Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2012 Visitor Reviews of
Fright Night (Forest City, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
20 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: No_Hair2   (Event Visited: 10/20/12 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not hard to find at all. The town is very small

Wait Entertainment: Had some creepy music playing over loudspeakers. Reminded me of horror movie music.

Length of Event: Kinda hard to judge. Had 5 attractions plus little ride across town. You really get alot for the admission price.

Actor Performance: Lots of high energy people working this event. They did a fantastic job. Great costumes and screams.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was decent. People in front of us were hesitant because they were scared but didnt cause scene setup delays. You can tell they have been at this a while. Good job.

Appropriate Ages: 7+

Summary: I live in the Peoria area and this is my favorite place to go. Ive gone north and east to diff venues that have more but this one will always be more than worth my drive. They may not have the most money invested but I feel they give the best experience. Unique and original. Staff and actors very polite when not in attraction. Come here to see something a little different and you will come back every year like I do. Great homespun attraction. Dont forget to explore the museum in the church basement. Very nice touch.

18 out of 23 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: wolfy88   (Event Visited: 10/26/12 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This haunt is located right off the main drag in Forest City. There is a sign telling you where to turn off the main drag, but it's small, I always just look for the post office--that's where you turn.

Wait Entertainment: While in line for the church, the ticket taker told us the unfortunate story of the church's resident ghost. There was also an actor that kept spooking members of our group and a clown roaming the line whose costume was phenomenal. The rest of lines featured little entertainment, but that may be because we never waited more than a couple minutes and we weren't really in need of entertaining!!

Length of Event: The whole event took approximately 45 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actors were great! Fright Night has several child actors which has frustrated me at other locations but the kids here did great! They kept character and were utilized well. The older actors were also great. We got very "personal" service; one actor was amused so much by our screams that he accompanied us through two separate attractions!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This is perhaps the most important thing to me. Nothing irks me more at a haunted house than running into another group, or having another group run into ours. Fright Night did great! We didn't even SEE another group.

Props / Special FX: The props and special FX were all great, but there is one place they really stood out; the Crazy Cage. All five of your senses are overwhelmed throughout a portion of this attraction; it's a different kind of scare than the status quo. People aren't jumping out and screaming, instead actors are stalking and yelling while you're being showered in sparks and groping for the exit. Very scary.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were great! Fright Night is a non-profit haunt in Central Illinois and as such I'm always surprised by the amount of money and detail put into costumes.

Summary: Fright Night is my favorite haunt. I have been going since I was young and keep coming back year after year. The admission is very reasonable considering there are four different attractions at the event. There is also a bonus at the end; the owner collects memorabilia from horror movies and has them all on display in the basement of the church where you can go to warm up with hot cocoa and chat with the owner. The event seems to be getting bigger and better every year... I look forward to 2013!!

21 out of 28 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Michelle   (Event Visited: 10/12/12 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This is a little drive from the Pekin area. Location is in a small town and while the signage is small it was easy to locate. Speed traps by locals - obey the signs!

Wait Entertainment: This is a volunteer program that has everyone involved in the community. Worth the money and any wait for the experience.

Length of Event: With this being a multi attraction be prepared to spend 1 1/2 hours. You decide how much time you want to spend. Lots to do here!

Actor Performance: Mix of children and adults - do a great job of "getting you" when you least expect it. Again these are not professionals but work hard to get you.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The actors move you through each of the attractions with little difficulty. Disorientation is part of the effects.

Appropriate Ages: The post this is not for children under eight. However a mature 8 year old would be fine.

Props / Special FX: This is old fashioned haunting at its best. The actors/actresses are key with well placed props to set the atmosphere. Nice changes in the design of the sets.

Costumes / Make-up: This year is better than before. Skill in the makeup and the costumes are really improved.

Summary: This multi-attraction is family oriented and worth the 18 per person to get in. Different levels of scare for the young and old alike. There is a museum with horror movie memorabilia with a cafe at the church and terror trail as well as a diner across town for funnel cakes - corn dogs and hot and cold drinks. Be prepared to spend some time there as you are encourage to take your time. Line walkers will keep you on your toes while waiting to get in to each attraction. Love the fact this was on t.v. and we tried to find the "real ghosts" in each one. IGSS was there to share their documentary and experiences. Great time for all of us! Can't wait to see what they folks come up with next year!

23 out of 31 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: sfss2012   (Event Visited: 10/06/12 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This haunted house was very easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: I did not have to wait long at all. They was moving people right along. I never got board waiting in a long line.

Length of Event: IT took my group about hour and a half to complete all four attractions

Actor Performance: All the actors did a wonderful job. My friends and myself really liked the way they had actors walking around outside the attractions scaring people!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good

Appropriate Ages: I would say kids 10 and up

Props / Special FX: I loved how we had to crawl through certain places and the closet really confused us lol.

Costumes / Make-up: THe make up was all very well done but I would have to say my favorite costume was the guy walking around the crazy cage with the long fingers.

Summary: I have been to this haunted house for the past 4 years and I got to say each year I walk away very happy with the experience forest city has to offer. They have been very nice to me every year I have went. They make the attraction easy to find and every year they have different things going on so you never know what you are in for. Every year I get at least 3 friends to go with me because in my opinoin forest city is the best haunted house around. I will deff be going back for my 5th year next year.... And I cant wait!! If you have not been to the haunted house in forest city you really should try to go because you are missing out on a great experience to look back on and laugh!!

23 out of 32 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: freaky1   (Event Visited: 10/05/12 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find as it is a small town. There are signs to help you also. the small town adds to the creepiness of the haunts.

Wait Entertainment: There are some crazy characters walking around for entertainment.The staff really try and make it a fun experience.

Length of Event: 1 hour is about what it took us to get thru all the attractions.

Actor Performance: The actors performed well. They stay in character and do a good job of getting in your face! I especially loved the little kids "playing" in the front yard at the church!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was good throughout attractions, we never ran into another group once!

Appropriate Ages: I would say ages 9 and above.

Props / Special FX: There are not a lot of high dollar props or special effects, but the scenes are true to life and creepy.

Costumes / Make-up: Make-up and costumes are well done and fit they character they are trying to portray.

Summary: This is my second year to visit this haunt and I enjoy it very much. You get a lot for your money and it takes awhile to get through it all. Our group had a great time. It is worth the hour and a half drive it takes us to get there. The location is perfect-small town-it helps create a creepy atmosphere. Also the Skinner house is awesome! No wonder it has a tv show on A&E. Just standing on the porch makes my hair stand on end. I love some of the obstacles you have to go through also. Great job to all who are involved and I can`t wait until next year!!!

20 out of 28 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: BoogeymanFan   (Event Visited: 10/26/12 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Pretty easy to locate, very small town

Wait Entertainment: The outside entertainment was amazing, hardly even noticed we had to wait.

Length of Event: Out of the four attractions we were there for at least an hour.

Actor Performance: The performance was great. Not one broke character at all.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never ran into another group once.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: The props were amazing. Loved having to crawl through a refrigerator. As for the real chainsaws, it sent me running for the exit.

Summary: When we first got there we were greeted by Beep Beep the Clown, who just so happens to pick out the one that is most terrified of clowns, Me. We were told about the mysterious things happening about the church as we waited no longer then five minutes for the group in front of us to go a little further in the building. The actors were not afraid to get in your face and take out the scaredy cat in the group and trap them in a dead end room, while the rest of the group is being transferred to the correct way out.  
The crazy cage, has the boogeyman and about 3 chainsaws. As you find your way through the maze, the Boogeyman sends you to dead ends as you are being chased by some chainsaws. 
As for the other attractions, well you will have to go and see how awesome they are.

17 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: michelle79   (Event Visited: 10/27/12 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I thought the location was pretty good. Signs were up off the main road running through the town; small town so it was pretty easy to find the attraction.

Wait Entertainment: I especially liked the wait entertainment! Creepy Clown and The Butcher were very interactive with our group; keeping us on edge! Make-up & outfits very realistic! Also, enjoyed G-String Shirley on the Hayrack Ride across town. She was friendly & funny!

Length of Event: We got there around 9pm and didn't leave until 10:30pm. Four attractions overall.

Actor Performance: Good! Seemed to stay in character throughout. Liked "The Cage" - where the actors jumped out at you from all angles and the house, had to go through a fridge in order to get out of room, then crawl through different size doors, which made it more exciting! Liked the actor in a wheelchair with the strobe lights. And in the Haunted Trail, the actors throwing "maggots" on us was really freaky. The chainsaw guy that chased us through a van was pretty scary as well.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were able to get right in to all the attractions with about a five minute wait.

Summary: Overall, I thought they did a wonderful job! Staff was very friendly and informative when giving out information about the attractions, what each one was, the history, how to get there, where restrooms, food, drinks were, etc. Prices were very reasonable we thought - 4 haunts for $18! Each haunt was uniquely themed with different actors, we never knew what to expect. From crawling though walls to walking over mushy ground, getting "maggots" thrown on us (really it was rice!)Our group came from Peoria, IL so it was about a 45 minute drive to get to Forest City. We all thought it was a great time and can't wait to go back next year!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at