Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2012 Visitor Reviews of
Haunted Infirmary at Bartonville Insane Asylum (Bartonville, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
32 out of 39 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/13/12 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Could have used more signs. There are two attractions there and it was quite confusing which was which.

Wait Entertainment: We got there at 7pm with tickets purchased online. Hardly any wait at all. It got busier after, though.

Length of Event: 28 mins!

Actor Performance: Excellent!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Perfect!

Appropriate Ages: 12 +

Props / Special FX: They had things I've never seen before.

Costumes / Make-up: Great! Also, makeup and costumes I have never seen before.

Summary: Wow. I can't say enough about this one. The only place that compares is Auburn. Bartonville has a fantastic, original and unique setup. The first room totally blew me away and I was literally jumping up and down because I loved it so much. Not a soul stepped out of character the entire time. I loved that we were referred to as interns through the entire haunt. Although I loved every room, some standouts were the first room (possibly my all time favorite of any place I've ever been) the guy with the mask and the accent, the baby room...it's not at all what you are thinking."I hungeey" KILLED me!!!! Short of Auburn haunted house, this is one of my all time favorites. Only a couple things I would change. Just a few people in the house were telling us we were too slow and to hurry. Although they did stay in character when saying it. We always take our time in every house and I kind of felt like they really did think we were going too slow. However, not one single actor yelled at us to GET OUT. Hallelujah!! The hayride could definitely use more....something. Some stories, history, a pamphlet...anything. It was pretty much an uninformed, short ride through the cemetery. There definitely was time for something. I would also advise the people who work at this one not to knock the Bowen Building tour. It gives a very bad impression to patrons and besides, you are likely to get more business with another attraction so near. FYI: The Bowen people were very helpful when asked about your haunt (by many people who stopped while I was there). They gave directions cheerfully. I suggest you guys do the same. Overall, I heartily recommend this one!! It was a total blast!!!

43 out of 53 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/13/12 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Living in Bartonville years ago, I knew exactly where the building was but for people traveling to the area it would be hard to find. There needs to be more signage or at least a lit sign pointing the direction.

Wait Entertainment: there was one guy scaring the crowd; but he di his job very well! Hayrack ride needs to have something that says "Hayrack ride starts here". Wait entertainment in that area would be good to add.

Length of Event: Infirmry was around 28 minutes. Hayrack ride was around 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: I was overall impressed in this area. Since the haunted house is a fundraiser for the JFL you would assume there would be a lot of children working the house. Even though there were children, these kids were over the top! They all played there parts well. The house seemed to have adults and under 18 playing their characters very well. Kuudos to you for this! You taught them well! All characters stayed in character!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Another kuudos go out to the group in this area. There were certain places in the attraction that you could hear other groups but you never saw them. From the beginning of the line to the actual entrance to the house was a short distance that made it seems like you were alone!

Appropriate Ages: 12 on up for some intense scares that happened throughout the house.

Props / Special FX: This house brought back the original scares of homemade props and simple ideas that went over the top. This house did not need the usual non-scary pneumatic props that you are seeing in a lot of houses now days.

Costumes / Make-up: A great mixture of masks and make-up. None of the masks that were used in the house were the commercial masks; like Jason or Freddy. They took masks that that gave the building a great horrific feeling of walking through an asylum.

Summary: My only comment would to be is the hayrack ride. You need to have someone talking to the riders during the ride. Some kind of history of the hospital and the grounds would have been a nice touch. People traveling to the area might not know the importance of it or the history of the area. The hayrack ride misses a lot since it is quiet and you have to pay attention to wherever the driver is pointing the light and then you are not sure what you are looking at.  
 
I can't believe this is the house's second year. This group does a spectacular job at scaring the patrons. From the time you left the que line and took the walk to the back of the building till the time you walked out you had the feeling of being in a lunitic asylum. The maze of beds that you had to walk through, to the children singing and just laying there in the beds started the erie visit off to a great start. Other notable areas were the Beserkers,the girl that was dressed as a baby sitting there saying 'I'm hungee", to the nurses working in the building. I can't rave about this house enough. We travel to haunted houses all over Illinois in the month of October reveiwing them and this is right up there with one of the best I have seen. Great job JFL and can't wait to see what you have done next year.

25 out of 36 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/13/12 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We knew where we were going..but not a lot of signs. When were at the flashlight tour in the main building many people came up and asked where the haunted house was..and the guides from the flashlight tour nicely explained.

Wait Entertainment: a man with a shovel got some good scares.

Length of Event: 28 minutes

Actor Performance: fantastic...always in character...even after leaving the room.The characters were right on, not over done...but actually quite insane creepy..loved the girl in the crib saying "I'm hungee"

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: perfect...they left quite a bit of time between groups.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Details everywhere. Awesome sets. look in everyroom as you pass by. Extremely well done!

Costumes / Make-up: you had a bit of everything in this house, make up, masks...there must be 50 people or more working...all very well done. The skinned alive kid the the "contraption" is a stand out.

Summary: First year to attend..and so happily surprised with this haunt. The actors, and quite a few were kids..were outstanding!! There was not one room that let us down. This has entered my top 5 of haunted houses in Central Illinois. This spookfest has left me hungee for more!!! Great job! 
One suggestion to add to the bonus hayride through the cemetary would be a volunteer actually on the hay ride explaining the history of this very macabre institution, this would have really ramped up the experience.

23 out of 34 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Freaky1   (Event Visited: 10/05/12 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: A little tricky to find since we're not from the area. Could use more signs.

Wait Entertainment: There was no wait, they were actually getting ready to close but were nice enough to let us go through!

Length of Event: 20 minutes or close

Actor Performance: Very good. The actors were very convincing in their roles.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great never ran into another group.

Appropriate Ages: Probably 9 or older

Props / Special FX: Props seemed like they all belonged in the building. I don't remember any high dollar effects but they don't need them, they have ambiance!

Costumes / Make-up: Make-up and costumes were done well. No masks.

Summary: I really liked this haunt. Standing in front of the doors hearing the story of the asylum really sets the mood. You can hear the " patients" before entering but I had no idea what was coming next. I was totally impressed in the first room- the amount of actors, and how each one was doing something different it seemed so real, the actors didn't break character and were right on cue! Going through the place was creepy, it's hard to believe this is only their second year what a great job they all did! We were lucky enough to get a tour of one of the cemeteries on the property which was fascinating also. We will be back next year so keep up the great work! 

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at