Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2013 Visitor Reviews of
Thanatophobialand - Where you face your Fear of Death (Lockport, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
8 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: wushu70   (Event Visited: 10/24/13 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: its on a side street no signs from the main road but the hearse in front will be a good indicator your in the right place.

Wait Entertainment: no wait entertainment but there isn't a line

Length of Event: i was there about an hour talked to the nice couple that run the haunt very nice couple.

Actor Performance: there were no actors on the night i attended

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: steady you can move at your own pace

Appropriate Ages: all ages

Props / Special FX: the props and special effect were awsome for a yard haunt very impressive loved the mausoleum and the funeral home.

Summary: I took my son there 3 times so far this year and im sure ill be back before Halloween is over.Very family friendly a little creepy and a little funny but a lot of fun. Our favorite parts are the hearses and the coffin dragster and the ghost in the cemetery and the funeral home.Every time we go there we notice something different its worth more than one visit. The couple that runs it are very friendly and even gave us a list of other yard haunts to visit. this haunt is going to become a new family tradition for years to come.

5 out of 9 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: inspector13   (Event Visited: 10/25/13 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: hard to find but once you get on the street it is on, it is well lit.

Wait Entertainment: does not apply here

Length of Event: wander as long as you want

Actor Performance: doesn't apply here this is a yard display

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: many people checking out the display

Appropriate Ages: all

Props / Special FX: excellent props including hearses, coffins and a graveyard

Costumes / Make-up: doesn't apply here

Summary: we were very pleased with with yard display. hearses, coffins, graveyards and all things associated with death. the people who run it were very friendly and made us feel like they were glad we were there! there is a funeral service inside the garage where many of the dead are saying good bye to their newly departed friend. the display covers both the front and back yards. it is also in the driveway and garage. the hearses really add to the display. we plan on going to this yard display again before halloween. thank you to the owners putting up this display.

14 out of 26 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Fuzzball   (Event Visited: 10/20/13 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: A little bit hard to find but once you are on the street, you can't miss it!

Wait Entertainment: None

Length of Event: Stay as long as you want

Actor Performance: None

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Steady

Appropriate Ages: All

Props / Special FX: Excellent props, including a hearse!

Costumes / Make-up: None

Summary: We arrived at this event at about 8:15. It was a little hard to find but once on the street it is easy to see. This event comes equipped with an actually hearse. In the theme of funerals, there is an ongoing funeral in the garage! Its name is unique. It means 'Fear of death'. Cemetery with skeletons in it. Someone being electrocuted and more! We spent about 10 to 15 minutes exploring. I recommend this yard display for a family or friend outing. In closing this is slightly more than a yard display, it is more like a mini haunt.

4 out of 9 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: mrsdave87   (Event Visited: 10/12/13 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It can be a little challenging to find the street but once you are on the block you can NOT miss it. Just look for the cemetery in the front yard, or the hearse!

Wait Entertainment: No wait.

Length of Event: As long as you'd like it to be. You are never rushed and actually encouraged to take your time and enjoy the ambiance.

Actor Performance: No actors, just gracious hosts who are more than happy to answer questions and tell you about their haunt.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We went on opening night and there was great flow with lots of people that come back year after year.

Appropriate Ages: Any age (parents should use discretion)

Props / Special FX: Handcrafted tombstones and mausoleum in the front yard, Steampunk Lab in the backyard, and wonderfully creepy funeral home in the garage. Nothing jumps out at you or is "startling". Very well thought out.

Summary: The detail paid to every aspect of this haunt makes it stand out. There are no mass-produced props here.  
 
Skeletons frolicking in the cemetery (front yard) between celebrity tombstones and a mausoleum complete with ghostly apparitions set the tone for an outstanding experience. Did you notice the hearse on the parkway? There is much to see in front of the house. Take your time to enjoy the nuances the owners have worked so hard to achieve.  
 
When you've looked your fill, head up the driveway. There is another hearse followed by a really cool "casket car" that will grab your attention.  
 
When you make it to the back yard, you have reached the Steampunk Laboratory. Dr. Pain and his "Patients" are waiting for you. A "brain-powered" light, electric chair, and too many other things to mention will captivate you. Once again, take your time so you don't miss any of the fantastic details.  
 
Finally there is the funeral home. The faint scent of roses greets you as you approach the casket. There are "mourners" in the seats, an organist playing, and a minister. Be sure to pay attention to the pictures on the walls, careful attention! Ask about the picture that looks like its made out of hair!! IT IS!!!  
 
Be sure to sign the guest book. If you can, make a donation. This year they are collecting for Hope and Friendship Foundation and have a raffle with proceeds going to the same. You can win an adorable witch!! You can also make a donation to help keep Thanatophobialand alive. If you don't make a donation, nobody will make you feel guilty either.  
 
This is my third year of visiting and I really look forward to it. There are changes both large and small each year. Take the time to go visit. You won't regret a second of it!!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at