Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2013 Visitor Reviews of
Baldwin Asylum (Rantoul, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
13 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/12/13 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: In the old Walmart. Pretty hard to miss.

Wait Entertainment: None while we were there.

Length of Event: 15 mins

Actor Performance: They were very good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: A group caught up with us.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Outstanding. Loved the evil dead rooms, the 3d rooms were good and I loved the use of all the sheets.

Costumes / Make-up: All excellent.

Summary: They've got a great base to work with, but there is much room for improvement.  
They could use more people and some of the actors need to chug a red bull and get into their part! Get loud! There were too many quiet, starers. There were also quite a few empty spaces. It was pretty light, so you knew the empty spaces held no scare. It's too bad too, because they have an awesome space. Just fill up the empty hallways. 
Some of the actors were outstanding, though. I really loved the makeup and masks.  
Back to my main complaint of the year. $15.00 is too much for a 15 minute haunt. They need something else or a lower price.  
I did like the coffin ride, but that was $3.00 more.  
I wouldn't recommend this one to haunt savvy people without some changes.

12 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/12/13 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We had no trouble finding the building with it's HUGE signage posted on the street.

Wait Entertainment: We were the 2nd group to enter as we actually waited for them to open the house just a bit behind schedule. The only entertainment was heavy metal music skipping over and over. We were then lead into a holding area with nice scenery and a monitor showing people in the house. Hey, you can take a coffin ride after you leave the house, something different and unique, one of us did it.

Length of Event: 14.5 minutes.

Actor Performance: No one broke character and all seemed to be into attempting to scare us. Being the 2nd group through the house everyone was on their game. This is the haunted house of kids or could be just very short people. So the intimidation factor lacked a bit. However, with that being said, the guy chained to the padded wall seemed enormous and very scary! I was a wreck attempting to pass by him. He was the best thing about the house!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did have a group catch up to us. about 2/3 of the way through. We move pretty slow and they must have run. This can happen easily in a haunt, however, at that point it is up to the actors to separate the groups and nothing happened. As regular haunters, we made sure to mention in multiple rooms that "Oh looks like the group behind caught up" to no avail.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: This is where this house excels. The props and make up and attention to detail verges on outstanding. The detail an quality of the props are really nice. With the tall ceilings (and possibly fire laws) the open ceiling let in WAY to much light.

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly make up, if not ALL. Very very well done!!!

Summary: Ok, a small rant before the praise. According to the visitor review we had read this house was approx. 30 minutes, so we thought hopefully it was worth the $15. As I mentioned we walk slow, so slow a group caught up to us and we were in the house only 14.5 minutes (timed). So whomever wrote the previous review would have had to crawl and took a short nap. 
The incredible detail and high end props were fantastic. There was not an inch of this house that was not covered. The make up was top rate.  
Some notables were the bathtub scene, be sure to get a good look in the tub...gross, the confusing sheet maze, as well as a 3-D area that rivaled any house we have been in so far this year. 
The scares were not really in your face other then the padded room guy, but the house is nice to look at. 

3 out of 12 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Sh00pyhead   (Event Visited: 10/11/13 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find: good sign out front, nice clean parking lot, and even a Pizza Hut! :)

Wait Entertainment: Theme music, hidden video from inside haunt.

Length of Event: 20 min's

Actor Performance: Excellent!! Very energetic! They were truly scary!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good queue inside and out. Wide aisles in the attraction, good lighting, lots of exits.

Appropriate Ages: 16 and up

Props / Special FX: Cool animatronics, killer 3D paint effects, different textures and levels!!

Costumes / Make-up: Professional quality costumes and make-up. People with missing arms, open wounds, zippers for eye lids- very cool!

Summary: The haunt actually starts in the waiting area (which is themed) with creepy sound effects and a video screen that shows people inside the haunt getting scared out of their wits! 
It's very cool that it is broken up into very different stories inside the one haunt, makes it feel like it is 3 separate venues: 
1) An Asylum- really cool effects, animatronics, electric chair, sparks flying. 
2) A freaky cabin scene that reminded me of Evil Dead (but more twisted, and a lot more in your face) body parts, blood, people jumping out at you from trap doors. 
3) A freaky clown circus that used 3D glasses to make things look 3D in person(this is very cool!!!) 
 
The actors that they have are absolutely top notch! VERY believable!! It doesn't look like they're having fun scaring people to death, but I bet that they are! 
All in all it's well worth the money, and I'll probably go again this season.

4 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: goregroupie   (Event Visited: 10/05/13 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: was not hard to find there website had pretty simple directions and out side was a very cool billboard

Wait Entertainment: The wait was very short they were sending in groups ever 3-4 mins

Length of Event: took me and some friends around 30 mins to get threw would have been longer if the girls were not running\ pushing

Actor Performance: the actors were great to some were much better the guy with the dead body on a table was super creepy and there is a guy chained up in a padded room that was insane the tore the chains out the walls and began to scream at us he is huge give that actor an award every one was scared to the point we forgot to move and it dident appear there was any where to go

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we never ran in to another group if thats what this means

Appropriate Ages: 14ish

Props / Special FX: the props were amazing a huge snake crazy werewolves and a full size evil dead cabin built inside it

Costumes / Make-up: make up on lady man and zombies were amazing tho was kind of disapointed in the vampires but there acting made up for your out of the box vampire masks tho there was one bald vampire that was amazing like a full body mask thing

Summary: we went threw 3 times will for sure go threw a few more times def worth the money ,it was quite a deal compared to other haunted houses, to date. i was very amazed at all they had to offer online tickets, candy, speed passes for busy nights we did decline buying on it was not very long line that night so we saw no need, rides, and the music the music was amazing so how every room had a diffrent song playing some great metal and rock at a crazy volume, def had us pumped they have a pretty cool kids ride for 2 buck quite a value not really scary but pretty fun every one in our group did it and came out with a smile. next time i will ride one more time, just a good time and bravo the people putting this on did an amazing job

1 out of 5 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: inspector13   (Event Visited: 10/27/13 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, located in the old Walmart. Large sign out front!

Wait Entertainment: Themed music

Length of Event: 12 min.

Actor Performance: Very scary and good performances.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were able to go through the whole haunt without encountering any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and above

Props / Special FX: Torsos, padded walls, narrow halls and crazy insane monsters.

Costumes / Make-up: Good and very good eye for detail

Summary: It was easy to find with well marked sign and in the old walmart building. The haunt lasts close to 12 minutes. It is filled with top end props and well dressed monsters with good make up and effects, including torsos that look very real. Many scares and a 3D area we all enjoyed! This haunt is too intense for little children! Teenagers and above are the best candidates to enjoy the scary and intense rooms and monsters this haunted house has in every corner. Very well liked by all of us who attended.

2 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: clownsrus   (Event Visited: 10/12/13 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find. Is located in large building that use to house Walmart.

Wait Entertainment: Had an actor working the crowd and there is a television that you can watch which shows one area of the haunt. Let's you see the groups that are in front of you.

Length of Event: 30 minutes or a little longer

Actor Performance: Excellent performance by everyone. No on was out of character when we went through and everyone did an outstanding job. Kudos to the incredibly large chained guy.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was good. We didn't run into anyone else in the haunt.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and older

Props / Special FX: The props were some of the best I've seen, but my favorites were the giant wolves/dogs and/or the hanging clowns.

Costumes / Make-up: Makeup looked professionally done and the costumes were good; not cheap walmart costumes.

Summary: As a former haunt owner/operator, I'm pretty hard to please. This haunt was outstanding! You can tell that they really put their hearts & souls into the acting and the atmosphere was fantastic. My favorite area was the 3D clown area. I am a clown freak. Although the "cabin in the woods" was pretty cool as well. This is the first year for this haunt and they will have a hard time setting the bar higher for next year. From start to finish, I was very impressed and would recommend this haunt to everyone.

0 out of 3 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/26/13 @ 11:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Wal-Mart old building, usually not high about commercial buildings but this seems to work here. The location is somewhat marked and lots of parking here

Wait Entertainment: No wait entertainment, probably because nobody was in line at 11:45 . I would say that during peak hours some monsters are walking the lines.

Length of Event: Maybe 15 to 20 minutes, not really timed out .

Actor Performance: The actors done an excellent job and everybody stayed on their mark and didn't once break character, very good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was seamless - however we were second to the finish so no real crowd issues to deal with..

Appropriate Ages: I would say above 10 years here, there is some scare factor with this event so anyone including adults who jar easy might have some issues here. They actually got my attention a few (more than once) times and done an excellent job selling their parts.

Props / Special FX: The props were excellent and the effects were very well balanced and perfectly done, very good. The automation props went off on time and everything worked as it should.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make up was perfectly done, they didn't miss anything here with detail, maybe one of the best jobs seen this year.

Summary: Our first at attending this event and really thank them for the late night hours, we were second to last to enter. The haunted attraction was very well balanced throughout and lacked no weak spots we could see, everything came off exactly as designed and the actors (no lack of help here) all were right on their A game and pulled off their parts perfectly and on time, nobody broke character. The haunted cabin was very well done and maybe my favorite event in the attraction, not because of action but the overall surroundings were good. The white rag room with bright white light to distort your vision is very well done too. Lots of action here and too much to see on one trip through it, but for Rantoul this is a must see event. This might even be one of the best haunted houses I have attended this year, they done an excellent job here. 
As we exited the event - a large group of monsters chased us out the door and into the parking lot, but there was young girls in front and behind us (closing out the night) so be got the extra performance at no charge! 
We will return next year

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at