Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2012 Visitor Reviews of
Asylum Xperiment Haunted Attractions (Villa Park, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
24 out of 30 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: daniellen   (Event Visited: 10/19/12 @ 11:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Its a large building and a sign with a car sitting in front with the name on it.

Wait Entertainment: Besides just having people in line to scare you they had a screen showing scary movie previews which was refreshing and enjoying being able to watch something.

Length of Event: It was about a little over 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actors did a great job! They never broke character even though their was a disruptive girl in the group I was in and even starting swearing at some actors they were able to keep their cool. The girl on the stairs had a wonderful speech that wasn't cheesy. The girls in the room with all the doors and the black light makeup did an exceptional job on confusing me on trying to get through a door. Also the guy with the wires in his face-scared the daylights out of me. The guy in the pet shop was something out of this world.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The actors did a great job making sure if another group was getting to close to the one in front of them to try to slow them down so we never saw another group=)

Props / Special FX: The attention to detail in this place was mind blowing. Having actual cars made it look amazing. Also the room that moves around you was a nice touch. The changes from room to room were nice like the hanging clothes and the hallway of windows.

Costumes / Make-up: Everyone looked incredible. The clowns looked exactly how a scary clown should look like. The black light makeup was unexpected yet really cool. The costumes looked wonderful. No one looked like they got all their stuff from some cheap store, they looked how scary should look.

Summary: Overall I really enjoyed the whole experience. The actors did such a great job and the attention to detail with the props and costumes were incredible. I always get excited to go here every year and it never disappoints. One thing I would recommend is to go with a large group of your friends because you never know the random people who will be there, but that is not directed with the haunted house. In addition the face that explains the rules was really cool, for it was only a statue yet it had a moving face that really captured the scary feel.

20 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Hsillingw   (Event Visited: 10/25/12 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find with a sign on North Avenue pointing the way. Don't miss the van in the driveway that starts the fun. Excellent colors and graphics and even a trailer attached to the van that contains a grave scene

Wait Entertainment: Loved the line actors and the chance to buy a drink while waiting. Nice and warm and the talking head which gives the rules of the haunt was so interesting - how do they do that??????

Length of Event: About a half an hour. Wish I could have walked through a bit slower but the group I was with was moving along.

Actor Performance: Wonderful! The makeup was extraordinary and along with the costumes the actors fit wonderfully into the scenes. Thumbs up for the makeup artists!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Groups were small enough to be able to see clearly all the effects (when my eyes were opened!) I would have liked to be moving a bit more slowly to really get a chance to take it all in. Just means I have to go back and enjoy it a second time.

Appropriate Ages: teenagers and up

Props / Special FX: Where do I start? The devil is in the details and the details were out of this world. Just take the kitchen for example, the number of cockroaches crawling throughout the room alone gave me the creeps. Now add in the disgusting fifth and whoa - someone's sitting there eating - but wait - the food is going in and out of her mouth and in again - major yuk!

Costumes / Make-up: Loved loved loved the make-up! Again the details!!!! Take the lovely woman with a beautiful face - but then she turns her head and we see the other side of her face which is very creepy! Great effects with the black lights.

Summary: This haunt has gotten better and better each year. The rearrangement of the attractions produced a much better flow. Really liked starting off this year in a haunted house instead of in a blackout room. Got a chance to check out lots of details and then when my mind was starting to go into overload - now we entered the blackout room. Also liked the addition of the vortex. I really did have to hang onto the rails and found the experience entertaining. Back to tons of details in the armagedoon and more great actors. I think the event is very theatrical and would recommend it to even those who get scared easily. Because the rules explain that the actors will not touch you and you are not to touch them, those who get scared easily can enter with confidence.

22 out of 28 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: blkwid1030   (Event Visited: 10/14/12 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Perfect

Wait Entertainment: The clown rocked! Kept singling me out!

Length of Event: Very satisfactory!

Actor Performance: Very good actors

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Was good

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up

Summary: Was our second year in a row at this attraction and it was better this year then last year! They are always going above and beyond then previous years. Scar factor was awesome, actors rocked..very well worth the money for this haunted house. Of all the ones we've frequented this has been the best! We can't wait until next year to see what else is incorporated into this attraction. I've always been a fan of chainsaw maniacs and they don't disapoint in that aspect. Only problem we seen was catching up to the groups ahead of us. Not the attractions fault but at times things were spoiled because we`d walk into the group ahead. But overall fantastic! 10 out of 10!

23 out of 30 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Barbra   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There was plenty of parking and the event was very easy to find. Directions and signs were clear.

Wait Entertainment: The wait time seemed very reasonable and we were "entertained" by some fun and scary actors that kept us on our toes.

Length of Event: It took about 25 minutes to go through and we enjoyed every minute of it. There was so much to experience.

Actor Performance: The actors did a great job. Their make-up and costuming were very conviencing and really congruent with the scenes they were playing in. I was amazed at the number of actors and the variety of roles they played. I didn't know there could be so many scary parts to be played. There were moments when I was really caught of guard and found myself screaming in fear. They all seemed very true to their parts.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I felt this was exceptionally good. Our group got to stay together and didn't really run into anyone else. It was very well run

Appropriate Ages: I would say 13+ Some younger kids may be able to handle it but generally speaking I'd say teens and up.

Props / Special FX: I have to say better than Disney! These were amazing. The elevator was so cool and realistic, the spinning tunnel and all of the rooms had such incredible detail to them, there was so much to see and experience. People and props at times were indistinguishable.

Costumes / Make-up: The make-up was so well done. So frightening I thought I would have nightmares. Costumes were detailed and so appropriate to the rooms they were acting in. They did an excellent job with both costumes and make-up. So errie and really well-done.

Summary: This Haunt was not just a Haunted House of amazing experiences, it was also a work of Art that you won't forget. The care and attention to details is fantastic. I said earlier that it's better than Disney and I mean it. It's worth every penny of the entrance fee. The make-up, actors, props and special effects all work together to create the effect of a true Haunted House. Each of the rooms are memorable and carry their own little "fright fest." I would mention several of them but don't want to spoil the suprise of going! I highly recommend the experience. Watch out for the clown. He really freaked me out, not to mention the roaches!

23 out of 30 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: bobkat   (Event Visited: 10/13/12 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The Odeum is a large facility that is equipped to handle large crowds and has plenty of parking. Pretty easy to find off of 83 and North Avenue. A huge electronic marquis out front lets you know you've arrived.

Wait Entertainment: I bought a VIP ticket which put me beyond the general admission line so I didn't get a chance to observe too much going on. I don't enjoy waiting in long lines so I highly recommend the VIP route as the time savings seemed worth the extra few bucks.

Length of Event: Must have been 30-40 minutes. Our group didn't rush which made it more enjoyable.

Actor Performance: I thought the acting was solid overall. I love Igor and the Frankenstein set. There was also a super-creepy clown who really nailed his role and appeared more than once in this one room. Another favorite was the garage hillbilly guy tearing out the girls spine on the table. He's the kind of character you'd see in a movie and played his part perfectly. One other I recall was in the strobe lit cage scene, a girl who moved perfectly along as if gliding or hovering along the floor.  
 
Overall, I'd say the acting seemed really good with a ton of actors throughout. Other than in Blackout, there were not many times you were left walking through mazes or dark hallways without an actor(s) being there.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Seemed to be smooth and a non-issue for us. Our group took our time and yet never encountered the next group or one coming n behind us.

Appropriate Ages: This haunt is pretty scary, I rated it medium, but it's definitely not for younger kids. Probably 12 or 13 and up.

Props / Special FX: Awesome. By far the best I've seen in terms of detail. And not just occasionally, but in every scene of which there are dozens. One of the reasons I love this place is it's as close to be on a movie set as you'll get. A few of my favorites are the Frankenstein lab, the rocking bridge with skeletons, the extended vortex and the elevator.

Costumes / Make-up: The makeup is as detailed as the set designers. Some amazing air brush work used in combination with masks, latex and creepy contacts. Pretty much every character looked good in their respective role with an authentic costume or clothing.

Summary: The Asylum Xperiment is much larger and longer than it was last season. They arranged the flow to start you off in the main house first and then Blackout and wrap it up with Armageddon. This was a great move as I thought Blackout is o.k. but not a strong starter as they had it arranged last year. I'm still not a big fan of dark mazes like Blackout, although this time it had me turned around a few times along with two sections of inflatable passages that we're just long enough to start raising concerns of being lost, trapped, when will it end. 
 
The props and special FX are hands-down, definitely worth the ticket. I distinctly noticed smells of various sorts throughout that matched the scene you were going through, like oil and grease in the garage. The armageddon display is much longer this time and incorporates many new scares and additional rooms, not just an array of wrecked cars. Many of the rooms seem to have the walkways re-routed to force you around props or displays, which is better than allowing the group to simply rush through. 
 
Overall, I would definitely come through again as this haunt is not only huge, but a fantastic visual show around every corner.

22 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: eddiethehead   (Event Visited: 10/13/12 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Its at the Odeum in Villa Park...a huge building that is hard to miss if you google map it or use GPS. There is a van outfront with lights as well as a lit sign.

Wait Entertainment: Although there were no actors when i went, the queue area had a large movie screen playing horror movies as well as cool intelligent lights.

Length of Event: 40 minutes

Actor Performance: For the most part actor performance was averge, but a few actors stood out for me (hellavator, 'bride room' etc)

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Patron flow was good and i never ran into any other groups except for in BlackOut. This whole part is in pitch black darkness, so i can see how groups would run into eachother. I dont think it took away from the enjoyment of this house.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: This haunt had excellent lighting which helped accent the mood of every scene. You can tell that the lights and colors were carefully chosen to fit each room. Also, many cool laser/fog effects.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were pretty good, but the makeup was the standout for me. A lot of prostethics were used and accented with latex appliances and airbrush.

Summary: This is a great house and a good bang for your buck. Although it is not the scariest haunted house in the world, it was very fun to walk through. You definitely get the feeling of being fully immersed into an alternate creepy world..especially when the multiple elevation changes and disorientating effects used. The scenes are extremely detailed and the the attraction is one of the longer (if not the longest) walk through in the area. My favorite parts of the house were Blackout (claustrophobic fears) and the the first house which had the coolest and most detailed rooms in my opinion (the brides room, entry room with live PA, the TV room was AWESOME and unique...and the double vortex is sure to please those of the casual haunted house fans. Overall AX gets 2 thumbs up from me. You can tell the owners of this haunt actually enjoy their craft thoroughly and are not just herding cattle through to make a buck.

20 out of 27 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: turth927   (Event Visited: 10/14/12 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find on google maps or by gps went to this haunt the first year they opened but not the second but still as easy to remember the 45min drive to get there plus plenty of signs around there to lead the way and theres no way you can miss it!

Wait Entertainment: Well for starters i visited this haunt twice already this year and i well explain more below but both times they creepy and scary actors working the lines and pretty funny to watch them scare and set the tone for the rest of the haunt loved the crazy guy with the baby clown!

Length of Event: 30 to 35min

Actor Performance: and here goes why i visited this haunt twice. My first visit was on oct 6th which was thier opening weeknd and maybe it was just too early in the season and the actors were just getting use to the feel of thier rooms alot of miss timing. It was like seeing an apple nice and bright red and you bite into it and its sweet but it just leaves a bad after taste BUT i came back once more because this haunt needed another chance to look through and wow! just weeknd difference and the acting was a HUGE differnce and made my experince a whole lot better! I even got my first and second scares of the season the second time through.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: it was great both times and this was one of the biggest issues thier first year of opening and what a big improvement.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: let me just say this is another reason why i came back just to see the rooms once more theres so much detail they really look stright out of a horror movie. You can see how much work was put in into creating this haunt!

Costumes / Make-up: no let down here either! just amazing make up no masks. its almost hard to say which actor didnt stand out when it came to thier costumes and make up.

Summary: asylum experiment claims to have 3 haunted houses under one roof which i would have to say they are more like 3 different attaractions. If i would of reviewed this haunt the first time i went through it. It would of been alot different from what it is now. first time i left saying "was that really it?" and then the second i left saying "WOW" the whole 45min drive home im sure my girlfriend got sick of hearing it. the Asylum Experiment is alot different from most haunts because they just go over top for example i hate vortex tunnels i feel like they over done and just not as fun as they use to be more of annoying then anything because of dizzyness but what they did is over and beyond and brought back a new style of it. Not only did they make it bigger then mosts but they placed an actor in there and thats where my first scare came from i didnt see the ghoulish creature behind me and theres nothing i could do but to jump back and gasp and the way he moved up and down the railings with so much easy he really sold the part (side note how does he do that with out getting dizzy) and then my second scare came from the the clown room which im usually not afarid of but just that clown sold his part very well and just came out of no where 3 different times it just sends the creepy chill down my spine again as if i was a child again I just can't experess enough how much better the acting was and just how my experice was alot better the second time around i wouldn't be suprised if i came once more thier closing weeknd and well worth thier admission price i wouldnt be surprised if these guys take the throne next year as top dog

28 out of 38 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: mmmaestro   (Event Visited: 10/13/12 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's at the Odeum Expo in Villa Park. It was a bit out of the way for me, but I'm TOTALLY glad I got dragged out to it.

Wait Entertainment: Was an unexpected bonus. Very "Pro" that they even included it. I particularly liked the creepy guy with the even creepier clown doll (I think he called it Bobo?!)

Length of Event: I didn't time it, but I'd have to guess about a half hour to walk through the whole thing.

Actor Performance: This actually impressed me. I was expecting the typical "kids in rubber masks & clown makeup yelling Boo!" But this place was very different. These people were performers. They understood timing, when to shout, when to be eerily quiet. The silent ones that creep up on you were actually the most effective, I think!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Eh, hot & cold here. But that's more the fault of the individual patrons. Some of them kinda drag their feet, and if there's an actor in that area, they're pretty good at getting them to move, but there's time's when that's kind of out of their hands. I just treated it like a golf game. Ask if I can "play through" so to speak.

Appropriate Ages: Ooh, yeah... You might want to keep the preteens & kiddies away from his one. Unless you WANT them to sleep in your bed for the next week.

Props / Special FX: VERY convincing attention to detail in this place, kinda bordering on disturbing at times. I LOVED the attic room.

Costumes / Make-up: SERIOUS costume-age & make-up here! That was one of the "deal-makers" that converted me from the "Really?! We're going to a haunted house?! Are we 12 again?!" guy, into the "I will ABSOLUTELY go online and give a review for y'all!" guy.

Summary: So, I kind of said it all in the earlier questions, but I kind of got dragged here by a group of friends, and I started out the "Really?! A Haunted house?! Lame." guy, but ended up paying to go through a second time, this time without the screaming girl from our group that ended up rushing us through because she was scared senseless, so that I could really admire the detail of this thing. The use of sound, lighting, fog, & even smells really drew me in. Especially in the restraint shown in knowing when NOT to use them. The second part had that whole "sensory-deprivation" thing going for it, and they played it really well! I was almost mad at myself for letting them get me TWICE in the same spot, when I knew it was coming. The TV room was super disturbing, and the last part, that was like the apocalypse went REALLY over the top with the props. I mean, full on wrecked cars & ... stuff. I kept waiting to hear bottles clanking together & someone saying "Warriors! Come out to PLAY-AY!" Yeah, I'm a convert. It was pretty awesome. It literally felt like you were walking through a horror flick. I don't want to say too much more, before my review turns into a big giant spoiler alert! Just go! You will either love it, or soil yourself. :P

21 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: radsponge   (Event Visited: 10/20/12 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If you know where the Odeum is then it's no problem. Website has decent directions.

Wait Entertainment: We bought VIP so did not see much line entertainment. I did see very nice vampiress dark dress with I think full sclera contacts (black). Nice. We were also greeted to VIP nicely by another nicely decorated woman who had some good on-liners as she greeted us.

Length of Event: 30-45 min unless you allow certain actors to hustle you through like you were a piece of sausage in a sausage factory.

Actor Performance: Most of the actors brought their "A" game and stayed in character and maintained the energy.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Terrible and my only disappointment. I plunk down $160 for 4 VIP tickets, only to get squished into a 15 person VIP conga line. We missed all the actor surprises and speeches except the room with all the doors. It was clear that room was for patron flow checkpoint. How can any haunt cram 15 people as one group to go in the house and think that we are all going to be happy at the end. My VIP group was first into the holding area, then another 10 were added and this couple asked if they could go first (I did not hear them say this to the greeter - but was told later). BIG Disappointmet. Next year when I pay for VIP again, if my group is initially dumped into the house as a group of 12 again, Im gonna let everyone pass us (if we aren't in first group) and then wait to let the actors reset in their rooms. Not happy.

Appropriate Ages: no younger than 12 should go.

Props / Special FX: More pneumatics, nice touch, they all worked and on target.

Costumes / Make-up: Some great constumes, nicely detailed. A lot of time spent. Too bad I could not really appreciate them since they already did their speeches before we entered room (except room of doors).

Summary: Bigger yes, and kept up same quality of detailing the rooms. 
Disappointed with how the house crammed us through the haunt in group of 12 without even thinking about it. Not happy we did not see each room as it was meant to be seen. Not every room required actors to reset, but those that did, we did not get surprised even once because the first 6 people in our conga line of 12 already had the traps sprung on them! Most haunts do not load the house in groups so large for the obvious reason that the last half of the group doesn't get sprung on at all. Im going to create my own group within the house next year if they pull that stunt on us again. Im not going to get processed like sausages at a meat factor and miss everything.

17 out of 24 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: billingw515   (Event Visited: 10/25/12 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Simple - 2 blocks north of North Avenue on Villa... you'll see the Odeum!

Wait Entertainment: First, it was all indoors. There were refreshment opportunities, nice restrooms, actors and plenty of visuals including video footage.

Length of Event: A good 30 minutes.

Actor Performance: Many were excellent - the woman on the stairs, the tall thin clown, the mad scientist and so many others. The make-up was OUTSTANDING.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: No problems - we could move more or less at our own pace and nobody came up behind us. The problem is you want to keep moving because you are so curious/excited to see what's next!

Appropriate Ages: Ages 12-13 and on up through seniors.

Props / Special FX: Over the top. Many animations, elaborate sets, sophisticated technology. WGN's Gary Meier called the Haunt very Hollywood and I agree - you have to see it to believe it. The Blackout, the kitchen with the cockroaches, the vortex (don't let go of the railing), the sounds and the smells, the list goes on and on...

Costumes / Make-up: As I've said, A+ in all respects. The actors are really committed to their roles.

Summary: This is a unique Haunt developed by a professional team that requires you to use all of your senses to be entertained in the usual Halloween sense (plenty of ghouls, graves, etc.), but also in the beautiful animated sets, the use of sophisticated technology and mechanicals, the unusual number of live actors... We agreed when we left that there should be a special ticket that allows one to go through a second time in order to see some of all that you miss the first time around. Each of us recalled things that others could not.

21 out of 31 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: BIGGUN   (Event Visited: 10/13/12 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: At the Odeon on Villa RD. Cant miss it.

Wait Entertainment: Some decent actors roaming. It was a loooong wait taht night

Length of Event: appox 30 min

Actor Performance: Fair at best. many actors werent very good, and the animatronics seemed to be mis-timed.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Poor. Ran into 2 other groups

Appropriate Ages: 7 and up

Props / Special FX: Incredible. The haunt is worth the price just for the props

Costumes / Make-up: Awesome!

Summary: As stated before, the haunt is worth the $$$ just for the props. They are some of the best you'll ever see in a haunt! Paton flow was a problem this year, unlike in years past. 
The toy room was cool with the Ninja turtles and ET. Frankie's lab and the pet room were cool and visually awesome!  
The acting in these rooms isnt very good, and the scare factor is low. Some rooms the actors shout out cheesy dialogue, and I think thats what bogs down the groups and hurts the patron flow. I liked blackout with the spooky noises and feeling the creepy things that you have to maneuver through. All in all I do recommend the haunt for the amazing visuals, but dont expect to be scared too much!

23 out of 34 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: bigstick4u   (Event Visited: 10/13/12 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If you know where the Odeon is its no trouble.

Wait Entertainment: We had VIP so I'm not sure. There was a long line of people for the NONvip so I hope there was.

Length of Event: 30 min

Actor Performance: Fair. Some were very lame, a few were decent, and a small fraction were above average.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Lousy. We ran into a huge group of 8 people. To be fair though, they were moving at a snails pace.

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up

Props / Special FX: FANTASTIC! Extremely detailed

Costumes / Make-up: Top notch and well madeup!

Summary: This haunt in its few short years of being open gets a 10 in props and makeup. Its the acting and the lame dialogue that brings it down. The first scene is an old creeky bridge you cross, that is very wobbly while skeleton torsos hover over. You are then walking over another bridge like scene, where the trees and greenery close in on you. Absolutely amazing detail to these scenes.  
Blackout was creepy with the twists, turns, inflatables, fur?!? and air pops and horns! 
Frankensteins lab is back with a surprise. The doll room and animal room are well done and somewhat eerie. I liked the maze, but it was rather easy to navigate 
One of the problems of the haunt is it relies way too much on long dialogue in some scenes ie: hellevator and ring around the rosy room that hurt the haunt. They should also cover the floor switches that enable the pop ups. Its quite obvious what the giant patch on the ground is for. I still do recommend this haunt on the props, detail, and length of the haunt. It is worth it, just not overly scary.

29 out of 45 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: partycentral   (Event Visited: 10/05/12 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/06/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Don't use Apple Maps to find it. Use Google as Apple doesn't have the Expo Center in the right location. The location is easy to find as their are many lights and signage right off the road.

Wait Entertainment: There were a few actors walking around, however they were low scare factors. They had some movies on the wall and lots of fog all over the place. If you go to the bar, you can't bring your drink into the line.

Length of Event: 25 minutes

Actor Performance: Acting was amateur and timing was way off. It didn't seem like they were really trying to scare us, however there were a couple times that we jumped.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never ran into any groups. A couple times I saw a guy with a flashlight talking to actors up ahead. I think he was telling them to stall us so that we had the right timing.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Incredible details with props and special FX. It was probably the most detail I have ever seen with many different things like cars, trucks, and nature.

Costumes / Make-up: Great costume designs and scenes - I just wish they would have used their scare tactics better.

Summary: There are 3 connected houses at Asylum. The first is a regular Haunted House with many long hallways and not many actors. The props are very detailed and very good looking. The next house was Blackout which was dark, but not totally dark and wasn't that long. The last house was Armageddon. This was the best house with a couple good scares, but overall the best acting and special effects. The house is great for the actual rooms themselves, but the acting wasn't to par with other houses. 
Still, I would suggest taking a try at it just to see how great the scenes were.

20 out of 32 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: mickEmaus   (Event Visited: 10/14/12 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The Odeum is a known venue, and the directions on the house's site were adequate to get you there.

Wait Entertainment: The monsters in line seemed to lose enthusiasm as the wait dragged out to > 1 hour. There at the opening time, not a ton of people in line ahead of us. Poor crowd flow into and out of the house.

Length of Event: Would have been about 20% if not less of the time spent in line, had there not been a slow group directly in front of us.

Actor Performance: Some were good. Most were fairly average. One actor at the transition between houses was particularly good, but that may be a tallest little person statement.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was fairly good. It might have been better had one of the balloon tunnels not had a shared wall. When people were in one side, it made passage on the other much more challenging.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up. There was a smaller child in the group in front of us, and managing her fears made the group speed drop.

Props / Special FX: The room decoration was one of the high points of the house. The room with the stuffed animals everywhere was amazing, as was the life-sized ET in the same room. There was a two-phase vertigo tunnel that was the best part of the house, hands down.

Costumes / Make-up: Solid costuming, in line with the actors' locations in the house.

Summary: Traditionally, this has been one of the better houses in the Chicago area, but this year's flow management was a huge disappointment. The house was not worth the wait time. Realizing normal line issues, we did all the right things: show up early, two weeks before Halloween, etc. 
Were the line better managed, the house was a decent attraction, but with the frustration of the line not moving at all for much of the time we were in it--to the point that even the actors for the line were standing around, bored (something about bulls having to be cleared from the building was mentioned early, but communication to patrons was non-existent after the initial message--the house would have had to have been outstanding to have made up for the time lost. 
The site says there are three houses at one location, but we only noticed one transition, and it seemed like just one attraction. 
The vertigo tunnel was by far the best part of the attraction.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at