Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2012 Visitor Reviews of
Dream Reapers (Melrose Park, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
19 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: kgalbrea   (Event Visited: 10/21/12 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was very easy to find, we used mapquest for the directions.

Wait Entertainment: There was no line outside on this night, but there was one guy outside who gave us a good shakeup before entering the house.

Length of Event: I believe 20 minutes, but it felt like forever 

Actor Performance: The actors did a superb job. We went on a sunday so there wasnt alot of actors roaming around or in the waiting area but inside the attraction the actors did a great job of getting to everyone in our group and giving a good scare.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did run into another group a couple of times but that depends on how fast each group is moving. We did however stop so we would lose them.

Appropriate Ages: Appropriate for ages 13 and up.

Props / Special FX: The props here were really great and special effects. I actually kept my eyes open just so I could admire the scenery.

Costumes / Make-up: Makeup was well done and went according to the scenes. Costumes were just as spooky and went alomg with the character.

Summary: I have been to DreamReapers 4 times and I am sad to say this is their last year. I am a huge fan and I wish they werent leaving but however for their last season i must say they did great as expected. Even though it was a Sunday, energy was high and the actors gave you your moneys worth. There was a little extra scare in the beginning when your at the ticket booth (wont spoil it). I had a great time. DreamReapers plays on all your senses (except taste) lol. Great Haunt, a must see! CLASSIC! Goodbye DreamReapers :-(

25 out of 33 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ChicagoHaunt   (Event Visited: 10/07/12 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This Attraction is located just off North Avenue and Mannheim Road. It has flashing lights in front that you can see from the corner. You can't miss it!

Wait Entertainment: There were to clowns that met us on our tour bus and continued to play with us until we made it in the opening room. They were great!

Length of Event: This attraction lasted about 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: In the past, the actors depended on banging on things or screaming in peoples ears. This year however, we experienced great, well thought out, and creepy performances.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There wasn't a big crowd being it was late on a Sunday. We didn't run into another group as a result.

Appropriate Ages: This haunt would be great for anyone over 10. Dream Reapers has a more "Old School" take on scarring and has only a few gory scenes.

Props / Special FX: Dream Reapers has always been known for their atmosphere. The sights, sounds, and smells will never disappoint. The props and animatronics are used well in this attraction and add to the overall believability of the world they have created.

Costumes / Make-up: A great deal of time has been spent dreaming up these demented characters. The make-up and costumes were great.

Summary: The last and 13th year of Dream Reapers was outstanding! We're glad we had a chance to pay our respects to one of the haunts that paved the way in the Chicago Haunt Industry The Chicago Haunt Tour experienced this steller Haunted Attraction for the first time in 2010 and was blown away by the detail! We could not have ask for a better attraction to be the first ever on our tour. For the 2012 season, Dream Reapers did not let us down. From the sketchy elevator ride at the beginning, to the NEW AND IMPROVED ending, Dream Reapers went out with a bang! Thanks guys for the memories, the Haunt industry will never be the same without you!

18 out of 24 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: mirrormaster   (Event Visited: 10/12/12 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: the visibility was good, they had a big sign not far from the house and some wacky inflatable arm flailing tube men. it was very hard to miss

Wait Entertainment: the wait entertainment was great, the actors took on a very creepy approach and weren't afraid to get in your face, it was pretty interactive! not like other haunts where they just put on a show.

Length of Event: it took about 15 minutes or so

Actor Performance: the actor performance was phenomenal, there were a few characters that actually scared the crap out of me, there was one impressive creature in the mirror maze who just appeared out of nowhere and the craziest part was you couldn't even see his eyes!props to him for blindly scaring the h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored) out of me and my entire group, the other was this awesome guy in what seemed to be an industrial room with a live spark cage, whoever was operating that guy was amazing

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: the flow was so smooth, we didn't see a single group in front or behind us

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up , there are a few gory scenes here and there but nothing a seasoned kiddie can't handle

Props / Special FX: realistic and spooky, there were several times when i thought a prop or an actor... or again with that masked actor in the mirror maze that i thought to be a prop at first.

Costumes / Make-up: the costumes and makeup were amazing, especially for the monsters in the industrial spark cage room and the claustrophobia, even the zombies makeup appeared like something that should be on face off

Summary: overall the haunt was a great experience, it's dreadfully disappointing that this is the last season but with the new changes they made in the final room and the intensity of all the actors was crazy, they took on a creepy approach that is hard to find in most other haunted houses, thankfully it's not the eardrum popping shrieks and yells that you usually get, the actors really treat this haunt like what it truly deserves to be known as (a horrifically beautiful haunted work of art) this house is truly going out with a bang... a bang that will haunt you in your dreams for years to come, massive props to the actors and the owners of this amazing titan of a haunt.

22 out of 31 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: BIGGUN   (Event Visited: 10/13/12 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Same place as always off of North ave 

Wait Entertainment: Excellent. Tons of creepy characters mulling around and freaking people out. Love when the waiting area lights go out and the buzzer sounds.

Length of Event: 20 min.

Actor Performance: Fantastic! Really well done!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great! never ran into another group

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: Very good details

Costumes / Make-up: Excellent

Summary: Dream Reapers has done a terrific job for their final year. While the house is similar as in past years, the acting and dedication to scaring people really is outstanding this year. I love the slaughterhouse, and the disorienting maze. The attention to detail in every room is amazing. Whats better is they have TONS of actors in the house from ALL angles. You really do get bang for your buck this year. My group enjoyed the haunt, and there are lots of pop out scares in this haunt. There is a surprise scare at the end I wont spoil. Kudos to DR!

22 out of 33 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: bigstick4u   (Event Visited: 10/13/12 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good. A sign and huge inflatables

Wait Entertainment: TONS! Probably the most fun Ive had standing in line. Funny clown, hospital patient, joker character, and a "lady" with her "smomking" infant. They ALL scared the heck out of people

Length of Event: 15 minutes or so

Actor Performance: Phenomonal and over the top!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good. Did not run into anybody

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: Top notch! tons of detail!

Costumes / Make-up: Fantastic. Fit the scenes well!

Summary: If this is the last year, than DR is going out on top! I RARELY give Haunts a 10, but this year they truly deserve it! Even the waiting area was intense this year. 
The hellevator was great with actors inside of it, the mirror maze in the beginning was disorienting and effective. EVERY ROOM HAD AN ACTOR IN IT! Not many haunts can say that. Not many haunts make me jump, but this o ne did! Not only that, the acting was top notch in your face. You got bombarded from ALL SIDES, and with intensity. I liked the wall that seems to be alive, and the forest scene is always cool. The lady with just the torso was back and freaky as ever. 
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this haunt. Thanks for the great haunt Dream Reapers you will be missed!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at