Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com – Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2013 Visitor Reviews of
Nightmare on Fairgrounds road (Princeton, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
5 out of 8 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: BillC   (Event Visited: 10/11/13 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: E-Z to find, it's at the Bureau County Fairgrounds.

Wait Entertainment: Fun while waiting in line, made the time pass easier. A couple of clowns we had to keep an eye on. Also that crazy guy with a chain saw. About the time you got all calmed down, he would fire up that chain saw.

Length of Event: A bit over an hour all totaled. That includes going threw the two main buildings, the hay rack ride around the fair grounds and checking out the “kiddie haunt” and the Dr. Frankenstein skit. We did stop for a snack and walked around a bit, so maybe 1 ˝ hours total time at the haunt.

Actor Performance: Good to very good. Some actors really put a lot of effort into the scare, and take it seriously. Other actors not so much, but still okay.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good. Did not catch up to the group in front of us. You could tell someone was sort of close to the front and behind, but we never saw the other groups while inside. It wasn’t close enough to ruin the experience. We did have to wait in line for 30 minutes, but that's not too bad.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Lots of animatronics. Some the same as last year, but set up differently, some new, so that was good. There is a smoke tunnel that was pretty cool. As you walked into it, it looked like a funnel and gave you the impression that you were going to get squeezed into it.

Costumes / Make-up: Some good, some not so good. The clowns had very good costumes, and they were very good actors. The pirate ship actor looked good. Pumpkin headed scare crow was good. You could tell a few actors had a lot of time and money into the costumes, which made up for the ones that didn’t. A few actors had what I would call “cutesy” costumes. Not scary at all. I don’t do cutesy for Halloween, I do scary.

Summary: Overall, well worth the $8 to get in. It’s hard to find good entertainment for over an hour for that price. Nightmare on Fairgrounds Road did it. I was told this is their 10th year. Seems they stepped it up a notch or two for this anniversary. I also saw they are having a dance in one of the building coming up soon, and a meet and greet the actors. Might have to go again to check that out. Work on correcting the “cutesy” costumes and it will be a major improvement. Thanks, and hope for another 10 years!

3 out of 5 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: squishweasel   (Event Visited: 10/11/13 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find with a GPS. There was no sign on the main road to help you find it, but luckily a sign to the fairgrounds was there.

Wait Entertainment: When we arrived there was a guy in coveralls with a burlap mask and chainsaw, a demon/reaper with a scythe, a vampire girl and a clown in a department of corrections jumpsuit and pipe. None of them were very interactive with the crowd, though, aside from the clown once or twice.

Length of Event: 20 minutes with the hayrack ride.

Actor Performance: Mainly good. Everyone seemed into their roles. The only qualms I had were with the wait entertainment as we did wait a while in line and it would have been better if they had been more interactive. The other problem I had was with the actors in the rules rooms. They seemed to be going for creepy but came off completely wrong. It was kind of off-putting how awkward those scenes were. Also, a fairy in a funeral scene probably wasn't the best option. Maybe get some stronger actors in those positions in the future. Also, there were a couple of those cutesy costumes that really shouldn't have been in a haunt like this and really detracted from some scenes. Also, an actor by the hayrack ride broke character, took off his mask and flirted with some girls before informing all of us he really wanted a cigarette.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There were no instances where we ran into another group and no one caught up to us. Good job here.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up.

Props / Special FX: There were some very good effects here. For the most part this is an old school actor driven haunt, which I like. The few props and animatronics they had weren't used as the main scare for the scenes they were in, but were used to enhance them.

Costumes / Make-up: Like I said, there were some costumes that were very out of place and took away from the experience. There were also some street clothes and masks.

Summary: There were some real issues with this attraction, but they are all actor based. Your top improve performers should be in the main areas and working the line. Instead they were under-utilised.Also there were some really bad character breaks.  
 
Aside from that there were some real high points. The pirate section was phenomenal. The sets were beautifully done and made you feel as though you were actually on a ghost ship. The clown room was a beautiful mess of color, movement and...dubstep. Which I found oddly worked. The cornfield at the end could use more actors, but it was cool. The second barn didn't seem as well put together as the first and was mainly mazes with fewer actors. 
 
Like I stated, there were a few problems, but they are easily fixed. We didn't visit the children's haunt or the stage show, so I can't say much on them, but they are free.

6 out of 12 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/12/13 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located at the fairgrounds, right on the main drag through town - not hard to find. Good location for a fairground event.

Wait Entertainment: Wait entertainment was very interesting I guess, a large float with music and dancing prisoner zombies throwing candy ?? There are a few monsters walking around the area.. Food and burning fire to keep you warm..

Length of Event: The first haunted attraction took us around 10 minutes maybe, house two took us maybe 13 minutes or a little longer, then a nice (not scary) hayrack ride for 10 minutes maybe. Overall, the only problem noticed was the speed pass ($2.00 extra and recommended) should be used to advance you in house 2 also, lots of time waiting in lines .. In the beginning house one people were waiting over an hour just to get to the front door. We waited (with speed pass) over 25 minutes in line 2 for house #2, too long !

Actor Performance: All the actors done a very good job, maybe a few lazy ones here and there but everything went on ok. The gorilla guy got tired and had to take a nap outside the main door of house #2, not too scary there.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Everything moved along great in both haunted houses,no problem. However, as groups were getting long in house 2 waiting line the lit' girl did rush in several groups together rather than try to control the flow of the event better.. But overall not too bad here.

Appropriate Ages: This is a mixed bag, I would say ages 8 to above here, but there is some in your face stuff too.

Props / Special FX: The props all looked good and the pirate theme is there selling point to haunted house one.. Everything looked very well and the actors worked good with the settings. House number 2 is a mixed bag and everything and everything looked good to us, the exiting through the corn field setting could use some real help, more monsters and maybe zombies needed here, stuffed monsters just don't make it!

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make up was very good to average at best, the pirate was very good and pulled it off good, then some of the actors were weak and come off that way. The walk to the hayrack ride was great, those actors really did their job great, lots of yelling and screaming and in your face stuff, very good and enjoying.

Summary: Our first year attending this event and we really didn't know what to expect here, our sites we not high but this place was very interesting, maybe not the scariest place in the state but overall enjoyable and works ok. The pre-shows (which we didn't do because of time) all looked to be very interesting to younger kids or people who enjoy story telling haunted events - Frankenstein, Etc. The campfire was nice and they had a selection of snacks to eat. Then you cross over to haunted house 1 with its pirate theme and some other monsters thrown in, the next haunted house was enjoyable with a little bit of everything and every other monster or creature thrown at you, interesting shows ... Only weak thing was the exit were more monsters were needed, we had two monsters in masks standing by the exit door, just didn't get it done, maybe a chainsaw needed. Next, the hayrack ride (not scary here) but the walk to it was great, a few monsters yelling and screaming - all good here and fun! The hayrack ride was also enjoying and the younger crowd seemed to enjoy it very much - it just closed out the nights event nicely.  
Had a good time for our first visit and would say to have a good nite this is a very enjoyable family event ..

3 out of 6 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: 10/12/13 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's a fairgrounds in a small town so it's very easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Not as good as I have seen them before. They have a variety of characters but a couple of them seemed disinterested.

Length of Event: hard to say for certain because they are split between two separate locations but I would say 15 to 20 minutes easy.

Actor Performance: Really good. They don't have the big numbers of actors that the large haunts have but these guys are not bad at all. The final walk has some actors good and bad.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never saw anyone else in front or back.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 10 but as I always say you have to know your kids. I saw younger kids in line that were terrified by the stalkers before they ever entered.

Props / Special FX: they have always done stuff here that I have never seen anywhere else. They build a lot of custom stuff. If you like animated pirates similar to Disney these guys do it better than any I have ever seen before. I have seen a laser vortex before but not like theirs...I understand how they are supposed to work now.

Costumes / Make-up: They use a lot of masks which smaller haunts do but they also have stepped up the game with some really nice makeup.

Summary: This haunt is a bargain. They have a free show in a separate barns that does a cliff's note version of Frankenstein with full set, an author that has published several books about real ghosts, and a kids area. All free. The show provides a clown room with clowns in top notch makeup, A pirate set with great effects. The second barn has a 3-d room and a 3-d tunnel that I look forward to every year. They have added projected images and made the place more claustrophobic. Be aware if you are used to the big Chicago haunts this is a smaller one but For eight bucks this is a really great time.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright © 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at