Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2012 Visitor Reviews of
Gates of Delirium Haunted Attraction (Gilman, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
31 out of 37 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: purpleghost   (Event Visited: 10/13/12 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This event is in Downtown Gilman and was easy to see.

Wait Entertainment: Our group really enjoyed the stitched face hillbilly character and the clown. The clown was even on the roof tossing down water balloons at one point!

Length of Event: We were through in about 15 minutes, but we took time to enjoy each room.

Actor Performance: They were pretty good in this area. We really liked the nun, but most actors were on cue. I liked that they targeted the middle of the group (where the scared ones were!).

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We could hear that there was another group in the haunted house, but we never ran into anybody else with our group of 5.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 10+, but there were a few younger kids in line

Props / Special FX: Most rooms were well detailed so you could tell they put some effort into each scene and the dark maze in the back was a nice change up. There weren't many mechanical props, mostly live actors.

Costumes / Make-up: Most characters were in makeup, the nun had a simple but very creepy mask! The wait entertainers had very realistic looking masks.

Summary: Overall, our group was very pleased with this haunted house. We stood in line for awhile, but it turned out to be a great night. We drove about 40 minutes from Champaign and were happy we made the trip. Our plan was to go to a haunted house in Rantoul, but it was closed. We got a few really good scares and had fun from start to finish. For the $8.00 we paid with our coupon, we were pleasantly surprised!  
 
We spoke to one of the owners in the front and he told us this is there 2nd year in Gilman. We will certainly be making the trip back next year!

23 out of 28 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: reality   (Event Visited: 10/13/12 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: this was a very easy haunt to find

Wait Entertainment: they had a great line scarer he did an awsome job stalking all of us.

Length of Event: 20 minutes or so very good.

Actor Performance: this was a great area for them they really got into it they would really get into your face haunt very nice.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we never had a problem very nice flow in the house we really flowed.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: they had alot of eye candy alot of nostalgic props such as old lanterns old vaults alot of detail in this area

Costumes / Make-up: they mainly had mask but they were great i sometimes get bored with mask but not these,they really had no mak-up.

Summary: this is my very 1st year visiting this haunted house i didnt know what to expect for a small town haunted house but man they deliverd from the time we got in the line the scary dude with a wicket mask and contacts did a great job stalking my group i was with,then going into the rule room it all started no holds barr they layed it on us alot of startle scare pictures slamming down black hallways a crazy hallway with a clown with a chainsaw wich i thought was clever,my friends and i will def make this a normal haunted house that we visit each year.

26 out of 32 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Bill   (Event Visited: 10/13/12 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find..gps it..

Wait Entertainment: Great clown in waiting area the was scary and funny at the same time..

Length of Event: 14 mins

Actor Performance: All actors fit there rooms and did a great job..some scared the @#$% out of me..

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The groups were spaced out well..

Appropriate Ages: 16 and over

Props / Special FX: Each room that lots of details..very good FXs

Costumes / Make-up: Very good costumes which went well with each room..

Summary: Great price ..Lots of scares for that price..All sound effects went great with each room. One room in particular had amazing sound effects. It really felt like there was a storm outside. And to top it off the old lady in the corner creeped me out. Between the sound effects and the strobe lights you really felt like there was no end. You could tell the owners put a lot of work into it. The detailing in the haunt was very good. All the blood looked like it was real blood. Each room had the perfect actor in it. The costumes went great with the rooms. There were many great scares...you never knew what was coming next. The design of the haunt was very good. From a Funeral Home to a Bathroom, which was very nice, each room had great detailing.

39 out of 51 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: darkfalls   (Event Visited: 10/12/12 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There was a sign with strobe lights by the side of the road directing you to the haunt. Haunt is on main street and is in a small town so pretty easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: There was a backwoods baby face freak entertaining the line. He was very creepy and did a great job playing his role and staying in character.

Length of Event: I'd say 13-14 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actors for the most part were outstanding. A couple actors left a little to be desired but most of them had great timing and execution. A few highlights were the nun (very creepy!), the body bag man, the doctor/nurse, and the clown (he made me jump big time!)

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Patron flow was great...never ran into anyone or heard/saw anyone else inside besides our group.

Appropriate Ages: I'd say 11+ for the higher startle factor and some gore.

Props / Special FX: Props were above average....the rocking old lady gave me goosebumps. The corpse in the hospital area was VERY realistic. They use strobe lights well in addition to a variety of color lights, fog, noisy devices.

Costumes / Make-up: Mix of masks and makeup. Masks were top notch though like clown and freak in waiting line. All makeup I could see (as it gets a little dark inside) was well done and matched costume/room theme it was in.

Summary: Overall, I would highly recommend this haunt. We drove over an hour to get there and it was well worth it for the entertainment value. $9 is more than worth it for what you get. My group really enjoyed the attention to detail and the different themes inside the haunt, as well as the several jump scares! The actors are really into it (aside from a select couple) and it seems like all the personnel really enjoy what they are doing, which is a plus. The people selling tickets said it was their 2nd year... considering that, it surprised us. Everyone in my group of 6 really enjoyed it. This haunt was very well done and a lot of fun! Definitely worth the trip...we'll be back next year.

23 out of 49 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: thecurse   (Event Visited: 10/12/12 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: if you have GPS its really easy, and the turn by turn directions makes sure no one can get lost getting there. A strobe on the nest street pointing the way and the Haunt on kind of a main strip works really well too.

Wait Entertainment: They had a guy in, i guess i would say a baby doll face, but not quite, with a chain saw. He had a great demonic laugh, and never broke character, well if you cal high fiving some people breaking character. We were in line for a good 30 minutes and he even got people in front of use whove seen him walk around and do his thing, he as good. He chased down a very scared lady to her car, down the street and into the alley, for about 5 minutes. finally he waved good bye to her and let her and her family leave.

Length of Event: Id say maybe 8 minutes, but after it was done i realized i walked pretty fast due to some very annoying little kids behind us. You may be able to get 12 minutes out of it if you walk at a slower pace.

Actor Performance: There werent too many actors in the House, i counted maybe a dozen. 3 of them just stood there and did absolutely nothing. There was a guy with his bask toward us standing over a dismembered body, i think he was taking a break, not sure? the few standout were the nun at the piano, she swayed back and fourth and looked 100% fake, but sprang to life, good job! The guy in the body bag room was lively and got me i gotta admit. and the chainsaw guy at the end maze was good. nothing like long black hallways to build some suspense and then spring out literally out of no where.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I was in a group of 2, but they added another group of a dad and his 3 kids, which normally i dont mind because its all good fun. but it would have been better if they would have let me group go alone. We didnt run into anyone, see anyone in back of us or even hear another group. so it was spaced out perfectly!

Appropriate Ages: I didnt notice anything too out of hand. nothing a PG-13 horror movie doesnt have. so id say 10, maybe even 8.

Props / Special FX: Its a small haunt in a very small town so there wasnt huge props and animatronis. Good use of strobes some fog machines and well placed sensors.

Costumes / Make-up: I couldnt really see details, it was very dark to set the ambiance of the house. But, the guy outside had a sweet mask, that i cant fully describe was it was.

Summary: If you live in the surrounding this is a MUST go to. for $8, with the coupon from the site, its very worth it. Owners seemed really friendly and excited to be doing it, and i am glad they did. I drove about 30 miles to it, payed about $20 in gas and id say id go again next year. Dont expect crazy scares or off the wall haunts, just good creepy fun! If youre traveling from towns up north or farther south, it may not be all too worth it unless youre a die hard and want to visit some where youve never been before. My only really complaint is that there is no sign or person at the very end saying which way to go. im not from the area and didnt know where to go, it was just an alley. we ended up walking all the way around the wrong way to find our car, a simple sign would work well. But, all in all i was pleased with this small haunt. Like i said if youre close, id say 30 miles out in any direction you have to pay this haunt a visit, take the family...its cheaper than a movie for sure.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at