Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2012 Visitor Reviews of
Haunted Mansion & Asylum 13 (Bolingbrook, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
66 out of 73 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: sniper   (Event Visited: 10/13/12 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The haunted house is in a sports dome, so it is very visible. I saw signs along the road.

Wait Entertainment: They could use some help in this category. There was a scarecrow on stilts and a young kid in a dark cloak. The scarecrow was somewhat interactive, but the other character just stood there, like he didn't know what to do.

Length of Event: Big disappointment. I was in and out in less than ten minutes, despite the lady at the ticket window's assessment of more than twenty five. Way too short, for the ticket price!!!

Actor Performance: This was hit and miss. Some of the actors did a good job, while others really seemed like they were a deer in headlights.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They did a good job regulating flow. There were a couple of "check points", where they stopped you, so groups wouldn't run together.

Appropriate Ages: All

Summary: I have gone to this event the past few years and I think this year, they went down a peg.  
 
In the Mansion, there were some great scenes initially with some great detail. One example would be the Study with antique furniture, book shelves and flickering "candles". Other rooms seemed to be much plainer. 
 
In Asylum 13, there was one fantastic highly detailed scene. It had grimy tile walls, metal examination tables with gutted bodies on them, Asylum doors and medical examination lights. Kudos to whoever put this scene together. Other scenes were, just like in the Mansion, fairly plain. There were some areas with just white walls or barred cells.  
 
One problem that resonated throughout both attractions was lighting. None of the scenes were covered and they had a strobe light pointed up at the top of the golf dome, which reflected down into the scenes you were in. All of that flashing was VERY distracting and it completely ruined much of the experience. In years past, this event had been much darker, which is what a haunted house should be.  
 
Sorry, Haunted Mansion. I liked you in the past, but this year you just had too many problems... from actor performance to themeing, to lighting. And most importantly, I must stress this again... It was WAY TOO SHORT!!! I was in and out within ten minutes and $20 is just way too much to pay for that!

52 out of 59 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: MusicMan83   (Event Visited: 10/12/12 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: There were only 2 line entertainers. They did a decent job.

Length of Event: I'd say it lasted a good 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: Not much for acting. Mostly screaming and getting in your face longer than they should have. It made it quite annoying actually. It was way to predictable.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Moved fast. Wound up caatching the group ahead of me.

Appropriate Ages: Appropriate for all ages.

Props / Special FX: Not much for props and no special effects except for one strobe.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and makeup were decent.

Summary: This was more hyped up than what it actually was. I have to admit I was disappointed. The rooms were nowhere near dark enough. You could look up through the entire thing and see the top of the dome. Overall, it was not worth $20 to go through. It definitely needs improvement and its one I will not return to. They could have used better props in each room and at least a fog machine to try and throw you off a little. It got to the point where I was laughing through it. If you're looking to actually be scared this isn't it.

43 out of 51 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: 8562432   (Event Visited: 10/12/12 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find - right up 53, multiple hearses parked at the entrance and flashing lights.

Wait Entertainment: There were TV monitors around, but we didn't really pay attention. We were in the attraction within 10 minutes from walking in the front door.

Length of Event: About 10 Minutes. Maybe it's because no one was there?

Actor Performance: Fairly OK - I was surprised there were so many little kids. We heard a lot of screaming while we were waiting in line, which pumped us up for being scared, but once we got done, we realized it was the actors doing a lot of the screaming.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We got through very quickly - there was no one in there. The biggest holdup was when an actor trapped you in a corner. I actually had one put his arms up on either side of me against the wall so I had to duck underneath his arm to get around him and continue with my group.

Appropriate Ages: 7&up

Props / Special FX: Pretty good, they need to do something with the floor though. It's like gym mats and totally takes away from their props.

Costumes / Make-up: OK - the people that were hiding within each room were well disguised, makeup was good, but again, soo many kids.

Summary: Overall, I was really disappointed with this attraction. We literally walked out of the end and said "That was it?". There were a lot of teenagers/kids (I'm talking like 7 year olds & up) working this venue and it made it quite a bit less scary than it probably could have been. I think one of the best actors is in the first half of the attraction taking tickets. The dark & deep voice, costume, and acting was good. I got my VIP tickets on Groupon, but in the end, we really didn't need the "VIP" Treatment because we went straight to the front of the regular line when we arrived. Either way I saved money, but I wish I wouldn't have spent any at all. We ended up going to another haunted house that night to redeem our haunted house experience since we were so disappointed here. Maybe it's better on a busy night!?

31 out of 37 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: pschilaci   (Event Visited: 10/20/12 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The building was easy to find with clear signs. The parking was close to the building and it seemed like plenty of parking available.

Wait Entertainment: There were 4 or 5 actors that were roaming around while waiting in line. Their make-up and clothes were interesting. They also interacted well with the guests waiting in line. Especially a scarecrow guy on stilts..he was the best actor.

Length of Event: Including wait time the whole thing lasted about an hour. We did arrive later at night, so the wait in the line wasnt too long.

Actor Performance: The actors inside were entertaining and engaging. They interacted with us and talked with us as part of the scene. The costumes were creative.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was decent, they kept us in our group of 4 so we all were able to experience it without a bunch of people. We never caught up to another group so that was nice.

Appropriate Ages: It says ages 13 and over, but it wasnt scary in my opinion, so accompanied by and adult I would say a 10 yr old could do it.

Summary: Overall i laughed more than i was scared. When i go to a haunted house i would prefer to have the element of surprise but that was never really there. It was a cool experience and the actors were engaging, but not real scary. I dont think it was worth the value of money that was paid. Also, it wasnt very dark so i never really jumped by any of the scenes/actors. The other downside is that it was "2 in 1", but both of the attractions were pretty short therefore it really only felt like one. If you want a "funny" haunted house experience then I would recommend this, but if you prefer something really scary, then this probably isnt the one for you.

17 out of 40 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: scarymonkey   (Event Visited: 10/20/12 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: yes its right down 53 and its a dome with a sports bar in it.

Wait Entertainment: it was well the scarecrow was great and i liked the stilt walkers

Length of Event: since we got there at like 9:15 it was at the top of it hype so we were in line for about 10 too 15 mins and walking the houses was about 20 mins

Actor Performance: like I said the scarecrow was great but the mansion was a little disappointing some of the actors just stood there and looked at you and tried to be creepy i would have liked to have seen more from them cuz the story on the web page was really about the mansion. the asylum was up and down some of the skits were great while others were poor i really jumped when i was entering the cell part and this guy with a creepy bloody smile mask jumped out and got me good.the rest of it was here and there

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: since it was a busy night the actors kept it a good flow sometimes it did back up but did not have to wait long.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: one room in the asylum was really great a lot of the other rooms were plain

Costumes / Make-up: make-up was good and costumes were ok

Summary: i think when it is busy the actors are good but too many little kids if you want to just to do something then i would go to this not really all that scary but ok but not really wroth 20 bucks it was also too bright in there not dark at all and a couple of strobe lights and that's really it but like the coach would say there is always next year lol lets put a roof on there bring down the lighting and give the actors sum lesions and a lil more blood but am not saying i did not have fun i did it was a cool thing to do with my friends and then we got sum drinks at the bar lol

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at