Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2012 Visitor Reviews of
Ashmore Estates Asylum (Ashmore, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
21 out of 27 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: CuJo84   (Event Visited: 10/27/12 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was very easy to find. Its out in the middle of nowhere, so it wasn't hard to miss.

Wait Entertainment: The entertainment was amazing. One actor had my sister scared beyond her wits and we hadn't even got into the building yet.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes depending upon the length of people in front of you.

Actor Performance: Excellent though some of the actors were a bit boring. The wheelchair lady was my all-time fave. She had me scared to death, and the young girl at the start of the door maze was hilarious. She kept the jokes rolling as we were stopped at the checkpoint.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Fairly decent, though we did get stopped a few times to allow for some space between us and the group ahead.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 10 and above but I did see younger than that inside the attraction. And I saw that if the young children are crying the actors will break character and help "sooth" the child.

Props / Special FX: Awesome, the spinning room was my favorite, it was really cool. They took time to build an amazing set.

Costumes / Make-up: I thought some of the costumes were great and others were okay. I wondered why some actors had amazing make-up while others had none or some.

Summary: I had a great time amd so did my friends. It wasn't too expensive and we had a blast. All in all, it was a very easy place to find. THe outside entertainment was amazing and the wheel chair lady was so creepy, it was cool. They really took time to design the inside of the place and make it look even creepier then it did before. Take the family along with ya, especially if you need to extract revenge on a sibling, best friend, or both. It was funny watching my friends and sister get scared until I got scared too. My friends and I will be going back next year, for sure!

19 out of 27 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: halloween87   (Event Visited: 10/27/12 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: You can see it from rout 16 with no issues, they may want to try and do something about parking

Wait Entertainment: I enjoyed it I think my g/f didnt, they singled her out a lot but I got a kick out of it. I like the woman with the accent in the ticket booth most she never broke her act

Length of Event: Good, I think that they should maybe let people have more time between the next people but When it was over it was over, they should concentrate on putting more out the back door. Also add something like trees or walls out the back! COLD!

Actor Performance: great, the doc's voice when you first walked in was hilarious but set the mood. I like all the random places people jump out but I have to say there was one girl that screamed "die" that was lame. The only part that really got mewas the lady in the weelchair,she was creepy and scary but what made it even better was the girl that came out after her and screamed because you didnt know what way to look i almost fell because my girl had a death grip. The make up was cool too

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Like i said just more time between ppl

Appropriate Ages: I think 8 or older only cuz who would bring anyone younger then that, they were not volger and kept telling ppl to watch their mouth

Props / Special FX: I also like the tilt room and the animatronics, now those we tight, again that dang wheelchair I didnt even hear her coming right behind us Im going to have crazy dreams for months

Costumes / Make-up: I liked it all really exspecialy in the clown maze, I am not sure if I understood why some things were the way they where like why some people had really awesome makeup and others just had face paint, it didn't take away but i would stick with a level of quality through out

Summary: Overall I liked it, I went last time with a few buddies and liked it, I used to sink in when I was younger before it was a haunted house so its cool to go in there legally and I don't think 15$ is too much that is a historical site and I know they have to be paying someone something. But I loved watching my girl freak! Who ever the wheelchair lady was and the blond screamer after mad props to y'all and that clown maze was crazy,and mad kudos to the builders only major thing that needs changed is the exit,add more to the outside part and definitely build something or plant something to cut down on that wind, not nice to come out the bilding to that. Thanks for the great night!

20 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Saturn3   (Event Visited: 10/25/12 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: You know it when you see it. Kinda in the middle of nowhere so not hard to figure out. 

Wait Entertainment: There wasnt much to it. Two actors were "fighting" and one was a little insulting to/about women. I don't get offended too easily but I wasn't real happy with his attitude. He looked like a scarecrow sort of. Burlap bag type with holes cut for eyes.

Length of Event: Seemed sorter than it has been in previous years but longer than some. Of course it is in a huge building.

Actor Performance: Most were pretty good. Lots of scares.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We weren't rushing through. Wanted to get a decent look at the props but a group of girls caught up with us. Shouldn't have happened since it wasn't busy...

Appropriate Ages: I would say anyone up for a scare, they even ask you not to curse.

Props / Special FX: Cool Slanted floor. Building is old and creepy to begin with. Hate to say too much don't want to ruin it. Science lab had some neat stuff in it. Lots of toilets lol. Instead of a maze inside this time they did like a sheet maze pretty cool but should have been bigger. 

Costumes / Make-up: Some good some not so much. Freaky white eyed woman in sheets and another in a wheel chair that never looks at you kinda slumped to the side eerie! Not a lot that stood out though.

Summary: We usually go to lots of haunted houses and try not to miss this one each year but Im afraid it's beginning to be over used maybe? The price at $15 is too high for what you are getting these days especially as short as it seemed this year. It has just continued to go down hill although you do have a few good rooms Im not so sure I will waste the time or the money to visit next year. Hope for their sake they get some fresh ideas and maybe clean up from this year as much as possible to have a "fresh slate" Such a cool old building. I think I would have been much happier if I would have spent less on the tickets.

18 out of 28 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: mtertocha   (Event Visited: 10/20/12 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was very easy to find Ashmore Estates. Lit up very nicely. Could see it from the highway.

Wait Entertainment: They had a few people out and about but it seems like most were preoccupied, but while in line they had a tv playing a music video filmed at ashmore that was very cool.

Length of Event: About 30 minutes to get through the actual haunted house and 5 minutes to get trough the clown house.

Actor Performance: Some of the actors were very good. My favorite was probably in the lavatory room or the girl in the hallway in a wheelchair. The clowns in the clown house were very vulgar and rude. Making crass comments and I was very disappointed on how they conducted themselves.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We kept running into a handicapped person which is fine I understand that. The people behind us kept running into us also. I feel that they need to wait just a little bit longer before sending in the next group.

Appropriate Ages: 16 and above only because of the vulgar language the clowns were using but we didn't have any kids with us so I don't know if they would say it to a group with little kids. Just from my experience, I say definitely 16 and above.

Props / Special FX: Props were very nice. I was impressed by how the whole place was set up. Loved the disassembling room, the hoarding room, kitchen, and the lavatory room probably the best.

Costumes / Make-up: Some of the makeups were very excellent and then others were kind of poor.

Summary: All in all, I found that the haunted house was very good but towards the end it kind of petered out. The sheet maze was very cool but I feel they could have had someone in there. I feel like there was no definitive ending, we just walked out a door and it was over. The clown house was very disappointing like I said before, they were just very rude and obscene making horrible comments. The clown house kind of ruined the haunted house for me because I can't help but remember how the clowns were acting. The clowns are also why the rating was not higher.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at