes / Make-up: AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!! the make up for the actors is so realistic its scary! some looked like they had their face falling off and a lot of them had crazy eyes

Summary: I go to haunted haven every year and I'm never let down. This year there was some new characters in the ccircus. There's a new yellow clown and a green clown. I really liked the yellow clown but I dont know his name. He was really funny. My favorite is always DOLLIE AND TWEAKER though! Dollie looks a little different this year and it's awesome! She always makes me laugh. And Tweaker spent more time outside this time which was cool. I really liked the skeleton guy who did the nail trick. I'm still not sure if that was fake or not but it sure looked real. He even ate fire from one of the fire barrels! Haunted Haven always has the best actors around and you should totally check it out! <3 Dollie and the clowns!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright © 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at