Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2012 Visitor Reviews of
Basement of the Dead Featuring Shattered 3D (Aurora, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
88 out of 96 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Halloween   (Event Visited: 10/06/12 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Impossible to find, unless you have GPS and even then, it's hard. I've gone to the Basement of the Dead before, so I knew where to look, but people who hadn't would have a hard time finding it. When I went, there was no signage on the road. The haunted house is actually below the level of the road you are traveling on, so you won't be able to see it.

Wait Entertainment: There were many characters roaming around.

Length of Event: Including both attractions, maybe 10 or 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: Some pretty good old-school scares. Many pop-outs.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Pretty good.

Summary: The main haunted house had that same pop-out old school style it always had, but it seemed shorter this year. There were a lot of rooms with tables of body parts and some had guys sawing or slicing them apart. The Silent Hill nurses were the coolest part. There were lots of dark hallways in there. If you are afraid of the dark, you are in trouble. 
 
The 3D haunt was pretty short. Some cool artwork, though. Lots of clown mannequins and actors and you had to decide which was which. It was neat, but not worth the extra money.  
 
The show was good quality, but the huge admission jump was what I had a hard time with. 
 
Let me tell you... I have been a fan of the Basement of the Dead for many years and my, have things changed recently. In 2010, the admission price was $15. Last year, in 2011, it increased to $18, even though you got an identical show. Now in 2012, it is $25 because of this added 3D thing, which is only a few minutes long. It seems like they shortened the main attraction, too, to make room for this new one. So, using the same space, how can they charge almost 100% more than they did two years ago? It's sad to say, but I think these guys are just trying to cash in on Halloween, like some other Chicagoland events I have seen lately. Sorry, guys, but until you take the price down to a reasonable level, I won't be back.

34 out of 54 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: mrsmitch2   (Event Visited: 10/20/12 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We have been coming to this haunted house now for a few years so we knew where to go but the friends who met us there did not have any idea. They did not see it from the street at all and were able to find it from our directions.

Wait Entertainment: We purchased the VIP tickets so we did not wait in the long line to get in but while we were waiting we did see the characters engaging with the spectators. They didn't seem to be scaring people but were pausing for pictures etc. They did not however break character at all from what I saw. The costumes, make-up and their energy were pretty good!

Length of Event: The actual haunted house took us about 20 minutes to get thru and the 3D haunted house maybe 10-15 minutes.

Actor Performance: All the actors in both houses had very high energy and had perfect timing! It used to be the actors would wait til maybe the 3rd or 4th person was in line to scare them but now it seems like they get the first person AND the others as they rounded corners! They were really very good!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We had no problems running into anyone else at all.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: LOVE the special effects and all the props! The skeleton or face walls were among our favorites! everything little detail was perfect from the blood to the gore! I was really impressed with the make-up jobs. The airbrushing and colors details were very cool!

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were also extremely well done! Loved the ones by the 3D house!

Summary: We have been coming to this haunted house for a few years now. We do feel that it was better last year though. There were 2 "birthing rooms" last year and while the 2nd one was white with a light for you to see-there was this SCARY clown in there! We didn't see that this year however. There was only one birthing room. The decor and atmosphere is still amazing! I'd prefer to see more characters scaring the patrons in line but their timing inside the houses were impeccable! We absolutely love this place and will continue to come year after year!

50 out of 101 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: scaryman   (Event Visited: 10/07/12 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: A little hard to find from street. But it's in the basement of the Balleydoyle Pub bar.

Wait Entertainment: Awesome! Stilt walkers, Vampires, Clowns and very original monsters. The music was good and createred a very cool atmosphere.

Length of Event: 15 mins for the Basement and about 8 mins for Shattered

Actor Performance: The actors are very impressive! Everyone was in a awesome looking costume. The girls in Shattered did an amazing of being very appealing, but very sinister at the same time.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I was there early and had no problem with the flow.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up.

Props / Special FX: The basment was filled with gory props the the actors used very well to set up scares. The 3D haunt was amazing. A 3D haunt that is actually 3D! Not to give any thing away, but the way you start the haunt is awesome!!!

Costumes / Make-up: Very well done. The make and costumes looked professionally done. The again the basement actors were in very cool and original masks and costumes. The nurses were awesome.

Summary: The Basement of the Dead and Shattered 3D is one of the best around. I went on a cupon night, and what I experienced for $20 was incredible. The outside entertainment is a buffet of all things horror. Vampires, Dolls, Clowns oh my! The new 3D haunt was awesome. It is amazing how you can get scared even when everything is lit up. And to be in a 3D haunt that is acutally 3D is, pardon the pun, eye opening. The Basement seems to get better and better every year. The room designs and the acting in the rooms make this attraction one you should not miss!

30 out of 71 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: bmeadowcroft   (Event Visited: 10/11/12 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Behind Ballydoyle in Aurora

Wait Entertainment: No wait the time I went, but it was a Thursday.

Length of Event: I don't know the exact time, but it was a good length. You will definetly get your moneys worth. I would recommend both haunted hauses the original one is great for scares, and the new 3D one is visually stunning.

Actor Performance: This is where Basement of the Dead thrives. I have been there a couple times before and they really have developed their characters. The new ones are great!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Excellent flow. You have time to appreciate the props.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 13 and up

Props / Special FX: Watch out for the electric wall. Yes you will get a shock. Great freak out technique!

Costumes / Make-up: Again GREAT characters. I really like the devil and giant pumpkin head.

Summary: You can tell BOD really put effort and money into the haunt. The characters costumes are well done and they are good actors. They really provide a party type atmosphere even when you are in line. The combination of the two haunts in one is great. The original one is extremely scary, while the 3D haunt is visually stunning. I thought the hanging heads bobbling in your face in 3D was awesome. Another cool thing is Ballydoyle is right next to the haunt so you can make a night of it. Hit the haunt and then go to the bar and have a few drinks.

19 out of 56 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/26/12 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very visible from the street.

Wait Entertainment: The very best, they have about five to ten people always trying to scare the guests, including a person on stilts and another on a unicycle.

Length of Event: About twenty minutes in the first haunt, about another ten in the 3D haunt.

Actor Performance: Amazing, they really want to scare you and stay in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Did not have a problem in either haunt. 

Summary: This house is my favorite for the second year in a row. The first half of the first house is very loud and very scary, with rooms that includes electrocutions, and scary animatronics. The second half is a pitch black maze, which I love, and includes people just sitting in there waiting to scare you. The second haunt requires 3D glasses, and is filled with clowns. That is all I can really say about it without giving anything away. Although it is not that dark, due to the black lights and the 3D aspect of the house, if you do not like clowns, this is the haunt for you. 

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at