Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2012 Visitor Reviews of
Karnival of Karnage (Belvidere, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
28 out of 36 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/06/12 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Was driving by the fair grounds and saw the entrance.

Wait Entertainment: Very entertaining and added to the creep factor. Back woods people, mentally ill guys all did a nice job! And Free Hugs are always much very creepy!

Length of Event: About 20 minutes. With some confusing rooms and stops during the tour it had a great pace.

Actor Performance: All the actors were great. They interacted with the patrons and I did not hear one actor scream get out or just sit there and scream which was a nice change of pace to the usual haunted houses that we seem to run across. All the actors gave strong character performances.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Patron Flow they had down to an art! They were able to keep different groups from running into each other. Along the way they even had evil karnival games to play in which you always seems to loose I bet!

Appropriate Ages: 13 on up.

Props / Special FX: No pneumatic props which was nice,most of the time they are not scary at all which I was glad that this house did not use them. Totally all jump out and scare the crap out of you! Nice use of strob lighting in the red/white area!

Costumes / Make-up: Nice killer clowns, btw did I mention that I hate clowns and this area kept me on my toes. It seemed like 1 clown after another. All great make-up and I think I only saw 1 mask in the entire house! Great job guys!

Summary: In all the people putting this show on did a fantastic job. From the tunnel, to the game, to the red and white room, and of course the clowns- so many clowns! The interaction of the actors through the house was some of the best that I have seen! I have to give props to the backwoods guy that offered to trade me for one of the woman for a sheep! Nice touch guy! And to the guy that was mental patient that was speaking in a high voice- you really creeped me out! Thanks goodness I did not run into you in the house! Would highly recommend stopping by this one this Halloween season! If they were there A game the second night it is only going to get better!

19 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: sean23   (Event Visited: 10/27/12 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We used GPS and it was very easy to find. There are signs for Boone ounty Fairgrounds as well, so once you get in the area you can just follow those.

Wait Entertainment: It was the Saturday before so there is a long wait. It's covered but in a barn type area so it's not completely warm. The entertainment in line was good, the actors are funny.

Length of Event: It was 5-7 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors came to the people in line and performed skits and messed with people, they were entertaining and fun.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't run into any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: 8+up

Props / Special FX: Not too many props inside. The best was the truck. That was definitely unexpected.

Costumes / Make-up: The actors make up was good, it was a carnival theme so a lot of clowns.

Summary: I read the reviews which were all good and high scare factor and that's what brought us out there. I don't know if it was an off night but there was alot of walking inside the haunted house with no one in there. Also a lot of lit up areas which isn't what we look for in a haunted house. They had different scenes set up inside and two pop out moments which were good but not enough. We cruised through the house pretty quickly due to not enough going on inside. Waiting in line we heard no one scream inside the house and going in we found out why. Again disappointed from reading the other reviews online. The actors were talented but seem to do more in the line than inside the house. I look for a lot of surprises and unexpected people popping out at you when I go to a haunted house and this was just mostly walking in a lit up area. Not exactly what you look for in a haunted house.

27 out of 36 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/06/12 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/08/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: At the fairgrounds. Pretty easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: They had lots of people working the crowds.

Length of Event: 25 mins?

Actor Performance: Really good. Liked the Duck Devil.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Perfect. We took as much time as needed and saw no one else.

Appropriate Ages: adult jokes. wouldn't advise children.

Props / Special FX: Not spectacular, but pretty good

Costumes / Make-up: Good.

Summary: I really liked the length of this one. It's all outdoors so I didn't freeze in line and then sweat going in. We did mention that we take our time going through to the guy letting people in and he was very considerate and no one got close to us. Really appreciated that! I had great fun at this one. I've been to grosser and scarier, but we laughed and screamed almost all the way through this one. The jokes and some situations were very adult, so I suggest no children. Loved the Devil/Duck guy. They have a good setup with lots of room. All in all, we had a lot of fun and were scared quite a bit at this one.

21 out of 28 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: treesaw726   (Event Visited: 10/27/12 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We drove from Chicago, so it was a little confusing at first to find it. GPS told us to go to the opposite side of the fairgrounds, but we saw it on the other side.

Wait Entertainment: They had great actors in line. I absolutely loved the mental guy with the high pitched voice holding the needle. I had to ask for a picture with him! One of the clowns had a chainsaw and his makeup was amazing! I wish they spent more time in line, but it was fun when they came. I also loved the guy wearing the free hugs shirt, he was awesome!

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes

Actor Performance: Perfect for the type of haunted house it is. I personally hate clowns, so that's why we had to come to this one! When we first entered it was so dark and then a clown came behind us and did the most perfect clown laugh. Definitely creepy! The guy with the devil horns will probably give me nightmares tonight, but oh well he did a great job! I also thought it was a lot of fun that they had games in there. The rubby ducky we picked was to split up which was definitely fun!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The best! Now I understand why the line moved pretty slow. They really do respect the groups and let them in slowly so each party can enjoy the experience.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: The car that randomly beeps its horn at you and the lights come on was awesome! That definitely made me jump and was very unique. I loved that a lot of the house was really dark as well. The red and white maze room was really different from any haunted house I've been to.

Costumes / Make-up: The guy with the devil horns had amazing makeup. I always have the mindset going into a haunted house that it's all fake, but that guy definitely got to me. The best costume was the mental guy in the waiting line. Throughout the house though, the clown makeup was great and very realistic.

Summary: I found this house on this website, and I'm really glad I did. This was my first time coming here, and definitely plan to return next year! I do wish they had more actors throughout the house, but the ones they had were great. You will scream and laugh and will want to go again. If you are scared of clowns like I am, then this haunt would be great for you. The red/white maze was so fun and you didn't know when it was going to end. Overall this haunt was great! Thank you Haunted Illinois for having it on your list!

19 out of 26 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/06/12 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/07/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located at the fairgrounds..not much signage that I saw at the entrance. Thank goodness for GPS.

Wait Entertainment: DJ's, consessions, lack luster ticket sales people, great interaction of Klowns in line..chainsaws, and kreepy yet funny klowns..kudos to the wreck with the "free hugs" t-shirt.

Length of Event: 25-30 minutes

Actor Performance: OUTSTANDING! These guys are serious!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Perfect...they took control and even had people in the house making sure we were left on our own!

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Very fun in this house..the build up was great...started off with sparce happenings to keep progressing to more and more actors until finally....it was Karnage! The red and white maze was brilliant!

Costumes / Make-up: very well done..mostly make up with prostetics (sp?)

Summary: We stumbled on to this haunt due to another one in the area that was not open but said it was on line.Glad we did, made the 2.5 hour trip to the area worth it. The actors made this haunt great...it was Kreepy, funny, and over all very entertaining. There was not one actor in that house that did not give 100%. We were even offered a sheep if we were not to play "Whack and splat." We chucled a few times on the way home over that. The devil Karnival barker ~ Fantastic ~ The interaction of games and spoofs, were brilliant! I will say this is a must visit! Good job Kreepo's!!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at