Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2013 Visitor Reviews of
Asylum Xperiment Haunted Attractions (Villa Park, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
25 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Keegs123   (Event Visited: 10/18/13 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was very easy to find. It was located at the Odeum Expo Center and they had signs pointing towards it, a big projector showing the name of their haunt on the outside of the building, and an inflatable moving skeleton in the front lawn area of the haunt.

Wait Entertainment: They had a few actors walking around and invading the customers personal space. They had a really cool set up with lots of props and photo opportunities as well.

Length of Event: 25-30 minutes. This was a very good time for this haunt especially with how massive this place was.

Actor Performance: The actors did such a great job of staying in character the whole time. Even when we asked the characters where something was or what we had to do, they would still act and talk in their character voice making their role very believable. Our group was very terrified and at the same time really enjoyed how well the characters put on a show.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This area was decent. I did not like how they paired us up with another group so instead of going through with our group of 5, we were basically forced to go through with another group of 6 so there were 11 of us total. They needed to space this out a little more because the scares are not as intense if you see all the people in the front of the big group getting scared first.

Appropriate Ages: I would say like 12 or 13 and up. This was a very intense and scary haunted house, so not recommended for little kids.

Props / Special FX: THIS WAS THEIR BEST AREA. Our group was amazed by everything that was in this house. They put so much detail into everything in this house. Seriously, how many haunted houses do you know that have their own little spooky looking creek with actual running water in it!? There were so many details that our group would stop in amazement just to take a second look at everything. A lot of the props were very realistic and in your face with some really high-end scares!

Costumes / Make-up: Phenomenal. They mainly used really detailed make-up. A lot of the costumes were out of this world, was not like anything I have seen before. I was so impressed by this place.

Summary: Overall, this haunt was amazing. It was like nothing I have been to before. It was really high up there for being one of the scariest haunted houses I have ever been to, but at the same time those scares were evened out with some of the humor within the house. The first haunt was more so detailed then really scary. It felt a little short, but it was still very good. I enjoyed the last two the most. I could not believe the amount of detail and scares they put into their haunt. They even have real cars within this haunt and so much of their sets honestly make you believe you are living in a real nightmare. If you are looking for a scary haunt that is REALLY worth your money, then you should check out Asylum Xperiment. I am still amazed and blown away by everything our group had encountered. This is an A+ haunted house that we will be visiting many years to come.

14 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: creepychick   (Event Visited: 10/04/13 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's located at the Odeum Expo Center right off of North Avenue and Rte 83 (turn down Villa Avenue off North). Huge parking lots with free parking.

Wait Entertainment: There were a few actors/characters for the queue line and they spent some time interacting with the patrons. There was also an interactive "kiosk" where you could scare patrons inside.

Length of Event: I think we spent about 25-30 minutes inside.

Actor Performance: The actors were pretty good--and a few really stand out because of creep factor. I love when they "stalk" you. Or get close but don't touch you. The makeup and costumes on all the actors was really, really cool.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't run into any other groups and the flow seemed well-controlled by the actors in the rooms.

Appropriate Ages: I would not bring anyone under 12 years old. I would say most scenes are intended for an older audience.

Props / Special FX: The special effects vary, but they were all really professional and you can tell a lot of time was spent on each one. The detail of the rooms is amazing. The video of two of the haunt characters telling you the house rules is great!

Costumes / Make-up: As I said before, the makeup and costumes are top-notch. Some of the characters get very close and the makeup is seamless. One of the clowns breath smelled like cotton candy! Again, attention to detail.

Summary: From the beginning the Asylum Xperiment was very entertaining. In the waiting area the theme was a horror-themed Christmas scene. They even had snow coming down on the guests. The line entertainment was fine--we didn't spend much time there as it wasn't too crowded. I've already said the video of the haunt rules was pretty cool. The two characters come to life from still portraits. There are a bunch of sensory filled rooms with different smells (bbq, swamp stink, cotton candy in the circus tent, etc), and a few areas that make you want to puke (spinning tunnel), and spots where you aren't sure you are going to get out. I was the "caboose" of the group, so I got to see more than a few people in my group get the %&#$ scared out of them when someone you thought was just part of the scenery came to life (awesome statue in graveyard scene, etc). A few spots were totally cool with effects like getting sprayed with "blood" when some zombies get mowed down in front of you. I'm not a fan of clowns and there were a few that were super creepy and smelled fear. The apocalyptic scenes and actors were pretty cool and so were the "medical staff". I don't want to give away all the different rooms and characters. All the areas were super-detailed and I caught myself wishing I could spend more time looking at everything. If you can, try to take your time going through to really enjoy the experience!

19 out of 26 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: mmmaestro   (Event Visited: 10/05/13 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/08/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Villa Park, @ the Odeum Expo Center

Wait Entertainment: There's a lot of "haunt" in the waiting area to look at, plus there's a few characters that come around & creep you out while you wait. Kind of standard fare, but well done.

Length of Event: I'd have to say 25 minutes front to back?

Actor Performance: Most of them are really good. Not all doing the same thing. Some scare the bejeezus out of you, some just creep you out.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It seemed a bit packed, but to be fair, it was opening weekend.

Appropriate Ages: hmm... I'd think twice about bringing anyone that's not at least a teen.

Props / Special FX: The post-apocalypse wasteland was over the top. Full-on car carcasses. How the heck did they even get those in the place?! And the "splatter" effect when the zombie's head gets blown off? Awesome. Bring a hankie.

Costumes / Make-up: WAY over the top here. Like horror flick quality. One or two were OK, but most of it was outstanding. The stone "statues" that suddenly move were a total surprise.

Summary: Man, I'm afraid to say anymore than I already have. I feel like my whole review is already one big giant spoiler alert. But I'll just say this. I discovered this haunt three years ago. And I have gone every year since. And they've ALWAYS got something new to zing me with! Looks like they want more words before I can submit this? OK. um. Spinning tunnel makes you want to fall down. OH, and the entrance room where there's two pictures of the "Hosts" I guess, and they come to life and tell you the rules & whatnot for the haunt. VERY pro. Like Disney or Universal Theaters quality stuff.

16 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ParkerXD   (Event Visited: 10/04/13 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/08/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There is a big bright sign out frount. Ton of free parking. In door waiting which is amazing now that it is freezing out. There is also a bar upstairs if your over 21.

Wait Entertainment: VIP so I didn't wait in line long but I still got to enjoy some of the line actors. They stayed in character and had great banter back and forth. They also moved around to scar everyone, not just the same few people.

Length of Event: I was to wrapped up with the whole ambiance of the haunt to remember to check what time it was when we entered and left.

Actor Performance: I am completely amazed at the level of acting. Every single actor was hitting all there marks stayed in character the whole time and scaring the whole group. The pop out scars did a great job of waiting and hitting in the middle of the group and resetting to hit the end. The actors also did a great job of scaring the whole group and giving everyone an equal show. They also had great distraction scars . They keeps ur eyes glued on them then the next thing you know you get the crap scared out of you by someone sneaking up behind you. There was also a wide rage of characters. They didn't all stick with the same scar tatice. They left you wondering what was gonna happen next , and what demons waited for you.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They had great flow . I tend to walk a little too fast so my friends and I got separated from our group . I waited for the group to get back however, the actors did a great job of seeing the gap and pushing us forward and holding the other half back. We didn't run into them or any other groups !

Appropriate Ages: I normally don't get scared from haunted houses but still enjoy walking thru for the show.This haunt however is both entertaining and scary. It all depends on the mateurity level of the individual. There is no swearing so it is okay for children but there is gory content.

Props / Special FX: There is amazing special fx. The view if the house when you are waiting is incredible. I loved the way they told you the rules in the beginning. The pictures looked so realistic. They also made the rules entertaining and funny to listen to. The props are perfectly placed . It is hard to tell what's a prop or an actor waiting to pop out and devour the souls of the patrons. I don't want to give anything away but they used very interesting and unexpected quits thru some of the rooms. I also really enjoyed the transition where it felt they you were walking on something squishy. The broken down cars really helped with making it feel the a scary rundown ally .

Costumes / Make-up: The makeup was breathtaking. They have great makeup artists. Every actor had a different makeup. They picked out great makeup and costumes that went perfectly together. I really enjoyed the clowns makeup.

Summary: Asylum Xperiment keeps toping themselves every year. I can't even begin to understand what goes on in the mind of the owners. They keep thinking up crazy and new ideas. You can tell the passion everyone put in to making this haunt. Every room is detail perfectly and when you put the actors in them they come alive. You can start to feel the engery of the haunt even before you enter and it leaves you wishing it wouldn't end. I recommend for everyone to go see this haunt at least once. However, I can say that I'm already planing my second trip.

8 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: 10/13/13 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Outside of town but in a large sports dome thing. Not hard to find.

Wait Entertainment: They are not really able to do what other haunts do because of the building but what they have is very good. I won't spoil it for you.

Length of Event: Big Haunt...over 30 minutes

Actor Performance: This is a show that prides itself on actors. How do I know? The quality here is as good as I have ever seen. They do scare and performance art. They do some things that are edgy so be prepared. In your face, aggressive....very well done across the board.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This is a big haunt with a lot to see and big crowds. It is not just walk through so speed will vary. I give them kudos that they can manage this as well as they do.

Appropriate Ages: best say a little older here. As always you know your kids and if they are easily frightened don't bring them here.

Props / Special FX: My friend and I have been to other sports domes. He looked at me going in and said I am skeptical about this place because of our previous experience. Within five minutes that changed. There are two walkways that separate this haunt from lesser ones. What can I say, there are crashed cars, a television studio, monsters underground, haunted elevators,stuff my friends. Animated eye candy throughout.

Costumes / Make-up: If you are a lesser haunt and you want to look good, do makeup.If your are these guys you know how. There was a clown type figure that got in my face that was as disturbing a makeup as I have ever seen. They don't do masks very much, they do makeup.

Summary: Rated numo uno by this website last year I can in expecting to be blown away. For the most part I was. This is evidently a duel use Halloween/ Christmas facility, you'll see what I mean. Once you get past the shared stuff you go into a really awesome palate cleanser in the duel walkways. They do all three of the haunted attraction art forms, performance, scare, props to a satisfying end. They are at the high end of the entry cost so they have to deliver. You may not find them as scarey as a haunt North of them but they are scary. You may not find their props as spectacular as a haunt west of them, but they are really good. I cannot see how you could come here and not have a good time...my opinion.

10 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: marq   (Event Visited: 10/24/13 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Pretty easy to spot. It's an Expo center, with a Big lighted Marquee and wrecked cars fashioned into a macabre "Billboard" of sorts. If you still can't find it, you don't need a Haunt, you need an optometrist.

Wait Entertainment: REALLY cool. Kind of a "Jason Vorhees ran amuck through my Winter Wonderland" vibe, with animatronic Frankensteins, corpses trying to escape crypts, and a life size mockup that looks like your actually entering a a mansion. Several "Wandering minstrel"-type of character actors weaving in and out of the crowd, with awesome makeup and a great blend of scary/creepy/funny/gross personalities. (No, I will not hold your urine sample. Gross!) The wait entertainment is better than several of the actual haunts I've seen.

Length of Event: I'd say, not counting the wait line entertainment , about 25-30 minutes?

Actor Performance: Excellent. They really create characters, and really commit to them too. Statues that come to life, cannibal rednecks, and some clowns that take the creepy factor to a whole new level. Oh, and there's some chick in there that has MASTERED the horror movie scream of terror. I thought it was an audio clip at first!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The layout was pretty smooth. I brought a friend that was in her 40's and has NEVER been to a haunted attraction before, so she was pretty freaked by it. It was as much fun to watch her reactions as the haunt, but we ended up being those annoying slow that gets caught by the other group. Sorry. We went with golf etiquette, & let them "Play through" so to speak.

Appropriate Ages: Hmm... I'd say leave the preteens (and maybe the skittish teens) at home. Unless you WANT to be up for a few nights comforting them after a nightmare or two.

Props / Special FX: Oh, dude. Animated video "picture frames" & "windows", Dining room tables that raise into the ceiling... actual vehicles as props.

Costumes / Make-up: Like real-deal "horror flick" quality stuff here. Amazing.

Summary: Yeah, this was awesome. Even the wait line was done up proper. Like I mentioned above, the wait line was better than some haunts I've seen. The entry room was like a haunted mansion lounge, with a full size chandelier smashed through a table, an undead kind of housemaid that shuffles you into the room where two still photos come to life and tell the rules of the haunt. (I especially liked Spike, the chainsaw wielding "Ambassador of happiness"!) I don't want to give away too much, but they really paid attention to subtle details, like when to use and not use the fog machine, hidden speakers that create ambient sound effects, like an old vintage car with a pronounced knock in it's idle. Varied and subtle use of lighting as well. That spinning tunnel thingy was super-disorienting. This is the fourth year in a row I've gone to this haunt, & they manage to come up with something new every year. It's never the same, but they always manage to up their game. I still check out three or four new ones, but this one has earned it's spot as my one "Must do" every year!

5 out of 12 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cupajoe415   (Event Visited: 10/11/13 @ 11:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The Odeum isn't hard to find. Though Siri lead us to God knows where. Found it on our own after that.

Wait Entertainment: That had a very cool wait area this year that was all new. I saw alot of old Christmas props out and around. The building facade and outdoor props really made a cool wait experience. The guy wandering around in chains was pretty quick witted and was pretty funny as well. One of the girls at the head of the line letting people into the door was great as well. She had the old diner attitude, like Ed Dabevics waitress. The guy leading from the front of the facade was very articulate and cool. On my first visit a week ago, he did his schpeel inside the house, While he was good either way, it helped things move along.

Length of Event: Long... It is one of the longer huant walkthroughs out there.

Actor Performance: Actors were great as always. Since I went the last two weeks, I will mention some from each night. The maid at the rules scene was very cool. There was a woman who was in the hick laundry area, who was complaining about obamacare on Friday the 4th... I loved the pop-culture reference, pretty funny. Loved the dr. He looked great! Also the dude running the spark fence area, did great as well, his movements were perfectly on time, and the after ear snarl was great. I am a huge fan of the clowns added into the junk yard area. My favorite character in this house I saw in this area on Friday the 4th. He attacked my friend in front of me with love, as if it was his long lost friend, upon seeing me he grunted in disgust as we passed by. It was one of the funniest I have seen. I will also give credit to another clown I ran into last night, who was very happy to see my "butterball shape" but my scrawny friend he had no interest in and made it known. The restaurant girls did great, as did the nurses near the doctors office. Everyone played there part well, and there were limited dumb screams and moans and good lines. Acting coaches to be commended!!!!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Weird... Part of this must be the fact that I know where to go, while some others did not. We had a larger couple in front of our group that had to kiss in every room, and waddle slowly down every hall, once we got in front of them, are pace improved. However at that point our group divided in two. The half behind this couple and group behind me and my friend. Unfortunately in the dark winding areas the other group just came to a stop and my friend and I were separated again from the already split group. At one point we ran into the group in front of us, who were clearly moving really slow, by the time they got to the circus tent maze. This is where the actors shined though... Their resets were perfect and performed and reset for each of our split up group. Great job. I don't know if anything can be done out this, since it had to do with the pace of each in our group I suppose.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up, Im a bit conservative on this though. Depends on the kid and the parent.

Props / Special FX: Great as always. I am always amazed at how they get all of this set up and taken down every year. My first Friday there I noticed a sharp edge to one of the smashed cars that was at head level. I noticed a hard hat on it at this point. I am hopeful they caught it before anyone got hurt, but either way Im glad it was caught early in the season. I have to mention that I love the picture frame rules area with the owners... it was very funny.

Costumes / Make-up: Always great!

Summary: I was happy to see Asylum Xperiment as the #1 house last year as they deservedly were! I used to work at Dream Reapers a couple years back, and if I stepped foot into haunting again, it would probably be at this house, as everyone here is phenomenal. The rooms and sets are beautiful. The acting is great! While I have not gotten to 5 or so other haunts yet to compare... Asylum seems to be on par again. Asylum Xperiment, how I love to tour haunts all through Illinois, but I seem to always end up at yours 4-5 times a season. Its not an accident! Great job to everyone involved. Shout out to Japes!

3 out of 8 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: AleighB8   (Event Visited: 10/19/13 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location was easy to find and the parking ample.

Wait Entertainment: I chose to purchase a VIP ticket to avoid the 3 hour wait.

Length of Event: 25-30 minutes.

Actor Performance: Mediocre. By the time I entered the haunted house, it was clear the actors were generally tired. It might be helpful for them to give the actors a break or switch them out halfway through the night.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The patron flow was not very good inside of the attraction. Our group found ourselves running into groups in front of us multiple times in addition to waiting in rooms inside the attraction, per the instructions of the actors. There were too many people inside the attraction at one time. It made sense to let as many people as possible in (as there was a long wait), but it definitely took away from the attraction.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: The scenery was well done! The scenes were realistic and spooky. I definitely enjoyed the ambulance quite a bit as well as the different scenes in the rooms.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were okay, the make-up was also okay. It might have been better if we were there earlier in the night.

Summary: I think this haunted house had potential. The scenery was well-done, the facility was large enough for all of the people waiting in line, and the staff was friendly/helpful. I enjoyed the twists and turns in the dark spaces of the haunted house. However, the actors seemed tired and did not seem like they were putting in as much effort to scare as they probably were in the beginning of the night. For example, I did not get followed out of any room or snuck up on. I am sure this had to do with the amount of people let into the attraction at the same time. We bought VIP tickets (an extra $15) and were not disappointed with the wait. It was absolutely worth the money to not wait an additional 3 hours for the haunted house that felt sub-par. I genuinely feel that it would have been better if I would have gone earlier in the season or even earlier in the night.

6 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cunbe   (Event Visited: 10/12/13 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find. Big sign showing you where to go. A lot of parking.

Wait Entertainment: Really liked the wait area. A ton of props and special effects that I have never seen before. A few actors, standard. Wait time was about 35 minutes.

Length of Event: 35 - 45 minutes. quite long

Actor Performance: Actors were very good, but I wanted more of them!! Not enough actors popping out and scaring us.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very poor. They sent about 10-12 of us in at the same time. The actors tried to mix it up by scaring at different times, however, many times we could see where they were coming from. Need to cut down on the size of the groups.

Appropriate Ages: At least teen

Props / Special FX: Phenomenal props and special effects. They really went all out on this aspect. The zombie explosions were unlike anything I have ever seen before.

Costumes / Make-up: Very good. The actors were really made up. They looked great.

Summary: Overall, I was disappointed. I expected more for the amount of money I paid to go through. There were too many scenes where you walked through and nothing happened. Yes, they were well decorated, but I want to get scared not look at rooms. Also, because the group was soo big, the scare factor was low. Many times, you could see where the actors were coming from. When I did get into the front position, it was still not that great. They need more actors, more misdirection, less talking about the scenes.  
 
The special effects were unlike anything I have seen before, but the house overall was lacking. It was missing the scare factor. There were a few great scares (a couple air shots, etc), but overall, for the money I spent on this house, I wanted more. The elevator ride was typical to most houses. Nothing spectacular. The subterranean section had maybe 2 actors in the whole house. I am not a huge fan of actors standing there yelling and banging on things. I want them to actually pop out and scare me. This house is ok but can be great. If they used the special effects and rooms in conjunction with actors popping out, it would really be good.

1 out of 3 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: BAM14   (Event Visited: 10/27/13 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find as It was located at the Odeum Expo Center and they had signs pointing towards it. Plenty of free parking on a real lot.

Wait Entertainment: Detailed set up with lots of props and a couple actors walking around and invading the customers personal space. I especially liked the evil clown that seemed to appear out of nowhere. There were a couple wait areas at which time actor[s] spoke to the group

Length of Event: 25-30 minutes. This is what I expected for the price of admission and the size of the venue.

Actor Performance: Actors were very good, but I wanted more of them!! Too many parts where there were no actors [super dark winding path, red & white path & swamp area] and then other parts they could have used less. There was also a lacking of actors following/stalking and I felt this lessened the scare factor. The potential is definitely there.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Sent in as a group of 10; however, at one point we were split up. Eventually an actor [best scare of the night]popped out of the dark wall undetected and held us back so we could regroup and not run into the one ahead of us. I highly suggest to the creators to include multiple of these guys throughout the venue in the future.

Appropriate Ages: 13 & up; although some kids have a high tolerance for scary things and based on my own, I bet as young as 10 would enjoy this without having to close their eyes too much.

Props / Special FX: Phenomenal props and special effects. I especially liked that there were full size vehicles, the "moving" elevator and real water in the swamp area.

Costumes / Make-up: Very good make-up and attention to detail with costumes. I especially liked that there were more characters in make-up than there were in masks.

Summary: Overall, I was disappointed after seeing that it was previously rated #1. I expected more for that rating and the amount of money I paid to go through [$40 VIP]. If there is a wait longer than an hour, I would definitely suggest buying the VIP option to get more bang for your $. 
There were too many paths/scenes where you walked through and nothing happened. The scenes were very well decorated, and I absolutely loved the ingenuity of the dining room scene; however, I want to get scared not just look at rooms. There was a need for more stalking actors and more misdirection with less talking about the scenes.  
I agree with a previous review "This house is ok but can be great."

3 out of 12 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: BIGGUN   (Event Visited: 10/19/13 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: AT The Cineplex. Cant miss it

Wait Entertainment: We had VIP, so I couldnt tell. But I did see a crazy clown roaming.

Length of Event: About 30 min

Actor Performance: Pretty good, not great. But accepatble enough

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Atrocious. Worst ever at any haunt Ive visited! Got stuck with a grop of 10, and a group of 6 caught up to us. That made us a group of 18!

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: Top notch! Some of the best you'll see!

Costumes / Make-up: Also terrific! Very professional

Summary: Had the patron flow been better, the house would be a 9 or 10. I was so miffed about my buddy and I getting stuck wth 10 others, and then being caught by a group of 6 that I had to give the haunt only a 7.  
It IS a terrific haunt, however. Tons of detail, and terrific props in each room. The forest bridge that closes in on you is awesome. 
Finally, an effective hellevator, and spinning vortex, the doll room was so creepy, as weel as the hanging slabs of meat. Tons of graveyard cars with scares, a gory and effective hospital scene, and my favorite room with the lifesize Batman, and TMNT. 
The haunt is definitley worth the $$$, but I urge the owners to PLEASE control the patron flow better. 
Go check this haunt out! 

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at