Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2012 Visitor Reviews of
Shotgun Manor 2012: Truth or Dare! (Sullivan, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
23 out of 26 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: jlgs2103   (Event Visited: 10/20/12 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Signs were not lighted like advertised and on opposite side of road as advertised. The parking was extremely limited and very unorganized. One way in/out. Very small parking lot.

Wait Entertainment: There were no wait entertainment at all. There were speakers above our head but nothing playing. No ghouls entertaining the guests in the wait line. No radio or bands. Waiting was very dull and uneventful.

Length of Event: Attraction its self maybe lasted 20mins. maybe. The wait lines are extremely longer than the actual attractions worth. A minimum of 4 hours in the so called "express" line. ( Paid extra to skip the waiting and still waited 4 hours in line )

Actor Performance: The scare factor was very low. More funny than anything. Some actors did well in their performance, others not so much.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow through the attraction came to a stand still several times due to power outages and equipment failure.

Appropriate Ages: Id say 8 year olds could go in here due to the low scare factor.

Props / Special FX: Some props were okay but still not something i would expect from a haunted house the is supposedly rated in top 5 of state.

Costumes / Make-up: It seemed to me that they concentrated more on 2 or 3 characters rather than all of them. A guy in bibs and a splash of blood isnt scary.

Summary: I feel as if i was miss lead when the website and radio stated that we had 2 attractions to go through, there was only one. When there are 3 power loses during what is supposed to take 20 mins to go through the attraction, someone didnt plan well. I was bored to death in the waiting line going into the attraction. Not the ticket line. Even when I paid extra to skip the waiting line i waited 4 hours! I could accept this from an attraction in a large city but not from a small town with the attraction isnside a 2 door garage.

18 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: crunchyscab   (Event Visited: 10/12/12 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The signs and side of the building are lit up if you are coming from Matoon however I came in through Sullivan and saw not a sign. I had to turn around once I was leaving the Sullivan and only the did I see the barn.

Wait Entertainment: There wasn't any entertainment. The ticket line wasn't visible. The sign for tickets should be lit up and the tarp shouldn't cover the entry point to buy tickets. However being in a covered waiting line is appreciated.

Length of Event: It was short and the alternate ending that they advertise as a second haunt is even shorter. You have to go through the beginning again for the altenate ending and you see the SAME scenes and acting again. Chainsaw alley was fun but also short but you don't re enter it for the alternate ending. And speaking of an ending you dont get to see her die or the evil spirit get the house you just get to vote.

Actor Performance: The guide at the beginning did set up the story of the house nicely. After that it was hit or miss and I don't think sock monkey sodomizing itself is spooky or scary just weid and uncomfortable. I also had to see the same scenes and acting when I re entered for the second ending which made you just rush through.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I was in the first group in and we didn't enter til 7:30 that night. It was encouraging that the owner came out and gave a little speech. The group behind us caught up with us first thing. Then it was just terrible flow after trying to re enter for the other ending maninly because of the voting secne. Why not just vote afterward I kept wondering.

Appropriate Ages: The chainsaw and the weird monkey might make it difficult for young children

Props / Special FX: The haunted house room had a great effect. I enjoyed the library exit. I say make it all look a manor since that worked well.

Costumes / Make-up: Nothing really eye catching. Very few masks however.

Summary: I drove nearly 2 hours to this haunt because its gotten alot of stir. It really is out of the way of any other haunts so this was a special trip just for this haunt. I think the 2 endings did this haunt a real disservice. I wonder what it was like as one larger haunt and I may never know with how I felt leaving this haunt. I paid 10 dollars for a short haunt and 10 dollars more for a even shorter (3 rooms) alternate ending. When I got home the site said that the alternate ending should cost 5 dollars more. The 10 dollars more that I paid was to include a speed pass the first time through. I was in the first group so that wasn't even something that was being used. This wasn't explained in anyway by the ticket staff. Im thinking that the 4 different pricing tiers and the 2 endings were a ruse to generate income and I won't be coming back to see if the money was put back into this small 2 car garage event. I pay 20 bucks to see much more splendid and large haunts in chicago and STL. I really wanted to like this haunt. I'd stick with one haunt with the shotgun manor theme through out at one price (and perhaps a speedpass price), create a more vsisble ticket line, get parking attendant with a flashlight, and more signs or at least ONE sign coming from the Sulliavn direction. We also want to see Emillee or at least hear her in the walls! Im trying to be constructive as possible because I haven't felt this let down by a haunt in years.

24 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Maven   (Event Visited: 10/20/12 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location was a little bit difficult to locate. There were no sign coming through town. Even looking for the attraction we drove right past it the first time. The only signs were roughly the size of all the political signs you see this time of year so watch closely as they are easily missed.

Wait Entertainment: There were 3 different actors that engaged us whole we waited in line. One of the actors was very chatty and funny while the other two were silent and just creeped up behind you to scare you.

Length of Event: We waited in line for about 30 minutes or so and the line was to the end of the parking area. Overall the line was not too bad of a wait. The attraction itself took about 15 minutes or so to walk through.

Actor Performance: The actor performance was not overly impressive. There were a couple of actors who were very good, but overall a vast majority of the actors were not very entertaining. One guy who I could not see was yelling crazy stuff like "I'm a Mongolian cheese plate" and "I'm the ghost of the cardboard maze." This is a bit of a spoiler for me as I would hope the actors would take themselves a little bit more seriously.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Inside the attraction was pretty good. They control the flow by only allowing a few in at a time through a gate where they punch your tickets. This kept the groups at a distance and made for a good flow inside.

Appropriate Ages: I personally would think a 6 or 7 year old would be fine in this attraction.

Props / Special FX: There were a couple of decent props in this attraction. Mainly, the coffin, the fridge, and the van. Otherwise it was fairly dull. Not many props or special effects, and in my opinion a lot of missed opportunities.

Costumes / Make-up: There were a couple actors who had good make up, a lot of others had cheap masks such as the jason hockey mask. A vast majority of the actors were not visable however.

Summary: Overall, I was not very impressed, nor were the other three members of my group. This attraction had generated a lot of buzz in the central illinois area and just didn't live up to the hype for us. That being said, this attraction would probably be good for first timers or younger patrons. In addition the way the tickets are done is a bit confusing. There are 2 endings to this attraction although the alternate ending consists only of about 3 different rooms. The attraction has 4 ticket prices. If you are going to this event I would suggest the double dare. The line was not very long so I felt no need to purcase the speed ticket.

20 out of 26 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Chel6766   (Event Visited: 10/19/12 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Signs not well placed, had to find a turn around to get back to it.

Wait Entertainment: There was no wait entertainment, but there was a parking guide who spoke with us a few times.

Length of Event: 20 minutes inside the event.

Actor Performance: Seemed to us that the actors all did well "acting". Not much scaring going on tho.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We saw a blank television, no inside attractions.

Appropriate Ages: I would take my 6 year old there.

Props / Special FX: None

Costumes / Make-up: Some actors had make up, some did not.

Summary: My 2 sisters and i have attended haunted houses all over Central Illinois as an annual sister outing. We were stoked about the hype of Shotgun Manor! However, upon arrival, we were disappointed with this event. It would have been better played out on a stage somewhere. We are not sure what the storyline was really supposed to be, not too much talking was going on, and we were only spoken to about the rules inside. There was no chasing, no screaming, no special effects. We didn't even hear younger kids screaming while we were waiting in line. We did hear a chainsaw fire up once.

17 out of 24 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: goth_gina   (Event Visited: 10/26/12 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I had been to Shotgun Manor in the past, however they had a new location. We passed it once before seeing the big lit up billboard. Small signs in the yard were hard to see.

Wait Entertainment: No Binky... Third Year in a row that I missed him. His brother though, Stinky was present as well as his sister and cousin Billy Bob. They were pretty good. I think Stinky with his big chainsaw was great. My husband really wanted to take it home!

Length of Event: We waited in line for 47 minutes but that included the first que line for the mini haunted house.

Actor Performance: I believe this is Shotgun Manor's real gem. The actors had so many different styles. I really like that in a haunt. I have been to 11 of them this year and find that Shotgun Manor really out does the rest in acting. Some were in my face, some were funny, some were creepy, and some I just wanted to hug. It was a great mix because just when I was made to feel safe, BANG, there would come a chainsaw/clown/don't even know what it was that would make both my husband and I jump. Excellent job!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never ran into another group either a head or behind us. This is something that in other haunted houses I find annoying. I waited in line to have my own experience, not just to be herded through. Shotgun Manor does a great job at this.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: No lasers this year :( I did enjoy the kitchen and where you had to decide. I also liked the crawl, but I did bump my head. My hubby laughed. I didn't see much in special FX this year though. I normally see much more in that department.

Costumes / Make-up: I really LOVE the makeup at this haunt. Lots of new and exciting looks and feels. I liked the dog in the first room's makeup. Stinky's makeup was really good too, (outside entertainment). The two girls in the place where you decide was really over the top(spoiler?)

Summary: I go back to Shotgun Manor year after year. This was my last haunt stop of the year because I wanted to go out with a BANG! TEE HEE! Shotgun Manor delivered on their promise, I decided to let her DIE. Then bought another ticket to let her LIVE! I am glad that I did. What I would have missed the second go around was better than the first (which was also great). My husband paid $20.00 which was well worth it to both of us. We walked away knowing that Shotgun Manor will be on our tour next year as well. I would have to rate it as THE BEST haunt that I have been to this year based upon the actors and their makeup. I would have to rate it as the worst for finding it. It is right on the highway but is easily missed. Put a big sign by the road to let people know where you are located. Once again, Shotgun Manor has proven to me that I need to go there next year!

29 out of 48 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Petescares   (Event Visited: 10/05/12 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/06/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: A few more signs would help or a street address for my GPS. But we found it

Wait Entertainment: Excellent. Billybob but no shock o rama due to rain & stormy weather

Length of Event: 30 minutes+

Actor Performance: Good job with a mix of adults and kids but kids seemed trained as actors not one said boo or gotcha ya

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good.

Appropriate Ages: teens and up

Props / Special FX: Good job here and we really liked the sound, it seemed to echo in the building. So did our screams. Good lights too

Costumes / Make-up: Awesome Make up! Only a few masks and some actors had a minimum of make up on but did not need more to get us. This is where the acting skills of some performers shines.

Summary: We really liked the 2 endings idea and went thru the second time to see the other ending. It was well worth the money for both trips. One negative I am a big guy and the maze is a tight squeez for me but I made it. It probably made it a better scare that way. We loved the exit and I admit I bumped my head a few times trying to get away from some actors, lol.  
 
Nice to see this haunt got a new location. We have went there last 3 years after friends went and it continues to compete with bigger for profit haunts. This was our first haunt of the year & we plan to take friends back next week for their zombie march. We always like the cool program books by the Ambucs.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at