Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2012 Visitor Reviews of
Realm of Terror Horror Experience (Round Lake Beach, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
39 out of 47 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: rubberbandit   (Event Visited: 10/07/12 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was easy to see from the road. 
The outside of the haunt looked great as well. 
It had flames shooting out of it into the sky.

Wait Entertainment: We skipped the line but from what I could see they had plenty. 
There were actors working the line and heavy metal music playing.

Length of Event: 15-30 minutes. 
It depends on how long you get stuck in the maze.

Actor Performance: Fantastic 
Hand down the best horror acting I have ever seen. 
They were ridiculously intense and acrobatic.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good expect for the dark maze but I think that's kind of the point in a maze.

Appropriate Ages: 13+  
It was very gory and vulger 
It was also quite strenuous to get though.

Props / Special FX: They were great but I had trouble picking out any to comment on because I was running so fast though the haunt. 
 
However the hellovator at the start of you decent into madness was outstandingly put together.

Costumes / Make-up: Very realistically gory and gross. 
 
All actors fit the setting of the scenes they were in.  
 
They all fit the haunt's overall theme as well.

Summary: Go to realm of terror you will not be disappointed. 
 
This was the best haunted house I have ever been too.  
 
They story is that there is a biological research lab that has been taken over by some kind of virus that mutates people and makes them violently homicidal. 
 
You enter on an elavator and are treated to a short video that does not end well to say the least. 
 
There is a jump scare in the elavator as well. 
 
Realm of terror's crowning  
achievement is mastering the jump scare. 
 
No one does it better then them. 
 
You exit the elavator JUMP SCARE you enter a animal dissection area JUMP SCARE head down a hallway JUMP SCARE 
find you way to an rat laboratory JUMP SCARE!! 
 
I can not honestly say anything else about this haunt. 
 
I hope some wil go there and write a better review then mine. 
 
Seriously go to realm of terror it is the best haunt I have ever been too (Sorry for repeating myself). 
 
PS I apologize for any grammer,formating or spelling errors in this review 

21 out of 27 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: HHdouble99   (Event Visited: 10/13/12 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Awesome, good variety

Wait Entertainment: Alot of characters to keep you busy and scary weird movies playing

Length of Event: Longest hunted house I have ever been to

Actor Performance: Really good actors, alot of different costumes

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Smooth flow, small groups

Appropriate Ages: No one under 13

Summary: Awesome hunted house. When you first got there alot of different actors in amazing costumes to greet you. While you wanted in line there was weird scary movies you could watch and various actors would come by and scare you and chat with you. When you got to the front of the line they asked how many were in your group, you went through the hunted house with that many people. Which is nice because alot of hunted houses have you go through with 10 or more people which takes away from it. Once in the hunted house they stuck to their theme and the decor was outstanding! Awesome props and costumes of the actors. While going through the house it was a perfect blend of actors scaring you as part of the rooms and random actors sneaking up on you. Most hunted houses either have one or the other but not both. There was a variety within the hunted house as far as additional features, such as blackouts and mazes. It also took about 30 minutes to go through, one of the longest walk throughs I have been to. Free parking and very reasonably priced. 
Overall, amazing!

22 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/27/12 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Signs out on the street make it easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Lots of actors in random costumes including clowns and executioners keep the wait line scared.

Length of Event: About a half an hour.

Actor Performance: Real good, the make up is amazing, and they are very scary in their asylum get up.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Sadly, it was really bad. In the first part, our group caught up to the group before us, and the group behind us caught up to us.

Summary: The house starts out in an asylum setting, the twists and turns keep you guessing. The actors in the house are also well done, getting right in your face and they are very scary. The best part of the house is the maze. The first half of the maze is in a white area with strobe lights all over the place, ruining all your senses, you have no idea where you are and what you are doing. The second half is a pitch black maze that is even more confusing, due to your eyesight ruined from the strobe lights at the beginning. The maze used to be easier, and this year, it is a little more confusing.

19 out of 26 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: creep   (Event Visited: 10/20/12 @ 11:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very good. Easy to see on Rollins Rd with flashing signs and parking attendants waving you in with flags.

Wait Entertainment: I expected more. There were plenty of ghouls outside, probably 5 or 6 of them, but they literally all either stood around or just talked with people. No scaring was going on. 
 
One in particular, was a character who I think was named Kasper (I think he spelled it with a K). ALL, and I mean ALL he did was stand and stare at people. Absolutely nothing else. He looked at my group for a good minute or two without doing a single thing. I saw him do that to other groups too.... disappointing..

Length of Event: Haunt: 15min 
Mazes: 5-10min

Actor Performance: Decent. It was the end of the night so some were tired, but most were very intense. I'll explain below why it could have been better.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Fair. They sent us through in very large groups (6-8 of us at a time) so at first we missed a lot of scares. But somehow we got separated and it was just the three of us for the rest of the haunt.

Appropriate Ages: 16+ 
 
I say this because there were SEVERAL adult themes that should not be seen by children.

Props / Special FX: See below.

Costumes / Make-up: See below.

Summary: First off, to the RoT designers: thank you for FINALLY changing your haunt. It seemed like this was the first time in three years the haunt seemed different. 
 
The theme was generally the same, but this time it made more sense. The elevator ride with the video helped explain what was going on so the theme of the haunt made sense. What I like about RoT (as I mentioned in my Evil Intentions review) is that they have VERY GOOD continuity. Everything blends together which I like. It's not a bunch of scenes separated by dark hallways, the haunt is complete and there's always something going on. What else is cool about RoT's design is that there are multiple times where you "see what's coming". What I mean is you enter one scene, and you can see an adjacent hallway with an actor and think "oh it's an actor scare hallway thing" but then you actually go around a corner and into that same hallway. That is very cool in my opinion. 
 
The two complaints I have about the haunt are two that have to do with how the house was finished: the lighting, and the music. With the lighting, it was either not enough, or way too much. There were strobes in nearly every room and it got very annoying very quickly. Either that, or it was so dark you couldn't see the mass amount of detail in the room you were in. RoT should invest in those LED pinspots to help accent the very well detailed scenes. The other big problem was the music. I swear my ears were ringing. WAY TOO LOUD. It was so loud, that you couldn't hear your group scream or the actor that was 3" in front of your face. 
 
And that brings me to my next point: the acting. The first thing I want to say is timing timing timing timing timing. Very seldom of the actors had it down. Most were WAY too early on their attack. Which is good for the first two people, but then the rest of us miss it. But even if their attack was off, most of them did the right thing and still got in all of our faces. I appreciated that. Most haunts wouldn't do that. Now, the other with the actors, which isn't their fault, it was that I couldn't hear a single thing they said or when the screamed because the music was too bloody loud. Had the music of been quieter so we could hear the actors, I think their performances would have been much, much better. 
 
Other than that, there isn't much that sticks out in my mind that was really good or really bad. The scenes were very highly detailed. One of my favorite sequences was the "sensory" sequence as I call it: Vortex, claustrophobia, moving room. It was a very cool sequence of rooms. The strobe maze was different this year which I liked, I thought it was fun. The dark maze was annoying... it was a circle with the actor blocking the correct hallway out. There are times of VERY uneven pathways which was interesting.  
 
But other than that, I just really enjoyed myself this year at RoT. They put on a fun show. If the music gets turned down, it'll be a lot scarier. Other than that, you can leave it how it is (just adding or taking away a few lights, of course). 
 
Good job RoT crew, keep it up for next year!

19 out of 27 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: electic1   (Event Visited: 10/29/12 @ 6:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Its being a bowling alley/entertainment center. Passed it by the first time, but found it when I headed back.

Wait Entertainment: The website is misleading. It states the event starts at 7:00 and we arrived early as it was a special charity event. Waited in line from 6:15 to nearly 8:30 before we were let inside. Beer is sold to patrons in line, and many took advantage of this, only to find out that they were not allowed to leave the line to use the washroom. They should have provided porta potties because many people had multiple drinks during the hour plus wait and started complaining about not being able to relieve themselves.

Length of Event: 30+ minutes

Actor Performance: Poor. However, cannot blame the actors. This was a charity event and many Chicago Bears football players were taking the place of some of the actors for the event.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Because of the late start, they did not space out patrons. It would have been more enjoyable had they done so. Everybody was crammed together and that took some of the thrills and chills and surprises out of the experience as you knew when you were going to be scared as the people in front of you cried out.

Appropriate Ages: It says 16 and older on the website, but there were definitely kids under that age in attendance. I would say 16 should be the minimum age. The final maze got pretty hairy (not because it was particularly scary), but because people were getting frustrated and pushing others to get out. This could be danger for kids.

Props / Special FX: The lighting was quite poor. In most of the rooms, I had no idea what the theme was. Need to work on better lighting. One room was supposed to be a demented dentist's office. If the actor had not gone around saying he wanted teeth, I never would have gotten that from what I could see. Also the smoke that they used in parts of the haunted house burned my eyes.

Costumes / Make-up: I would say that this ranks about average. I have seen much better costumes/makeup at other attractions.

Summary: I would say that overall I was disappointed. I went with two other lady friends who were equally disappointed. 
 
Once we finally got in, even though we were at the front of the line, we were crammed together in a large group so it was hard to get surprised because any surprises were broadcast by those in front of you. 
 
The wait to get in was ridiculous. I was 5th in line and had to wait over an hour to get in because they were running so late. Either that or their website is very misleading. Or it could be a ploy to sell more alcohol similar to restaurants that send you to the bar for a drink to wait for your table. 
 
To be honest, I wanted to be scared or at least taken by surprise one time. It didn't happen. I will not return next year.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at