Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com Ė Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2013 Visitor Reviews of
Evil Intentions Haunted House (Elgin, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
11 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: george   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/01/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Found it with GPS easy enough. Itís a little dark down the street they are on, but they had the building lit up with red floodlights and there was a hearse sitting out near the street, to make the place even more visible.

Wait Entertainment: There really wasnít much of a wait, because it wasnít even October yet, but they still had a couple of actors near the ticket booth to interact with customers. They revamped their waiting room area since I had been there last and there was a display with a couple of coffins near the entrance.

Length of Event: About 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: Great! They were creepy and stalked us, as we went through.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There werenít a lot of people there on the night we were there, so we were able to walk through at our own pace and not have to worry about running into any other customers.

Summary: Evil Intentions has a great thing going. Their location is the perfect spot for a haunted house. Itís in a creepy old factory. I always liked the natural creepiness of the building itself. The cold brick walls and hanging pipes really helped set the mood. At times, you had to walk up and down stairs, too. This year, they have stepped it up a notch with more detail and more elaborate scenes, maintaining a very creepy atmosphere throughout. Colored lighting and fog in many areas added to the mood.  
 
In one of the new areas, they had a dark maze of coffin shaped hallways, where the walls slanted inward up by your head and down by your feet. This was pretty cool and made navigating through a little harder, but I think they should get rid of this area next year. The entrances of these slanted areas were a bit of a trip hazard. No one in my group fell, but I nearly tripped, going in from one hall to another in the dark.  
 
As usual, the actors were on task. They stayed in character and were relentless in stalking my group everywhere we went. They made walking through a bit intimidating, which Iím sure the feeling they were going for.  
 
I had a great time when I was there, but I didnít care for the 30%+ jump in admission price. Last year it was only $15 and this year, it was $20 per person. Did they add to the attraction this year? Well, yes and no. The haunted house itself wasnít any bigger. They used the same footprint as last year. They did, however, add a lot of detail to make the scenes more immersive. Was I happy with my experience? Yes. This is one of the best haunted houses in the area. I just wish my trip through had lasted a little longer, considering the higher admission price.

7 out of 12 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: thecurse   (Event Visited: 10/18/13 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: With a GPS it cant be missed, but if you dont know the area it may be a bit hard since its not on a main road or really by any other landmarks, just houses and apartment buildings. The big red light and hearse is a good sign though!

Wait Entertainment: There was a clown in the rafters for a bit, an evil dead bride and an evil yet funny clown. they worked the crowd a bit which was good. But I really enjoyed the foggy entrance room with red lights and industrial music playing (think skinny puppy type stuff). It gave a great and creepy feeling the whole time, loved it.

Length of Event: 15-17 minutes.

Actor Performance: All the actors seemed really into and eager to scare, but with that being said. We thought the house was half empty when we went though. It could have used a dozen or so more. OR, thats what they were going for with just empty creepy rooms.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Pretty bad for us. we had a group of three, but they set us in with another group of 4. So, already it was 7 and us a the back didnt get any scares. We ran into another group of 5 about 4 minutes into it and was horrible. Even at a point where an actor made us stop, we ran right into them again in just about a room.r

Appropriate Ages: 13 or 14. very evil type place. very refreashing

Props / Special FX: All of them were in the creepy category.

Costumes / Make-up: Some of the coolest ive seen. great use of half masks

Summary: This place is down right creepy and evil. I loved just walking up to it and waiting in the fogy red line room. Industrial playing and just evil sounds. Not your normal "haunted house" sounds. Buy the deal on groupon, what a time and money saver! 
 
Now, i think i was startled maybe twice in the whole place, a new low for me, but i was definitely creeped out in just about every room. So with that being said i loved it still.  
 
Theres no tired played out themes here like "prisoners running wild" "evil clowns taking over" "Dr's experiments gone wrong" Just evil creepy rooms, dark, dank, ghostly and great. 
 
The horned actor girl that made us wait was insanely creepy with her mask and great look. 
 
In my opinion this may be the coolest haunt around. Nothing cheesy here, just great creepy scenes with lots of blackness.

13 out of 26 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: existenz   (Event Visited: 10/12/13 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Fairly easy to find using GPS.

Wait Entertainment: We waiting in line for approx 1.5 hours and saw two actors working the line. One had on a clown mask, another one was more interactive and was dressed as a cult member.

Length of Event: Approx 25 minutes

Actor Performance: A few of the actors did a pretty good job.. most notably the females actors about halfway through the haunt. Some of the other actors didnt even make an attempt to startle or scare, they just walked around and growled. Not in your face or as aggressive as I have seen at other local haunted houses.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good. However about half way through we ran into the group ahead of us.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up

Props / Special FX: Some of the rooms were pretty well done and the coffin hallways were unique. However a few of them seemed to have no actors to compliment them. I was literally waiting in some of them for something to happen. There was a huge potential for scares in some of the rooms but no one was there. Being that we came on a saturday night I would have expected a full staff and more actors to interact with the props and special effects.

Costumes / Make-up: I saw a lot of masks and fairly basic makeup. Nothing really stood out to me.

Summary: This place has sooo much potential to be a great haunt in the Chicago area; however it fell short for me. The wait entertainment wasnít that great, the costumes and acting didnít really impress. The main thing this haunt has going for it is the venue itself. The building is very creepy by itself even without any of the actors. Actually my two favorite parts of the haunt didnít have anything to do w/ the decor, actors or costumes, it was the building itself. The fact that you go outside at the midway point is very cool and the stairway to go down to the basement is very intimidating. All in all I may give them another chance is upcoming years, but this did not make my MUST SEE list.

4 out of 9 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Cheddar   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 09/29/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: All buildings look the same in this area, but they did a nice job of setting this apart. good lighting, colored lights and a hearse parked right outside thee entrance made it an easy find

Wait Entertainment: my group literally walked in no wait. but there were a number of actors on the ready. they were entertaining for the whole 3 minutes i saw them, both before entering the house and as we were exiting

Length of Event: nice solid 15-20 mins

Actor Performance: good. only thing is maybe a few more actors (few spots were a little empty, but actors did there best to fill, and i understand it is early in season) some could be a little louder

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: was pretty empty. ran into a group right at the end maze but it is totally understandable because it is one heck or a maze!

Appropriate Ages: like anyother haunt, depends on the kid, but id say 13 and up

Props / Special FX: i LOVED the sets and props. nice and bloody and it felt real. loved when you went down into the basement. it really makes the fact that this is in fact an old casket factory and now a haunted house. great work! didnt get to spend too much time in waiting area, but it looked roomy and props placed in good spots fill the room nicely

Costumes / Make-up: alot of masks. those that had hand applied and airbrush make up were really cool. one guy in particular had makeup i was fond of. Line actor had a nice clown set up goin on. nice mouth job that actually looked like it was sliced open

Summary: well worth the $20. almost went through again for an additional $5 per person but we had to get going. Sets and scenery were awesome. Alot of people were in masks (im more fond of the handapplied,airbrush approach but they were cool looking masks) the other make-up was excellent. good job make-up people! I kind of liked how there was heavy metal playing as you walked through the house. it felt right. Acting was on, and all actors were ready for groups, even though i assume they werent flowing quite as quickly as they will be in 2 weeks. All in all this is a great haunt. this was my first visit here, and will come back again soon. (Well as soon as a fellow haunter can make it without missing out on his own hauntXD)

3 out of 8 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: phantom13   (Event Visited: 10/12/13 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's located a few block from route 20, off a side street. There was a sign for the parking lot, a hearse out front and red flashing lights outside so it wasn't too difficult to find.

Wait Entertainment: It was a long wait, though they had a full house. Waiting line was out the door, they did a good job with a few creatures monitoring the wait line, there was some interesting things walking around. Every now and then a surprise scare from an unforeseen place. Pretty cool effect.

Length of Event: 20-25 minutes, depends on your walking pace

Actor Performance: There actors seemed quite experienced, each had a specific role it seemed and they performed well. There was a variety of costumes and roles. They all stayed in character throughout.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow wasn't too bad, there was a lot of people the night I went we only ran into the group ahead of us once at the end in one of the mazes so it's expected.

Appropriate Ages: 15+ not for weak minds or spirits

Props / Special FX: The special effects were pretty cool, they had a few cages with actors in them with handheld devices worthy of a scare. Good use of blinking lights and different colored lights to set the ambiance for each room.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were awesome, a lot of actors had unique face paint for the specific roles they had. Lots of good makeup, pretty bloody people.

Summary: It was my first year attending Evil Intentions and it was quite the experience. Its located in an old warehouse which looks creepy as it stands. The building gives off a strange vibe from the outside and its only enhanced upon entering the facility. Lots of strange creatures walking around, stalking almost. Their set designs looked very detailed and you could see they spent time decorating. The actors did a nice job of setting up scares for other actors and seemed to know their roles well. A few scares from actors above you was really cool as you don't expect it or see it in many haunts. This haunt has an actual basement which was neat to experience multiple levels. The size of the attraction seemed enormous. They used their space well. Overall a great experience my first time, I was very impressed having never heard of this haunt until I came across a clown at Riverfest this year. Being an avid haunt goer I may grab some friends and go again next weekend, worth the price of admission.

3 out of 8 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: GPS helps a lot if your outside the area. Grace street off 20 kind of dives into an industrial area and you have to watch closely.

Wait Entertainment: several menacing looking characters, but early like it is the crowd was small. Not much for them to do.

Length of Event: long by haunted standards....a real 30 minutes.

Actor Performance: The were into their roles. Not one character was just standing or seemingly not interested, and there are a lot of them! Really character driven

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The group behind us caught up because we has a scardy cat with our group(first timer in a haunt)

Appropriate Ages: if you under twelve you best be ready and brave!

Props / Special FX: This is not a prop driven haunt...the building itself and the design of the walkways acted as the prop. The music is loud....heavy...and part of the show

Costumes / Make-up: there was a girl at the entrance that was as creepy a makeup as I have seen. It is fairly dark so makeup was not primary. The scenes that required makeup were good.

Summary: Haunted attractions are either Performance art, scare art, or prop driven. This one is Scare art. The characters come from every angle in a variety of appearances, It is the standard for this type of haunt and probably the most sought after for the 15 to 30 year old age group. Other haunts should study this one and take their actors through to show them how it should be done. If you are looking foe a WOW factor this one is not for you. If you are looking for the quintessential scare experience this is THE stop.

1 out of 9 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: hauntman   (Event Visited: 10/24/13 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find if you have GPS

Wait Entertainment: no one was there so very quick

Length of Event: Took us about 15 minutes but we were stopping to look at the props

Actor Performance: Very bad many did not talk a lot of the rooms were empty espically in the basement there were only two people to cover maybe like 6 rooms n we walked through 5 of them with no one in them

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very hard for a bigger man to get through they should've warned us that there were tight spots and that we had to bend down because of this we had a group run into us

Appropriate Ages: All ages

Props / Special FX: could hardly see the props because of the darkness in many of the rooms

Costumes / Make-up: A few had nice masks others had poor makeup

Summary: I would not recommend the $20 pay for the service I recieved. Very poor and if that was not all their actors they should've never open the doors that night. With the amount of room they have they made it nice but they need the actors for it. Also they were hugging us and grabbing our hair as we were in line but when we get into the first room with the rules the man goes there will be one rule and that is do not touch us and we won't touch you? Yes I find that a complete lie. Very poor workmanship within this haunt.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright © 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at