Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2012 Visitor Reviews of
Dark Summit Haunted House (Summit Argo, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
18 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: sharonnjoe   (Event Visited: 10/20/12 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I will admit I did have to pay close attention to where to turn to get to the parking lot. The location is kinda cool because of the walk from the ticket booth to the actual a haunt. It gives a sense of suspense during the walk.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was awesome. We got to meet Spice and and Naughty. What a pair of silly, funny, freaky characters. They have such a great imagination and they keep you wondering what can they come up with next. Seriously, Spice told us she had a unicorn in her uterus. So crazy.

Length of Event: The event length was pretty good. I was kinda scared and hoping to get out quicker. So they really were doing a great job. Although, at the end I was thinking it would be great to go in again because there was so much to see.

Actor Performance: The zombies in the cages really got to me. There seemed to be 100 zombies in there. Great job. The kitchen scene really took us by surprise. That gal is so scary and the set up was so well thought out. There is actually a stove in there.  
The little lost girl was very unsettling. She is so small and made me think "is she for real or is this place really haunted." The contortionist was such a good addition. I wanted to see him perform longer but I had to keep moving. Great job. Kept me wanting more.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Patron flow was very good. There were other groups with us and everything moved along well. The crew kept us entertained from start to finish.

Appropriate Ages: Not appropriate for pre-teens because it might be too scary, but I brought my parents (ages 72 and 75) and they had a blast.

Props / Special FX: The props are amazing and I was quite impressed with all the bones and props in the Voodoo Queen room. The toy room is so cool with all of the stuffed animals on the wall.

Costumes / Make-up: Everone has a great make-up job, but I got a great view (in my face) of the the tall chain saw guy outside. He looked like he lost half of his face and was trying to eat what was hanging. So extremely gross.

Summary: We had a wonderful time. My parents loved it and I was a litte skeptical about them going through. They got such a kick out of it. Just as we were leaving in the last room are a bunch of deranged, clowns. They actually were trying to get my 72 year old mother in their box. They somehow knew her name and were calling her to get into the box with them. So funny. I've never be so scared and amused all at once. What great entertainment I think this whole group is very talented and hard working. Such imagination and creativity. Keep up the good work.

20 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Reaperzen   (Event Visited: 10/20/12 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: A little hard to find. We managed to locate the haunt with minimum difficulty, but stay vigilant after getting off the highway. Several signs are posted to help you find the way, but don't miss the turn, as it is dark. Parking was sufficient and it was a very short walk from the lot to the attraction.

Wait Entertainment: We arrived near opening time, so the wait was very short. The little bit we did spend in line was lightened by two actresses with manic personalities who entertained with their antics as they explained the rules. Also, several characters in impressive costumes roamed the line. Inside, you hear a cacophony of screams and wicked laughter.

Length of Event: 15 minutes, if you take the time to absorb each scene you are presented with. The young girl in front of us seemed to disappear into the blackness, from which she never emerged, likely too frightened to stick around for long.

Actor Performance: Every actor and actress encountered was fully consumed in their role. Each one on top of their game, knowing the precise moment they could catch you unaware.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We moved through at a pace that we could take in each room without being rushed.

Appropriate Ages: Some parts may be too scary for very young children, but there are ample exits provided for anyone who can't take it.

Props / Special FX: Lighting, costumes, and props are all used masterfully. Many pitch-black corridors to keep you on your toes, and strobe lights used to accent the feeling that you're walking through an asylum of psychopaths and freaks. Blood-spattered walls and scenes of gore abound.

Summary: I will not recount every room, for I don't wish to ruin all the surprises in store. I will recount my very favorites. As we entered, we were greeted by Mr. Shadows and his clown henchman. Mr. Shadows is the head of the family we met within, and his attire is like that of a circus ringmaster mixed with a voodoo priest. As he told us the rules we must follow inside his domain, his clown minion joked with us. The clown's voice was high-pitched and seemingly friendly, only to shift suddenly into a menacing roar as he showed off a severed head from one of last years' guests. Further in we met the voodoo queen and her child, their walls covered in bones of an unknown origin. We walked through an asylum next, as blood-covered denizens reached out for us through the bars of their cages. In one room, a full cannibal feast laid spread out on the table. A young girl was tied to a chair, drenched in blood. She pleaded with us not to leave her there, as she would soon be an entree on the menu. As it is a carnival, it would not be complete without a freak show. The barker was a charismatic gentleman who introduced us first to a girl who shrieked like a banshee hungry for souls, but was music to his ears ("Voice of an angel, that one!"). Then a possessed boy, whose body was contorted in a sickening way and skin much paler than one finds in the living. Then the wolf-girl, whose features were transformed into those of a feral beast, snarling and howling out for want of bloodshed. Shortly after, we met Jacko, a psychotic clown with a somewhat warped sense of humor who begged us to stay. After we escaped out of the twisted carnival, I felt the adrenaline coursing through me. I had spent the time inside with all my senses set to high, and much of it spent shamelessly hugging the walls. I think you will find many scares and laughs alike inside, and I know I'm excited to see what will come next year. In only their second year, these people have already established that they have a true passion for terror and a flair for the creepy and bizarre.

25 out of 32 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cunbe   (Event Visited: 10/06/12 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/08/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location is good. It is about 100 yards from the parking lot. Make sure to stop into the office first to buy tickets though

Wait Entertainment: There was no wait. However, there was a fire dancer outside, so we actually stayed after to watch him. Also, the two girls that explained the rules were hilarious. They did a great job making the monotny of listening to the rules enjoyable.

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes. There were two of us and they let us go solo. Which always ups the scare factor

Actor Performance: Actors were very good. They stayed in character the whole time.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow of house was very good. But there were not many people there at the time so it was hard to judge.

Appropriate Ages: not for young kids.

Props / Special FX: Not bad with the effects. The rooms were decorated well. They had a turning wall of which I had never seen before. That was something unique.

Costumes / Make-up: Very Good!

Summary: This is my second year attending this haunt. I thought they improved from last year. I am a fan of the unexpected pop-ups more than the scenes and I thought they definitely improved on that aspect. They seemed to do a good job of having the actors scare you twice. Meaning, I would see them in one scene and then turn the corner and they would be hiding in the darkness to scare again. Good use of space. The firedancer was a unique attraction if there is a line. Overall, this house is definitely worth the price. I have been haunting for over 20 years and really enjoyed it. This house seems to improve every year which is great!

19 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Phluphphy   (Event Visited: 10/13/12 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The visibility isn't that great from the main road, but the sign that points toward the direction you have to go made it easier to find. The location is a really good place to have a haunted house. It's under a pavillion, right next to an open field and a park distict so there's no where to hide!

Wait Entertainment: When I went there wasn't a whole lot of people, but that didn't stop the wait entertainment crew from creeping my group of friends. They were all over the place and kept us on our toes.

Length of Event: The total time it took for us to go through the house was probably around 5 to ten minutes but it was really a good scare. A lot of pop outs, unsuspectedly, but those were the ones that really got me.

Actor Performance: All of the actors that work there are really something. The energy level that they have is just over the top good. Especially doing that for 5 hours is incredible. They make you want to go through it again because it makes you feel overwhelmed, in a good way.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I have a personal experience with this haunt. I worked with them for a day, but regardless of that, my focus is on my experience as a patron. For me, I had a group of 4. Since I had worked there for that one day, they really made sure to give me a show, and boy did it pay off. They sent two of my friends together, they sent one by himself just because, and they sent me by myself because I'm so lucky. It made me feel like I was special, but the flow was quick given the fact that I went on a slow night. So not really much more I can say in this field...

Appropriate Ages: This haunt is appropriate for most ages, there is a decent amount of blood/gore so, not the best for anyone under, I would say 10 or 11.

Props / Special FX: There was a lot of different props that went very well with the rooms, and the special effects made the haunt's ambience a lot better. Not very much that I can say about it.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and makeup are unbelievably legit and creepy. I'm in awe at how realistic the makeup looks and how great the costumes match the person or the room that the parson was in. Really well done, my favorite was the one where the mask on this one scare's face actually looked like it was sewn onto his face.

Summary: Dark Summit Haunted House for me was an experience I will never forget. I love the dedication the actors have in part with their roles and giving the patron a good show. I loved the pop-outs, really unexpected. (But I guess that's the point right) I was so excited to go in as much as I was to come out because I actually got scared. I wanted to go back in it was so good. Another thing that was spectacular is the make-up, I cannot get over how good it is. It looks so realistic, the blood, the scars, the gashes in the skin, whatever it was it looked REAL! The layout of the house was even good, the flow from room to room was easy to manuver, which was a good thing because of how dark it is. For being built under a pavillion at a park, I was surprised on how dark it was in there. I so want to go back! Nothing but good feedback from me.

18 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: tweets   (Event Visited: 10/12/12 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good

Wait Entertainment: Good, except for the one guy who picked his mask up to pick his nose. Loved the girls :)

Length of Event: 15 minutes at the most

Actor Performance: Good

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Good

Costumes / Make-up: Really good, thought the guy in the beginning when you first walk in was the best

Summary: Would highly recommend this one. The price was good too :) I really enjoyed the girls while we were waiting, they were cute and funny. The make up on the actors were also very good, especially the guy in the beginning. They had a few parts where I did scream, did not expect it, which I love. I would recommend this to kids, that love scary movies and haunted houses. Hope they will be back next year, cuz this is one we will definitely go back to. Just remember to get your tickets at the building before you walk down to the haunted house, if not you will have to walk all the way back. LOL :)

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at