Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com – Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2012 Visitor Reviews of
Psychosis Haunted House (Elgin, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
86 out of 94 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: HalloweenFan   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/01/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Psychosis was pretty easy to find using GPS; however, it kind of blends in with the rest of the buildings along the street, so you might miss if you aren't looking for it. There are a couple of signs at nearby intersections, to help guide the way.

Wait Entertainment: The indoor waiting line area was themed like you were standing on a residential street, with buildings on either side of you. Some of the buildings included a bank, a movie theater, a VFW Hall. In the center of the area was a tree, a working water fountain and flagpoles, all set surrounded by wrought iron fencing. While the overall concept was pretty cool, some of it seemed unfinished. The storefronts were very plain and in one area the slanted piece of plywood that was supposed to represent a roof was painted plain white, where you would expect it to have texture of some sort to resemble shingles.

Length of Event: In all honesty, Psychosis actually took about 20 min. to get through, but that included a significant amount of stalling throughout the haunted house.

Actor Performance: There were issues with actor performance from the moment we all got in line. While waiting outside in front of the ticket booth, an actress took her break while holding a water bottle and talking to other staff members, in complete view of everyone waiting in line. Later, when we got to the indoor waiting area, she walked from group to group chatting with customers, completely out of character, speaking in a normal tone of voice. 
 
Another actor in the indoor waiting area was a guy with a top hat, pale face, long hair and a painted-on goatee. He seemed to focus on the female customers waiting in line. On numerous occasions, I observed him pushing his face within a fraction of an inch of theirs, which was obviously annoying them, not scaring them. I understand that some actors like to invade peoples’ space, but this was a bit ridiculous and really uncalled for, especially since he wouldn’t back off, even after being asked to repeatedly.  
 
On the inside of the attraction, actor performance was a bit hit and miss. The preacher at the beginning was very enthusiastic and did a great job, although he was a bit long-winded in his delivery. Some of the other actors were “in your face”, while others were pretty passive. Many of the actors had speaking parts and performed pretty well, considering it was their opening weekend.  
 
It seemed like the lion’s share of the actors wanted to keep us in the scenes longer than necessary for some reason. The purpose of the preacher's speech was to relay two simple rules: don't touch anyone and don't use a flashlight. Unfortunately, it took him about four or 5 min. to relay those simple concepts. In the kitchen, the chef held us hostage for a few minutes, until everyone in our group barked like a dog. The actress in the morgue kept saying “Where do you think you are going so fast?”, even though we were crawling through at a turtle’s pace. Sorry, but this was not at all entertaining. After a while, the stalling was just downright aggravating and I wanted to leave. 
 
On their website, they say that they are the most interactive haunted house in Illinois. If stalling for time is what they consider “interactive”, I’m not a big fan of it. 
 
I really hate to do it, but there is one safety issue that I really need to bring up. While in the kitchen, the chef got aggravated that we were not all barking as he instructed, and he threw a large serving spoon across the room, which made a loud clang when it hit the wall behind us. The problem was that our group was between him and the wall and the implement nearly hit me in the head when it flew out of his hand. I actually felt the air move across my face, as it whizzed by. It is one thing to try and scare a group, but it is quite another when you put their safety at risk.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: slower than necessary. The actors held us up and we couldn't advance at our own pace.

Summary: Honestly, I thought that psychosis was pretty decent last year and I had high hopes for it this season. Unfortunately, due to the issues of safety & actor performance, I just didn't enjoy it as much as I did last year. The whole concept of the “interactive haunt” seemed to fall flat and work against them. 
 
There were a few scenes that I liked, though. The cemetery had great sound effects and lighting. I liked the freezer with the hanging body bags, lit by cool blue light. The bedroom and dining rooms were also themed quite well. The gross diner was nice, too. 
 
There were quite a few inconsistencies throughout the event, though. In the kitchen of the diner, all of the pots and pans were brand new and shiny. Considering that the diner walls were grimy, with food splattered on them, you would think that the kitchen would match.  
 
The torture chamber had rusted chains hanging from the wall, yet there was a wall of swords and other weapons that were obviously shiny and brand new, which didn’t really fit in with the scene.  
 
In one area, our group had to go through a detour around their spinning tunnel, which was apparently out of commission. I’d never seen the workings of a spinning tunnel before, but I did that night. They made no attempt to cover the mechanisms and for a moment, my group thought they made a wrong turn into a service area.  
 
There was also a laser light show half wall maze. I have never liked these. The laser light show was kind of cool, but it wasn’t even a challenge to get through, since you could clearly see the path ahead of you.  
 
One of the largest areas inside the event was a “Phantom of the Opera” half-wall maze, painted white, with strobe lights. Well, it really wasn’t a maze. It was just a contiguous path that we had to walk through, walking in and out of the scene, with countless turns. The area was big and almost too big, as it got pretty monotonous after a while. In the center of the room was a pipe organ that was playing and a Phantom of the Opera character jumping along the tops of the walls. It was an interesting concept, but the black musical staff with silver “notes” painted on the walls reminded me of an elementary school’s music room.  
 
Again, there were some things that I really liked, but others I didn’t. I think the Psychosis group needs to go back to the drawing board, when they plan for next season.

44 out of 55 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Nulitlvr   (Event Visited: 10/06/12 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/08/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Directions were clear, haunt clearly labeled.

Wait Entertainment: Poor. There were very few scares, a couple of mildly entertaining actors, but more jovial than spooky.

Length of Event: Average. The haunt gave good anticipation, poor follow through.

Actor Performance: There were few actors, this haunt needs more. A couple of rooms had many empty spaces, which would have been ideal "gotcha" or pop- out spots, with no follow through. This was definitely their weak point for our group.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Decent- they kept the groups spaced. There was one point I had to be alone. I was TERRIFIED for about ten seconds, but no delivery as I entered the open space after.

Appropriate Ages: Yes

Props / Special FX: Very poor. There wasn't much you couldn't get at the local seasonal Halloween shops.

Costumes / Make-up: Eh- lacking

Summary: We really had high hopes for this as a smaller town feel. There were some amazing missed opportunities in this haunt. The strobe room is way too much, one of our group got nauseous because we kept going in and out of it. It was just too much. There were places there were many actors (huge props to the contortionist in the kids room), but places we could've been scared (the closet), where we were let down. Knowing the biggest scream from our group was from a jump at you spider gag, it's not saying much, unfortunately.

31 out of 39 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Deathdealers   (Event Visited: 10/13/12 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find. We were impressed from the outside going in.

Wait Entertainment: While the scene was well done the actors fell short. The girl didn't seem to be in charecter at all while just talking to people. The guy was creepy but didn't interact well with the wait line

Length of Event: 20 min

Actor Performance: There were a few actors that had good make up good costumes and some good scripted lines. Acting in general seemed very scripted and forced.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We ran into groups ahead of us. Then would be stopped intentionally by actors trying to stall us rather than entertain us.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: The props were well done and clearly effort was put in here. Special fx were good to the themes and rooms

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were decent and make up was ok. Everyone seemed to be appropriate for their rooms to tie it all together nicel.

Summary: The build up and anticipation for this haunt left us a bit disapointed at the end. The sets however had great detail and themes. This haunt has good potential to be better. Maybe focus on your actors a bit more and special fx a bit less. Mildly entertaining as a basic haunt goes. We were not pleased to see a handful of actors clearly breaking charecter to take a break or talk to friends or just walking around. Not scary when we see you later trying to scare us when we saw you talking to your friends earlier.

31 out of 40 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: lward   (Event Visited: 10/26/12 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We were able to find it with little effort.

Wait Entertainment: We did the VIP, but there was only 1 actor outside and the line entertainment that I noticed were several TVs with horror type showings.

Length of Event: I am estimating that we were inside about 20-25 minutes. There is much stalling that takes away from the experience.

Actor Performance: I thought the coffin actor was entertaining. None of the others left an impression on me.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never ran into another group, but we were placed with another group of 5.

Appropriate Ages: If you child likes haunted houses then take him/her. Nothing was terribly scary or disgusting for children.

Props / Special FX: Nothing that I haven't seen before.

Summary: I was excited when we decided to visit. At the end I was disappointed after I read spectacular reviews. Some of the people in our group paid extra to be buried alive. Not at all of what I expected. I enjoyed being buried alive in other haunts much better.One of main issues is that they list their house as handicap accessible. Two times I needed to take a bypass route, after the actors asked around until someone knew what to do. Unfortunately, taking the bypass eliminates several major scenes that I was told were not much, but I paid to see the house, not stand around until my group had visited the other rooms. I was surprised that the number of actors was so limited. I never heard any rules or warnings, which surprised me. The people in my group were disappointed as well. Upon leaving, we visited a non-profit haunt for half the price and 30 miles closer to home that was truly more scary and entertaining. The one room that I did experience was the coffin splitting room and that was cool.

34 out of 44 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: PumpkinScare   (Event Visited: 10/13/12 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Psychosis was fairly easy to find the area with a GPS. The sign on the warehouse does not have a light so we were lucky to even see it to begin with.

Wait Entertainment: There was a lot of people Saturday night so it took us a little longer than we expected. When we made it inside, it reminded me more of a downtown area rather than a haunted house. I wasn't scared by the movie theater, florist, fountain, fake trees, etc. There was a video recording showing the rules of the haunted house while you wait in line but you can't hear it over the music that played.

Length of Event: I would say Psychosis took around 30 minutes to go through.

Actor Performance: Psychosis had very poor actors to say the least. I was expecting for the actors to jump out and scare us considering they sad on their website that it was very interactive.  
 
On the outside of the attraction, there was a roughed up girl actress walking around with a two-headed baby. She got in everyone’s faces just giggling and breaking character rather than scaring. There was another man with a skull stick that didn’t speak whatsoever.  
 
On the inside, it was hard to pay attention. I was constantly getting annoyed by the fact that we had to stop longer than necessary to hear the actor’s script. Some of it was alright but the preacher did not have to speak about the rules that’s for those are for any haunted house. It is also projected on the television, but of course we couldn’t hear that.  
 
Another example of an actor that really bothered me was the Phantom of The Opera looking character in the strobe light maze. He hopped over to get us moving along but it more amusing than scary. He must have thought we were running behind from the group ahead because we lost half of our friends (and the rest of our group) for the rest of the haunted house.  

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Slow. They didn't pace us very well and we ran into the next group.

Summary: I had high hopes when I realized that the location was in a warehouse. This was the first time I had been to a haunted house in Elgin and it's safe to say I won't come again.  
 
There were places that I expected would have actors in some scenes towards the end that were just lacking in general. The actors constantly broke character. The mazes were extremely lame and easy to see which was the correct way. Considering the only screams were from the actors, unfortunately this wasn't a true haunted house.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright © 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at