Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com – Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2012 Visitor Reviews of
The Blood Shed Haunted House & Terror Trails Haunted Hayride (Frankfort, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
78 out of 85 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Halloween   (Event Visited: 10/06/12 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very visible with large signs along the road

Wait Entertainment: There really wasn't a line for the haunted house, so there wasn't any wait entertainment. 
 
Not really any wait entertainment for the paintball or hayride, either. They did have a bonfire of burning pallets for people to stand by, to keep warm, while they waited.

Length of Event: Haunted House - 6 minutes 
Hayride - 10 minutes 
Paintball - 20 minutes

Actor Performance: In the haunted house, actors were pretty average. A few pop-outs, but not much more.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: No problem here. There weren't many people there, so I don't know how they would handle a crowd.

Summary: Let me start off by saying that this event is WAY OVERPRICED! I will explain why... 
 
The haunted house had a bunch of different scenes. Some were detailed and others were sort of empty. The circus clown funeral was interesting and very unique. The playroom was cool and the alley looked realistic. The cemetery was one of the best scenes. The room of doors kept you guessing. You had to find your way out and some doors were dead ends or contained props.  
 
Some things I didn't like, though. The forest scene was boring. Nothing happened and at the end, Jason was standing with a machete... and he just stood there. I was walking down one of the hallways and a girl gets up from an extremely dark 4 x 4 room and screams "get out of my office". I couldn't even see there was an office. LOL. Right next to that, with no transition, was a mad doctor scene. He was wearing perfectly clean scrubs and no makeup of any kind. He just yelled "Get out!", which is annoying, especially when I just paid $18 to get in. 
 
The haunted house was extremely overpriced. I was in and out of there in about 6 minutes. The scenes were interesting, but nothing that would warrant a $18 price tag. Outrageous! 
 
The haunted house did have a couple of pricey animatronic props, so my guess is that over-inflated admission price is a way for them to pay for those fancy items. The sad part is that they are passing the bill onto the customers, without providing them a reasonable amount of entertainment value in return.  
 
The hayride is also a bit overpriced. They just took you on a straight path, up and down a gravel lane, for five minutes. The only spook was Freddy Krueger. That was it!!!! The haunted trail was okay. It was a twisting path through a corn field, with a spook or two. I wish there had been more for my $14 than that.  
 
The only event they have that is even nearly worth the money is the paintball hayride. They have a row of paintball guns and seats mounted to a hay rack. As you go along, there were some simple scenes set up and some live actor zombies to shoot at. It was fun, but the big problem with that was that the zombies were at least 20 or 30 yards away and almost in complete darkness. You couldn’t see them clearly and you couldn’t see where you were shooting. I asked the staff guy on the hayride why they were so far away and he stated that they couldn’t be any closer or they would get hurt. Apparently, the actors weren’t wearing safety armor of any sort, just thick layers of clothing!!! Wow, isn't that a serious safety issue??? I feel sorry for the actors.  
 
Seriously, guys… I don’t know who is writing these glowing reviews for this event, but I would guess it is either staff or actors. For what I experienced, it wasn’t AT ALL worth the $40 combo pass you guys are trying to sell!

74 out of 81 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: elvis63   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location is large and easy to spot, plus there is a large sign posted outside. However, the sign is not lit, so it is easy to miss the driveway.

Wait Entertainment: There was no wait entertainment when my friends and I went.

Length of Event: Hayride - about 15 minutes. House - 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: Average - what actors there were did try to be scary and remain in character, but there were not many of them, particularly on the hayride, so it wound up being somewhat dull overall.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Fine - we were the only people in the house and one of two groups on the hayride. No problems with running into other people.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: There is an excellent animatronic dog that jumps and barks, which is something different than what you usually see, and one section of the house features walls and a ceiling that move backand forth, giving the impression that the bodies in the walls are moving towards you. The ending scene has some nice lighting and smoke effects as well.

Costumes / Make-up: Most of the costumes were pretty decent and looked better than store bought, particularly one actor in the end scene.

Summary: Overall, I would not recommend this haunt. The operators are friendly and seem enthusiastic, as if they really want to please and want the haunt to succeed. However, the haunt is quite pricy at $18, and for that money is simply not comparable to other haunts in the same price range. This was our second visit to this location - we liked it last year, but we only went because they gave us a deal when we got there due to there being so few people. We enjoyed the house last year, however, we felt the price was still too high so we decided to only to the hayride this year. When we got there, though, they offered to let us do the haunted house for free as the people staffing it were looking forward to scaring someone.  
 
The hayride itself has potential, although it it no much a hayride as a very short ride on a wagon to an open field area (like a haunted trail) that we had to walk through. the trail was well laid out and well lit, with rope lights showing the correct way through. It had a lot of potential but there were only a few actors, none of whom seemed too enthusiastic. The only good scare was Michael Meyers coming out of a cornfield towards us, but that was at the very end. Most of the time was spent simply walking through empty open fields. I will give points for the location and setup, but more needs to be done with it, and for $14 it is a bit pricy, especially since the actualy hayride consists of driving in a straight line for about 1 minute. 
 
As for the haunt, it is well laid out and more open than your typical haunted house, and there are a couple of good scenes, including the previously mentioned giant dog, the end scene, and the moving wall portion. There is also one other good scene where a video of the Ring movie is playing within a picture frame on the wall, and while you look at that the girl from the Ring shows up at the end of the hall behind you amd slowly walks towards you. This was excellent, but it was spoiled for us as the girl playing Samara was hanging out talking to someone before the Ring setup room, so we saw her and knew she was coming before it happened, which took a lot of the creepiness factor away.  
 
Again, I do feel that the actors and the people running the haunt are enthusiastic and want it to succeed, but the haunt is far too short with too many open areas (and no actors) to justify the $18 price tag. Even though we went in for free we still felt the haunt was not worth it, so I can only imagine what we would have thought if we had paid $18. If the haunt were in the $5-$10 range it might be worth going back, just to see if it is better later in the season, but as it is, the price is prohibitive compared to what you get.  
 
This could be an excellent haunt - it has a large space and some good ideas, but it looks to me like a lot of $$ is spent on image and advertising (which might account for the high admission cost). As a result, ads for the haunt are everywhere and it has a nice web site, but the quality of the haunt itself is lacking.

56 out of 63 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: deckz66   (Event Visited: 10/21/12 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was easy to find. There is not a lot of other places on the road so it sticks out.

Wait Entertainment: None when we were there. No line for the haunted house. While we waited for the haunted hayride - which was about 40 minutes, there was also no entertainment. There was a fire.

Length of Event: 1 hour 15 minutes. This included the 45 minutes to get on the hayride. The haunted house took less than 5 minutes and the hayride/corn maze took about 30 minutes. There was also a wait in the corn maze.

Actor Performance: In the haunted house, very poor. No big scares except for at the end, the giant animation. I have never been at a haunted house where there wasn't an extra scream factor as you were walking out. The lighting in the haunted house was poor because there were no ceiling built onto their sets.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: None - we were only ones in there.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: One large animation in haunted house. Rest were average.

Costumes / Make-up: Average

Summary: Was extremely disappointed in the haunted house. The haunted hayride wasn't scary at all, plus you were with about 40 other people. The corn maze had the best scares, but the groups were on top of each other. You could see the scare coming up. I feel that it was overpriced. We had the groupon which gave us the three attractions and a $5 food credit for around $23 per person. I don't know what the regular cost is, but I thought it was a great deal until we went. If had to pick only one - do the corn maze. The other two are not worth the money. People were really nice and receptive to our ideas.

39 out of 61 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Shwee81185   (Event Visited: 10/19/12 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Can see it from a mile away.

Wait Entertainment: Some creatures walking around.

Length of Event: 20-40 mins depending on your group size.

Actor Performance: The actors were great. In the haunted house they got us so many times. The haunted maze was awesome. Wish the corn was higher.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't run into any other group. Went smoothly.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: Really good and scary props and FX.

Summary: This was one of the better ones we went to that night. There was six of us in the group and we all got to stay together and not be broken up. The haunted house was really well put together. Some of the creatures got us real good. I'm not going to give anything away but the gullie suit got almost all of us and the giant guy by the exit was loud nd extremely freaky! We loved it! They had a nice camp fire going for everyone while we waited for the hayride. Wish there were more people jumping out on the hayride. The haunted maze was really good the guy in the beginning telling he rules was funny nd played his character well same with the bloody killer in the beginning. Overall we all agree that it's highly recommended.

22 out of 47 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: FrightNight   (Event Visited: 10/14/12 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There were signs identifying the location, probably could use some signage a little ahead of the entrance, but the site itself was lite and the carnival rides helped to locate it as well.

Wait Entertainment: There was a guy working the ticket counter who was pretty kewl, but the kicker was the guy in the jumpsuit, he was really entertaining.

Length of Event: The house itself was really kewl, it was about a 20 minute walk through, even though my girlfriend kept trying to run through.

Actor Performance: These guys were really into it, got me a few times, especially the Freddy they had and this bloody guy in one of the last scenes and the creepy girls in the room with chains hanging.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: My girlfriend, myself and my friend all went in as one group following after some others, and we never saw the group ahead of us, just heard their screams, and the screams of the groups behind us.

Appropriate Ages: It seemed like it would be something for older kids and adults, but when we first got there looked like they do something special for littler kids that want to go through, thought that was awesome.

Props / Special FX: They had some awesome visual effects in place, got my g/f big time with the dog they had, plus this awesome clown that was going crazy, a hall way that was just twisted, and in the last scene there's an awesome scarecrow that got all of us, and this awesome monster at the end.

Costumes / Make-up: Was really impressed, not that many masks in the house, looked like they were all really well made up with makeup and costumes, not that many tacky looking masks, made it more real.

Summary: All in all I was skeptical at first pulling up on a garage like that, but now I'm really glad we went (even more so since we found their coupon on their site), it was a good time and you can kinda see their staff enjoy it too, kinda sad we didn't get to do the hayride due to the elements, especially after hearing the one guy talking it up in line, but the house was worth it. We'll probably be going back to do the full package next weekend, seems like a good deal. Might have to leave the g/f at home though, she got really spooked. I say thanks to those involved was a good scare and I really hope they keep this around for a while.

29 out of 67 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: evil4u   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The parking lot was lit up but the carnival was not up yet so keep your eyes open.

Wait Entertainment: music was being played on speakers and the door guy was funny.

Length of Event: 15-18 min if you do everything like an hour

Actor Performance: very very good nice costumes and makeup. The guy who tells you the rules has a new costume and fits his scene very well alot better than last year

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great moved well never saw th peple behind us 
 
 

Appropriate Ages: 13 +

Props / Special FX: the use of space was amazing alot of deatail

Costumes / Make-up: very well done i dont know if they have an artist or if is just the actors doing it themselves

Summary: This is the second year of this haunt. last year was good. but they did alot better this year. costumes were better makeup was better less masks . new props like the rocking chair lady was creepy and was used well to cover a space that last year was empty. Its amazing how big this place is as soon as you think its over there is more. the doors are amazing and they changed which door is the right one so if you went last year its not the same. the haunted hayride/maze was great scared my girlfriend almost into a panic. Zombie hunt was really well done although could use more live actors. Overall worth the time and money. I came last year and this year is ALOT better. you will not be disappointed

24 out of 57 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: funevil4u   (Event Visited: 10/06/12 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/07/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: they have signs on the main road to mark the entrance.

Wait Entertainment: they had music playing and line walkers keeping you nervous.

Length of Event: we did all three took about an hour to an hour an a half

Actor Performance: the actors were great. at the haunted house we were welcomed by a man in makeup and costume. he was funny and creepy all at the same time. everyone was dressed and made up well

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: GREAT in the haunted house we never saw the next group just heard them scream,

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: everything was done amazingly and looked great and well blended in. it was a fantastic use of space

Costumes / Make-up: Good those with make up did well and all the costumes fit there scenes well

Summary: I suggest doing all three attractions. the haunted house is amazeing its huge and so open it scares you. it nice not being shoved in like cattle. the cashier who stated he was actually the door guy was funny. then the doorman/first scene guy was hilarious his jacket and top hat just added to his performence. he led us into a undertaker showroom and told us the rules and sent us on our way. the scares came quick. then as soon as you thaught it was a static area something would pop out. great use of people and anamatronics. the hayride was great had to wait abit and it was cold. but all in all it was fantastic. zombie paintball was good although it could of had more live actors, and better scenes. all in all a great place to visit and enjoy yourself. definetly going back with more friends

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright © 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at