Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2012 Visitor Reviews of
Screamatorium Haunted House (Poplar Grove, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
22 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: blckspider   (Event Visited: 10/20/12 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was very easy to find. they had a white house with flashing lights in the windows and lots of decorations. There was also a huge flashing sign at the entrance.

Wait Entertainment: The line was so long when we got there - we were told it might be a hour and a half to a two hour wait. You have this dark spooky barn wood fence area to wait in and all you can hear is screaming coming from the haunt. When we got up to the front there was Michael Meyers - he was hitting the wall with this real knife and it was awesome.

Length of Event: I think it took us about 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: OMG...the actors were GREAT!!! Our group was screaming all the way through and they were always in your face. Just when you thought you could breath here comes a chainsaw at you. Awesome job!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never ran into any other group but we could definitely hear ALOT of screaming!

Appropriate Ages: Definitely over 16 years old.

Props / Special FX: The scenes beginning from the entrance where it said Home Sweet h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored) were unbelievable. The first 3 or 4 scenes really made you feel like you were in a creepy house then as you went farther into the haunt the theme changed and it made you feel like you were in a dungeon. We loved the graveyard scene with all the coffins and tombstones and the ending was awesome - don't want to give to much away

Costumes / Make-up: They did an excellent job in this category. All the actors had great makeup and really fit the character they were playing. You can tell these guys are professionals.

Summary: You DEFINITELY have to check out the Screamatorium this year! We attended this attraction last year and we all agree that this new location they are at is perfect. The use of the space and making you feel like you are inside and outside is awesome. Even the greenhouse has a creepy feel as you are walking in. THe acting is top notch and they seem to put 110% into everything they do from the sets to the costumes and makeup to the acting - It is definitely worth the $10 ticket price and we would have paid more!!! THey were so packed this night and our group heard so much screaming it was unbelievable. Loved all the chainsaws and you will be running at the end - trust me!!! Great job guys!!!!

27 out of 39 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/06/12 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/07/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Once we headed down the road, we saw a flashing sign and the lights flashing in the house and knew we had found the location.

Wait Entertainment: We encountered 1 Michael Myers, a rather small Michael Myers. That was the only wait entertainment that we had. Walking up to the concession stand there was one ghoul with his mask off and another standing in line for concessions. This ruin the atmosphere for me a little.

Length of Event: We were in the haunted house for around 21 minutes weaving back and forth between and outside the buildings.

Actor Performance: A couple of the performers were good- the head banging clown and the white rabbit were memorable performances. Also the actor peaking over the fence saying to another actor "why is your flashlight still on?" Remember patrons hear everything in the house. WHat started as a great erie mood quickly lost it's pace after that remark.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The first part of the huse pace was great but then all of the sudden instead of a group of 4 we were a group of 11. Actors within the house need to control the patron flow.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: A great effect used in the house was was the use of cattle shoots. They were dark and some seemed like they narrowed down to a smaller shoot.

Costumes / Make-up: Make-up and costumes were good of what we saw.

Summary: Overall the house did a good job; but actors need to remain in character. The house needed more wait entertainment and more actors in the house helping. If the actors could not be in the other house they should have been in this house helping. Someone directing the cars in the parking lot told us the other haunted house was not open. Please put on the website id the house is not open. You have patrons driving hours and hours to attend these events and getting there and then finding out the house is not open was a waste of a drive.

22 out of 33 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/06/12 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/07/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Used GPS, arriving upon the house it was well lit and good signage, definitly could tell something was going on at this place. Drove 2.5 hours to attend haunts in this area. Our first time.

Wait Entertainment: Only one group in front of us...but really enjoyed the lay out walking up to the entrance. Nice food booth..Michael Myers made a nice appearance and messed with us. The guy explaining rules did a fine job!

Length of Event: 15-18 Minutes

Actor Performance: Actors did a nice job..lots of screaming in your face..hence the name I suppose.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The group behind us did catch up.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Nothing out of the ordinary, a fine job. The roof to the green house was wide open, I am sure due to fire laws.

Costumes / Make-up: A nice combo of masks and make up. The clowns looked good.

Summary: We were pleased with the house over all. The house seemed a bit void of actors. A stand out was the clown crouched in the corner and laughing...then zooming toward us..good scare. The top two were the Easter bunny at the end of a long hall and a guy with a long face that would turn the flashlight on his face and then bang his head from side to side while running backwards down the hall...kudos to him..very creeeeepy. (Unfortunately a workman stepped up over the side and told the actor to not leave his flashlight on so long)..kinda ruined it a bit, and should not have been critical to who was probably putting out more in the house then anyone..all and all worth a stop!

20 out of 31 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/06/12 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/08/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If you're looking, you can't miss this one. Use GPS.

Wait Entertainment: Not much to speak of. Teenage Michael Meyers.

Length of Event: 20 mins. Good length

Actor Performance: Pretty good, could definitely use more actors.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Another group or two caught up with us. Actors need to know to keep groups separate. They didn't seem to know that.

Appropriate Ages: 12 & up

Props / Special FX: Nothing special that I noticed. They have lots of room and need more "events". Lots of open space.

Costumes / Make-up: Giggling clown was creepy and I loved the white rabbit. That is all I can remember.

Summary: They have so much to work with here and the concessions and beginning area looks good. Parking is well choreographed. They could use some work in other areas. The path to the haunt was devoid of any scary decorations. So much room and nothing. Patron flow wasn't good and the actors didn't seem to realize they should be helping control this. There weren't many rooms but lots of area to create scares. They need more people and more setup scares. Loved what the white rabbit did and I was expecting something from him at the end....then nothing. Get an ending for him!! The head banging clown had an insane giggle and he worked around the house. He did great. Other than that, nothing else except too much empty space stands out in my mind. They could use work. Lots of potential. I hope they step it up, unfortunately we drove two hours and won't be able to come back to see if they get better.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at